FOs (but not from today); Today’s Stitching

Too late now to write much, but here are some finished projects (see, I CAN complete stuff!!!):

20130316-013435.jpg Bottom of a box I painted for my sister in New Mexico. Inspired by an Aussie Aboriginal painting, I drew this freehand from a picture in a painting instruction book. The background is a dark Forest Green.

20130316-013728.jpgthe Jelly Roll book; inside is this pattern:

20130316-104312.jpg and this is what I did yesterday and the day before:

20130316-104401.jpg
Three strips to add and I’ll have the first square finished!

That’s only one FO; I’ll post a couple more separately; my phone refused to upload or let me edit last night, so I don’t want to do that again…

40 thoughts on “FOs (but not from today); Today’s Stitching

  1. I love that your work was inspired by Aussie Aboriginal Art. It is fabulous.
    Once I took a tour with a guide around the base of Oolaroo and saw the ancient works there. You would enjoy it very much.(as I did)

    • Oh, she got him ages ago. I had a papier-mache box and wanted to make her something nice, but wasn’t sure of how it would turn out; I painted the bottom so it wouldn’t embarrass her (probably wouldn’t anyway, that was my stuff). It turned out ok and then I wished I’d painted the top . . . She does love it, though. I got her to send me a picture of it so I’d have one for my in-head ‘portfolio’. She sent it as a PDF, so I couldn’t upload it; I opened it on Mum’s screen, then photographed it with my phone, then uploaded. Thanks for the compliment, my friend. ~ Linne

  2. That painting on the box is gorgeous! I adore that little turtle. He looks like A’tuin the turtle from the Terry Pratchett Discworld series of books. Have you read any of them yet? If not, PLEASE try to get one out of the library and have a read. If you like Douglas Adams you will adore the Discworld. I have had some incredibly profound moments reading what is essentially comedic fantasy and my children knew I loved them so much they bought me the entire set for Christmas one year between them :). Your A’tuin is swimming with infinity on his back and the Discworld (the setting for Terry Pratchets novels) rides precariously on A’tuin the ancient and humungous sky turtles back as he flies with purpose through space…
    Your jelly roll pattern appears to be like a spiral? I love spirals. I had a love affair with them and once I learned about Phi/the magic number that most of nature emulates I was sold šŸ™‚
    Phones have minds of their own. I am not a fan of Steve’s new mobile. You have to swipe things and move your finger all over the place and he says “it’s easy” but his phone doesn’t like my fingers ;). Just to phone my daughters is a pain in the derierre but I persist, much like I am going to have to learn how to use the Foxtel (cable) remote control for my own good ;). You are, indeed, a wonderful crafter Linne. Not only do you stick with one craft, but you master a lot! I can’t wait to see that poncho. I will probably have to attempt to make myself one after that and goodness only knows what I will end up with. I am going to knit/crochet(whichever survives Earls ministrations the best) an afghan for my knees to wear in the early mornings in winter while I tap away here before Brunhilda gets crackling enough to warm up the kitchen and boil my first cup of tea and I want to make a shawl as well. Any ideas? Easy is always best when it comes to me ;).

    • OK, I know I said I’m out of time, and a full reply has to wait here, too, but I laughed so hard when you said I stick with one craft . . . hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha……………….. out loud, too, which I rarely do!

      I knit, crochet, sew (hand and machine, none of it expert), weave (on a floor loom and a Navajo-type upright), draw, paint (a bit of fine art and more folk art, none of it great), LOVE print-making (but didn’t get to do too much of it – should post pics of what I have here), have done tatting, design patterns of all sorts for various and sundry, embroider poorly (but love it), can spin but haven’t for some time and that was mostly with a spindle, do beadwork and wirework for jewellery, card-making (not scrap-booking, thank God!), make crocheted lace, I’m sure there’s more . . . and that’s just the fibre arts and ‘art’ arts. I have stuff to ‘felt’ silk fibres, to dye silk scarves and fabrics, am busy getting ready to do image transfers onto a variety of fabric items, oh, there’s more . . . basketry (including a cute baby rattle and a small tray just right for one person’s ‘tea’), Ukrainian egg designs (not too good at that, it needs practise and I was distracted by ever more crafts), I have helped create etchings, also screen-printed wallpaper for a store, a three sided mural for a beauty salon (three sided ’cause it was in an upper corner, so on two walls plus part of the ceiling).

      I love to play with web design, photoshop, desktop publishing, to proof and edit, have done a very small bit of writing, prose and poetry . . .

