. . . and here we go . . .

Yesterday (Saturday, 26 October):

20131027-084156.jpg

20131027-084239.jpg
This morning at 8:00 am:

20131027-084344.jpg

20131027-084414.jpg
8:45 am:

20131027-084640.jpg Seen from the couch; very pretty and it does increase the light significantly 😉
This is expected to melt and we may be at 7 – 10 C on Hallowe’en, which is great for the kids out Trick-or-Treating.
More serious snow is expected later in the first week of November. I’m counting the days ’til spring . . . 😉

11 thoughts on “. . . and here we go . . .

    • Mid-May 😦 No, this year summer has seemed pretty short. That said, we had fewer +30ish days than usual, so I’m grateful for that. And this Autumn has been a bit longer and nice. I haven’t been out in it much, though (my own fault mostly).

      I appreciated snow much more when living where we were lucky to have two weeks of it. We would go out and walk for hours, ‘listening’ to the hush and then bits falling from the branches, admiring the beauty of both snow and the transformed world. Sometimes there was a full moon behind the clouds so it all glowed. Snow by the sea is amazing, too.

      • Snow just sounds plain old awesome to me. We have had snow here in Ballan but if you count large flaky bits of snow-like ice drifting down amidst the freezing rain and melting upon landing then yes, we’ve had snow. Even our trip tot he mountains for the 3 boys birthdays we picked the day when there was nothing but man-made snow. It began raining as we drove home which apparently left a nice layer of real snow on the mountain. Sigh.
        I hope your snow doesn’t last quite yet, even if it is pretty. I’m sure the prospect of 8 months of the white stuff doesn’t appeal all that much.

      • Ah, yes, snow! I loved it as a child, likely ’cause I wasn’t out in it much except to play. I really loved it on the coast, when we got about as much as you do, maybe a wee tad more. Some years we had none; every couple of decades or so we’d get four feet or more in a single dump, but in a week or three it would all be gone. Too bad you missed the real stuff for the birthday trip. I’ve never seen man-made snow, although I hear the skiing places use it a fair bit. I still love how it looks, both coming down and when it decorates the trees, etc. But in the city it’s muddy and icy pretty quickly. Icy is NOT my favourite thing, as I’ve had several falls since moving here. Good thing I have very strong bones, is all I can say. But mostly I (hate) heartily dislike having to walk carefully and slowly, watching for that one elusive bit that will dump me on my tailbone . . . This year it has been late, so if we are lucky and have an earlier spring, we may see only six months or a bit less of the white stuff. I also dislike the lack of scent and colour for so long; makes everything seem very barren and lifeless. Oh, well, there are silver linings to be had . . .

  1. Remembering that we “only live once” SURELY there is something good about autumn and winter where you are that you can snuggle up to?!!! I adore both seasons. They are my favourites. I can snuggle up with a blanket and can read, drink as much tea as I want, I can crochet and knit and I can read…and read…and READ and fill my brain with possibilities. They say that people who read live many lives in one. I agree :). Books are the penniless student hippies great escape into the wide blue yonder 🙂

    • I expect it’s just a mix of homesickness, frustration with a few things (including living in a condo in a city) and a touch of SAD. I always liked spring and autumn best, but felt like you about winter, too. But last year the first snow that stuck came in mid-October and the last was in mid-May. I walked a lot before I came here, even in winter (thanks in part to necessity, then an active former DIL), but a few falls taught me to go slowly and keep my eyes on the ground ahead, which kind of takes the fun out of it . . .

      I miss going outside and smelling earth, plants, trees . . . even in winter. It seems very barren here to me, living most of my previous life near the ocean in a climate much like yours. It took me a few years to get used to the greyness and rains when I first moved back to the coast, but I came to love it.

      I do appreciate having time to knit just now, but I only read at Mum’s or after 10 when I am on my own. I’m like you when it comes to reading, and probably worse!

      Thanks for the reminder to look for the silver lining; sometimes I need that gentle ‘poke’ (and sometimes a good boot! LOL)

      Having this time with my Aunty and Mum is precious, even with the frustrations of our various situations. I do try to keep that in mind, too.

      You are so right about readers living many lives; and now I have the added pleasures of living vicariously in this awesome ‘village’. You and the others are so inspiring and entertaining!

      • Don’t forget, most of us only tell the “good bits” and you tend not to see anything that reeks or smacks of depression, angst or downright bolshie bad temper (I fear I tend to dabble with the latter on a regular basis). Spring finds us trying to cram so much into our middle aged days and doing things with muscles that atrophied over the winter so it’s a slow awakening for our bodies when our minds got a head start. The veggie garden is going great guns and we will soon be able to start assembling large gardens inside. Once we finish it is time to assemble the garden materials. Lots of trips off to the small town of Kelso just up the road to collect seagrass for top dressing the beds, reacquainting ourselves with the horse stud up the road for at least 1 trailer load of horse dung to add to the 8 well rotted trailer loads that are languishing inside the veggie garden area…lots of grass cuttings, mushroom compost, the contents of the existing gardens that we have to shovel and rotted leaves, cut up garden debris (mostly sticks) etc. to get this horticultural party started. We will have to have a “garden party” when we finish…only Steve and I are invited though 😉

      • So true, about telling mostly the good bits! I suppose it’s one reason it’s so much easier to form deep friendships here; we may choose to reveal our warts and scars, but we rarely get caught on a bad day, then have to live with the consequences . . . hearing about my faults is a long way from having to experience them in 3-D living sound and colour. On the other hand, once we mature a bit, we can certainly learn and grow from seeing ourselves through the eyes of others.

        I’ve been reading your lovely posts and am thrilled to see the progress of the garden. What a huge job! You will be SO excited once it’s done!! If it were possible, I’d vote we all ‘port to Tassie (with our camping gear and food, and bringing our bottles to share, then donate for the garden . . .) What a party that would be!! Well, I for one will be there in spirit . . .

      • I might actually be able to liberate some bottles from Jo but Steve will have to see them on her front porch when he drops her fortnightly eggs off ;). For someone who is very visual he tends not to see what is right in front of his face and missed picking up a box of lemons with a note saying “For Steve” on it that was a foot away from where he left the eggs ;). Oh well…next time he might not just take a man look eh? ;).

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

