Two Stick Tricks with a Piece (or several) of Yarn

I never showed you what I finished last week, did I? Here it is . . . and I’m not telling what the ‘kite tail’ is for . . . 😉

20130523-190123.jpg That’s the first ‘Two-Stick Trick’; and here’s the other ‘Two-Stick Trick’; the new shawl:

20130523-190940.jpg Remember the pattern for that lovely plain garter stitch shawl? I had every intention of making it as designed, and that intention went the way of all my intentions to follow the pattern (or recipe): out the window!

I have that lovely yarn in three shades of Country Blue (the Pale is nearly the exact shade of my current jeans); Pale, medium and Rich. I was going to add them in gradating bands from lightest to darkest. Then I thought I’d do a band of alternating sections of Pale and Rich, right in the middle of the medium band. (by the way, that’s a 29″ bamboo circular needle; nearly full. I had to go buy another set yesterday; I’ll be adding it later this evening.)

But, as always, the fly surfaced in the ointment: carrying the unused yarn behind each section wasn’t that attractive . . . What to do?

Ah, Inspiration!! The band of alternating sections worked better in stocking stitch . . . and the knitting is faster, too 🙂

Now I’m back to bands of garter stitch . . . here’s a closeup of the pattern band; you can see at the bottom of the piece that I’ve started on the medium blue again:

20130523-192847.jpg It looks a bit ‘wobbly’, but blocking will take care of that later.

27 thoughts on “Two Stick Tricks with a Piece (or several) of Yarn

    • Go ahead and laugh . . . I highly recommend the plain garter stitch shawl that this began as . . . all it is is knit and four yarn-overs on one row and plain knit all the way back on the next row (after the first couple of beginner rows, of course. I’m a very bad example to follow; everytime I see something, my crazy mind kicks into high gear and spits out dozens of alternate ideas . . . Seriously, the original shawl is very simple and fast to make, especially if you are good at continental stitch (why I started this, partly, anyway) 🙂 I want to be a faster knitter or I’ll never get through my stash. I don’t know if you have leaf bags in AUS; they are like the black garbage bags, but bigger. I bought seven of them full of yarn when our Lewiscraft chain closed and the yarn went on sale (plus I had the employee’s discount as well). I didn’t set out to buy that much, of course, but like any addict, it was “oh, I’ll never see that colour again” or “oh, I’ll never find this yarn again” or “oh, I really can’t pass up this amazing price” and so on; usually all of the foregoing. I’d buy a bunch of one colour, then later a bunch of another colour, or I’d get a variety of yarns . . . I should be ashamed of myself, but I’m not, really. I thought at the time it would be good to have supplies when I got to retirement age. I’d be using more now, but have nowhere to work at present.

      Remember, that’s only the yarn! I already had an unrespectable stash; then there’s the fabric stash (which has multiplied in a surprising fashion since I decided to open an ETSY store; still not open due to family commitments), also a silk and dye stash (still not used, although I did get a couple of scarves blocked out and began putting on resist), also acrylic paints and wooden things to paint, and needlework projects, a rug hooking kit, fine art projects in various stages of planning and completion, and so on and so on . . . a sad case, eh? But I do love to create . . .

      • I inherited most of my Nanna’s yarn stash although there’s precious little left of each colour. Enough for baby hats or detailing. Still, It’s all appreciated. Mum dumped her stash on me of fabrics too. Thank goodness I like retro prints. 😉

      • Can’t remember if you crochet. If you do, bits of yarn are great for making granny squares; if you edge each square with black, it’s pretty dramatic. Of course, you can knit squares, too, then sew them together. My Auntie does that.

      • You will have to post pics of your stashes for me to drool over . . . in your spare time, of course . . . 😉

      • I don’t throw out ANYTHING! I’ve a friend who patchworks n I’ve passed on scraps to her but I’ve also used scraps to patch trousers when they’re out at the knees. I might just have to learn to crochet to use that scrap yarn I think. 🙂
        Knitting some cabled gauntlets for Allegra at the moment (making the pattern up as I go) to match her jumper and scarf. Pictures to come I promise.

      • I don’t throw out anything, either!! Good for you! And I will fight to the death anyone who calls good thrifty people ‘hoarders’!! OK, I’m off the soapbox now . . . 🙂

        Looking forward to pics of your progress. We need some sort of camera that is voice-controlled and just floats around over our head. Then the photo thing would be much simpler and not interrupt actual work . . .

