Surprise coming:

Yesterday I was unexpectedly busy! I had planned to clear out items stored ‘temporarily’ in my bathroom, then scrub both bathrooms. But there is water dripping into an apartment on the 8th floor (Mum and I are on the top, 9th, floor), so all owners were asked to personally check all valves in their suite/s. So the two rooms were dealt with in less than an hour!! Then my Aunty came up to visit; then the wonderful couple who are Mum’s landlords came to inspect all things water; then I went down with my Aunty for a visit and ended up cutting her lovely hair and staying for supper. Was late when I got back (around 9:30), so not much time was spent in the Virtual Village . . .

So, the surprise, you say (and thanks for your patience!) . . .

I can’t tell you yet what it is, but another FO is close to being revealed!!

Also, I found a few more things on Friday to share with you; here’s one:

20130324-092820.jpg
When I worked in a tiny antiques store a few years ago (and it was like an alcoholic working in a liquor store, believe me!! I wish my stuff wasn’t all in storage; I know you’d love so much of it; the set of four grapefruit bowls shaped like an open waterlily attached to a lilypad leaf saucer and lustre-glazed in four pastels; pink, green, yellow and blue. But no room for them here, so they slumber on in my dream home . . .) Well, THAT was quite a blade of grass (family saying for being so distracted in the middle of a conversation), wasn’t it?

I was going to say (hope someone is still with me here . . .) that the photo is of the cover of the most amazing book! It came into the store, I fell in love, she went home with me so I would know she was well cared for forever . . . I love that the first lesson is on sewing an apron!

I also found this:

20130324-094025.jpg . . . not the best picture, but my focus was on sorting and organizing that day. This is an antique hexagon-shaped glass dish. I didn’t look to see if it is cut glass or pressed glass, but in any case, it’s gorgeous and I love it!

and here’s the view from my Aunty’s suite on a lower floor at the back of our building, showing the path to the street at the back:

20130324-095834.jpg and a longer view:

20130324-095943.jpg and a close-up showing how deep the snow is:

20130324-100031.jpg I have ordered requested (OK, I begged!) the sun to PLEASE move this snow to much more southerly climes! Get your wellies on, my friends!

52 thoughts on “Surprise coming:

  1. I love books, but must admit that I enjoyed reading an internet book on our ipad when we went away. It is light, portable and I can cram it full of different books. I love the idea of a library, with french doors, comfy chairs, a fire and definitely the maid 🙂

    • I have to admit; if I were travelling, even for a couple of weeks, an iPad or reader would be appealing; I could have thousands of ‘books’ to choose from. Even here at my Aunty’s for the night, I have three books with me; I never know what I will feel like reading . . .

      • Yes it was easy to pack. Can’t take up too much weight when on holidays, you never know what you might find to buy :). There are a few free books that are okay, but the others are reasonably priced too. It was nice to sit by the pool and read, just had to be careful with water and cocktails lol.

    • Isn’t it lovely, Stacy? Problem is three-fold; winter here lasts too long (this year it’s threatening to become a six-month winter or longer – we had our first snow in October), then there’s the cold; I don’t like going out when it hurts to breathe, and, of course, it melts, then freezes, which is tricky for walking, even to the bus stop. Last winter I fell three times and I was going slowly and carefully! This year, not once. Fingers crossed. I never get hurt; just don’t like it. I like the view from Mum’s apartment for the distance and all the evergreens; from my Aunty’s apartment for the long lawn bordered with trees. So both are great for viewing. ~ Linne

      • It’s mutual, Stacy. What I love about the ‘net . . . meeting such diverse people, always with a place to connect!
        Don’t worry; I’m good at falling; just don’t enjoy it. 😉

      • I like to share :). They are also VERY easy to do by the look of it. I am so glad I found these sites (through a wonderful place called Ravelry, go look there Kymmy it also has quilting!) because I always thought that crochet was knittings poor (daggy) cousin but not any more! There are entire communities designated to crocheting the most amazing things 🙂

      • I like crochet and knitting (sorta like liking cats AND dogs; a novel concept to many, I know!!); you get different effects from each. I read about freeforming a year and a bit ago snd started a freeform sweater. I made a piece to go around the neck and dosn the back ( can’t remember now for sure, but I think that was knit); then started adding knit and crochet bits randomly. Was going well, then came the great flood . . . another UFO living forlornly in one of a multitude of bags . . . freeform items and garments remind me of Victorian Crazy Quilts, another of my many passions . . .

