65. Tiny Houses.

Not that a Tiny House would hold all my crafting and art supplies, never mind the memorabilia . . . but I’d still like a Tiny House to live in; a Tiny Cottage, to be precise, rather Hobbity in nature, with elements of Art Deco and Arts&Crafts. With a huge hay barn behind, ready to become a workspace for all and sundry occupations I might be tempted to indulge in . . . ~ Linne

23thorns

We bought our house for the garden. It’s a little narrow, but nice and long, and the combination of plants and terraces makes it look like it goes on forever. There’s nothing wrong with the house. It’s prettier from the inside than it is from the outside, but it does the trick.

It’s certainly not a mansion. Each of the kids has a room of their own, and Mrs 23thorns and I share one. The same cannot be said about our cupboard space. But my shoulders are broad, and I soldier on (although I would just like to point out that the one with the broad shoulders should have the most cupboard space. My jackets are much bigger). There’s a bathroom, a TV room/lounge/office, and a kitchen. And an odd little space we laughingly call the dining room.

We’re very happy there, but if I were to be honest with…

View original post 1,015 more words

13 thoughts on “65. Tiny Houses.

  1. I love the tiny house concept and it inspired me to move to a smaller house on this current move. I’m still decluttering slowly slowly and maybe by the time I’m 64 I might have rid myself of enough stuff (and kids living at home) to be able to move to a tiny house. Maybe

    • I would love a tiny cottage because I could keep it tidy and it would be a refuge. But to do that, I really need the big hay barn or something very like; I need a huge workshop with stations for each of the things I like to do. Looms, easels, spinning wheel, sewing area, oh, so much more . . . I likely sound crazy, but at this point, it makes me feel so good just to dream, it’s worth it.

      I do understand de-cluttering, but for myself (being a high-Input person), I find meaning in my things and am not ready to part with them. I’ve spent years and a fair bit of money gathering supplies for when I retire (which I technically have done, except that I’m not yet living the life of Retired Reilly); also I have a lot of lovely antiques that aren’t worth much, but make me smile. A set of 1920s grapefruit bowls, for instance, that look like a waterlily flower on its leaf (all in one piece). They are finished in that lovely old lustre ware glaze and are pink, yellow, green and blue. I have antique tea cups and saucers (but not the ’20s tea dress to wear when I use them), an old sad iron (that you heat on the stove for ironing), old mixing bowls, books, books and more books . . . and that’s not all . . . but I’ll stop here. I’m sure you all get the idea by now and are shaking your collective heads . . . it’s very hard to explain . . .

      • But Linne, that’s not clutter. Clutter is unnecessary stuff that isn’t wanted that you haven’t yet got rid of. 🙂 Your treasures ARE wanted and therein lies the difference.I have a house full of similar things but for me many of them no longer contain value to me – they are taking up space that I need for other important things. Space needed for homeschooling. Space needed for my sewing or knitting supplies. However, most of my clutter is too many clothes. There are only so many outfits one can wear at once.

      • thanks. I should get you to give me a large, signed note that I could post somewhere. LOL I’ve had my stuff called clutter for so long that I’ve become quite defensive about it. These apartments were designed in the 60s, a time of replacing lovely old homes with ugly new boxes, and worse. I always say they are perfect for a young bachelor who comes home from work, pops something in the microwave, sits in a recliner to watch tv, then goes to bed. Oh, well, I’m whinging again . . . 😉

        I agree with you. I do have too many clothes, but many are my old ones that I really love and some are newer; original designs made from the batik fabrics from Bali. I will wear the old ones again when I’m back in the country and the batiks will do me for ‘good’ for the rest of my life, I imagine. Or maybe one day they will become quilt tops, if I actually wear them out.

        My dream was always to have one of those practical, multi-purpose wardrobes and I must have planned a few dozen variations of that, but in the end, my eye for luxury and good design would win out over practicality. I used to make my own clothes all by hand, long dresses that I just loved, but rarely wore (don’t ask). I’d go to the fabric store to get a practical dress pattern, was immediately seduced (no, I didn’t resist!!) by the Vogue fancy stuff, and then went home and made them up. Of course, I could never afford the right fabrics, so most of them were just cotton. I think those will be quilt tops, if they are still in condition to use after all this time. But the old Tshirts, jackets, etc. are just what I will need when working in my woodlot or garden . . . It’s funny, I’ve hardly ever had ordinary clothes like most women, you know, office wear and the like. I’m odd that way . . . I yearn for Queen Amidala outfits, but not for a life where I could actually go out in public in them . . . funny, eh??

        The other thing you likely need is good organizing space, built to hold your stuff properly. I like a sewing cupboard with a fold-down ironing board, a pull-out cabinet for the sewing machine and a fold up table for cutting out. Inside the doors would be hooks for scissors, spindles for threads, shelves for button boxes, etc. The right unit can make a huge difference . . .

      • I love well-planned storage / work space . . . I don’t know if you get the ‘Sunset’ series of books in Aus, but they have published a few dealing with planning storage, living in small spaces, etc.

        Looking forward to pictures of your workspace . . .

  2. Or, you could have a tiny house gypsy caravan that you could move around in and camp wherever your soul told you to and you could have a different view every single morning 🙂

    • Many aeons ago, my sons’ dad and I were with a group of people who were building large gypsy caravans to be pulled by big draught horses. That’s when we bought our first team, a Belgian gelding and a Percheron mare. But we were all young, the leader of the group fancied himself a bit much (wanted us to all get up early and do calisthenics before breakfast), and so on . . . so we took our horses (we had several as well as the team) and parted ways. They went on to travel across the country (trucking the horses and wagons across the long distances, then driving between neighbouring towns); they put on plays they wrote themselves and in general were much like a mediaeval troupe of players, jugglers and musicians. I ran into them many years later and they were still doing their thing, very successfully, too. The wagon was a great idea, but we never completed one for ourselves.

      I’ve camped out of trucks, cars and Volkswagens, too. I like camping even without equipment. At one point, we had a tarpaulin we strung up to keep any heavy rain off, and blankets for bedding. That was it. I’d do it again, too . . .

      We have a great young man here who’s been living out of his van for a few years, travelling back and forth across the country (he has a vehicle in the West and another in the East and is planning on a bus fairly soon). He’s a photographer and is taking pictures of Canadians from as many towns as possible. For some, he stood them in front of a red background. He has made a huge Canadian flag from the pictures he has already and I think the end result will be an even bigger flag. His name is Tim van Horn and you can read more about him here. If you hold your cursor over a tile, you will see a larger version of the image. He’s so impressive!!

      You know, if I were younger, I’d love to travel more, camping wherever, but now I’ve moved so often in my life and lived where I didn’t really care for the surroundings, just enough that I’d love to stay in one place forever! But when I say that, I realize I would like a home place and then to journey out from it and back to it . . . in the best of all possible worlds . . .

      • I moved so many times when the kids were young that I swore NEVER to move again but here I am in Tassie and have moved twice in 3 years ;). It just goes to show that sometimes these little self vows are made to be broken. The powers that be like a challenge with we bolshie babes 😉

      • Yes, I know about those self-vows . . . I’ve moved 3.5 times since I came here; am planning to return to BC once done here. Who knows, though?

        I heard a good action movie in that: “The Fates and the Bolshie Babes” 😉

    • Thanks, Barbara. Step one (so far as I can see) is winning a lotto. But seriously, there are lots of ways to get to one’s goal and I intend to find one!

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

