Weather today:

I was up at 7:00 this morning (not light yet, ‘thanks’ to DST) and this is what was outside: 15Mar2013 715am

It doesn’t really show, but it was snowing lightly most of yesterday and overnight. That’s a snowdrift on the edge of the balcony. You can tell it’s snowing ’cause you can’t see the lights farther than halfway to the horizon.

15Mar2013 846am 15Mar2013 845amLater, at about 8:45 am, it looked like this outside: Hard to imagine it’s a city, eh? We have more snow coming later today and into tomorrow, they say. But better now than once the gardens are in.

 

43 thoughts on “Weather today:

  1. What a beautiful shot Linne :). We went to the U.K. back in 2005/2006 (over Christmas) and it snowed briefly in Liverpool where we were staying with Steve’s mum and the children wanted to play in it but I said “NO!” I needed a pristine picture the next morning but by the time morning rocked up the snow was melted. They might all be adults now but they certainly remember that event well and remind me whenever the subject of snow comes up πŸ˜‰
    Isn’t it funny that something so beautiful can hamper your garden? I guess you just have to learn to live with it and adjust your plans around it. A bit like our possums. I could hear them last night as I was tapping away here learning how to make coconut kefir online and they were screaming over who got to try to eat my vegetables first…sigh…I guess life is just adapting to the challenges isn’t it? I was watching a gardening show last night and designers were creating gorgeous gardens left right and centre. Steve and I have the capabilities (we studied horticulture and have our diplomas in hort and Landscape Design) BUT nature has other ideas. The local wildlife (possums and wallabies or the “Ned Kelly Gang of Serendipity Farm”) have other ideas. Anything that we plant is fair game. I said to Steve after watching the show “We are going to have to find the one plant that both possums and wallabies HATE and completely plant out Serendipity Farm in that one plant! At least it would make an interesting vision from the river when the tour boats wend their merry way past… I can hear them now…”please DON’T look to your left…we try to avoid that strange monotone garden up the hill there, we think that accountants own that property…” πŸ˜‰ Have a lovely productive Sunday and please give your mum a hug (if she is a hugger) from me. I wish I hugged my mum more before she wasn’t there to hug any more πŸ™‚

  2. I feel the same Stacy. I wish it would snow properly here in Ballan. We apparently get a little but snow in the lower areas of Australia isn’t what anyone would really consider snow. I’ve never been outside whilst it’s snowing and only visited the snow twice in my life. It involves a drive, hiring of chains and all sorts of other stuff so not very practical or affordable when I was a kid.
    Your view is so pretty.

    • Oh, here, I’ll send some of ours to you, too! We are expecting more starting tonight and through tomorrow, although it’s anybody’s guess what we will get exactly where we live. The forecast is for Edmonton region, which is a fairly large area.

      I’ve read a fair bit about Australia, beginning when I discovered Neville Shute. I started with “A Town Like Alice”, moved on to “On the Beach”, “Trustee From the Toolroom” and “Pied Piper”. I still love his work, too.

      I remember seeing “The Man From Snowy River” years ago, too and then of course, there is “Ned Kelly” with Heath Ledger and Orlando Bloom. I saw “Australia” not long ago, too. My friends thought it was trite and a bit sappy, but to me it was similar to the Westerns I grew up with, so I loved it anyway.

      Read Marlo Morgan’s “Mutant Message Down Under” some time ago, too; not sure what I think about that one; will have to re-read at some point.

      All this so you will see I know a little about Australia (did I mention “Crocodile Dundee”?? are you cringing? I hope not!), but am no expert. Just fascinated, esp. by the aboriginal cultures. I like learning about those from any country, but some draw me more . . .

