Another week closer to . . .

Spring!! πŸ™‚

20131109-184320.jpg
. . . sorry, just kidding . . . well, I have been saying every day, “one day closer to spring”! but really, I’m feeling better now I’m nearly adjusted to Daylight Savings Time (last Sunday) and what blew in the day before . . .

20131109-184645.jpg

20131109-184730.jpg

20131109-184759.jpg
All that led to this:

20131109-184836.jpg Sunday breakfast; just what Mum made (with my help) nearly every wintry Sunday morning when I was young.

Also this:

20131109-185019.jpg Sunday supper frittata (not at all what we ate back in the day πŸ˜‰

Since then we’ve had more of the white stuff, but not enough to make it too icy for safety. It is pretty, eh?

20131109-185340.jpg

I’ve been knitting away, and the ‘barn cardi’ is now over 27″ long; I have about 4″ to go on the top edge, then I will add a couple of motifs at the bottom, then an edging of some sort. I think this will end up being car coat length or maybe more . . . since I’m tall and heavy, this will be a good length for me, whether I wear it over jeans or my favourite black ankle-length skirt. Here’s where it is right this minute:

20131109-185954.jpg
and the steeks for the armscyes (love that word!) are now about 8.5″ deep; they need to be around 12″ for an easy fit.

20131109-190849.jpg See the armscye steeks?

This yarn (Astra acrylic) calls for 4mm (US 6) needles, so with the double stranding the fabric is lovely and thick. The cardi is cosy just snuggling on my lap as I work. Here’s a peek at the reverse (inside):

20131109-191100.jpg

20131109-191127.jpg A slightly closer look.

In case you were wondering about that gorgeous photo in the beginning, I was watching “Foxfire”, an old favourite with actress Jessica Tandy, her husband Hume Cronyn and John Denver. That house is an actual old homestead home in the Blue Ridge Mountains (Highlands, North Carolina, if I remember correctly) and is one of my dream homes. You can check out the movie on YouTube here:

. . . and, for no particular reason . . . what I’m watching (sort of) on tv while knitting:

20131109-193532.jpg
Boston Bruins (who will lose, of course) ;-). vs the Toronto Maple Leafs. Our game, of course . . . πŸ˜‰

Last, what I saw on my way home with a rolly cart of groceries this afternoon:

20131109-193837.jpg so it’s nice that I can stay in tomorrow, doing some laundry, knitting, of course, with a wee pork roast simmering in the slow cooker. That will be dinner for all three of us.

Hope you all have a lovely, relaxing Sunday (or have already had it) πŸ˜‰

31 thoughts on “Another week closer to . . .

  1. Ah, Linne, the Canadian love affair with hockey! I remember it well. When I went off to college in Texas in 1975 my parents and siblings all moved to Toronto…which is where I went “home” for the Christmas holiday and for one summer. My sibs all talked about how hockey was IT (not football!!) and got me out on a frozen pond with skates to play and I instantly fell on my butt.

    Your cardi is exquisite. The color magenta just pulses off of it….and I LOVE magenta, the highest chakra. πŸ™‚ Keep warm! Love, Christi

    • My family didn’t have tv ’til after I left home at 19, but we listened to the Stanley Cup games on radio (I ‘listen’ to it on tv most years; that way I can still knit, read or whatever. My Dad played baseball when he was young and that was the big thing for us. Mum has a pair of Blue Jays shoelaces and still wears one as a hairband if the Jays are in the World Series. We don’t follow it as much as when Dad was still alive, though. I always yearned for a Series with the Jays and the Expos, but not likely to ever see a Canadian Series now . . . My family’s second team were the Yankees, but mine were the Brooklyn Dodgers; after they were sold out west, I was quite disillusioned. lol

      Thanks for the compliment. I hadn’t thought of that colour as magenta, since the label says ‘hot pink’; remember those big boxes of Crayolas? Magenta was one of my favourites. I guess some things we don’t lose . . .

