Greek Yogourt – has a good food gone to the dark side ?

http://modernfarmer.com/2013/05/whey-too-much-greek-yogurts-dark-side/

I hadn’t heard any of this and on first reading it’s a bit scary. But I’m sticking with my Delicious Delilah’s kefir output and if I want yogourt, I won’t buy Greek; I’m way more likely to make it myself and not strain it. This current approach to food and marketing is not going anywhere I want to live . . . how about you?

On second reading, I’m thinking the problem likely goes back to manufacturing ‘food’ in factories instead of in the home. When I made yogourt, I did so in gallon jars. We ate it whole and there were no by-products to dispose of. If there had been, I would likely have used the whey when I made bread or pancakes, etc.

Well, too much thinking is hurting my brain . . .

10 thoughts on “Greek Yogourt – has a good food gone to the dark side ?

  1. My father was a man who shunned sterility at all costs. He would leave a leg of lamb (that had been roasted) out on his counter top for a couple of days and would slice bits off it. He didn’t give me a lot of advise but was always ready to pooh-pooh anyone who scrubbed and cleaned things and always said that you NEED germs. You need to develop a natural immunity to them so that your body could cope. I don’t eat yoghurt. I like the taste but if I did eat it I would make it myself. I don’t eat or make cheese. I make kefir and use it. The problem is when you use mechanical means to manufacture enormous quantities of any single product you are going to end up with byproducts that become a problem. The entire food production system is a problem! We are only now having to become accountable for our food production and waste and thanks to a new awareness of our place in the scheme of things (forced on industry by new policies induced by need) we are suddenly finding out that all of these “healthy” and “organic” and “ideal” products have a dark side. Make it yourself. Use the small amount of whey that you produce for baking a cake (after adding to some fresh milk and souring it). If we all made our own yoghurt there wouldn’t BE this problem.

    • I’m with your dad on germophobia! And totally agree with you on mass production of ‘stuff’ . . . we seem to use efficiency to remove artistry and creativity, creating huge amounts of bland products, then finding that the byproducts are a problem . . . what’s wrong with that picture?

      I like your idea of using the whey to sour milk, then baking a cake. I expect that would work for bread, too, right?

      • I found a recipe today for a Swedish brown bread that used soured milk. I would imagine it came from necessity in the past. Frugality is empowering 🙂

      • Are you planning to share that link? (hint, hint) Enquiring minds want to know . . . I agree that frugality is empowering. I guess one could sit around complaining of being ‘poor’, but the frugalistas (I include the male gender here, too) I know (including most of my blog friends) seem to see frugality as a challenge to get more out of less; to stretch every penny; using frugality as a springboard to creativity in so many ways. I think I learned from my Mum and others of her generation to never waste food; there’s always a use for every scrap. Some of the women who have gone before me were SO creative in cooking with few supplies . . .

    • Forgot to add: I grew up with no fridge in the house ’til I was about 16 or more. We did have an icebox back before I can remember (and back when the iceman delivered to your door every week or less). When I was 12, we moved to the last house where I lived at home. Next door was a small farm run by a Dutch couple and their family. They had a butchershope on the back of their land where they would butcher deer, cows, pigs, whatever, for customers; they also sold meat. In the back they had a freezer room with lockers for rent. My parents rented one and I remember being sent over after school to pick out a roast or whatever for supper. In the house (as in many of the houses before it) there was a sort of box built out from the north side wall, with a door that opened into the kitchen above the sink. The box was screened with metal mesh. In it we put leftovers when we had any, or anything we didn’t want to spoil too quickly (with 11 people in the house, and my Mum being such a good manager, not much ever went to waste).

      So I’m not too concerned about having meat sit out for a day or so. I remember when we moved up into the hills back when we only had the eldest son. His Dad shot a deer (much larger than the coast deer we were used to; those are more like large goats). It was Autumn and chilly during the days, so we hung the carcass in a tree where it wouldn’t get any sun and I just went out with my butcher knife and cut off a steak or chops or whatever as needed. Those were fried up in a large cast iron frying pan over a wood fire in a fireplace. The meat didn’t go bad; it took us over a week to eat it all and the last bit was fine.

      • My nan had a “safe” which was very similar to what you are talking about. They were tin boxes with small holes in them to keep out flies so that you could put the cooked roast in to cool a bit safe in the knowledge that the ubiquitous blow fly wasn’t going to decorate your meat with its nefarious young.

      • I’ve heard of ‘safes’, and that’s what we had; we just didn’t call it that. I’ve also seen ‘pie safes’, usually a sort of freestanding cupboard on legs, with shelves and either metal mesh or pierced tin. The piercings were often quite beautiful. When we kept our deer outdoors we didn’t get blowflies as the weather was already too cold. (I guess one could consider blowfly larvae an alternate source of protein, but I’ve not been that hungry to date LOL)

        It’s good to learn a bit before venturing too far down the ‘natural’ track of life . . . when I was a kid (well, since then, too), I read all the books about pioneers of various types that I could find and of course I spent many hours thinking about what I would do in their place. I learned a lot from that. As a young adult, I came across the ‘Foxfire’ books (I think I’ve mentioned them before); they were collections of stories from interviews with elders in Appalachia, with recipes, diagrams, procedures, etc. Just fascinating! I hope to collect them all one day.

  2. The dark side of food we simply don’t see. And a so called health food too. I completely second what you say. Make it at home and remove the guilt from your head. It’s got me thinking though about how I will dispose of the excess whey I will have from making cheese. The chooks didn’t seem too interested but I’m wondering if it could be another alternative to weed killer, much like vinegar.

  3. Wow. Didn’t know that. Thanks, Linne. That gives me even more argument that we should all just be getting out into our organic gardens, withOUT gloves, digging around in the soil, and then chewing our fingernails. They’re already finding that soil probiotics are more attuned to the human digestive tract than the additives in yogurt. But yeah, I’m also going to ditch my Greek yogurt. I’m a regular user since I do the extra protein. Thanks!

    • You’re welcome, Marla. Thanks for sharing that info about soil probiotics; I didn’t know that! Think I’ll just keep drinking my kefir, though; not sure I’m ready for chewing my fingernails LOL. Although I do like a young veggie right out of the dirt . . . just brush it off and YUM!!

      I’m thinking if people want greek-style yogourt, they could make it themselves and find a use for the whey; at least it wouldn’t be concentrated in such huge amounts . . . I add a scoop of soy protein to my kefir shakes, but still feel a bit unsettled by that, as I have no idea if it’s GMO or not (no labelling required here in Canada! at least, not yet!)

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