      • I try not to hoard which means I will pass on things I don’t rightly believe I can or will use BUT I will keep things that I think I can and will use or plan to at least. I try and balance between hoarding and being thrifty. Our house isn’t small but it’s not that large either and after downsizing house size and storage options, I do need to be sensible about what we keep. Martin however is as bad (if not worse) than I am so things tend towards clutter rather than thrifty storage. 😉

      • I hope I’m wrong, but I think one day all those things will come in handy. In my storage in Vernon, BC, I even have a ‘sad iron’; that’s the sort you heat on the stove. Ideally, you have several so you can switch them out, but so far I only have one. If I have electricity wherever I end up, I’ll be able to use my mangle; it’s an old hospital one, from when the sheets were ironed. It can be used for any flat item.

      • My dad has a wrangle somewhere he uses for his paper making n mum had (probably still has) a collection of irons.

        I’m certain you’re not wrong about needing them one day too.

      • Oh, I envy your Mum her irons! I love ironing, although I haven’t done much with my one sad iron. Is a wrangle the same as my mangle?? I don’t suppose you have a photo of that, too, do you? 🙂

        I have made paper and I love the process. Does your Dad do it from scratch (plants and such) or by re-cycling existing paper? I have never done it from scratch (yet!). I also hadn’t thought of using the mangle to flatten the pieces, but of course it would be perfect! And now that you mention that, it would also be perfect for printmaking, another of my passions, although I’m very much the amateur at that.

        Yeah, I’d like to be wrong about the future need for pioneer tools and skills, but I don’t think I am . . . but at least I’ll be in that boat with all of you . . . 🙂

      • I’d heard it called a wrangle but I might have misheard. I did hear the name as a kid after all. It’s 2 rollers through which wet washing is rolled, wringing out the excess water. Dad’s is a manual one.
        He’s been making paper since before I was born, first just recycled paper (the church bulletin each week) in white, pink, green, blue and yellow and he’d make A4 and A5 with envelopes. He made the presses himself and coat hangers with pegs. It was a bit of a standard Christmas gift, a writing kit and a hand made paper card too. 🙂 Nowadays he’s into book binding, making paper from scratch and adding in all sorts of fibres. He does workshops and such out near Halls Gap (well worth googling that one Linne). He’s already claimed the prunings from my banana tree which is still only about a foot tall. lol
        Mum has never used her irons that I know of but we had a pot belly stove growing up (novelty factor more than anything) and the brick surround had built in sticking out brick shelves on which mum rested her irons. I think thye may have been her aunts or even her mums.
        Mums the one into trinkets and memories. She has so much stuff that it’s unbelievable. It wouldn’t bother me if not for her whinging about all the dusting she has to do. 😉

      • Yup, same thing! Likely different names in different countries. I will google Halls Gap tomorrow; sounds intriguing . . .

        Wish I could meet your parents; they sound a lit lime me and also my friends years ago . . .

        I’m afraid I’d drool over your Mum’s collections . . . 🙂

        You might want to put in your name for those irons some day . . . they have lots of uses.

      • Oh i know all of Mum’s stuff will come my way which is good and bad. My brother and SIL don’t like 2nd hand items and much of what I get from mum will be wonderful but there is much that just doesn’t interest me or I simply don’t have room for but the problem is I am well aware of the sentimentality and value (not monetary) of these things so I can’t chuck them but don’t want to keep them. It’s a good old rock and hard place situation.

      • You need to adopt some new neighbours . . . or plan a studio with good storage (my own preference). I miss houses with finished attics . . .

      • Storage is a problem, isn’t it? I’m pretty good at fitting lots of things into small spaces, also at living in the midst of them, but that’s not for everyone. I’ve been convinced a few times in my life to get rid of things I loved, but which other people thought were unimportant; in each case I ended up buying them again. Once it was a set of ‘children’s’ books that my friends kept saying I’d never re-read (but I did, often!). Now I don’t let others sway me.

        And much of what I store now is meant for my future years (like my yarn, fabric and art supplies); and part is in case I end up living off the grid entirely, no matter what the reason. I have garden tools, for instance, older kitchen tools, including a one gallon glass churn, just the size for me!

        Some is just ’cause I like it or ’cause I have an emotional connection with someone through it. This is what happens when ‘Connecting’ is your second highest strength!

        I’m going to have to work on sharing some of my things once I have access to them again. I’m glad I don’t have to do it right now, though . . .

      • Thank you! I owe you (in advance!!) No rush, though. I do know you’re busy with your family and all. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