      Ok, now it’s 11:30. I’m off. CUL8R! ~ Linne (exits, still laughing . . . ONE craft!!! hahahahahahahahahaha . . . . )

      • Nope, not a man . . . I recently read a great report that found that NOBODY multi-tasks well; it is NOT an efficient way to get things done. Of course, we can do multiple things in a quick sequence; check the soup isn’t boiling over, where is the baby?, let the dog out, check the soup, where is the baby (a crawler, I mean)?, and so on. But not when it comes to things that need attention to detail for any length of time. You wouldn’t want to write a book while doing the above, would you? So you can relax and single task; it’s good for you and gives better results . . .
        I’m not really a multi-tasker; I just like to have several things (and books) on the go; then I can decide what I feel like doing or reading at any time (and it does change, sometimes from hour to hour). ~ Linne

      • I hear you :). Steve is the same. He can be making wooden spoons, watering the garden and watching television whilst playing his guitar (he is doing it right now šŸ˜‰ ) but I seem to have to do one thing at a time and I guess that’s the way I was built :). I like to follow things through and stick with them till I finish (unless they have cuffs and collars šŸ˜‰ ). I love the process of crocheting and have made very large pieces like bedspreads before but anything intricate or shaped tends to freak me out a bit.

      • Big lace is a great way to master intricate. I prefer the ‘by-the-inch’ patterns over the ones where you make a long base to fit your cloth; it’s ok, but more tricky for beginners. I like to use a thread pattern, but make it with yarn and whatever size hook fits the yarn. Makes a great edging for a knit/crocheted yarn piece, like a shawl.

      • Not too sure what big lace actually is but am thinking some sort of crocheted lace? I might have to look that up online and if it makes a great edge for a shawl I might have to be exploring it soon šŸ™‚

      • Sorry; I meant ‘big’ lace made with yarn as opposed to ‘fine’ lace made with crochet thread… I use the same pattern (meant for thread), sub yarn n right hook for the yarn. Presto! ‘big’ lace!!!

      • My sons’ dad carves; he used to make lovely wooden spoons. You are lucky. I bet you could sell them online; even more valuable with painted/decorated handles.

      • Steve is in the process of setting up a website now. That’s why we are studying media after 4 years of horticulture. We wanted to learn the fundamentals for our food forest and to incorporate into our permaculture ideals here on Serendipity Farm. Thank goodness we did because when we inherited Serendipity Farm back in 2010 we had NO idea how difficult this piece of land would be to work and how invasive the native animals would be. It’s been a real learning curve and without that horticultural background we might just have given up on doing anything here (and might be curled up in the foetal position under the bed šŸ˜‰ ). We are both made of stubborn stuff ;). Steve is husband number 2 and is an Aquarius. I don’t really go much by astrological signs but as a Leo, I am the exact polar opposite of him and aint that the truth! It’s like we come from different planets but when we work together we can come up with some amazing solutions, ideas…it’s learning to adapt our own systems and thought processes to the others which takes some time when each one of you is used to having the freedom to make up your own minds ;). Steve is very creative and his spoons are really lovely. If you go back a few posts you will see some of them (not all that far back). He just likes making them and has only given them away so far. We like to be generous. The world is aching for generousity, we are all meant to be sharing and our modern “me Me ME!” approach is making it suffer so we like to give something back to the ether. I love Medieval art, especially animals and celtic patterns and would love to decorate some of Steve’s medieval range (made from oak and very solid pieces) with celtic knots and perhaps bees. I feel a strong affinity with bees and might get a hive of them once we get enough flowers going to keep them happy. I don’t eat honey and neither does Steve so we wouldn’t be predating their sweet goodness BUT we could use their wax in various things including the balm that Steve makes for his wooden spoons. They might like it here, goodness only knows the neighbour up the back keeps bees and most of them spend their days here foraging ;). Love the idea Linne. I might collaborate with Steve for the mothers day draw (in May here) and we might produce an oak spoon/scoop with some wood burned bees or perhaps fine chiselled bees that are hand painted in Medieval colours? (Butter yellow, cornflower blue, orange, forest green and brown?). See what happens when great minds think alike? šŸ™‚ You can enter the draw when we have it. We don’t require anyone to do anything other than like Steve’s spoons enough to want to own one and say so. If you get drawn (we use Earls walnut choosing abilities to get a truly unique and random draw šŸ˜‰ ) we will send the spoon off to you. You have good odds, last time there were only 15 entries :).

      • I’m gonna answer this in bits, cause my phone app wont let me see your post while I answer.
        If you have not read “The Omnivore’s Dillemma: A Natural History of Four Meals” by Michael Pollan, do try and get it. In the third story, he spends a week with a family who raise orgsnic meat and sell it only from their farm (lower carbon footprint). Forget the meat bit; I recommend it to you ’cause the story of how they reclaimed a barren, eroded bit of used and abused earth is most inspiring. I’ve read lots and I learned so much from that story; mostly about innovative ways of problem-solving by studying nature.
        The rest of the book is awesome, too, but it’s the land revitalization that I feel may give you some ideas…

      • Glad you are NOT under the bed! Much more comfy on top of it…
        Interesting signs; my sun is in Virgo, but I am not typical. My rising sign is Leo, I have four planets in Libra and my moon is in Aquarius! My studies have led me to a different understanding of astrology from the mainstream, but some things seem to apply across the board.
        As to you two working well together, when you apply fire to water (carried by aquarius) and air is applied to the fire, fire is hotter, water turns to steam, and you end up with a lot of potential power (subject to application, of course).

