Sliding into September . . .

Well, that’s how it feels, anyway. The weather has continued hot for the most part and today we broke a 69 year old record (I think that’s what the weather girl said). But by Tuesday it will be much cooler and raining again, which will be a nice change.

What I haven’t liked, though, is hearing the weather girl going on about the earliest snowfalls we’ve had here; October 10th last year, but that melted; October 16th two other years and both of those stayed. I wouldn’t mind the snow so much if it didn’t also mean ice and slipping/falling down. Not my favourite thing. And I dislike -30C as much as I do +30C. I know it’s good for my body and keeps my inner thermostat healthy, but still . . .

My media uploader seems to be having problems, so photos will have to wait for another post.

I’m sure some of you thought I’d tossed out the pen forever, but not so. Just a long, challenging stretch of time. Then I was with my Aunty for three weeks, up at Mum’s for one and now back at my Aunty’s for another three weeks. This means limited computer time, of course, as I have to work around schedules for both Mum and my Aunty.

Tomorrow afternoon my friend C will come and take a load of things to storage for me. The balcony is not yet cleared off entirely, but progress is being made. I finally threw out the IKEA bookcase that was stored out there. I’ve decided to give the other two away whenever my time here in Edmonton is done. I have also given away my bed (which I love very much; it was half of Mum and Dad’s double bed setup and has a motor underneath so the head and the knee section can be raised. Perfect for reading in bed!) It’s not gone yet, but soon . . . one of my favourite tellers at the grocery store has trouble with her heart and was saying she needed a new, smaller bed but couldn’t afford one. I felt moved to give her mine. I will miss it, but I have a camping mat that will work fine when I have my own place someday, and that I can move by myself. I don’t have a lot of furniture and have decided to keep only the pieces I can move alone. Not sure about the oak partner’s desk I have in my BC storage, though. I doubt anyone would want it and it’s perfect for laying out fabric, etc. And I love oak!

I’m still working on the ‘plain garter stitch’ shawl and have now borrowed a library book on Fair Isle knitting, so have begun a smallish bag in order to practise. The shawl has been too hot to have on my lap this last bit, although I do try to do at least one row a day. The bag is only acrylic, but looks quite electrifying. If I get a chance later today, I’ll add a photo to show you. ~ Linne

Well, more soon. Just wanted to touch base with everyone. ~ Linne

39 thoughts on “Sliding into September . . .

    • Thanks, Karen. Caught up with you today, but didn’t leave comments. So nice to see your kids growing. Hasn’t Eli lengthened out! That holiday sounded so lovely.

  1. Fairisle eh? Too much like hard work for me! I do my crocheting at night time to block out the bad pig hunting/oil drilling/gold mining/tree felling Texan programs that Steve seems intent on supporting single handedly and as I get up at 4am now, by 8pm I am crocheting in my sleep so something challenging like Fairisle might be a step too far… automatic writing is one thing but automatic crocheting might be someplace terrifying! Good to see you back and the good thing about the cold is that it certainly invigorates your mind where hot weather sucks the energy out of you. We have our own hot weather to look forwards to from December to whenever it decides to let up…can’t say I am looking forwards to it but endure we must! See you soon πŸ™‚

    • Funny how often opposites attract, eh? My Aunty flips channels, a LOT, so I keep my head down, knit lots and try not to get sucked into paying too much attention when something catches my mind. I watch public tv programs at night to relax; I’m having trouble finding some, now the autumn season is underway and stuff’s been switched around. I know the stuff (programs) you mean; my friend’s husband who was in hospice last year watched it, too. Must be the ‘hunter/gatherer/defender’ genes at work, eh? At least I can laugh (in my head) at them when they are complete idiots . . .

      As to Fair Isle, it really IS easy; so long as you can count, that is, and rarely up to seven . . . Two colours per row, so something like a 12 stitch pattern might go: 2pink, 2blue, 1pink, 2blue, 1pink, 2blue, 2pink. Repeat to end of row, which I have marked with two plastic rings. An easy way to go is to copy the diagram (enlarged) and as you finish a row colour it with a highlighter. I should do this, but don’t. Lucky I’ve only had to undo 1.5 rows when I accidently repeated a row. Knitting in the round helps, as you can see the pattern forming and catch any potential errors. If you want an easy way to try this, knit a scarf in the round. Do the two ends in pattern, plain knit the rest. Easy! I’d use 36 stitches, so there would be lots of scope for designs. Make sure your motif/s are multiples of 3, 4, 6, or 12.

