Fig Chutney

For those of you who are still bringing in the harvest . . .

quarteracrelifestyle

ImageThis recipe comes from http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2012/09/fig-chutney-recipe/

Isn’t it funny how you wait for the new seasons fruits and vegetables with eager anticipation and sometimes…in the case of figs! you drool with that anticipation of the first sweet, juicy, fleshy mouthful only to be replaced with rolling eyes and muttering as basket after basket is bought in and placed on the kitchen bench, week after week lol. I am pretty sure we now have enough figgy somethings to last another year….or two!

This recipe makes 2  x small/medium jars and easily adapts to more in one batch. It’s very nice and also quick and easy.

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 large red onion, peeled and finely diced
  • 1/2-inch (2cm) piece of fresh ginger, peeled and minced
  • 2/3 cup (120g) packed light or dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (125ml) apple cider vinegar
  • juice and zest of one lemon
  • 3/4 cup (100g) raisins and…

View original post 150 more words

12 thoughts on “Fig Chutney

  1. YUM! I love figs Linne 🙂 I once ate a bucket full from my mum’s neighbours tree…no ill effects and it just reinforced my love of them more 🙂

    • I like ’em fresh and dried, Narf7! I wish we could grow them here . . . In Victoria, BC, there are a couple of varieties that will grow outside in a sheltered place; sometimes they are moved to a greenhouse or indoors for the coldest months. A wheelie platform is very handy for moving small trees in heavy pots!

      • We have 1 small fig tree in the ground and 3 more to plant out…I LOVE figs 🙂 plus they are a great natural sweetener. I have some date palms that we grew from seed sourced from a packet of dried dates (all the way from wherever dates come from in the Middle East) but even if I was around to see them get big I dare say I wouldn’t see them fruit BUT there is a positive side to everything and with global warming, maybe Tassie will be the new date growing state of Australia! 😉

      • Figs AND dates!! One of my favourite combinations!! I occasionally make this for breakfast: chop finely 1/2 cup each of dried black Mission figs and dried dates. Add to 1 to 1.5 cups water and cook over low heat; this scorches easily, so stir constantly. After 5 minutes, add about 1/4 cup of yellow cornmeal and continue cooking for about 10 – 15 minutes more, adding more water as needed.

        An easy way to make this without scorching is to use a double boiler; I have heard that some people use a crock pot on low if making it for several people.

        This amount serves 2 – 4 people over 2 to 3 days (it is eaten in small amounts); it’s best to make it fresh after that. The original recommendation is to eat it with goats’ milk; when I can’t get that, I eat it plain or occassionally with cows’ milk.

        This is supposed to be nourishing spiritually as well as physically. The recipe goes back to the days of Ancient Egypt.

      • I am a BIG eater Linnie. You would be amazed at what I tuck away, it’s just mostly veggies, beans and other legumes, some fruit (not a fan of “sweet” things) and the odd grain. I haven’t used polenta meal much as the Italian market gardeners that worked with my mum once told her that she should be eating polenta because it was good for putting weight on. My guess is if you eat it the Italian way with lots of cream and cheese anyone would put weight on ;). I would have that breakfast idea with homemade non dairy milk. My milk of choice at the moment is a handful of almonds (soaked for a day and skinned) ground up in my Vitamix with an equal quantity of rolled oats. Makes a great “milk” for just about everything. Kid Creole’s kefir babies seem to love it as well (so long as I use date paste when I make it). Now that winter is coming on I am going to need good filling hearty breakfasts and I am thinking that breakfast would be amazing with some coconut cream dolloped on top 🙂 YUM! 🙂

      • I like lots of veggies, too, so you probsbly won’t surprise me. My ‘normal’ diet is similar to yours. But ‘normal’ is rare for me these days. I HAVE started building up my veg intake again, though.

        I doubt I’ll ever eat polenta the Italian way; I have enough habits now to outfit a convent! Depending on what else is for breakfast, I usually have a half to a whole cup and with 1% milk, as I haven’t had a goat for years.

        Your ‘milks’ sound SO good! I think a Vitamix will be added to my list . . . BTW, is it the same as Jessie’s Hermy the Thermy?

      • Nah…Jessies Hermy does lots more BUT also has about 4 times the pricetag (and would be more in the U.S. as it is an import where the vitamix is home grown there). My vitamix is a high powered blender that can actually heat soup etc but I use it to grind grains, spices, make smoother than smooth EVERYTHING and especially my non dairy milks. It’s the bomb :).

      • I have at least 7 date palms (in pots trying to grow 😉 ) so I might just seed them through my food forest. If anything, they would be something interesting for people floating down the river to Launceston to say “What the heck…palm trees?!!!” 😉 I love that idea 🙂

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

