What “Type” are you?? and what are your top 5 Strengths?

PERSONALITY TYPE:

You may not be aware of the research done on the 16 major personality types, but if you are interested in which you are (or maybe in understanding your kids, partner, friend, etc., more), I am sharing some places where you can take inventory of yourself and then read about the results. I have used personality inventory tools (the original Myers-Briggs MBTI and the Keirsey Temperament Sorter) several times, by different people, over the years and have always come out the same. What is said about my type I have found not only to be true, but also to be helpful as I have tried to figure out my place in various relationships, work situations, and more . . . (still working on figuring out my place in the world LOL)

Using the original MBTI sorter requires a payment, as the results are followed up and discussed with you by a certified practitioner. To read more, go here:

http://www.myersbriggs.org/my-mbti-personality-type/mbti-basics/

What sparked this post is that I just found this site, which has an online personality sorter:

Type-Coach.com

You may also want to check out:

http://www.keirsey.com/sorter/register.aspx

This is the second sorter I ever was given; to use the sorter, click on the four-coloured logo at the top right of the screen.

The concept of personality types and the initial classification, so far as I know, began with the work of Katherine Briggs and Isabelle Myers. These two personality inventory tools are based on that work.

STRENGTHS:

One of the most helpful books I have ever used is called “StrengthsFinder; do you do what you do best every day?”  (“First, Break All the Rules; what the world’s greatest managers do differently” by Marcus Buckingham was written first, then “StrengthsFinder.”  I haven’t read the first book yet.)

Buckingham states that we waste a lot of time in our lives (in families, schools, universities, training institutions, workplaces, etc.) trying to get people to improve their weaknesses. He says that instead, we should capitalize on people’s strengths. At my last workplace, all the admins were given a copy of “StrengthsFinder”. Inside is a code one use only) that lets you log onto a website and take an evaluation of your strengths. At the end, you are given your top five strengths. If you want to see a list of all the strengths as they manifest in you from strongest to weakest, you pay an extra $600; or that’s what the cost was then; however, knowing your top five is generally enough to act on. I was not surprised by my top five; what surprised me (stunned me, actually!) was that they were considered to be strengths!! All my life I had known I had these qualities, but I’d had them pointed out to me as things to ‘work on’, ‘get rid of’, ‘get over’, and so on. I can’t begin to tell you how de-motivating that was . . . or how it affected my self-esteem . . .

It’s a bit late for me to use my strengths in a career/life choice way, but what I have learned has helped me to understand others with vastly different strengths and to be more patient with them as we interact. I now expect different things from myself and am thinking about how I might use what I now know to enhance the next stages of my life.

I’m sharing this because this sort of knowledge may be helpful to you, too, especially if you have always seen yourself (or been seen by others) as a misfit, inadequate, lacking in something or other, and so on. Or it might be helpful if you are relating to someone with very different strengths (child, partner, friend, workmate, etc.)

34 strengths are defined in the book; when you think about it, we can’t all have all 34 at the top of our list; something has to be at the bottom, doesn’t it? In the same way, other people will have the same strengths, but in a different order. How cool is that? But we need to understand what that means, and how to work with it in our daily lives.

You can buy the book, complete with access code, new or used, here: http://www.amazon.ca/Strengthsfinder-2-0-Author-Bestseller-Wellbeing/dp/159562015X

or you can buy an access code without the book here:

http://www.strengthstest.com/strengths-tests/strengthsfinder-20-access-code.html

For me, integrating what I know about my personality type and my top five strengths is making a big difference. I expect to become more effective in my life as I apply what I am learning.

I hope this helps at least one other person to have a richer, more satisfying life.

Here is a list of all the strengths dealt with in the book:

http://www.strengthstest.com/strengthsfinderthemes/strengths-themes.html

 

10 thoughts on “What “Type” are you?? and what are your top 5 Strengths?

  1. I so agree with you on the helpfulness of Myers-Briggs for self as well as relationships. I’m an ENFJ. I also really like the Enneagram (here’s my fav computer site for it http://theenneagram.blogspot.com/ ) and its 9 personality points. I’m a 3. All our kids know their Myers-Briggs and Enneagram types and we talk about them and how they manifest themselves over and over again. Thanks for this post. What is your Myers-Briggs???

    • Thanks for the Enneagram link; I haven’t had time to check it out yet, but I will. I can’t remember what number I am, but I did figure it out some years ago. I find all these sources help me have a better picture of myself and others; very useful.

      As to the MBTI, I am 95% Introvert, 95% iNtuitive, 75% Feeling and 95 % Perceptive ( INFP), so we have an overlap of the central numbers . . .

      • And I test close to a split on the I/E and the J/P — but I’m still an E and a J. I, too, am a severe NF. We are a small percentage of the population, us NFs. And we tend to recognize one another….:)

      • I was thinking the same thing (‘we recognize each other’). We ARE rare, especially when we test at the extreme edges, and our cultures, schools, workplaces, etc, are just not informed or set up for us. I spent years trying to be someone else; as I saw that was impossible, at least to act like someone else. Also not possible. I can do it for a while, but it takes a lot of energy.

  2. Hi, Linne – I’ve been offline for a few days….glad to visit with you again. I’ve taken the Myers-Briggs personality indicator and I remember that I’m an all the way “introvert” and “feeling” person of the four indicators. I found it very telling! ❤

    • Hi, Stacy! Nice to have you back. I’m not surprised at your results; I’m an INFP, so we have at least two traits in common. When I was out of work in 2009, I took some government-sponsored workshops and the MBTI was part of that. It was the first time I was given the percentages and that was what helped me gain a better understanding of myself. I tested at 95% Introverted, 95% iNtuitive, 75% Feeling, 95% Perceptive.

      It’s being so extreme that has brought me both big challenges and big rewards in my life. After we were given the StrengthsFinder test at work last year, I found that looking at the two sets of information together leads to greater insights.

      If everyone were given these tests in their early teens, what a difference it could make, especially for anyone who tests outside the middle range. For myself, I’m now looking for ways to use this knowledge from here on.

      • Yes, I agree – it’s such a good indicator and would be useful to teens. I tested all the way in one direction on everything, though I only remember the I and F portions. ❤

      • Me, too! I am an INFP and very much so (95%, 95%, 75%, 95%). Not understanding any of this caused me a lot of trouble in my life; things are easier for me now (not for others, though . . . they still have to deal with ‘me’!

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

