Long-range projects

I mentioned in an earlier post that I love to have several long-range projects going on, as well as ones I can reasonably expect to finish. (and yes, you doubters, I DO finish some of my projects! My unique crocheted shawl is one of them; I’ll have to post a picture one day.)

Here is the cover of the magazine that inspired me to start the ‘crosses’ quilt top. For now, I am cutting five squares from every jelly roll fabric and bit of yardage as I use it. All the crosses will be unique, so I am going to need several hundred different fabrics. 500-odd, if I remember correctly. It’s going to be a while . . .

ScrappyQuilt01  Like it? Easy to do; I figured it out from the photo, but there are instructions inside.

13 thoughts on “Long-range projects

  1. I have to admit that I learned that I can’t multitask the hard way when I worked as a short order cook. I wasn’t very good at focusing on one task whilst I was supposed to be doing 3 other things at once. I could handle the grill and the breakfasts or the evening meal cooking but I was supposed to be prepping soup veggies and cooking cakes at the same time and if it got busy I just forgot them ;). I guess I have too much testosterone…I blame menopause (I blame it for most of my negative personalitiy traits to be honest so it DOES have a reason 😉 ). I am in utter admiration for every single one of you here. Linne, Rabid and Stacy I bow before your crafting abilities. My “crafts” revolve around hunting and gathering seeds and making them grow. I get the same degree of pleasure out of sourcing something rare from another country…getting it back into my hot little hands through the mail (not easy with Tasmanian customs I can tell you!) and getting that little seed to germinate and grow to a size where I can plant it out. I love nurturing life in my hands and am a whole lot better at it than trying to nurture various textiles to do my bidding. Textiles and I have a bad relationship. My children love to tell anyone who will listen about my “Failed crafts cupboard” where they can only thank God that I was too lazy to learn how to knit collars and cuffs because otherwise they would have had to WEAR those crazy creations. I love vibrant colours and crazy patterns and homespun things and my kids liked to not stand out of the crowd too much because they were crazy inside like me and didn’t want to stand out in the crowd because of how cruel other children can be (a lesson learned very early in the piece because we moved around a lot with my ex husbands job).
    I only threw out a jumper that I had started for my ex husband when Steve found it in the cupboard and said “what is this?”…OOPS! ;). In my cupboard I have stained glass, I have shell crafts (a large beaded curtain that got the better of me) I have various bits and pieces of knitted and crochetted material. I have a plastic tatting shuttle and some white cotton that mum sent me just before she died because she couldn’t find the tortoiseshell one that she inherited from Gran (who made gorgeous lace) and that I got in a parcel in the mail after she died…she must have found it and sent it to me days before. I haven’t tried tatting yet but might give it the old college try this winter as Earl can’t see the cotton with his little Chinese Amstaff eyes ;). Steve kept his homebrew stuff in that cupboard as well and now I have a failed foods cupboard stuffed to the back gills with all kinds of crazy things from other countries that my little beady magpie eyes set their sights on and just “HAD TO HAVE”…I usually find a use for them years after I aquire them ;).
    I think sometimes you have to take advantage of your situation and if you see something that you have an inkling that you might be interested in at a good price or for free, it’s time to add it to your mounting hoard for the future. You craft in squares and I think in squares… “when we plant out those hazelnuts we are going to need “X” amount of haybales and “X” amount of water tubes and we need to plant them in a square grove…”…my mind focusses on the squares of possibility and melds in circles of hope and triangles of strength (they are very strong indeed 😉 ) and one day this garden will be a gorgeous patchwork of possibilities full of bees and birds and nature all living together in its own little ecosystem without me stuffing around too much and cycling how nature intended it to. My own personal “Quilt” of possibility :).

    • This deserves a long reply and it’s past 11 at night, so I’m running out of time. But I have to say, if you have not seen the book “Square Foot Gardening”, I think it’s for you! I showed mine to my sister who lives in New Mexico and she bought her own and loves her little garden. She owns an accounting business now and has little time, but they still grow things. She built up the beds into short walls around a central bit where they can sit, then planted in the tops of the walls. This saves her back, which bothers her if she has to bend too much.