      You may get a big snow one day, you know. I spent years in or near Victoria, BC and it’s normally got a temperate, English sort of climate. But about every ten years or so, they get up to four feet, often in one night. That happened over Christmas night in 1996; my last winter there. We got up in the morning to snow well past my knees (and I’m 5’10”). The city was shut down for three days, as they don’t keep enough snow-moving equipment for times like that. It was so lovely; everyone walking instead of driving (only emergency vehicles allowed on the streets). It was not that cold, and I wished it had gone on for a few weeks instead of only three days. The quiet . . . and people laughing and talking to each other instead of the usual din of motors, horns, etc. I wish that for you, one day . . . If you do get one, do go out and walk in the snowfall, especially at night and even more so if there is a full moon. Purely magical!

      • HeHe I got excited when you mentioned Victoria but then realized it was BC!
        Croc Dundee doesn’t sound so far fetched when you hail from the Aussie Outback like my good self. I love that movie. Also have you seen ” The Castle” 1997 Aussie movie? if you haven’t seen it , I would bet money you would like it. (and I am not a betting woman)

      • Thanks! I believe in “the willing suspension of disbelief” (forget who said that), so in spite of all the obvious pc issues, I still like many movies with themes from when I was young. A good friend said to me “many women prefer men with an edge, so long as they don’t get cut”. Growing up on westerns (books and movies), reading pioneer and homesteader stories, growing up after the war, away from towns; it all shaped us. I expect being from the Outback had a similar effect for you. And of course I read books set from the middle ages to WWI, and the themes overlapped. A very long way of saying why I think I like Crocodile Dundee and other similar heroes.

      • Have not seen “the Castle”, but will now watch for it! Thanks a lot. I also liked the true story (book) of the woman who crossed the Australian desert with camels.

        Had to laugh; I dont bet, either (unless you count lotto tickets) and I say “I bet” all the time.

        And I’m not into violence (in real life), but have enjoyed quite a few Aussie Rules games on tv. I have no explanation for some of my eclecticism . . .

    • As to the view, yes it is pretty. We are lucky to be on the top (9th) floor of the building; below us is one of the busiest streets in the city; traffic day and night. And emergency vehicles. Too loud for much conversation on the balcony and too dirty to eat out there. My Aunty is in the back (I’ll try and get a picture from her glass doors and you’ll see why I prefer her place); you can hardly hear the road. If I had that apt, I would eat out there every day that it wasn’t too freezing.

      Looking at the picture, it’s hard to believe we are less than a mile from the city centre, isn’t it?

      • It looks like a beautiful city. My mum lives on a major road (for the area) and I hate her front patio. The garden isn’t so bad as the patio is raised above the trees so they mute the noise a little in the garden. Her back patio is in between the 2.
        I adore our garden for the utter industrial silence. We can hear the freeway a few k’s away on a quiet morning and the train horn can be heard but that’s infrequent really. However the noise from the bloody cockatoos is insanely loud. They start up not long after the sun is up and then again at sunset they all throw mega “I don’t WANNA go to bed” tantrums which go on for ages. I can hear them all squawking away in the trees now. They also fly around carrying on in big flocks of white with splashes of yellow in their sulfur crests. They are gorgeous but bloody noisy.

      • Well, I don’t think of it as beautiful; there are a few lovely areas with older houses, but much of it is newer (60s and later) and I don’t care for that much. The trees help a lot . . . of course, depends on one’s tastes, too. I’m used to more older homes and lovely gardens (not much of that here, as there’s cold weather and snow for about half the year most times). I get tired of the grubby snow and the barrenness; no scent of growing things for so long . . . but many locals love it here.

        I wonder if I would like the cockatoos? I like the magpies here and locals generally hate them; they, too, are raucous and not ‘pretty-sounding’. But they are among my favourites . . .

