Happy World Wide Knit in Public Day!

Probably too late for most of you, but maybe you can bookmark this for next year . . . and if you don’t knit, go ahead and crochet or any other thing you do with fibre . . . or tell a story and say it’s a ‘yarn-along’ πŸ™‚

Just had a note from Squirrel Picnic; the Knit in Public is a week-long event, so get out that yarn, those needles or hooks, or fingers or knitting Nancy or . . . and go make a spectacle of yourself! I’ve been known to embarrass friends and family by carrying my yarn in a shoulder bag and knitting while standing in line at the bank or wherever . . . if not knitting, then I’m reading (or, these days, using my iPhone, heaven help me . . .)

Main thing is: have fun!!Β Β  πŸ˜‰

Squirrel Picnic

World Wide Knit in Public Day 2013

Happy World Wide Knit in Public Day!

Get out your yarn and knitting needles or crochet hooks. Grab your friends, and head to your nearest park for a day of knitting, crocheting, and sharing your love of yarn with your neighbors. Or just pack your current project in your bag and work on it wherever the day takes you.

Knit in Public Day began in 2005 as a way to give knitters an opportunity to meet each other, because as any knitter can tell you, knitting can be a pretty solitary hobby. Since then, it has become the largest knitter run event in the world, with local events held in Australia, China, England, France, Ireland, Norway, South Africa, the United States and many more countries.

I’ll be knitting a sleeveless top out of that coral-colored KnitPicks yarn I showed you back in March. It’s about time I got this done…

View original post 23 more words

13 thoughts on “Happy World Wide Knit in Public Day!

  1. I have been staying at my daughters for 5 days now and they told me that knitting makes you officially “old” no matter what age you are…I think my job there isn’t quite finished πŸ˜‰

    • Hope you’ve been having a great time! I guess by your daughters’ gauge, I was ‘old’ at 8! You tell them they better make friends with some ‘old’ people, ’cause after peak oil, if all goes the way I expect it will, they will be happy to trade for sweaters, socks, mitts, etc. Or they may decide to become ‘old’, too! πŸ˜‰

      What were you thinking, raising them like that?? really!! Earl can rest easy now; I’ll have a bone or two to pick with the girls . . . are they trembling yet?? πŸ™‚

      • Pfft…you can raise a horse to water but you can’t make it think girl! ;). My kids were taught “proper” they are doing the adult equivalent of “rebelling” which is fine by me, they need to work their own way through their thought processes to come out the other side “smart”…no-one can tell you how to think the right things, that doesn’t work, you just have to find yourself there and that’s when you know it πŸ˜‰

      • You are SO right!! Love that first line!

        They’ll find their way, just like us.
        (but I still think everyone should have a wide variety of skills . . .)

      • If it came to computer skills they would run rings around me Linnie πŸ˜‰ At least Madeline is trying to grow food now πŸ˜‰

      • Seriously, I think the next generations always have their own strengths; things change with each generation, don’t they? Your girls sound great and they certainly are a credit to your raising of them. I think these days the passing on of skills often happens at a much later time in their lives than when I was a kid myself. I expect they will go on learning from you for a long time; lucky you! Nice that Madeline’s learning to garden; it will be useful in the future, for health and saving money if nothing else.

        My boys have no interest in learning my skills, but the older one’s partner is much like I was at her age and she has learned a lot since I first knew her. I hope my grand-daughters will love some of the things I love, but there are no guarantees in life and I live too far off to be an influence for them. I’ll just have to wait and see . . . Young as they are, they are already pretty computer-literate for their ages, thanks to their Dad’s teaching. The eldest began with Photoshop when she was four and I still have only learned a fraction ow what it can do. Believe me, you run rings around ME when it comes to photoshopping! πŸ™‚

    • That’s too bad! I hope he’s well soon. But I think knitting in private counts, too. You can always take a picture and make it public on your blog πŸ˜‰ (yes, I know you do that anyway!) Squirrel Picnic is so cute, isn’t it? I love seeing the little scenes. Wish I had time to do everything that intrigues me . . .

  2. Hi Linne! Thanks for sharing my post with your friends! You are in luck. I learned today that Knit in Public Day is just the start of a weeklong celebration that goes through June 16. Happy knitting!

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

