Speaking of irons and faces . . .

Well, not exactly irons, but if you haven’t seen “Army of Darkness”, do check it out. Horror is not my usual genre, although I do submit graciously when one friend puts a Horror DVD on as we eat dinner. I watched Army of Darkness to please my much-younger nephew and youngest sister. At first it was all ho-hum, but then we came to the bit with the stove . . . never thought I’d be recommending a Horror film, but I’ve recommended this one many, many times.

Not far from Horror, either, but it grows on one, is the BBC series “Being Human”; my youngest sister is a fan and we watched all four seasons over the Christmas holidays. Only one episode I had trouble with, and I’m not telling which one. Again, not my usual genre, but somehow habit-forming . . .

What we learn about ourselves

(when we don’t avoid challenges to our genres) . . .Ā  šŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Speaking of irons and faces . . .

  1. Steve is completely into horror movies and will watch this on your recomendation. Not sure about “Being Human” (if we can get it or not) but if it comes on Foxtel, I will watch it (get Steve to tape it and watch while he is asleep šŸ˜‰ ). Cheers for the heads up and you are absolutely right, you have to step outside your comfort zone, if only to ensure you know who you are and what you believe in šŸ™‚

    • I’m not sure if my sister taped Being Human on her PVR or if it is available on Netflix. Do you get that there? or is Foxtel the same sort of thing? She pays about $6 or $7 per month and can watch as much as she likes. I’m not a big cartoon person, either, but I really enjoyed “How to Train Your Dragon” (I suspect it was the lovely Scots accents mostly . . .) Being Human is about a vampire, a ghost and a werewolf who share a flat in England; they are all trying to be human (the vampire has given up sucking blood, for instance); so the show focuses on their struggles with that and we can all relate to the struggle to be a bit better than we are. I won’t tell which episode was my least favourite; I expect you will guess when you get to it. But don’t let that stop you . . .

      BTW, did you all hear what the Manitoba provincial government did? They played off the “Walking Dead” craze to increase safety for young workers.
      Check it out here:
      http://careers.jobsincanada.com/uncategorized/are-there-zombies-in-your-province/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=are-there-zombies-in-your-province

      • The things an organisation will do to get people to toe the line eh? ;). I HAVE seen being human! I remember it now that you explained it and we only got a few series before it disappeared and didn’t come back. I really enjoyed it while it was on. It might be garbage but I have a soft spot for “Grimm” at least till it morphs into that stupid series about Vampires that is! I haven’t seen How to Train your Dragon but I dare say it will come to Foxtel (which is your cable tv not netaflix which is available here but we don’t subscribe to).

      • It’s in its fifth year now, you know! Being Human, that is. Kids love the Dragon one, but I think you will like it, too. Can you borrow DVDs where you live? Our DVD rental places are going out of business as Netflix takes over more, but Netflix doesn’t have everything and certainly nothing immediately current. If you watch at least a movie a week, it’s worth it. My sister gave me a subscription for Christmas, but I’ve not found time to figure out the cables to hook my laptop to Mum’s bigscreen TV. I could watch on her computer here, of course, but then if she wants to lie down or anything, I’d be interrupted. I haven’t watched much of Grimm, although I did love the original stories. Part of my problem, I think is that when I love an original, I get quite snarky when ‘kids’ decide to re-write to fit modern tastes. I know that’s the way of the world, but still . . . I always liked the books “Cheaper by the Dozen” and “Belles on Their Toes”; I looked forward to the movie with Steve Martin, though I thought he was an odd choice for the Dad. I was SO, SO angry when I finally saw it. Nothing of the book remained, nothing!!!! (and here is where I am using my ‘special’ and ‘reserved’ words, let me tell you!!! but I won’t – tell you, that is)

        Anyway, I think I hear my Mum coming, so I’d best quit now. More later. I’ve been sewing on another square (yes, I know; I do have a problem, don’t I?) since yesterday. I’ll take a pic and post it and the pattern photo so you can see where it might end up one day. And don’t admire me; it only makes me worse . . . šŸ˜›

      • If we admire you enough will your head swell up so much that you can’t fit through the door? šŸ˜‰ . I am going to have to trawl through some of your older posts to see some of your finished work. Keeping busy is a wonderful thing :). My recipe writing out was my “busy” thing šŸ™‚