        Nice your garden is quiet. What a difference that can make. ~ Linne

    • Thanks. You may have all of ours. Please! It is very pretty and also was down to -23 C today (with the wind). It’s good for me, I know, but I’m ready for moderate temperatures (a brief interlude before it soars to +30ish C. I haven’t been to Louisiana, but some of my books have been set there. The farthest south I’ve been in the USofA is just south of Virginia Beach on the East Coast and Globe, Arizona (near the southern border). I love the land anywhere, pretty much, but also older buildings. Would love to have made it to Europe, Tibet, Greece, Italy and especially the Holy Land and Egypt. Might still do it; will have to wait and see. In the meantime, I can say in Egyptian Arabic, “I’m sorry, sir (or miss), I don’t understand Arabic. I understand Arabic a little.” I learn this in any new language (am not fluent except in English, but love languages and language itself); breaks the ice and then people are so nice! It’s all I know in several languages, which is really both funny and pathetic. But . . . too many things to do and learn; too little time . . .

      • I love languages, too (am fluent in French, the language of my ancestors). Charlemagne said, “If you know a second language, you possess a second soul.” ❀

      • Bon soir, mon amie! J’adore la Francaise, mais Je n’ai pas le facilite comme ca. (forgive me, I can’t figure out the special characters)

        Well, that’s about as good as it gets. Hope it made sense. I did take several night courses in French, one year back in the dark ages in junior high school (grade 8; was too shy in my first big school – 200 students!! – to speak out loud, so switched to two years of Latin by correspondence the next year. Loved that! and it has helped me so much with English, French, Spanish, etc. I took two years of Uni level Japanese, too, and aced it, but without practise, it fades away. I can introduce myself and also apologize for not speaking Japanese; that’s about it. Too bad, cause I would love to be fluent in lots of languages. I did learn a few words in Maori after I read “The Bone People”, one of the best books I ever read, although challenging in many places. Dabbled in Russian and a tiny bit of Basque, too. Have a programme on my MP3 player for Egyptian Arabic, but need to get it a new battery or find the charger or something. I took Spanish in first year Uni (my first go-round, way before I returned to school for a couple of years and studied the Japanese); found it relatively easy. When I worked for the import/export company in the early 90s, I bought a huge, incredible Eng-Sp dictionary that contained sample business letters plus some of the societal rules for writing such. I wrote quite a few business letters over those months . . . although those at the receiving end may have chuckled when reading them. And when we went to Costa Rica to represent five of Canada’s organic growers/producers at the world’s first all-organic food trade show, I took a small dictionary with me and got along just fine. I took an extra week in Mexico city on my way back and got along there fine, too. I was on my own during the day and it was so much fun!

        So anyway, you can see I’m a major dabbler, can’t you? Passionate about so many things and about learning. If I could just learn to go without sleep . . . or find some extra days in the week that no-one else knows about . . .

      • I’d love to learn Latin – very useful in so many other languages, as you said. I like that – “extra days that no one else knows about.” ❀

      • Yes, Latin is very useful, even though I don’t read it and am not able to write or speak it. I think it’s just that I learnt it and its principles that is so helpful. Even knowing the roots of words so I ‘get’ where they come from and what they mean. The downside is I get very cross when people who don’t ‘get’ it start making stupid less meaningful changes to our language without thinking. For instance, ‘Paedophile’ is someone who likes children, ‘Pedophile’ is someone who likes feet. And so on . . . ~ Linne

      • Linguistics! Never studied, but am fascinated by it all!! Lucky you! I was in Education, but dropped out in Feb of year one. Went back to college some years later and took uni level English composition, 2yrs Japanese (now mostly forgotten) and Introductory Studio (my favourite!). I absolutely LOVE printmaking. Have a couple of my first prints here; should post a pic or two; not earthshaking, but I like ’em.

        Well, I’m sure more language will ensue at odd intervals.

        and were you consterned by my geographic faux pas? :-/

      • No, not at all worried. Mostly tongue in cheek but I also know how lame my geography is. I know Canada is the country on the top of America and that many wonderful things are Canadian – maple syrup, Alanis Morisette, Canadians in general πŸ˜‰ but beyond that I have little idea. I figured if I know nothing about Canada then a Canadian probably knows nothing about Australia and that I would cheekily share some information. πŸ™‚
        I too have spent some time studying languages. 7 years Italian in primary school then 12 months at uni, an intensive course in German and I worked in a language school teaching ESL where I learned a few words in Greek, Japanese, Mandarin Chinese, Indonesian, French, Russian and Spanish. And when I say a few words I can say thank you in all and hello and a few others I say a few more words but not many.

