More whinging . . . :-P

I posted a photo this morning at 9:50am. Now it’s nearly 12:20 pm. I have heard you all, my sweet friends from Down Under {and my equally sweet friends from Up Over πŸ˜‰ } …
i have thought long cool thoughts of dripping, downpouring, dogs-and-cats weather for you lot heading into lovely Autumn; I have thought long warm thoughts of the same for all of us stumbling through snowy vales toward Spring; alas, to no avail as yet.

Just looked out to see this:

20130321-122152.jpg

20130321-122213.jpg I think a nap is in order . . .

20 thoughts on “More whinging . . . :-P

    • Hi, Teresa! Love your blog, but my iPhone wouldn’t let me leave a comment. Your Wonky Log Cabin patches are so inspiring! Another project added to my list . . .

      I don’t actually mind the snow, since I don’t have to go out in it for long and today not at all. Wish we were in a cabin with a fireplace and a big, low window, though. I love watching it come down. And feeding the birds. And walking in it at dusk; so quiet you can hear the snow plop off tbe branches. Then coming home to a fire, kerosene lamps and hot doup on the stove . . . not here in the city, though . . . but I do like to imagine it . . .

  1. You can’t begin to imagine how inviting that vista is :). I would love to run out (well rugged up and looking like the Michellin man πŸ˜‰ ) and make a snowman! I have only seen snow once on top of a frozen mountain down south and to me this is magic πŸ™‚

    • Get out your Star Gate and come on over . . . I’d come get you, but seem to have mis-placed mine . . .

      I grew up with snow, but in my years on the coast got used to some entirely green winters and others where the snow lasted days to a couple of weeks. Every ten years or so, we’d get a massive snowfall, but even those never last long. Nice in some ways to never havd it; for one thing, you can garden year-round . . . but it IS pretty abd I always love a White Christmas!

      • Just try to imagine what our Christmas is like here Linne… hot Hot HOT! Usually hovering around 100F or more and everyone eats way too much and goes to the beach or plays a bit of backyard cricket with the assembled family. Steve (from the U.K.) still has shell shock whenever Christmas rolls around because he says “it just isn’t like Christmas here” πŸ˜‰

      • Yes, I think about it every Christmas, actually. (I’m strange that way; well, and other ways, too :-P)
        I can relate to Steve, all right. I can barely imagine going to the beach or cooking dinner on the bbq. But in the end Christmas is what we make of it, isn’t it? Too bad you can’t import snow just for a few days. But then, that would be my Christmas, not yours . . . I think of your July and August, too, all chills and wind; hmmmmmm Interesting, isn’t it?

      • Interesting and LOVELY! πŸ™‚ I love having to wear a jacket and shoes rather than half dressed and sweating all over the place…ech!

      • Soon, my friend, soon . . . have patience! Easy for me to say, isn’t it, after whinging all over the blogosphere today . . . Not sure which I love best, spring with its promise or autumn with its fulfillment of that promise. I’ll have to think about that . . .

        Truly, the snow IS lovely and I wasn’t among those shovelling, sweeping snow off vehicles, slipping and sliding to the bus stop, there to shiver in the pre-dawn light. Nope, I was snug as a bug in the apartment, getting a few things done and a lot of things off my chest . . .

        I’m not looking forward to the half-dressed and sweating bit, either; then we can continue to whinge on, having neatly traded places . . .

      • Only thing is I will be trading snow with probably just a bit of rain and some cold that won’t get below 32F for the whole winter πŸ˜‰

      • We have 2 small islands out in our neck of the river. We are just a hop-step-and a jump away from Bass Strait (if you look at a map of Australia). If you use Google you can find where we are. Tasmania is that small island off the bottom of Eastern Australia and if you zoom in to Tasmania you can see a river leading out to the sea at the top of Tasmania. We live almost at the end of this river just before it goes into the sea so we have salty water at this part of the river and saltwater fish. Further inland, closer to Launceston city (where our daughters live) the water is fed from mountain streams and rivers and is actually fresh water and contains eels. Lots of little islands and places to explore. We love it here πŸ™‚

      • Sounds (and looks) like a great place to live… Lovely to go for walks or sit outdoors…

        I am captivated by your river photos and the ones of where you walk. I can hardly wait til the white stuff transforms to liquid and I can walk around Beaumaris Lake again (about 45 min for us, but I hope to get it to 30 min, then go ’round twice). It’s a man-made lake, but they did a good job and its fun and good exercise as the path goes up and down. Not too much longer, I hope.