      • How fun! You are up (before your birds, no doubt) and I am up (well after mine have gone to their nests) and so we meet in the middle (of something or other). And no, my head won’t swell up, but my ambition might, and that’s already well oversize, as I’m sure you’ve noted. Can’t remember if I’ve posted any of my finished stuff. However, today I found a tiny fabric bear that I handstitched when I was still in Victoria (so pre-1997). He is so cute. At first I was trying to remember where I got him, then I found the pattern in the same bag and it all came back to me . . . I’ll look for my shawl photos; that’s one ‘finish’ that I’m really proud of! My own design, too. Oh, and I have a child’s hat and scarf set that I love; made them for the Lewiscraft store that I was manager of (yes, I know that’s a split infinitive; I can hear my Mum now and she’s not even in the room! but it sounds so awkward the other way). I miss Lewiscraft. I had a lot to learn still, but connecting with customers (another of my ‘strengths’) and helping them was so much fun. I rode the bus for 3-5 hours total each day, so got a lot of knitted samples made for the store. Loved it!! Oh, and I have a lovely orange sherbet sort of colour poncho that was also a store sample. Too bad the weather here is usually either too hot or too cold.

      • I am sure I am not the only one that would love to see your work :). You could wear the poncho (they are back in this year! along with fluffy afghan coats and shaggy boots…the full 70’s memories thing šŸ˜‰ ) over lots of warm clothes? I had several poncho’s when I was a kid that my gran knitted and crochetted for my sister and I. By the way, you might have to forgive me my split infinitives, my bad spelling and my complete disreguard (probably spelt wrong but ‘whatchagonnado?’ šŸ˜‰ ) for correct grammar…my eldest daughter despairs of me. We got rain!!! WE GOT RAIN!!! The garden is stunned. I can see it flat and brown and looking like a drowned rat but under the shock is a kind of awakening bliss and I am happy šŸ™‚

      • I have worn the poncho here, but one has to be brave…

        As to your gramma, she is fine by me! My Mum was my first teacher, still corrects me, and has embedded her voice in my head (luckily, I like that). So I notice my ‘errors’ but that rarely stops me… I do love good English (why I love Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Guy Gavriel Kay, etc.) but slang away much of the time.

        Yay for your rain! I hope all my new friends under the Southern Cross got a fair share of that! The way the earth perks up and all the plants bend their heads in gratitude! Nothing like water after a long dry spell, is there?

      • I can’t wear a poncho over warm clotbes; I will be mistaken for a sasquatch! When I was a bit younger and skinny, I was too shy to wear what I love most; youth IS wasted on the young (or much of it was on me LOL).

        But some of it’s just culture; on Salt Spring Island, or many of the other islands with healthy hippie populations, I don’t rate even a glance. Last time I was down (in Jan-mid Feb 2008) for my second granddaughter’s birth, it took me only two days to fully revert; it was almost funny. I’ve never understood why some of our sub-cultures are so rigid and ‘in-the-box’. Always seems worse away from the sea…

      • There is something fundamentally grounding about being between the sea and the land that makes people think. If you live on the flotsam and jetsum line you tend to be a bit eccentric ;). I was born in a small hippy town in Western Australia called Denmark and there are healthy pockets of hippies here in Tassie but the locals are predominately rednecks and I tend to hide my veganism as I am not overly fond of angry torch weilding lynch mobs šŸ˜‰

      • The first time I saw you reference Denmark, Narf, it took me a second to realize it had to be a town. Nice that it’s a hippie town . . . well, my not-so-HO!

        Yay for eccentrics! the world needs more of us, I think . . .

        You are so right about the waterline, too . . . there’s a different energy near the sea, isn’t there?

        Not many hippies here, and LOTS of rednecks, so I’m cautious, too. Some of my friends are rednecks and would no doubt be quite shocked to learn all about me. But that’s ok; I’m a ‘connector’ and while I prefer to connect on many points with someone, I’m ok with only one or two points, too. We can learn from anyone and sometimes the most unlikely people end up being our true supporters. ~ Linne

    • Yes, but that’s the thing, isn’t it? It’s not comfortable . . . I tend to do this more to please others, even though I know I should do it more just for myself. I do push myself outside my comfort zone in other ways, though, just not with movies and books so much.
      Now that I’m thinking about it, I have a couple of stories from earlier days; but will wait for another time or I’ll be on the computer all day! ~ Linne

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

