Up and away, Tassie here we come….

In case you want to know . . . no co-incidences! ~ Linne

gypsy life

It was 26 degrees, warm and sunny when we flew out of the Goldcoast. We felt quite conspicuous in our jerseys and carrying heavy jackets.

Beautiful, clear and sunny as we flew into Sydney for a 40 minute wait and transfer to a flight on to Melbourne. Can you see the Harbour Bridge and Opera House?

At Melbourne the weather was overcast and a bit cooler. The cloud cover was low and it was starting to rain, so no photos from the plane this time. 2 hours later we were on the last lap to Hobart.

We looked at each other and shuddered as the pilot announced the ground temperature in Hobart is 8 degrees and raining….

When we landed at 4-30Β it had stopped raining. We had our warm jackets on and actually did not think it was as cold as we had imagined (we have not felt 8 degrees…

View original post 328 more words

23 thoughts on “Up and away, Tassie here we come….

    • I first encountered her when I saw her post on the heritage town; the photos were so evocative and I have a huge interest in those pioneer days; the tools, equipment, skills . . . since then, I’ve benn getting to know bits of your country. I’ve always read books from and about Aus, but blogs are so much more personal . . .

    • You are welcome, Pommepal! I like to share some of my favourite blogs; so many of us have interests in common . . .
      Apparently, Narf7 is at the other end of Tassie from where you are; I’d thought from the similarity of your photos that you were in her neighbourhood. In a larger sense, though, you are . . .

    • Too bad! Although my liking you both is no predictor for you liking each other . . . πŸ˜‰
      I thought Pommepal’s views looked very similar to yours and when I read of the lovely walks and the river, I guess I thought they might be just ’round the corner from you . . .

      • Nope, they are down the bottom of Tassie. If you call up a Google Earth map, Hobart is down the bottom of Tasmania and we are right up the top almost heading off to the mainland. πŸ™‚

      • So that’s why you have that fig- and date-nurturing climate . . .

        Forgive my ignorance, but how big is Tassie, anyway? Vancouver Island, where I used to live, is over 300 miles long, over 60 miles wide in most parts and about 12,000 sq mi in area. The ‘net says it’s about the size of Holland, Israel and Japan.

        Here are some interesting facts about Vsncouver Island, if you are ever at s loss for what to do at 3 am in the dark LOL . . .
        http://peternash.com/regional/victoria-vancouver-island/

        Totally unrelated, but interesting: here is a link to a cool little market half-way up the Island: http://travelwithkids.about.com/gi/o.htm?zi=1/XJ&zTi=1&sdn=travelwithkids&cdn=travel&tm=68&f=00&tt=2&bt=6&bts=6&zu=http%3A//www.oldcountrymarket.com/

        We never had time (or $$) to stop there the few times we went up-Island, but I love the goats on the roof! There is even a YouTube video if you want to amuse the boys LOL!
        Google “goats on roof at Coombs”

      • Ok, I was being lazy . . . so I Googled Tassie and found it is 226 mi by 190 mi, so about three times the size of Vancouver Island. Helps to have an idea of the relative sizes . . .

        I’ve only been about halfway up VI, never to the top parts. Maybe one day . . .

      • Don’t be lazy πŸ˜‰ find “The Tamar River” and head up to where the river meets The Tasman Sea between Victoria on the Australian Mainland and Tasmania. We are just around the corner from the sea. If you type in “Devils Elbow, Tamar River, Tasmania” you will see the body of water that I take photo’s of with the boats/yachts in that is directly to the left of where our home is. If you type in “Auld Kirk Church, Tasmania” you are looking at the property that is directly to the right of our home. You can even see a bit of our house roof and we are the property with all the trees, not the large paw shaped weird looking building (that’s Franks place…who is incidentally off to Canada for your summer where he and his wife go every year πŸ™‚ ).

      • When you say ‘type in’, do you mean in GoogleMaps? It didn’t recognize the address.

        I did find a picture of the Auld Kirk (and on the way learned that ‘kirk’ is originally Norse πŸ˜‰ The Vikings taught it to the Scots . . .

        Do you have a blue mailbox? If do, I found your driveway . . . One question: on the right side of the Kirk (facing), in front of what looks like the next property, is an odd shape that might be formed from saplings, but I couldn’t tell. It looked vaguely ox-like in shape. Can you enlighten me??

      • Er…Bezial? πŸ˜‰ The mailbox isn’t blue, you are at Franks, on the other side of the Auld Kirk. We are the jungle wilderness on the other side ;).

      • Ok. I’ll check it out when I’m back upstairs . . . could you go down to the road and wave?? πŸ˜‰

      • That was fun, ‘walking’ around on the road in front of your place . . . and three years ago, you say?? Is GoogleEarth going to morph into my long-awaited StarGate?? Finally!! πŸ˜‰

        So now I have to locate my other friends.

        The old log house we lived in doesn’t look as it did then, but is interesting; go to: “Caleb Pike Heritage Homestead”, I think that will take you there; it’s in the Highlands area north of Victoria (BC lol)

      • Didn’t see a ‘paw-shaped building’. Can you provide a link?

        If you use GoogleMaps, go to 13435 – 97 Street, Edmonton, AB and you will see our building. I will wave πŸ˜‰

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