      • There’s a way to do both: specialize in one, two (however many you CAN manage) for a year; the following year, change out to some of the other things you want to do (doesn’t have to be all; you may want to continue with something). That way you CAN have it all . . . eventually . . . 😉

  2. Fran is right, that snow is PURDY! My MIL is also experiencing snow (she’s in London UK) and I feel for the Northern Hemisphere with their lingering winter. Our summer too is balancing as we have 31C predicted this week and 24C today! I’ve lit the fire this morning though as it’s quite cool still. Just want to get to the weather that is either a warm day preferably with a warmish night or cool day cool night and fire on!
    Send that snow down here. Our garden could do with a bit of sogginess and I am sure that Tassie would like some serious sogging up. 😉
    Your book is gorgeous and I too have “rescued” books from uncertain fates in my time. Book hoarder here. 😉
    Glad the water situation inside is all ok to.

      • . . . then you and Rabid are invited to tea in my library, when that happens 🙂 and a few more kindred spirits, too!

      • Books are the most precious thing that I own…so precious I couldnt get rid of some of my older unused cookbooks to make space…space had to be made for THEM (and rightly so 😉 )

      • Oh, I hear you! For me, I learned (from the Strengthsfinder test we did at my last work) people with ‘Input’ high on their Strengths list see meaning in everything. And I do! So when I see something unloved, about to be discarded, abandoned, even just unappreciated, I want to ‘save’ whatever it is; animal, vegetable and mineral. Also if it is beautiful (to me! LOL! Not everyone shares my sense of beauty…), unusual . . . The list goes on (and on). So I suspect that we ‘Magpies’ are all high in ‘Input’!

        High Input people collect things, it said; not to just have more ‘stuff’ (maybe THAT’s the ‘hoarding’ I keep hearing about – not the actual meaning, BTW), but because each bit has deep meaning for them. That made MY light come on, I can tell you! And it helped me understand people with low Input; no problem for them to throw something away, damage it, waste it, etc. It really doesn’t have meaning for them . . . so I’m a bit more patient with them now.

      • I come from 2 parents that hoarded. Mum hoarded jars and containers and pots and pans and dad hoarded just about everything. Jars of rusted up screws and little bits of metal etc. We are glad he hoarded treated pine poles and weldmesh and wire but some of the stuff he kept hold of (an entire wardrobe of old empty cigarette packets?!!!) beggar belief ;). My daughters exhibit hoarding with their CD and DVD collections and I have my own hoarding with bowls…I LOVE bowls! and bright coloured things and bits of old pottery and washed glass (my potted plants are covered in them and stone from the beach etc. I think I was probably a magpie in a past life ;). I know my dad is a crow in this next one…

      • See, to me, if it has any potential use, keeping it is wisdom, not hoarding ( and that includes potential to give joy, inspire, enlighten, broaden horizons and intrigue the mind – and that’s not all!); keeping rotten bundles of newspapers is a problem!!

        To me, also, hoarding is stinginess; storing food and not sharing where there is need. A lot of that in the world today; crops plowed under to keep prices high while people starve, all that . . . There’s a fine line between being prepared so our families don’t starve and hoarding, but the problem often comes from people not being prepared, then wanting to usd up the supplies of those who did prepare. Not an easy situation and I sm still thinking about that one. But encouraging people to become prepared is a good first step; and you, rabid and countless others are doing thst . . .

      • We are learning. That’s the important thing. Becoming “aware” only comes from putting your brain into action and following a new pathway…well an old one really isn’t it! ;). I agree, stinginess. Dad was weird. He inherited a LOT of money from his partner when she died (I am talking a serious pile) and managed to spend his way through $750 000 in 7 years on pretty much nothing that we can see (he left the paper trail and we did accounting 😉 ) aside from high living and a gold digging girlfriend a year or so older than me who disappeared as soon as he died. The strange thing was that he wouldn’t pay money for good quality items! He would always buy the cheapest screws, tools, vegetables etc. The man was a complete and utter quandry! I never understood him right up to the day he died and it’s probably good that I didn’t because then I would have BEEN like him eh? 😉

      • Waiting for a bus; lights wouldn’t chsnge, so I missed ’em all 😦
        Maybe your Dad kept the ciggie packets ’cause he liked the colours . . . One reason I keep some things. I used to keep rusty nuts:bolts ’cause I slways thought I’d doak it off ’em one day. Don’t think I have any nowadays.
        As to bowls, bits of sea glass, etc., I think you are an eclectic collector, a curator, if you will; NOT a hoarder! I’m pretty sure you’d share if it was needed . . .

