Travel Theme : Time

Fascinating ‘old town’ in Australia. Now it’s on my ‘to-visit’ list! How I love the old kitchens and dining areas! And the old rusty truck! (and the ‘back-up’ light draught horse!! Wish I could move in . . . wonder if any of my ‘down-under’ friends have been here? ~ Linne

gypsy life

This is a tricky one Ailsa, at least I thought so. But lots of your followers have come up with so many different interpretations of it. Go to “Where’s my backpack?” to see how inventive bloggers are…

I couldn’t come up with anything that would translate into photos. I thought about it as I dropped off to sleep, I ruminated about it as I prepared our meals, I even pondered it when shopping. It became an all-consuming mental search. I almost gave a mental shrug as Thursday dawned. “Oh well I will have to miss out this week”…

Then this morning going through my photos looking for a totally unrelated theme I suddenly came across the photos of an amazing heritage village we visited on our trip around Australia. I thought of all the museums we had visited. What were we doing? YES we were going back in time and…

View original post 166 more words

25 thoughts on “Travel Theme : Time

  1. Nope…narf7 hasn’t ever been to South Australia…flown over it a lot but never stopped. Earl, on the other hand, was born in South Australia and lived there for the first 17 weeks of his life. If Earl is ANYTHING to go on…South Australians are crazy so I am not sure that I would like to visit…I have to also point out that South Australia is the serial killer capital of Australia! Western Australia (where I was born and lived till 6 years ago…) is right next to South Australia but we built a massive great rabbit proof fence ostensibly to keep out the “rabbits” but I am now starting to think that it might have been more to keep out the dogs and serial killers! 😉 I guess they need SOMETHING to get the tourists to visit the hottest, driest state in Australia 😉

      • Clydes are beautiful! My husband and I worked for the Tally-Ho wagons in Victoria (BC) for about a year and some of the teams were Clydes. I love the Shires and the Percherons especially, but the Belgians are great, too and I owned one and worked with one later when I drove a carriage for tourists one summer. But if I were to have a team again, I think I would opt for the old-style Morgan horses; much smaller, therefore cheaper to feed and easier to harness, brush, etc. They are bred to be useful in several ways; they can pull a carriage, be used to work (plowing, hauling, etc.), and are the most beautiful riding horses I’ve ever seen! The old-style horses are not much larger than a pony (about 14 hands or so tall), but strong and sturdy. Their shortness is an advantage when plowing or pulling a stoneboat, as the lower angle of the tugs makes the pulling more efficient.

        Do you have any pictures of your Great Granddad’s Clydes? I’d love to see them, if you do. I have a couple of photos somewhere, but possibly in my storage in BC. If I ever come across one, I’ll post it.

        I loved training the new teams to pull; we used a stoneboat with a few bales of hay on it (and often one or both of the boys as well as one of us!). It never took them long to settle down to the work.

    • That is so cool! I just know I’d love it there! I have collected a few ancient tools and stuff (like a sad iron you heat on the stove to do your ironing; kerosene lamps; various hand tools, etc.). All are in storage awaiting the day when I have somewhere to keep them. There was so much in that town that drew me; the vehicles (esp. the truck LOL), the older furnishings, most of all, I think, the kitchen and housekeeping tools, pots, pans, washing machines, etc.

      It was a hard life, but it built character and muscle. I think nowadays we can take the best from then and meld it with the best from now and create lives worth living again.

      If you have pictures from your visit there, you might want to post them, too . . .

      Which makes me think I should dig out some that I have from Fort Edmonton here and share them, too. I didn’t take any of the old tools, etc., but I do have at least one of the stagecoach and the draught team that pull it. When one of my sisters was here with two of her kids, we decided to go for a ride on the coach. As we approached it, I could see that the horse nearest to me had caught her bridle on something and was becoming agitated. Not a good thing . . . I spoke to the girl driving (she was up on the seat and couldn’t come down to fix it; if the team bolted, she couldn’t have stopped them), explained that I had driven a Belgian and four-person carriage for tourists back when I lived in Victoria (BC); also that I’d had my own team (a Belgian gelding and a Percheron mare) for a couple of years, so I knew what I was doing around a team. I offered to untangle the horse and of course the girl was grateful. That done, she was approached by a young mum with two children who also wanted to ride. I offered to give up my ride, but the driver offered to let me sit up with her; I didn’t have to think twice; I scrambled up over the wheel and onto the seat!! It was such fun! I’m sure I was the happiest customer she had all summer! I really wanted to drive them, too, but of course didn’t ask. But I sure thought about it . . .