      • Well, I DO know the song
        “Kookaburra sitting in an old gum tree;
        Merry, merry king of the bush is he;
        Laugh, Kookaburra, laugh, kookaburra,
        Gay your life must be!”
        I learned that in grade school.
        and, of course, there is “Waltzing Matilda”, one of my all-time faves, and also “And the Band Played ‘Waltzing Matilda'”, which made me cry the first time I heard it. One of my brothers-in-law worked in radio (he’s amazing!) and played it every Remembrance Day. No other radio station would play it, though.

        I have an advantage, though; I have read widely since I began school (Mum taught me to read at four), and once Nevil Shute got my attention, I just kept going…

        My family got its first tv after I left home, so that was a big bonus. I used to read the dictionary (home and school) looking for new and interesting words (and occasionally for forbidden words πŸ™‚ )

        The Atlas was so amazing for me; I used to pore over maps, following rivers to the seas, learning new places, savouring strange names, imagining other times, places, peoples . . .

        I have more to say on your comment, but it’s now 1:14 am and my phone is at 54%, so it’s off to dreamland for me . . .

      • I know there is a red maple leaf on your flag. I know a little more but it’s impressions and a general outline of your countries shape, not things that go well in words. I do know that Vancouver and Melbourne tied for most livable cities a few years back although Melbourne failed to mention that we drew, only that we won or came 2nd. Sleep well and may your batteries, both the phone and your own be well charged. πŸ™‚

      • I don’t remember hearing about Melbourne and Vancouver; maybe I was already here then. For a city, I do like Vancouver very artsy-hippie in places; a lot of diversity; Granville Island is the coolest artsy shopping area. Maiwa (see my Suppliers links) is there. It’s very walkable, too.

      • We had friends who moved from here to Vancouver when we were kids. Mum was Canadian, Dad Australian. The kids always came across as more Canadian with many of their stories as mum had kept her culture alive. They moved over when I was about 11 I think so they’re definitely more Canadian than Aussie now. I got back in touch with their eldest son a year or so back when I still Facebooked which was very cool. πŸ™‚ it sounds like a fascinating country. πŸ™‚

      • What fun, getting back in touch with them! Facebook was good for that. I never posted very personal info; more political stuff, hoping to get people to wake up and maybe grow some backbones . . . Now, with the new format, the ads, and having fallen down the rabbit-hole into blogland (really, I need to come up with more attractive words than ‘blog’ and ‘blogland’), I am rarely on FB.

        I like that you think my country is fascinating; it is; and I think the same of yours . . .

      • Glad we’re still friends πŸ˜‰
        and one benefit is learning about each other’s country, too. I like that most people think theirs is the best country in the world and I am not patient with Canadians who accept our government selling us down the river . . .

        We have no Canadian department stores left, no Cdn craft stores, and so on. A few independent stores, of course, but the big companies have been wiped out. So I get a bit fierce at times . . .

        On the positive side, we have many great musicians, artists, writers, film-makers, etc. We have had some good leaders, too. And it was a Canadian, Mrs. Adelaide Hoodless, who started The Women’s Institute, the largest women’s organization in the world and the only one with representation at the U.N.

        My home province, B.C., has everything from Arctic Tundra to Desert to Temperate Rain Forest. The only thing missing is Tropical Rain Forest; but with climate change, who knows…

        I’ll pass on more at intervals; hope all my readers will do the same . . .