      • Yes, it’s more challenging to adapt to each other when you are more ‘formed’ and less malleable, isn’t it? Great you two are finding a way to do that…

      • Will check out spoons when I get time on the computer. They sound wonderful. I agree with you about generosity, too. It’s why I was drawn to Pam’s quilt raffle. You might consider using a spoon set giveaway to raise money for a charity, books for a library, computer for a school, whatever is dear to your hearts. I assure you, in May (God willing and the creek don’t rise, as they say), I will def enter the draw. Only 15 people?? Maybe we can cross-pollinate … and get that number higher …

      • I love Celtic anything! and bees! Did you know the Hebrew word for bee is Deborah? I think you have wonderful ideas for decorating the spoons. Do you ever scan your work into the computer? If so, I have some ideas for you, but will email them to you later. Too crazy here just now. Good, just busy.

      • Is not eating honey part of your philosophy? Just curious…

        Beeswax is good for many things, including waxing sewing thread, ingredient for body care stuff like lip balm, etc. I’m sure you know all this, though …

      • Also love that set of colours.
        BTW, if you grow some alfalfa to enrich the soil and loosen it up WAY down, it will also please your bees and make delicious honey… just a thought.
        We caught a swarm once. I’ll have to share the story sometime.

      • I would love to read about your swarm šŸ™‚ I am planning on planting out some buckwheat as well because it’s also a great cover crop. I will see if I can source some alfalfa from the farm shop, if not, I will just get some from the health food shop. I bought my amaranth and quinoa and chia that way šŸ™‚ I am also planning to grow some horseradish and comfrey to loosen up the soil. Anything that grows roots down deep is alright in my book. It should be able to get its feet down into that clay layer where the moisture is stored šŸ™‚

      • Your plans sound great!!
        Comfrey is good for a lot of things, but spreads easily and can come back from a small bit of root. I would sink a bottomless five gallon pail in the ground, then plant in it; or else grow the comfrey where I didn’t mind it spreading. If you know all this already, feel free to ignore this post, of course.

      • I have bamboo as well and don’t mind them going nuts somewhere out of zone 1 on the property. I can donate a fair few nooks and crannies to mental plants and if they taste any good the wildlife will put paid to their spreading ways, they ate all of my mint ;).

      • Ah, yes, bamboo and mint . . .
        You’re right, of course; it’s in the smaller gardens that we need to take more care. I used to grow mint next to the downspout at one place I lived. On the Wet Coast, that meant I rarely needed to water it. Always wished I’d tried watercress, too. Love that nip in a sandwich!

    • Sorry, missed your final question. Of course I have ideas! I do that more than anything else, except maybe philosophical thinking, which is sorta related . . . oh, yeah, the question . . . The easiest is crocheted or knit the same way as a dishcloth. Do you crochet? If not, I can teach you . . . really! (same for knitting)

      I have three ‘summer’ shawls somewhere in my stuff; all of a heavy dishcloth-weight cotton. You can use that, or use yarn. The shape will be the same.

      To knit, cast on 5 stitches. Knit one row. Turn.
      K2, yarn over (yo), K1, yo, K2. Turn.

      **Knit across (or purl if you want a smoother surface, but plain knitting, or garter stitch, is easiest). Turn.
      K2, yo, knit to last two stitches and yo, K2. Turn.**

      Repeat from ** to ** until the long side (where you are knitting) is as wide as you want. Maybe 3 or 4 feet for a shoulder shawl, 5 or 6 feet for one like mine. Not so big if you plan to add fringe, though, or you will have to roll it at the neck like I do with mine. With cotton, that’s a bit thick.
      Anyway, when it’s as wide as you want (and allow for fastening or knotting it in front), then knit two rows and then cast off.

      For a practical shawl, I would not add fringe. For fancy, I would. Unless you’re like me, don’t go out, but love fancy anyway. You can add beads along the border for weight and/or beauty, too, if you like. But you did say ‘easy’ . . .

      I am BAD! I lied to you! I said I was off and here I am, blogging replies . . . but it’s so much FUN!!
      Well, anyway, be back tomorrow evening sometime. ~ Linne

      • Thank you heaps for that Linne :). I am going to have a go at making myself a shawl. Not sure out of what yet but there should be a sale soon at Spotlight on their wool so it might be time to head in and take a goosey gander at what they have available :).