      OK, more later. ~ Linne

      • Our problem isn’t space, it’s the native wildlife that invades Poland and eats everything that we attempt to grow. We fortify it and they do their best to undo our hard work at night time. Possums are like your raccoons with twice as much attitude and for some reason there are an enormous amount of them this year. Perhaps it’s the bushfires that Tasmania had that has forced them out but they are pains in the derierre and have rendered our garden completely denuded of new vegetation. Our main problem is that as penniless hippies we don’t have the readies to protect our plants and so we have been sourcing some strong netting from the local fish farm. We are going to build a HUGE ediface to human ingenuity when the ground softens up enough to attempt to dig it later on in autumn and are just amazed at the lengths that we have to go to just to grow some food where other people seem to have it so easy. The possums and wallabies eat rhubarb leaves, potato leaves, entire pumpkin vines in one fell swoop and things that we would naturally assume were poisonous, they enjoy for their evening meal!

      • Ok, I have to get off the computer; this and other longish posts will have to wait, possibly for a couple more days. But I will respond.

        One of the bloggers I follow (The Pioneer Woman) gets nearly 30,000 entries on her giveaways (mind you, she gives away awesome stuff like kitchen aide mixers, an ice cream maker, lots of pairs of gorgeous cowboy boots and so on). She does not respond to comments. She lives on a working ranch, has four kids, has her own TV cooking show and writes books about cooking and also a couple for kids. If she answered every comment, nothing would ever get done. I’m lucky to be able to still respond. (Although I don’t know if YOU all are lucky to receive so much verbiage . . .) 😛 L8R, ~ Linne

  2. I’ve never been one for fiddly or long term projects. I like things I can pump out quickly so the most I would ever patchwork would be large squares. I also don’t have the patience or attention to detail that patchworking requires so anything I make is pretty slap-dash. I love handknitting hats for example. They don’t take too long and they’re ready to go after minimal sewing up. I greatly admire that you would even attempt such a detailed (fiddly) patchwork and with so many different fabrics, well that’s just wow! I look forward to seeing the photos of it coming along.

    • I should take a leaf from your book! I like the big square patchwork, too, and in fact have some fat quarters in my huge stash that I don’t want to cut up (you can see my favourite floral one in my header photo); When I get to it, those will become a large square quilt top. I was actually planning to be quite productive once last Christmas was over, but spending time with my Aunty is a priority for me now, especially with her sons working out of town every other week. She benefits from the company and from a bit of help with getting meals. Wish they would let me just move in and keep doing what I’m doing; don’t think that’s in the cards, though . . . So I will sew later. First things first, and for me that’s always family. It’s all over before you blink, no matter what you might wish for . . .

      That ‘crosses quilt’ is going to be very long-term; but posting about it here I know will help me keep going with it. I belong to a Canadian home organizing group and we have found that posting our ‘clutter’ areas before and after we tackle them is very encouraging. It’s good to look back sometimes when we don’t think we are making progress. So my project posting will work in the same way, I think. And help me keep it real. So easy to start, get distracted, start another, etc.

      Funny, I’ve always liked slow, fiddly sewing. I used to make long dresses all by hand (rarely wore them of course; we were what I call ‘bush hippies’, dressed mostly in Tshirts, jeans and work boots; this was not conducive to a long-dress lifestyle. I wore some of them, of course; the more hippie-ish ones, but often was seduced by Vogue high-style patterns that really were best kept for city people.

      I have some silk fibres and a can of medium that results in a felted look; I plan to make a hat from these, too.

      You know, in writing about all this, I am coming to see that I’m like the person at a buffet for the first time; can’t decide what to eat, decides to try everything, ends up with a bit of a mish-mash . . . not pretty . . .

