The Straw Bale Pallet Crate Garden – Simple, Attractive – And Cheap!

I saw this first when rabid little hippy re-blogged it; I thought some others of my followers might be interested, too. I’ve used pallets (as is) to make compost bins, but this takes it all a step further; it’s more attractive, too! Thanks to rabid and to OWGF!! ~ Linne

Old World Garden Farms

So you have little space, little time, little money and you still want to garden.  Or maybe you would like to add a great looking focal point to your existing garden or landscape to grow something unique.   Even better, maybe you know of someone who still likes to garden but can’t get out or handle as much of the physical activity anymore.

Here is a great solution to all three!  Create your own Pallet Straw Bale Crate Garden.  It’s attractive, simple to build, and best of all, low or no cost to make.

With a single pallet, (3) 2x4x8’s, a bale of straw, and a bag or two of soil and compost – you can create an instant garden space that can provide fresh vegetables or flowers all summer long.

You can purchase all the materials you need for under $15.00 – or build for virtually free using pallets and…

View original post 783 more words

5 thoughts on “The Straw Bale Pallet Crate Garden – Simple, Attractive – And Cheap!

  1. I didn’t realise till after I commented on Rabid’s blog that this is NOTHING like what I have in mind for my straw bale food forest garden idea…sorry Rabid ;). It IS a great idea for cheap garden beds though and well worth considering as part of my raggle-taggle collection of exponentially increasing garden beds around the place. Once the green stuff starts to grow and take over (should the wallabies and possums allow this to occur of course) who is going to see the edges of garden beds? Who is going to see them anyway! We are hermits 😉

    • I think it’s a great idea for those with limited space or who prefer tidy edges. I have NO space (except in my fantasy life!) and much prefer ‘natural’ edges. I don’t dispute the usefulness of tidy edges, but there is something in me that loves most things as they are. That said, there’s another bit of me that is very Zen; luckily that bit rarely wins out!

      My raised beds were about 5′ by 30′; I laid out rotted straw/hay, then carried dirt and dumped it on top; later we bought three dump trucks full of lakeweed for $10 a load!! and we wheelbarrowed that over once it had wilted down a bit and mulched it on top of the dirt. There wasn’t much info around in those days, but I read what I could, we had a nearly-complete set of The Mother Earth News, and I sort of followed nature’s example a bit.

      I still want to try Fukuoka’s method someday (see The One-Straw Revolution).

      • My garden beds at the moment are sad…the only thing doing alright is a massive overgrown perpetual spinach and my eggplants that keep on keeping on. The rest is defunct and my spinach and silverbeet are limping along with me harvesting the outer leaves as fast as they can grow new ones. Saw an amazing fully enclosed heritage orchard (small) today on our walk with the boys and nothing can touch it…that’s what we are going to build and good luck to the possums and wallabies breaking in this time! ;).

      • That IS sad . . . what will you do for veg all winter? Did you get enough ‘canned’? Frozen?

        I was thinking . . . you and Steve might enjoy a set of books by Helen and Scott Nearing: ‘Living the Good Life’, ‘Continuing the Good Life’ and ‘Loving and Leaving the Good Life’.

        The Nearings were very interesting people; there’s online info, so I won’t re-type here. They built with stone and concrete, starting when he was 50 and she was 30. They sold their first place (in Vermont) and started over in Maine when he was 70 and she was 50. He died, voluntarily, at age 100.

        There’s a lot of useful stuff in the books, but it’s their ‘recreational’ project that sparked this note to you: instead of playing tennis, or something similar, for fun, the Nearings built a high stone wall around a large garden, an acre if I remember right. As it was ‘recreational’,they only worked on it when they felt like it, as we would for swimming, reading, whatever.

        You would likely enjoy reading the books, but I think you would be inspired and perhaps informed by them, too.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

