Homemade Dish Soap!

Why I love Heavy Metal Homesteader! I never got around to looking into this, so thanks for doing it for me, Kriscinda. I will strive to follow the recipe . . . ;-P

Heavy Metal Homesteader

I’d been telling myself every time the dish soap gets low that I will look into making it. I finally did. So, here’s the recipe I used:

  • 1 1/2 cups of hot water
  • 1/2 of liquid Castile soap (I used Dr. Bronner’s)
  • 1 tbsp of white vinegar
  • 1tbsp of Arm & Hammer’s Super Washing Soda
  • 1 tbsp of shredded bar soap (to thicken it)
  • 1/8 teaspoon essential oil (I used lavender)

First, combine the ingredients into a large bowl, then pour in the water. Whisk/stir until blended.

This is where the picture-taking ends. At this point, it was still pretty liquidy, but it was hot and I was tired of stirring it. So, I went and took a hot bath.

While I was relaxing in the tub, Big A had a look at the concoction and decided it WAS NOT THICK ENOUGH. So he proceeded to grate half the bar…

View original post 168 more words

18 thoughts on “Homemade Dish Soap!

  1. Teehee! Yes…stick to the recipe! We made it work, but I’ll be excited to see how it should have turned out in the first place after we’ve gone through this batch. =) He meant well!

  2. I get the feeling that after a couple of months my RSS Feed reader is going to be cram packed full again Linne ;). Cheers for a new blog to follow 😉

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