      • -23C with the wind chill today! But the sun was out and now it comes right in through the west-facing glass doors to the balcony for a couple hours before it goes down. Anything it shone on was WARM! So I have hope again… Next weekend is supposed to be +2 or +3, but we’ll see…

        Was busy, busy today, sorting, boxing, organising and moving a lot of my stuff out of the living room, where it’s been sitting, waiting for me to sort papers, etc. Took two breaks to catch up with the reader and send email (sadly neglected lately). It’s minutes to midnight and my supper is ready (didn’t eat earlier, ’cause I would have lost steam and quit). I’m going to watch the next part of ‘War Horse’ while I eat, then off to the Land of Nod!

        I like to think of you and the rest of the tribe there, heading into your evening in MY tomorrow . . . πŸ˜‰

      • We will make sure to break in “tomorrow” for you so that you don’t have to pummel it too much πŸ˜‰ Have a great Saturday, we are just about to enjoy some hot soup (Steve has Shepherds pie) for tea and then head off to watch “something” on T.V. Who care’s what, I will be asleep by 7pm anyway! πŸ˜‰ Have a wonderful nights sleep like I will in about 2 hours time πŸ˜‰

      • Thank you!!
        Mmmm, soup AND Shepherd’s Pie! You ARE getting into Autumn mode, aren’t you? Have a fantastic weekend!

      • You can count on that Linne, especially if it stays nice and crisp and cold and I can fire up Brunhilda all over again and bake my brains out! ;). I have REALLY missed her companionship over the summer and am completely willing to harness myself to her rituals all over again…we work together intuitively and she gives us hot water whenever we want it for free, a never ending source of hearty warmth, a place where we can be guaranteed to find the dogs at any given time for the next 8 months and the ability to bake, simmer, dehydrate, proof and just about anything else in the culinary genre all for the cost of a bit of effort to cut some wood πŸ™‚ I LOVE winter! (I am also a winter baby so that might have something to do with it πŸ˜‰ )

      • I love wood stoves, too! I was also delighted to see okara in one of your lovely photos; around ’89, my sons were both staying with me for a while, plus the older one’s then-girlfriend. I was working, but on Saturday I would make much of the week’s food: bread, soya milk, tofu, okara patties and loaves (I made them the same way I make hamburgers and meat loaf. They were delicious. I also liked to make two salad dressings and two soups; one cream, the other not. Bread and Soymilk/Tofu take a long time, but so much of that is not hands-on that it was easy to fit in the other things; often some cleaning, too.

        Hope to see some of your recipes one day.

      • I have been toying with starting another blog just for posting about food and am an avid food blog follower. Most of my life has been spent thinking about or eating food so I guess it is just something natural for me πŸ˜‰ I hate waste and so the okara needed to be dehydrated so that I can think of a way to use it. I processed it in my vitamix blender and now it’s flour so I can add it to anything I like. Same goes for the coconut, almond and sesame residue left over from making nut milks. I dry them out slowly and pulverise them into flour and use them in cakes/bread etc. I actually bought a soymilk maker years ago and only just found it again the other day. I have been buying soymilk for my 1 morning cup (bucket) of tea and decided that I should really make my own so I have been buying organic Aussie beans (no G.M’s for me!) and making soymilk and freezing it for when I need it. I use a litre a week. I have been thinking about making tofu as well. I used to make heaps of it but haven’t for ages and I found a recipe a little while ago for customised flavoured tofu that made me want to make some more. Winter is the time for experimenting with recipes and I will be experimenting to the max! You were very organised and I like that :). I have the luxury of time and so can just pootle around here making bread etc. as and when we want it but I appreciate people who have the forward thinking to get most of their food prep done on the weekends :). I would love to see some of your recipes as well. Don’t forget that I am a quintessential magpie who spends 3 hours a day researching new and interesting recipes and how people go about doing things so that I can adapt my own recipes to the most efficient use of time. space and ingredients :). I hope you are having a lovely day πŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