      • I think dad “collected” them in that wardrobe (ciggy packs) because he was too lazy to throw them out! 😉

      • Another reason I prefer real books to e-books and keeping recipes electronically: where is the surprise? I love to browse through any book and see what I find; even the old familiars hold surprises for me . . .

        And I DO judge a book by its cover; doesn’t keep me from reading often, usually, though, that’s what entices me and draws me in. I used to love wandering in a library, looking at spines, sometimes touching, waiting for one (or many! LOL) to call to me ‘read me!’, ‘read ME!). With e-books you have to know what you want and go get it; the ‘factory’ approach to life, again; all efficiency and profit; no joy, surprise, passion, etc.

      • I agree, reading has become something to factor into your IPad (can you feel that shudder from Canada?!). How could you replace that feeling of turning paper in your hands…the anticipation of the next page…that “I will just read to the next page and then I will take my drooling self to bed!” and that not being able to put a really excellent novel down and feeling guilty because you put it down on the floor outside the toilet to pick up ASAP when you get out 😉 (I guess I put it down outside the toilet…that has to be a plus? My dad used to phone me up from the toilet!!!). Dad read more than prolifically. He speed read and his whole life was spent watching the news or reading so many novels it makes my mind spin to think of them all. When he died we donated most of them to charity and they got 5 large furniture boxes full. Dad had very different taste to me ;). Books are the gateway to comprehension and to formulating your own mind and wrapping it around the world inside your head. Cultivating imagination is the most important way to learn how to process the world, to think laterally and to problem solve and without books we are stuffed!

      • I read in both forms. There are advantages to iPad reading – no need for a bedside light that makes your husband whine every 5 minutes about when you’re switching it off 😉 and no pages blowing in the wind but reading in the bath is a much pricier venture should things go wrong. I LOVE a good old book complete with silverfish chew marks and dust, biscuit crumbs from when I last read it and dog ears from when I couldn’t find a bookmark but there is a time and a place for digital books. They are space saving for one which means more room for storing other collections 😉 and if you want to read something brand new you can do so within 2 minutes (yes, a product of our have it now society 😉 ) and you can turn your book into a movie to keep kids silent and best of all you can read books in public places that you may not generally choose to read in public (50 shades anyone? 😉 )

    • Book hoarders united! Since my library here began cutting down on its collection (I won’t say more about that; I’m sure WordPress would boot me forever!), to the point where they have removed many shelving units and what’s left is sadly desolate to my eyes (and many of my favourite authors are no longer in the system AT ALL!!!), I have been thinking that when I win the big lotto, I will start buying up all my old favourites and my new home will have a proper library, modelled on the old English ones, with three sets of French doors that open North onto a private garden with tonnes of overgrown flowers and a few sitting places on little terraces. I love to wander there and touch the spines of the books, read by the fire, have tea with a friend or two . . . Ok, ’nuff of that! That was threatening to become the longest post yet! But I can see it all in my head, so no matter what, it’s mine forever!

      • Nope, not all yours. It’s mine too. 😀 Same dream. Walled terrace garden to the north but with some lovely deciduous shade trees to cool in Summer and be bare and gorgeous in Winter. Mezzanine level, sliding ladders to reach higher levels, deep coloured timbers everywhere, deep cozy chairs to sink into, big heavy old leather trimmed desk with all it’s necessary bits and bobs, oh, and a maid to dust the bloody thing! 😉

      • I think we’re twins (or triplets; or . . .)
        Love library ladders. Was it you who posted the picture of the library in Trinity, Ireland? Sorry, I forget . . . Now THAT is a library!! All old bindings . . .
        Had to laugh at myself; my North is your South. I want to sit in the shade and look out at the garden/snow/whatever, all in the sunshine, but no damage to rugs, fabrics or BOOKS!! Also, my studio will be on the North side, too; best light for painting. I will have a terrace on the South, too, for when I want to sit in the sun (spring and autumn, most likely, but maybe winter sometimes.

      • Yes, in a walled garden you have lots of choices . . . a hammock or ten, too. Onevwith my name on it, please . . .

      • Yes, walled! (in extreme dreams, I have my own Secret Garden (and remind me to post pics of my Secret Garden shawl when I get to it in the sorting . . . it’s nearly finished; knitted and if I remember right, it now takes three or four circular needles to hold the stitches. A whole story about how it developed (for when I find it); it’s another free-formed design. (sadly, I digress again . . . and not for the last time 😉 )

        And very YES to the maid! But I may have glass-fronted doors, at least on one wall, like the library in Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria (BC).