      I have knit hats, mostly tuques, too; in fact, I have a pattern book called “Where Did You Get That Hat?” and have made a couple from that, too. Here’s a link if you are interested: http://www.patonsyarns.com/patternbook.php?PBS=500577%20

      Thinking about what you and some others have said, and about what I’ve posted, I think I just want to do everything, and learn everything. Life is too darn short! Good thing I believe in re-incarnation. Too bad I don’t get to come back and reclaim my stuff and continue on . . . now THERE’S a thought!! 😛

      • I too believe in reincarnation so the idea of coming back, growing old enough and then picking up where we left off appeals greatly. Somehow I don’t think it would work like that though sadly. Still, there is something exciting about coming back and being able to start all over again too. 🙂

      • Yes, nothing else makes any sense to me, really. Esp. when you think that some of us are only hear for the length of a few breaths. And even if we are here for over a hundred years, what is that compared to all eternity? I think of each life as a day in my eternal life, where I ‘wake up’, learn, practise, etc., grow old and go back to ‘sleep’ (which I think is really a very wonderful ‘waking’ on the other side of that door. Learn a bit more there, come back here to practise further. In the end, we are meant to grow up, I think, but one day just isn’t enough time.

        The thought excites me, too, but I still have a longing to come back and get my ‘stash’. . . LOL

      • Forgot to say, what else would explain why siblings are so different? Same parents, same upbringing (usually), and then so different . . .

  3. I get overwhelmed by too many open projects. I stick to one project, one book to read, and one book to write at a time. That’s all I can handle! Phew – I don’t know how you do it, Linne! ❤

    • I confess . . . me, too, but I love starting SO MUCH! Partly, to be fair, I moved a lot through most of my life, so things ended up in boxes, or storage; when I needed to do something with my hands, it was often easier to begin a new thing than look for an older one. Or, too, I would learn a new art/craft/technique/whatever and just HAVE to try it out . . . NOW!! Of course, back then I also thought I would live until I had finished everything! LOL Now I think more that I need to finish stuff, ’cause who else will? The five grandkidlets are still young (13 to nearly 1), so no way of knowing if any have inherited the ‘curse’ and will squeal with joy at inheriting a pile of UFOs. I hope at least one of them, though . . . and their Mum is very into old-fashioned handwork and the like, not to mention things like my antique tea cups, so at least some of my things will find a home. But still, I do need to get on with finishing. (And I keep posting about things I just started . . .) And books! Mum and I have three stacks of library books on the shelving unit in the living room and she has her current read on the kitchen table. I have another deep stack under the end table by where I sleep on the couch (nope, that’s wrong; I cleared that up this morning! Ha!). But there are still two deep stacks on top of said end table . . . I never know what I will feel like reading; I tend to go on binges and then go to an opposite genre. I either binge on a subject or an author. I find a new author I like and generally read everything they have written, in chronological order when possible. And then there’s the re-reading of eternal favourites. I just finished “A Fatal Thaw”, second in the Kate Shugak mystery series by Dana Stabenow. Am in the middle of “The Martian Chronicles” by Ray Bradbury. Have started “The Camino” by Shirley MacLaine (spurred on by having seen the movie “The Way” with Martin Sheen and Emilio Estevez (not to mention Yorick van Wageningen and especially James Nesbitt, who I will be watching for from now on . . .), also started: Anne Wilson Schafe’s “Women’s Reality” and Joyce Cato’s mystery “A Fatal Fall of Snow”. Cato is a pseudonym for Jacquie Walton, who I just discovered also writes as Faith Martin (who I read) and as Maxine Barry (haven’t tried her books yet). And that’s only the teeny, tiny tip of a huge iceberg . . .

    • Did I mention that I admire you? ’cause you likely accomplish much more than I do (except maybe the number of books read LOL). I haven’t written a book yet, although I’ve proofread a couple and have work proofing two more soon, as well as giving my opinion (and you know I’m always happy to do that, don’t you?) I do nearly always carry a book to read and a book to write in with me (never know what I might want to do . . . or when I might get stuck somewhere; heaven forbid I be waiting in line or on a bus and have empty hands. Although my iPhone has a mean game of Sudoku on it . . .) I also like to have along a bit of knitting or crochet work. I can’t sew standing or on the bus, so that’s reserved for visits to my Aunty or when watching tv that I don’t actually have to look at . . .

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

