Last Minute Stuff . . .

I finished my Christmas shopping and was home about 6:30. My mother was doing her baking, so I caught up on emails and had a visit with my Aunty. Then I got busy . . .

20121225-031218.jpg

20121225-031233.jpg

20121225-031242.jpg

20121225-031317.jpg

20121225-031327.jpg

20121225-031340.jpg
That’s Part One: two apple pies! In the picture of the rolled-out dough you can see my mother’s wooden rolling pin. It belonged to my father’s mother. She died while he and his brother were overseas in WWII. After he and my mother were married, my grandfather re-married and his wife gave Grandmother’s rolling pin to my mother. You can see that one handle is missing and that pin is broken, but we still treasure it. I especially love to use it for ‘special’ baking, such as what I’m doing now for Christmas. I will love that homely tool to the end of my days!

Part Two:

20121225-032052.jpg

20121225-032103.jpg

20121225-032111.jpg
Two yummy pumpkin pies! ( Sorry, I forgot to take pictures of them ‘under construction’!!)

And Part Three:

20121225-032220.jpg

20121225-032240.jpg

20121225-032254.jpg
One Cherry Pie!
What’s neat about this one is the crust: it’s an old German style, made with flour, salt, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg; all mixed together, then a beaten egg added and the dough mixed by hand, then rolled out, etc. The recipe called for just pressing the dough into a pie plate, but that wasn’t working for me, so I added a little ice water and proceeded to roll. The lattice looks ugly, but will taste great! Besides, what the stomach cannot see, will not harm it . . . and here it is! (fartger down the page; I can’t remember how to move it up on my iPhone. Sorry.

That’s it for now, my friends; I’m going to set up the gift wrapping area (formerly my sewing table (-; ), then get a bit of sleep. I can wrap after that.

A Very Merry Christmas to all of you who celebrate Christmas, and a Happy Holiday to the rest of you!

20121225-040659.jpg
P.S. Did I mention that the apple pies both ‘ranneth over’ with joy (or too much juicy filling . . .)? And I still had three pies to go! I was smart and took down the smoke alarm, which was a good thing, as the darn oven made the suite look like we were having a four-alarm blaze! No flames, luckily; just enough smoke to choke an elephant. I used one of the wooden spoons to dump sprinkle baking soda on the mess, which helped. Eventually the smoke went away (not sure where to, as the fan vents right back into the kitchen, not outdoors). Tomorrow, before we go for dinner, I will pour some ammonia on the bottom of the oven. Next day, it should clean up super-easy! Here’s a picture of how it looked after I took out the cherry pie:

20121225-041636.jpg

Ok, that’s really it!

Off to bed I go, perchance to sleep, as the Bard would have said if he’d been as tired as I am . . . ‘night, all!

2 thoughts on “Last Minute Stuff . . .

    • Thanks a lot, SFT. My pies and other baking rarely look professional, but that’s ok, ’cause I prefer the ‘farm kitchen’ look most of the time. The pies were excellent, by the way. Sometimes I use yogurt in the pumpkin pie for a slight change of flavour and I used to make some apple pies with almond flavouring instead of vanilla and cinnamon. It makes a nice change. I also enjoy decorating pies (especially the one-crust variety) as you can see: I roll out the last scraps of crust and cut them into appropriate shapes. If there is more crust than I need, I do what my mother always does; I roll it out, cut it into simple shapes (diamonds usually), sprinkle with a mix of sugar and cinnamon and bake until just beginning to brown. When we were young, it was one of our favourite treats on baking days.

      I like knowing people who treasure things, especially hand-me-downs from family and friends (although I also treasure things from people I have never met, when I can see they used the object a great deal and likely loved it themselves). And I love to share stories about the things I own or use. ~ Linne

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