        I really DO need to start a ‘Books’ page…

  3. Linne go check out this blog…go now! I am cramming its gorgeousness into me and loving it to the max! I NEED to share this with anyone who will appreciate it as much as I do :). I headed there to pinch a ravelry pattern for a wonderful crocheted bedspread and fell instantly in love with it 🙂

    http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/

    Thank me later…I know you are going to love this one 🙂

    • I’m just plain blown away!! (I wish!) When I saw the photos of that lovely little room before they fixed it up . . . my first thought was “why can’t we move it to TasAus and I would come via my StarGate and live in it (of course, in that scenario, it has a large, organized storage room (and a few more just like it in various sizes) attached (and a garden and orchard just outside the door . . . and all my village friends just a hop away! I digress (again!)

      The bedspread you referred to: was that the one made of crocheted four-patches sewn together, then surrounded with more rows of crochet, then all joined together? I want to make one! If that’s not the one, do let me know. You KNOW I need more addictions . . . 😉 Thank you SO much. I will never have time to do anything again, but I just love discovering new places. I am ever grateful!

      • No, it wasn’t squares it was sort of wavy lines of crochet that formed a gorgeous waved pattern and I LOVED IT! I will look it up later and will send you the link 🙂

      • I not only like it Kymmy, I am going to make it! I want it for a bedspread. After that, I will go nuts and make a massive diorama of flowers, cactus, butterflies and hearts for a bedspread in the middle room. You can thank your lucky stars that I won’t be able to start it (or finish it, more to the point) before you come to visit 😉

  4. We have had the fire on all day for 2 days and I have cooked up a storm. Yesterday (Sunday) I made cinnamon sourdough muffins that turned out beautifully and discovered that my kefir grains are slowly starting to convert to being happy in coconut milk (which was the original intent 🙂 ). I also allowed 2 litres of kefir (half a gallon) to drip down to about 400g (just over a pint) of thick kefir cheese. Now I just need to think of something to do with it to create a meal for Steve. I am thinking of exploring pierogi’s or something like that? Cooking is such a worldly adventure and even though we penniless student hippies are unlikely to ever venture much further than our own little neck of the woods, I can live vicariously through recipes, techniques and the enjoyment we get out of what we cook :). Glad nothing was wrong in your appartments and that snow looks so very pretty. I KNOW you guys are over it but we southerners are enarmoured of the beauty of snow so at least someone appreciates it 🙂 (remember the snow is always prettier from the comfort of your sunny deck 6000 miles away from the action! 😉 )

      • Not sure enquiring minds could cope! 😉 I have been cataloguing recipes and saving the weird and wonderful ones from all different cultures since I was about 25 and spent hours writing recipes out of library books into last years ledgers that my ex husband brought home from the office to prevent from going into landfill. I have acres of them if you spread them out. I have about 20 CD’s cram packed full of preciousness including all of the handwritten recipes in ledgers and clipped recipes from magazines (back when people READ magazines and they weren’t avant garde creations like most of them are today 😉 ) and saved them in 7 large ringbinder files. I really am a quintessential magpie when it comes to the weird and wonderful recipes and when I find a site like one I found yesterday called “Grandpa’s survival recipes” that tells you how to make flour out of acorns etc. I go nuts! I save all of these precious and irreplaceable sites in a word doc called “blogs that are precious” and whenever I have time I head to the doc and start exploring the saved blogs to the max. I am NEVER bored. I have so much to catalogue. I have NO idea why I feel compelled to do this but for quarter of a century I have been driven to save unusual foundation recipes (I have several recipes for how to make your own healthy margarine/butter sub, how to use the wheat starch from making homemade seitan into noodles thanks to ybertaud9 one of our new followers here on Serendipity Farm “Cheers Ybert! 😉 ” and I know how to make milk from grains, nuts and all kinds of weird things 😉 ). I know that knowledge is power and have been saving all kinds of processes as well. That’s why craft has my spidey senses tingling. Its a wonderful means to an end with so much given back to the crafter it is more addictive than heroin :). I found a site that showed me how to use my macrame skills (long latently sleeping since my grandma and I learned it together back in the 70’s but soon to be reignited) to make a hamock chair and I found a most beautiful and unique site that documents gorgeous handmade things from homes through to crafts to shove into my rss feed read. Sitting here in my early mornings I get a fix of processes fit for a king…who would honestly want anything more?!!! (apart from actually “doing” the processes that is but I know how now! 😉 )

      • Narf7, THIS mind can cope with pretty much anything! hahahahahahaha
        Have you thought of photographing your recipe pages and uploading the photos? Might be quicker than re-typing them out . . .

        and, Please!! share the site you mention that shows handmade stuff from houses to crafts. I need more stuff to put on my to-do list . . . 😉

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