  2. I don’t get to watch tv at night, not because of Steve’s curious pecadillos but more because I am usually fast asleep by 7.30 these days thanks to my early rising habits and how hard we are working in the garden. I finally finished off putting heavy rocks all around the base of the fish farm netting lined veggie garden. I had to find them and then lug them in our aging wheelbarrow to the site so I was pretty tired by the time I finished and then I had to test the enclosure to see if it was “Earl proof”. I figure it IS indeed Earl proof because when I let him off lead and he was trotting around inside the enclosure he spotted a (stupid) chook right next to the edge of the enclosure pecking at some grass (outside…Earl is inside remember) and he ran at full steam at the side of the enclosure with the intention of collecting a chook as he pelted past go (no $200 for Earl, a chook is worth his calorie expenditure apparently…) but he found himself propelled backwards and unable to force his way through the netting…that doesn’t happen often to Earl and aside from a bit of fence perimeter pacing and peeing he decided that he was officially “contained” and settled down to dig around in a mountain of horse poo (aged and dirt like) and eat long grass while Bezial and I had a well earned rest. We are going to put a table and chairs inside under a tree to take advantage of the bliss that is this veggie garden and as I sat there I had all of the possibilities of the world dancing around inside my well greased head. Made all of that hard HARD work worth it and much like childbirth, my memories of that “pain” are fading :). I won’t be repeating our efforts any day soon though but I DO have extensions to the veggie garden planted in my furtile mind already…just so Steve is on notice ;). Love the snow and the pancakes (or French toast). I am on breakfast smoothies and buckwheat and sunflower seed with date and apple porridge at the moment. I need my energy πŸ™‚

    • I’d be sleeping for days, I’m sure, but then, you are only just past first youth . . . Had to laugh that you are already planning more extensions. Funny how we forget pain and effort, isn’t it? Have you thought of netting the perimeter altogether, then growing something up it that would keep the critters out? Or maybe a sokar powered electric bit at the top. You’d have to do it in sections, I’d think . . . nah, I think you have it right; first the core, then extend outward.

      Lucky you, to have that live fence tester. And I do envy you your table and chairs under the netting . . . I see picnics ahead. No lounger or hammocks? Wonder why? lol

      • A hammock might be a good idea and we have enough offcuts from the netting to make a doozy :). Electric fence isn’t in our ethos (or more to the point, our budget πŸ˜‰ ) so we have to problem solve our way out of conundrums with the grey matter between our ears and whatever we can scrounge. Glad next door just gave us a whole lot of grass/lawn clippings from her huge expanse of lawn. Most people wouldn’t be all that happy about that sort of “donation” but I am doing the happy dance because heaped up in an unused part of the garden it can rot down and the worms can do their bit up between the rocks and the soil can start to grow. The huge pile of horse manure, now well and truly aged into gorgeous soil, is full of worms and the soil underneath should be a lot more manageable than prior to me shovelling it all out. What I love most of all is the possibilities. My space to do with what I want and I am twitching with anticipation. We should be able to get out this weekend and get stuck into it. A friend of Steve’s was telling him that his dad always chose mid November to plant his veggies. He said that early November…not so good…late November…not so good…mid November EXCELLENT! And he has always followed his dad’s advice and will be planting this weekend. I think that’s a message from above don’t you? ;). Wish me luck, by Monday I will be knackered πŸ™‚

      • Mmmmm….. a wedding hammock! With suspended side tables for a book, a drink, a snack . . . πŸ˜‰

        I know what you mean about electric fencing; not everyone’s choice. Hard to find a kind alternative that works. The critters are pretty self-centred when it comes to survival (theirs) πŸ˜‰

        Lovely to have the clippings. Will you add some of the lovely rotted horse poo to speed it up? We bought two big dump truck loads of lake weed for $10 each when I was building my raised beds. Sounds like a lot, but it wilted down pretty fast. Then I wheelbarrowed it to the beds. Wish we could have stayed to do more, but them’s the breaks . . . We boarded a friend’s ponies (large enough for me to ride) there for a bit, but never had the chance to compost the poo. The chooks fell prey to weasel and hawks, so no poo there, either, really. Good memories, though . . .