      • (I think she is talking to me in Japanese again… definitely something about math in there and my brain has officially just switched off to preserve the few brain cells that still remain inside it πŸ˜‰ )

      • Ah, sumimasen . . . watashi no nihongo wa sukoshi desu. So no knitting talk in Japanese πŸ˜‰

        Nope, no math; just counting, mostly not even to ten. πŸ˜‰

        Come on, you KNOW you wanna give it a try . . .

      • I am twitching with anti-delight at the thought of all of that maths! Knitting and crochet to me are places where you get going and “forgedaboudit!” and your mind wanders to greener more thoughtfull pastures and you just perform and repeat for a long time till you have “something” in front of you (in my case usually a large bedspread πŸ˜‰ ). As Mr Punch would say “That’s the way to do it!” Anything fiddly or county or mathematically makes me twitch. I did attempt to pin some crochet cable the other day but the pin disappeared…even the powers that be know that difficult stitches and narf7 are not supposed to go together πŸ˜‰

      • Well, I got my come-uppance for teasing you so mercilessly; yesterday evening I had a good look at the pattern on the knitted piece (always facing me, remember? so I should have caught this sooner, of course) and noticed an aberration in part of the pattern in one row, but it was nearly 3 rows down! I debated briefly; to undo the stitches to that point and fix it or to use duplicate stitch later (which is not my strong point; I’m good at starting, not finishing, stuff). Practicaliey won out and I backed up and fixed the error. Simple counting, yep. Getting interrupted doesn’t help with that, though. So today I’m well above where I was last night and quite happy with the results. There are enough errors and at least two dropped stitches to be fixed later (later, when?? I ask you . . .)

        Bedspreads are definitely the way to go if you just want to be busy but not mentally engaged.

        Crochet cable? I can do knit cable, but never tried the crochet variety . . . sounds lovely. Too bad about the pin, though . . .

      • I have just taken up reading again where I left off (at about age 14 πŸ˜‰ ) and have my nose firmly into Patty Smith’s biography and I am finding it hard to put it down. I picked up 3 x 100g balls of chenille lavender coloured wool at the thrift shop the other day and am carrying on with a large granny square that I am thinking might yet turn into a bedspread for the middle room. That’s if Earl decides that he doesn’t need a bit of fibre in his diet of course πŸ˜‰

      • Haven’t heard of Patty Smith; will have to check with my library . . . thanks!
        The lavender bedspread sounds lovely; photos to come, I hope . . . preferably before it is savaged by the fibre monster πŸ˜‰

      • The book I am reading is called “Just Kids” and was about her relationship with the photographer Robert Mapplethorpe. For a singer, she writes amazingly well ;). I am just enjoying digging my nose into her life. Just put Keith Richard’s expose “Life” on hold at the library and can’t wait to read that one! ;). I have 3 Discworld (Terry Pratchett) books sitting there waiting for me to get stuck into. I adore his books and they are like eating mental sweets for me. My brain goes into hyperdrive with the possibilities :). You can be sure that when I finish the bedspread it will at least get put on the middle bed and photographed before Earl indulges πŸ˜‰ Have a great week Linnie πŸ™‚

      • I’ll look for that; I’m familiar with Mapplethorpe’s name. I like bios, too, all sorts. Never got into Pratchett, for some reason, but I’ve been re-reading Bradbury and Heinlein while I can; not many of their works left at the library now. I have ‘Stranger in a Strange Land’ (uncut version, which I haven’t read) upstairs in case I get time. But I spent most of my break yesterday making chicken stew for supper, so no books cracked . . . I like big books that I can stay lost in . . .

      • I like books that take me somewhere new inside myself, make me think and then deliver me at the other side full of possibilities. Can’t be doing with anything that takes too long to read and leaves me up in the air.

      • Sounds like me, except I hate a good book to be over too soon. If you don’t like being left up in the air, I recommend you not read “Game of Thrones” lol. Five years usually between books and with a very complicated plot and multiple characters (not all of whom show up in every volume) . . . I told my beloved Indie bookstore staff so oftrn that George R. R. Martin was on my ‘hit list’ I’m surprised they haven’t banned me from the store . . . πŸ™‚

      • My daughter is STILL waiting for the third in a trilogy from Isobelle Carmody that she read when she was 15. She is now 25 ;). Sometimes you just gotta wait ;). Not interested in Game of Thrones. If humanity as a mass goes nuts over something I am naturally suspicious of it πŸ˜‰

      • Thanks for the mention; I checked out Carmody and it looks like she has several series going, with new books ‘to come’. Depends on taste, of course, but I did like the first book of GofT, then it got progressively more complex and darker than I’m partial to; I haven’t even touched the last volume, after something my sister told me about it. I’m suspicious of ‘popular’ stuff, too, but sometimes things are popular ’cause they are good, so I check things out, then decide if I like ’em or not.

