Sewing: hand and machine

Today has been quite productive: I finally tackled my sewing / work table, which has been increasingly cluttered since Christmas. I started with this:

20130205-194539.jpg and ended with this:

20130205-194609.jpg I’ve been researching some interesting ways to use fat quarters, jelly roll strips and a random fabric stash, all of which I have. That’s all I’m going to say about machine sewing today. Soon, though . . .

The organizing included going through a couple more boxes from the storage room, so there is more progress there, too. As a reward, I got out the hexie pieces I prepared last night during the news (after all, I don’t have to LOOK to get most of it) and, during tonight’s news, I stitched another flower. Now there are five! I’m still undecided on what to use them for… but here’s a picture of the group so far:

20130205-195212.jpg

13 thoughts on “Sewing: hand and machine

  1. I lost the most awesome Singer in Katrina, and now I’m looking for something as a replacement. What’s a good brand now? Most of them are plastic, and I’m not even sure where to get a decent old machine. ❤

    • I’m likely not the best person ro ask, as I’m still using a portable Kenmore, which I got from a friend back in the late 80s, maybe the early 90s. I’ll post a pic of it in a minute.

      What I would recommend is this: approach the purchase in the same way as when you buy a computer or vehicle; first figure out what you are going to do with it, then find the machine that will do all that (more, if the budget will stretch to it).

      I like the look of a sports car, but always had a van or pick-up; I used to move often, help friends move, haul goats n such, haul feed n hay; not to mention we liked the occasional road trip with the kids and camped or slept in the vehicle instead of spending on motel rooms. You get the picture . . .

    • Stacy, I’m sorry you lost your machine; that was one wicked storm, wasn’t it?

      I can relate: we came home after being away several days; there had been more rain than usual, the roof in the mudroom had leaked a LOT and my prized Singer treadle machine (the one with the gold Sphinx decorations) was ruined; veneer cracked and curled, mould starting to grow, the metal parts horribly rusted. We couldn’t have restored it ourselves and couldn’t afford to have it done, so I sadly let it go . . . someday I’d love to have another; they aren’t that expensive.

      You might try looking on eBay for one close to you; Kijiji or Craig’s list, too. Sometimes you can find one in a thrift store (Mum got a big floor loom for $50 at a Value Village once; you never know!); I’d say start checking with stores that sell and/or service them, too. And put the word out to friends, sewing teachers, quilters, etc. They may know someone who is upgrading, moving or just doesn’t sew any more.

      Just remember, know what you want to use it for first; that will help you decide. ~ Linne

  2. Not too long ago my mother gave me this old sewing machine which, as far as I know, should work. I don’t know because I don’t know how to use the dang thing. I haven’t touched a sewing machine since Home Ec class when I was twelve (that was a long time ago). I bought a manual for it online. Question: Is it even remotely possible for me to teach myself to sew on a machine simply by using the manual? I should probably find a good, thorough book, shouldn’t I? I’m going to hurt myself, I know it…

    • Yes, if you are good at learning from books, you can! I even learned to weave from a book. If you’re not sure when it was last serviced, I recommend taking it to a dealer to be cleaned and oiled. If the manual has directions, you can do this yourself.
      The next thing is: make sure you thread it correctly and also put the wound bobbin in with the thread coming off in the right direction. The manual should illustrate both procedures.
      Practise on two pieces of plain cotton fabric; white if your thread is coloured, coloured if the fabric is white. For learning, it helps if you can see the stitches clearly.

      Let me know if you have questions; occasionally I have answers… (-;

      Have fun!!

      • Thanks for your help and suggestions!

        It’s a Morse 300-F Zig Zag–I have no idea when it’s from (and the internet is actually not helping!). My guess, from the look, is maybe late 70s-early 80s?

      • OK, Kriscinda, it shouldn’t be too difficult. I had to ask ’cause to me, ‘old’ is pre-1900. (-;
        I wouldn’t think it has anything too complicated to learn; I say this ’cause mine is about that time, too; I got it second-hand from a good friend back in the early ’80s (1980s). So let me know if you have questions once you do what you can with it. Does the manual explain how to service it (as in clean and oil)?
        Threading should be simple, too. (here I paused to look it up on the ‘net myself – here is a link with clear diagrams for winding the bobbin and threading your machine: http://www.sewusa.com/Threading_Diagrams/Threading_Pages/Morse_Sewing_Machine_Threading/Morse_300_threading_diagram.htm
        Hope this helps. As I said, let me know if you have other questions. ~ Linne

      • You know, the table of contents actually looks pretty thorough. And that link will certainly be helpful! Thanks a bunch for taking the time to help me out–just having this chat has made me feel less apprehensive about it. =) That alone does wonders! I’ve got my hand in a few pots right now, but as soon as I get it set up somewhere, I’ll let you know how it goes (and likely come back and bug you with more questions). =) Cheers!

  3. Isn’t it so nice when you can see a tabletop again after it’s been covered for a while?! It always inspires me tomstart fresh projects. And the flowers are so cheerful and lovely. Can’t wait to see what they finally become.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