      • I am starting to feel crowded here…another chook came out of the undergrowth with chicks yesterday and ducky has about 20 eggs under her (mostly chook because she is our only duck so chicky babies for her πŸ˜‰ ) and I know of at least 1 more that ducks in and out of the peripherals to get food and then buggers off back to whence she came. Just hoping she doesn’t have a lot of eggs as she is a TERRIBLE mother…the feral cats have a great time when mums come back with babies :(. I have a stash of rotting oak leaves at the front of the block, lots of drying grass from Glad next door, that mountain of decomposed horse poo and chook poo in the spent hay in their roost that I will add to the grass as the horse poo is completely decomposed and like soil. I was shovelling some into 4 of the garden beds that I turned over yesterday and it was full to the brim of worms so HAPPY DAYS NARF7! :). I am going to spend the weekend up to my armpits in veggie seedlings, bean seedlings, horse poo and soil and I couldn’t be happier…except…I have collateral damage :(. Earl and Bezial were off leash in the veggie garden and Earl went on a lizard hunt. No lizards were hurt but he did dig up my garlic beds that I planted in tyres last year to attempt to get them…sigh…

      • Do possums eat chickies? If so, maybe you can work a ‘natural’ trade: they get the chickies and you get the fruit and veggies . . . no, seems to me possums are vegetarians . . . well, I have no good ideas for dealing with an abundance of chickies . . . good luck!

        Love hearing about your various poos . . . and WORMS! Fantastic!! Reminds me of a song I knew in my childhood; “Nobody likes me; everybody hates me; I’m going out in the garden and eat worms!” There’s more, but I’m not sure I remember it correctly. πŸ˜‰

        Hopd you were able to rescue the garlic . . . if you could train them, those two would make great under-gardeners; “here, you two, dig up this bed, but neatly!” πŸ˜‰ (can you tell I was just watching a re-run of Downton Abbey? Can’t say more here . . . {winks}

      • As to when to plant; I think your November is equivalent to our May. Here in Edmonton, and back in south central BC, most people plant after the May 24th weekend (Queen’s birthday); on the coast most do, too, but it’s possible to have year-round harvests many years if you work at it. I remember friends who planted peas in autumn, covered them with lots of straw or hay, and were eating fresh peas in February or March. The brassicas overwinter quite well there, too, so ling as there are not too many or too severe frosts. same with many root crops, if they don’t get wet feet and rot. If it’s not one thing, it’s another, eh?

        I always felt there were lots of seeds in most packets, so why not risk a few in an early planting. I’m a bad gardener; ever optimistic beyond any common sense . . . but, oh, the excitement, the fun, the sheer joy! So pkant away, knackered or not . . . it will be joyful knackering, at least. πŸ™‚ I’m very excited with and for you!

      • I take it “pkant” is “plant” and will be doing it accordingly ;). I will be knackered but completely and utterly happy to get everything into the ground, the mushroom compost bags moved to the veggie compound, the veggie compound tidied up (and the branches inside cut up) and my veggies in and growing like topsy. Should stand me in good stead for next week when I will be completely chained to the PC doing studies 😦

      • Hope your weekend went as planned; you are at 5 am on Monday already, I think, so likely facing up to the online equivalent of piles of horse poo . . . hopefully as rewarding in the end. πŸ™‚

      • As I read this it is 3.15am Tuesday morning but aside from that I am still chained to the PC…hopefully this will all be finished by the weekend (it had better be, its due in on Monday! πŸ˜‰ )

