More Double-sided Crochet!

20130403-122326.jpg

20130403-122404.jpg

20130403-122428.jpg first a picture of two of three pieces I was working on a while ago; I love this yarn (ok, mostly it’s the colours!!) partly ’cause it’s mostly real wool. It’s Paton’s Decor. I was inventing a jacket, but it’s pretty heavy, so I think it will end up as a jerkin!

The third picture shows each piece turned back to show the contrasting colours I sm using (a very optimistic ‘am’, that!! LOL)

The second picture shows the work close up. See how the back colour shows through the front honeycomb shape??

No end to crafting creativity, is there??

25 thoughts on “More Double-sided Crochet!

  1. Beautiful colours Lynne, I’ve never learnt to crochet. My grandmother tried to teach me but it was a frustrating experience for both of us. I think I might have to have a lesson one day from Gentle Stitches!

    • It’s interesting how often a person eho has mastered a skill cannot teach it, isn’t it? Of course, it helps when a teacher can tailor her teaching style to mesh with the student’s learning style!

      It would be wonderful if Gentle Stitches could get you started . . . let us know how it goes . . .

  2. Wow – I’ve never tried that before. I would like to try it – would also like to try Tunisian crochet but I can’t find the needles around here. ❤

    • I will see if I can dig out the pattern this weekend and post it. You have to pay attention to the first four rows (two each of each colour); after that, it’s pretty simple.

    • Later tonight I’ll post a pic of the Crochet magazine I just bought; on the cover is a photo of the cutest boxy cardi; uses a variegated yarn and Afghan/Tunisian hook; combines Afghan stitch with Entrelac. Don’t let all that scare you; it just means working in different directions; again, super easy with an Afghan hook.

      To build confidence, I recommend making something small first, to test the technique, then the larger piece isn’t so daunting.

    • Thanks very much, rabid! I was lucky to learn all sorts of things from my Mum back when I was around 9 and 10. Didn’t do much through my teen years, like many people, but once I had kidlets of my own, I was back at it! Amazing how much one can do in those random bits of time. I have always found that the radio is far more conducive to handwork than the TV; luckily we usually didn’t have power; when we did, I think we had a TV once for six weeks (it blew up – literally! and later for about a year when we had to move into town and were in a tiny one-bedroom apt. with no yard and on a busy street. We all watched way too much TV for a while and creativity sank to new lows . . .

      If you ever decide you want to add crochet to your repertoire, though, do let me know. Wait ’til I find the ‘free-form’ cardi I began back before the flood (literal flood, not the original one!!) – you may find a new addiction. It combines knitting and crochet. I’m now thinking that it should be possible to make something using all the womanly arts (well, most of them, anyway 😉 ) such as knitting, crocheting, quilting, macrame, etc. ~ Linne

  3. Using 2 sides gives 3 colours! How clever! I am with Kirscinda on the granny squares…if I have to admit it, my first foray back into crochet went something like this…”Granny squares EASY PEASY…er…how many single crochet? Nope…too many…pull undone…too few (BUGGER!)…just right but the tension is wrong (story of my life)…unpull…unpull because Earl just snicker-snacked off the end…Earl just “adjusted” my tension problem for me…was too loose, now after a chase around the house hanging on to the woollen end bit I am exhausted AND my tension is somewhat too tight…sigh…unpull…start again…give up and make a straight line! I can do that (sort of)…if the tension problems ever sort themselves out (obviously it’s not “moi” that is causing them 😉 )”… I might manage to make SOMETHING approximating a rectangle but I doubt it. I call it my “character crochet”…my character (skewed and wonky) in crochet 🙂

    • I may have to post a simple pattern for you and Kriscinda! It’s one of those things; once it’s happening, you can’t belueve you were just cussin’ at it!!

      • Never thought of that when I named it; good thing it’s not “ZZZeeeOddballBlog”, eh? You’d never read anything I wrote . . .

      • Hee heeee! I pity the “Z” people (I think I have 1) as I think they are probably 3/4 of my 600+ blog post still to read 😉

      • Guess I’m not helping much, am I? And me with an envelope of photos to scan and still not started . . .

  4. Pretty-pretty! Man, I just sat down and tried to make a granny square from this pattern book my sister got me. FAIL. I mean…a granny square? How can I screw that up, right? I just pulled it apart, and now I’m eye-balling some dish cloth patterns (which is probably the simplest thing in the book. I should be able to do it, even if I were missing thumbs). I will let you know how I screw that up… 😉

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