      • Of course we’re still friends and that friendship means a lot too! πŸ™‚
        I hear you with the sell off. We’ve had a fair bit of that over time here where many of our icons are owned by overseas interests. Vegemite, our iconic spread is owned by Kraft. Ironically, Americans as a whole seem to despise Vegemite! It’s such a shame that we no longer have locally owned larger businesses to look after our people although we’re not too badly off. We’ve just joined the Costco Revolution. Thankfully there are only a handful of stores Australia wide although I suspect more will come. *sigh* globilisation. 😦

      • One reason I don’t like globalization is the resulting loss of local culture. When I travel (really, only a few trips to the States and a business trip to Costa Rica with a stop-over in Mexico City on the way back [that last included a day trip to San Miguel de Allendes; a real highlight!]), I prefer to live as ‘local’ as possible and to eat the everyday food of people like myself. About 5% of my self likes a bit of a splurge and more sophisticated food from time to time; mostly I like everyday home cooking.

        When a country allows chains like McDonalds to move in, and markets them aggressively, local culture is diluted. Soon, I fear, everywhere will be just like everywhere else. Even here, the cultural diversity is being slowly wiped out.

        I have found that shopping at the foreign chains is not the best; they offer things that are badly designed and made from poor materials; more $$$ for people with nothing invested in local peoples and cultures, and less and less for those peoples.

        A big chain from the States has taken over the last of the Zeller’s stores here (which were originally Canadian). Prices at first were quite low as they built up the customer base. Now prices are slowly rising again. But the products are worse. I was looking for children’s T-shirts for a project (yes, another one!) and what I found were all very poor material, with stitching already beginning to unravel in several items. Now I have to wait until I can get to a better source.

        I hope, when I finally make a road trip (so to speak) Down Under, that there will still be local food and culture to enrich my soul . . .
        and local accents πŸ˜‰

      • Local accents we have (although even there we have plenty of Americanisms that creep into the vocabulary) and there are local foods but not everything is local. You have to look for the Australian made Australian owned symbol – a triangle with a kangaroo inside. At least if you eat kangaroo you will know it’s local. I wouldn’t like to guarantee everything else is though. 😦

      • I have always liked the Aus accent, and the slang! I don’t always get it, but often I do. Haven’t tried kangaroo yet but would like to. I’ve always preferred wild meat over domestic.

      • Roo is lovely. It’s a very strong flavoured meat (very gamey) and quite tough as you would expect. It’s best cooked medium rare in my opinion. I had a roo salad once, medium rare, sliced quite thinly and mixed with fresh cherry tomatoes, baby spinach and so on. There was also a lovely balsamic dressing. Yum!

      • Have you tried simmering it? I did that with our kids (goat kids, all male, not children . . .) and the meat was tender and delicious.

        My doctor, years ago, taught me a great way to cook the holiday turkey and that might work for roo, too.
        The day or evening before, the oven to 350 F, put in the stuffed turkey and roast for an hour (this kills any germs), then turn the heat down to whatever the internal temp is supposed to be when it’s done and leave it cooking until you are ready to eat. It never dries out or over-cooks, and the breast meat is the most juicy, delicious white meat I’ve ever had. Sometimes I covered the bird with aluminium foil, removed it half an hour or so before the meal, then turned up the heat to brown the skin more; depended on how the bird looked an hour before mealtime.

        I’m sure you could do this with chicken in one day if you put it in early. Perfect if you are busy or have to be out during the day.

        Or then there’s the Schlemmertopf!

        If you try any of these, let me know how you like the meat done that way.

      • The salad sounds great! Much like one my younger son makes for me when I visit: he puts two chicken breasts on the bbq on his balcony, assembles an incredible assortment of fresh veggies, then whips up an Asian-type dressing in his blender; contains peanut butter, soya sauce, sesame oil and more.

        He slices the breasts, lays the meat over the salad in serving dishes, drizzles the dressing over and it’s perfect every time! After, we have my favourite coffee: Vietnamese. He has been to Vietnam twice and bought a couple of the little sets you use to make it. It’s the best!!