      • Narf, I used some balls of two different green yarns, holding two strands together, to achieve a bit of a tweedy look and also to make it thick and to make it work up more quickly. I had made a purple poncho for the store that I loved, but one of my employees, a good friend, loved it too, so when I moved to another store, I gave it to her. Another good friend, hearing that I’d given away the poncho I loved, and knowing that I would have made it in green for myself, bought three big bags of the yarn (in two slightly different colours, but she didn’t notice; I loved it!) and gave them to me, with strict orders to make myself a poncho. Of course, I don’t follow orders too well (ask me and I’ll do most anything, TELL me and it’s another story . . . sad, eh?), so I honoured her intentions but not her instructions; I made the shawl instead and I truly love it forever!! Sometimes I fasten it with a silver hair thing; the kind that has a silver pin that goes through two holes in it to hold your hair back. Can’t for the life of me remember what the thing is called . . . Anyway, my ‘silver’ thing turned out not to be metal, but plastic, and broke. I still have the pin and am busy thinking of ways to fashion a Celtic type of holder that will go with the pin. Another project . . . sigh . . .

        Anyway, as to YOUR wool; acrylic is easy to wash and usually quite warm; mine is nubbly, not smooth and straight; that covers a multitude of sins (and errors). Don’t buy anything too thin; buy your yarn first, then the hook in the size recommended on the label. If you have to buy thin yarn, you will need twice as much, pretty much, and a larger hook. The staff will be able to help you, if you haven’t done this sort of freewheeling purchasing before. ~ Linne

      • I have a selection of needles and hooks that I have amassed over the years and will have a good look when we next go into the city for some wool. I can’t wait to have a go at making a shawl and a throw for my legs as well in the early mornings before Brunhilda heats the house up šŸ™‚

      • Thats a great idea…if I make it big enough it CAN be both! šŸ˜‰ Read bedspread wrapped around everything šŸ˜‰

      • Been there, done that! Well, not an actual bedspread, but once I thought I’d crochet a lacy long skirt to wear over jeans or a fabric skirt. I could only afford cheap acrylic yarn, too. Which stretched. A lot. I never wore it, but as it was quite rainbow-coloured, I doubled it and spread it across the back of our HUGE couch to brighten up the cream fabric I used as a cover. I have a photo somewhere …

      • Again, I would LOVE to see the photos. You really are incredibly inventive and productive Linne :). I have a smallish square that I crocheted using single crochet (so its thick and hole free) with some spun wool that I sourced from a thrift shop locally. It was thick, uneven and creamy white and I managed to evade Earl’s gnashers long enough to finish it. Earl Ate that bedspread but has so far left this square alone. I think he figures it is his because I lay it over the end of the sofa and he snuggles up to it ;). I love rainbows and bright colours…again the magpie in me. I had a ceramic painting teacher tell me that only children and people with mental disabilities love bright colours… needless to say she wasn’t a very good teacher! ;).

      • I wonder if Indian ladies knit/crochet saris?! I remember crocheted trousers in the 70’s. My aunty Margaret owned a knitting machine and used to make things for people for cash. She was amazing and the jumpers that she turned out were awesome. I was always jealous of my cousins because they always had lovely jumpers (mum was too busy to knit). I know that Jess recently made some knitted pants and it made me smile to think that the 70’s are coming back (again…and again….and again…. šŸ˜‰ )

      • Oh; make a list of hook n needle sizes before you go. Buy the yarn you love (very motivating) n if you don’t have the right size needles/hook, you can get that/them at the same time.

      • Another good idea and I will take your advice about the yarn thickness. They usually have some great deals on yarn around the beginning of winter and especially at the end of winter when you can pick up balls of yarn for 20c a ball. I might have to pay a bit more than that because I guess its supply and demand and just before winter would toss me firmly into the “demand” side of the equation šŸ˜‰

      • Our winter is a mild pathetic squee compared to you guys. On the mainland in some areas (Queensland) they actually plant their summer crops in winter (tropical). Down here it snows but only on top of the mountains and we don’t even get much frost here on Serendipity Farm because we are on a north facing hill and a very steep one covered in rocks and very close to a large body of water so finally this rocky arid ancient soil gives us something positive! We have plants growing here that just don’t grow in Tasmania (according to our old horticulture lecturer who actaully hugged a tree when he walked around šŸ˜‰ ) and we are very lucky to have our own little microclimate to grow in. We can grow even more if we are careful how we plant things out and group them into groves. Winter is just happiness for me. So long as we have enough wood I can just hole up inside and bake, and read, and study and research and occasionally make a foray outside to walk the dogs…bliss! Bring it on! šŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

