The Word for Wednesday was . . .

. . . “Threnody”

A threnody is a song, poem or hymn of mourning composed or performed as a memorial to a dead person. The word comes from the Greek ‘threnoidia’ {threnos (wailing) + oide (ode)}

An example would be:
Homecoming” by Australian Bruce Dawe, a poem that has been called “the most highly regarded poem about Vietnam written by any Australian” and “one of the finest threnodies in the war literature of Vietnam”.

I read this some time ago and thought it very powerful. I looked it up today when I saw it referenced under ‘Threnody’.

telegrams tremble like leaves from a wintery tree
and the spider grief swings in his bitter geometry
– they’re bringing them home, now, too late, too early

I apologize for missing last Wednesday and for this post being late. I may start writing these ahead of time so uploading will be simple. Thanks for understanding . . . ~ Linne

5 thoughts on “The Word for Wednesday was . . .

  1. Don’t you love it when you find those “right words”…the person who can coax them out of their muse and deliver them on a silver platter right when you need them the most :). Makes me proud to be an Aussie 🙂

  2. I love, love, love this word. Can you believe I actually used it in my novel for children? I could have used a more common word, but I hoped not only to tell children a story, but to teach them new vocabulary! (I was a teacher in my other life.)

    Here is what Marie (my character) said: I hear so many sounds in this strange but alluring place called Louisiana: the croaks of toads and frogs, the whirring crescendo of cicadas, and the longing threnodies of hidden fowl.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