      • Its timely you should mention pics. It is an usual occurance but next weekend some family members are having a short holiday in Moama where my family settled in 1859.

      • How nice you are online just now! If anyone has pictures, it would be great to see them! I wish I’d taken more of the old tools, machines, etc. that I’ve seen in my life. I try to do that now, though.

      • I will start again. I am meeting up with family on the next weekend mainly to show my 12 year old son his family history. If you have time please Google “Port of Echuca” It is an awesome place but I am so used to it I forgot to remember how great it really is and how other’s would enjoy it.
        I wouldn’t have thought about blogging about it until you mentioned it but I will now.
        Thanks. ps. The original family home is on my last entry.

      • Hee Hee my comments are not coming in order but I remember some lovely old horses in the “retirement paddock”when I was a young girl. Gentle creatures with massive feet. I will look for some photos, I am sure there are some, but I will take and post some next weekend when we visit “the old place” 🙂 also an unusual not usual short holiday in Moama.

    • Thanks so much! I think I’d do just fine there. (I’d just need a well-hidden ‘techy’ shack for the computer and all . . .) I grew up (the first years especially) much as I imagine you did; it wasn’t always easy for my Mum and Dad, but they worked together so they would have more later on. I remember living in a one room shack when I was 6 and 7; across the end was my parents’ double bed (the old size, not today’s humongous one!); at the foot of their bed on the next wall were three bunks; mine was the top, ’cause I was eldest, then my first two brothers in the lower ones. The youngest brother at the time was under a year and slept in a basket near Mum and Dad. My first sister was on the way by the time we had to move. There was a wood stove, a counter and a table and chairs, but I don’t remember them well. Mum had a small tabletop sewing machine with a handle on the wheel; you turned it to make the needle go up and down. When I was really good, I got to turn the handle for her! I remember how much I loved doing that . . . We had kerosene lamps. Dad cut and split wood and carried it in; water was carried from a well, probably dug by my Dad, his brother, my Uncle Pete and their Dad, my Grandpa L. Uncle Pete was Dad’s next older brother and he married Mum’s next older sister, so their son is a double first cousin. The two families lived close together (sometimes sharing a house) until after I moved away to uni. The men were logging on the property to make a living; then the millworkers went on strike and there was no market. Uncle Pete, Auntie Alida and their son, along with our family (Grandpa stayed in the Fraser Valley to be near other relatives) moved to the Interior of BC; we moved often as Dad went wherever he could make more money to support us.

      Some time later, I raised my own two boys that way as often as I could manage. They sure appreciate their mod cons now, but they also appreciate the skills they gained from growing up mainly well outside the city.

      Your post brought back so many great memories! Thanks very much. ~ Linne

      • What a really interesting story your life is Linne. Have you done a post about your childhood? My Mam had one of those sewing machines when I was a child and she made all my clothes from second hand clothes that she cut up. She also un-picked old jumpers and rewound the wool to knit into jumpers for me. When I was first married I was given an old treadle Singer sewing machine.Times were hard back then but oh I think life was so much happier.

      • No, I haven’t posted much about my childhood. I’ve been thinking about writing some of my stories for my grandkids, though, and so I save what I do post. It’s hard to know what they (or my readers) might want to know.

      • My Mum unpicked sweaters, too, and re-knit the yarn. Every penny saved WAS a penny earned . . . It was a hard life physically, but I’d rather work hard than deal with too much mental and emotional stress. ‘though they had that, too, of course. We have more choices these days and I think can have the best of both worlds if we have skills and ‘keep it simple’.

      • As to happy, we were happier with much less. Most Christmases there was a gift from our parents and another from Santa under the tree, and not expensive things. Of course, when there are half a dozen kids or more, the pile is large anyway 😉

        No TV meant not knowing what we were ‘missing’, which helped a lot.

        Some years a relative would send a box with something small for each of us. That was always exciting!

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

