if it’s not working…

After reading this great post, I’m adding “Yearly Re-Evaluation of Goals and Activities” to my list of future activities . . . ~ Linne

big house, little prairie

Change it!

Well the last couple weeks have been all about reconfiguring. Reconfiguring our plans, our wants, the things that we truly need and, most of all, our (often times unrealistic) expectations.

Truth is, things had gotten a little out of hand; stuff on the homestead had seemed to take on a mind of its own. We were trying to do so many different things, in the hopes of being guided toward that which fulfilled us and that we honestly enjoyed. On the contrary, we were each being pulled in so many different directions that we were all suffering. Oh, the perks of restructuring you life and mindset all while in your 30s, raising two kiddlets and completely overhauling one’s living arrangements. We also found ourselves drifting away from some of our original intentions which had, of course, led us to this lifestyle in the first place. We were so…

View original post 817 more words

8 thoughts on “if it’s not working…

  1. Its good to regroup and change tack if it’s needed. Sometimes things change mid course and you need to change direction, always good to have everyone on board going the same way! πŸ˜‰

    • How true! Esp. if more than one person ‘on board’!

      Since change seems to be one of the few constants, it would behoove us (LOVE that word!) to learn to adapt, wouldn’t it? I do best with expected change, even if I don’t like it; sudden ‘surprises’ are hardest for me. But I do come ’round in the end . . .

      • I SUCK at change. I am a bit of a door-mouse when it comes to aberrations in my routines (probably freaks out the control freak in me) and chaos is akin to a tidal wave to me. Steve thrives in the middle of chaos…together we are formidable (or “formidable” the French origin of the word πŸ˜‰ ) and if we could EVER learn to stop being prima donna’s and wanting our own way at all times, we might just be able to effect some serious change around us ;).

      • Oh, me, too (unless it’s my idea; then I’m all for it!) I don’t like sudden change, but given time, I can get used to the idea, even if at first I hate it . . . if it’s sprung on me, I still need time to come to a point of acceptance. I don’t believe S-S . . . ‘thrives in the middle of chaos’ !! where’s THAT at??

        But you’re right; the two of you together create a sort of synergy (maybe you are not on ‘the road to serendipity’; you’re on ‘the road to synergy’; on the other hand, maybe it’s ‘the road to synergistic serendipity’ or possibly ‘the road to serendipitous synergy’ . . .) πŸ˜‰

        That’s hard, to give up wanting to win all the time and learn to co-operate; when you figure it out, do let me know . . . I could use some of that!

      • We already did Linnie. Steve and I met back in 1997 online. I was still married at the time but very unhappy and we forged a great friendship. I left my ex and a year later Steve and I met and decided that we wanted to spend the rest of our lives together. Fast forward and the 3 years that we spent keeping our UBER long distance relationship alive and kicking seems to have worked. For 2 people that are exact opposites of each other we are doing alright ;). Still don’t understand him but maybe that’s how it’s meant to be? Learning to love someone for exactly who and what they are and realising that their abilities are what you are lacking and visa-versa? Maybe that’s the lesson in all of this πŸ˜‰

      • I agree tbat’s the lesson; maybe tbe hardest we ever learn. ’til we love someone unconditionally, we hold back our own growth and theirs. Everything has in it the drive to grow; we don’t need to force it, just supply the needs (which sometimes include leaving them to do that themselves and sometimes it’s a loving but swift kick to the backside (or the equivalent thereof . . .) Not always easy to figure out, though, is it? You two sound great together, and happy, which takes you a long way . . . πŸ˜‰

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