      • All I have to say about reading what is popular rather than what is actually good or to your taste is the book “Eat, pray love” a hearty dose of complete and utter self serving drivel that EVERYONE else apparently loved but I thought was rubbish. Every person has different tastes and you should go by what you like rather than what everyone else says is fantastic πŸ˜‰

      • I’ll have another look at Pratchett, I think . . . and am looking forward to that bedspread. I wonder if Earl is jealous ’cause he doesn’t have fingers to crochet with? πŸ˜‰

      • I think Earl is heartily satisfied at the lack of digits and is more than happy with his incredible row of shark like gleaming teeth…he figures that makes up for no opposable thumbs πŸ˜‰

      • No time…you forget Earl is a male. Who would have time to sit and “do” he is purely instinctual and everything revolves around his questing nose and peeing on anything tall enough to get the notice of the other neighbourhood dogs…anything else is so much wasted time…apart from eating things that is, that is his third favourite thing πŸ˜‰

      • Ah yes, the generic male; I’m used to men who ‘do’ and ‘think’ (artists, musicians, philosophers, etc.) as well as all the other, more usual pursuits. So I forget about the more common sorts. I seem to run into more of those here than I did living on the coast, but there were plenty around in central BC when I lived there, too. Since I’ve had no luck luring you into the world of complex knitting, I think I’ll leave Earl to his own tastes. You, I’ll continue to work on . . . πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks, Wendy. It’s been too complex here to blog about, and then there’s that lessening of the light . . . helps to think that you lot downunder and we up here are taking turns and sharing. But I don’t like the tiredness and so on. At least I can knit, though . . .

      • Thanks, Wendy. Same for you, too. Wish I could go out, chop wood and carry water . . . I would do better if I walked every day, but I don’t. Well, I haven’t been; I need to start, though. We’ll see . . .

      • I did best at that when I lived for a couple of years with a young friend/former daughter in law who is very active; we walked every day and challenged ourselves to go further each day. If I lived near her now, we’d still be doing that. And when I was younger and lived in the country, we often didn’t have a vehicle, so walked miles and back-packed kids, laundry and groceries. It was great for me. I do best with movement that means something (or is necessary to staying alive, clean and healthy lol) When I find that dratted star-gate of mine, I will pop by and walk with you; I’d walk with Narfie, too, but I fear she’d leave me in the dust . . . πŸ˜‰

  2. Hi Linne — Good to hear from you. I’ve wondered how you’ve been faring. It was 93F/34C in Seattle yesterday, and everyone is wondering what’s going on??!! All kinds of records smashed, or melted. And how “cool” (ha ha) that your bed is moving on to someone who will truly love it, too. A gift! Loving. I can just see you chatting with the grocery teller. πŸ™‚

    • Hi, Christi; I’m so behind on comments. We had record highs, too, back then. Much cooler now, though. 11C today, but 8C with the wind. Very dark skies all day, but so far the first snow is forecast for the 28th of Oct. It’s 6:20 and the sun is nearly down; I already look forward to January and increasing light.

      I hate to let go of the bed, but blessing someone else helps. Yes, I ‘connect’ with most people in some way, with a very few in multiple ways that are meaningful. Why I love my ‘virtual village’ . . .

  3. Linne, it is so good to hear from you. It does sound like you’re paring your life and posessions down to bare minimum and how wonderful to share the bed with someone who needed it. πŸ™‚
    Hugs from your Dottir and know that we too have been a bit quiet (and damned busy with Spring) but haven’t forgotten you Schatze. Bis spΓ€ter, die Mutter meines Herzens. xxxxx

    • Thanks, Jess. I’m just getting to comments today. No chance of me paring down to essentials; I have three storage units now plus some stuff in the new one with Mum. Not to mention what’s still here . . . I’m very sad to part with the bed, but I can’t move it alone and it’s hard to organize help. Good that it will help someone though.

      I’m knitting lots while at my Aunty’s, to use up some of my retirement stash, but I have a lot of supplies, not just for knitting. The pressure from the condo management people is to take; their eye is on conformity and profit, not on quality of life for those like Mum and me. I’m not a good city person. Oh, well . . .
      I haven’t forgotten you, either, mein HippyDottir ❀ n hugs to you.

    • I’ve done pattern knitting before, so this is a step up for me. I don’t mind being ‘fussy’ a bit; I can visit while knitting, at least. Love the thought of your flying piggies!

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