      • I love Vegemite and Marmite, thanks to my first beloved Mother-in-Law, who emigrated from England after the War. I haven’t seen it here, but used to buy it when I lived in Victoria (BC πŸ™‚ ) oh, and Typhoo tea, too! I have been hoarding the stash I brought back from my last trip down, which, sadly, was to attend her funeral. I didn’t see her very often after her son and I broke up, but I loved her dearly and still miss her presence in this world.

        I don’t trust Kraft, though, and wonder what changes they will make in order to boost profits . . .

        I will buy it again next time I’m down to the Coast and see if it has changed.

      • Kraft has owned Vegemite for years sadly. I really need to buy OzeMite, the Dick Smith brand (Dickmite?) Yes, we make a lot of jokes about the Dick foods and products. Dick Heads matches? (our other brand is Red Heads), Dick cheese? πŸ˜‰ http://www.dicksmithfoods.com.au/ is his webpage and the ad that was banned being shown on tv. At least it’s Australian owned.

      • I wouldn’t have banned that ad! Humour works to reach people and obviously Mr. Smith wants to reach more than the so-called ‘upper classes’. Many here would have banned it, though… I feel he was after getting attention, not being crude from ignorance or innate crudeness; a separate thing, in my book.
        Canada needs a version of Mr. Smith; ghe equivalent in the States is the Paul Newman and Paul Newman, Next Generation, lines. But their focus is solely on generating cash for charities, not on building patriotism.

        We don’t have either.

        I read a bit on his blog, too. I wish there were a follow button and wanted to ask if tbere was one planned, but the fofm only accepts questions from Australians.

        He could be speaking of Canadians, too. We say we don’t want foreign ownership, then we shop in foreign-owned stores and food outlets. Apathy, indeed! Makes me crazy!!

        Thanks for the link; I feel inspired by him and the company.

      • Thanks!! He made me laugh!!!
        Lsmb-orghini . . .

        Now you have me thinking . . . again
        . . . about Canada . . .

      • Your language skills leave me prostrate in homage . . . My Dad’s family were Mennonite farmers from Russia who spoke Low German at home. They came to Canada after the revolution, when Dad was a year old. His oldest sister was eighteen and already married. I can remember Dad talking with his Dad in German when I was young. But the gutterals put me off and I never tried to learn it. I can say Hello in Mandarin, but didn’t think I’d ever get the tonalities right. Italian is Latinate, so I can read the odd but. I am SO impressed by your years of study. Sometimes I wish I could just plug a flash drive into my brain and download languages . . .

        I do know ‘pizza’ and ‘Roma’ . . . πŸ˜›

      • My language skills are generally reserved to polite hellos and little beyond. I have a great accent in Italian but little language or grammar and my German isn’t much better. Use it or lose it and I haven’t had chance to use it. Io parlo l’Italiano in poco. Ich spreche ein bischen Deutsch. I speak Italian/German a little. I loved that I could understand written German due to its similarities to English. 50% of the English language comes from Old High German after all. Etymology again. πŸ˜‰

      • If we both had a bit more, we could practise together, at least. I could learn Italian; it’s similar to Spanish in many ways. I expect local usage would differ, though. It’s so nice to have met you, and other readers, who share my interests. It doesn’t happen often face-to-face. Well, an interest or two, but not such a lovely range of them.

        I’m glad to have friends like you. I’m the eldest of nine, so I tease a lot; nice that you ‘get’ it.

      • I agree. It’s lovely to find someone who shares so many interests. I love my community that I am building. I’ve such a widely ranged friends base now with you and Fran who are still only online friends (and lo less treasured or loved for that) as well as local friends who are into the same ways of living. πŸ˜€

      • I was surprised when I first saw a reference to you and Fran not having met outside of online. You sound so like very old friends . . .

        I have three good friends here and a fair number of more casual friends. Interesting; I also have three good friends back in Victoria [B.C. ;-)] and some casual friends there, too.

        I am delighted to be included in your online village and to have you, Fran, Kym and all the rest in mine.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

