I’m Not Filthy Rich, But I Play One in South Africa

Why I love Travelling Marla . . . you may also be interested in the links I shared with her in my comment at the end. ~ Linne

MarLa Sink Druzgal

This country is splitting my heart wide open. It’s hard to understand how it’s both filling it and breaking it at the same time, but I’m just going to ride this rollercoaster for awhile and see where it goes.

When Kurt signed the letter of “emotional support” for his wife, one of the many documents required before moving here with his company, I thought my biggest difficulty would be loneliness, but so far the largest hurdle is adjusting to the guilt of living as one of the “wealthy”.

On evenings when we go out to eat, after dark, we leave the comfort of our posh suburb of Pretoria, through our security gates, with their fingerprint id and armed guards, exiting our high-walled communities with electric wire around the perimeter. We drive past people sleeping on the side of the road, or sitting around makeshift campfires along the highway, staving…

View original post 471 more words

One thought on “I’m Not Filthy Rich, But I Play One in South Africa

  1. After I finish my 594 backlogged blog posts from my daughters (and yesterdays viral attack that had us in at daybreak to the computer shop to get it sorted) I might have time to get to this post. It looks interesting. Cheers for sharing Linnie 🙂

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