      • Brunhilda is my “slow cooker” and I am SO glad I used the last vestiges of her latent heat to cook up a plethora of beans as now I have chickpeas, black beans, borlotti beans and black-eyed peas all waiting in bags in the freezer to mess around with. The taste is so much better than canned and I can experiment with impunity. I have been fermenting hummus and it’s delicious. Next I will try fermented re-fried (my healthy version) beans. My ferments are going great guns and I drank a stack of kombucha yesterday so that I could make room for more of it that has just second fermented and needs to go in the fridge. I flavoured it with rosewater and ginger and it’s gorgeous :). Might try ginger and cinnamon next time for chai kombucha. I love the possibilities πŸ™‚

      • Never tried making kombucha (yet); yours sounds delicious! I’ve used rosewater in massage oils, but not food. Wait, I did . . . I mixed it with butter for baking powder bicuits (not cookies, more like scones) that accompanied a salad with a lavender oil flavoured dressing to a potluck. A last-minute thing and I was trepidatious, but it was a real hit. Not a bite left of any of it. (the only thing I ever made from a Martha Stewart magazine; I’m far more a Mary Englebreit woman)

        As to the rest, I’m glad to hear you have ‘been’ cooking beans πŸ˜‰

        You reminded me of once when my Mum was in a rehab place for a sore back (didn’t help; it was over Christmas and New Year’s and most of the therapists were on holiday). The dishes are heavy plastic there and the soup bowls dark brown with small openings. One day she asked what kind of soup it was. The answer, “It’s bean soup”. My Mum (blessed with humour similar to mine): “I don’t care what it’s been; I want to know what it is NOW”. The nurse (not blessed with any sense of humour) was insulted and snippy and huffed off . . . My Mum still likes to tell that story . . .

      • Mary E. had a magazine similar to Martha S. but heavy on art and design, lighter on fashion. I always said if I went to Martha’s house for tea, I’d sit at the edge of my chair and make sure my manners were impeccable (well, not that bad, but you get my drift, I’m sure); if I went to Mary’s home, I’d be comfortable curling up on the sofa and chatting away about art, design, etc. Mary showcased several artists in every magazine, showing their work and studios, telling how they succeeded; she made me and many others feel that we could be successful, too. Her publisher refused to print the magazine any more, so she and it have gone online. I prefer the magazines, as I can leaf back and forth more easily, also have several open at once. I’ve saved all my copies for inspiration in future. When you are done slaving on the virtual poo pile, you might want to check out her site. Not everyone’s taste, of course, so I won’t be offended if you don’t like her work. But her lightheartedness and humour are good foils for my own dogged seriousness.

      • I refuse to be serious for long. A good word to combat seriousness (if one is weighed down by its implications…) is “Piffle”. Not only does it sound amusing but when you say it over and over you can’t help but laugh and feel lighter. It’s probably the sound that dandelion fluff makes as it lands gently on the ground but in a microscopically miniscule degree. Will do on the checking but for the near future all I will be checking is Australian workplace standards, codes, regulations and how to start a small business 😦

      • I have been researching licences, etc. for a couple of years. That is something I can say ‘Piffle!’ to . . .

        There are more rules than I ever wanted to know about. But I doubt weve ever NOT had them. Codes, I can live with, if it means safety.

      • No…the kind of codes I have to find are the sort that they might think about adhering to but that aren’t law which makes them obscure and hard to find…that sort…the sort I don’t need right now with only a week to go till I have to hand this mass of tangled angst in! EEK!

      • I think you would, too. She’s very strong-minded and independent. Good at all the things I’m not good at. Like managing money (I’m getting better, but she has always been a natural). She’s very creative, too, but her style is opposite to mine. She is awesome with babies and young children, although some modern child-raising ways are a trial to her.

      • Did I mrntion she wrote poetry for most of her life? Traditional, not modern stuff. She had work published in papers and magazines since she waz a child; also read on the radio a few times. She even wrote an absence note for one of my brothers once as a poem.

  3. Sunday? Relaxing??? SNORT! Spent the day carting 5 cubic metres of soil around but it’s been fun at least!
    Your cardi is definitely intruiging me and I can’t wait to see how it all comes together.I love the bright colours – won’t lose you in the snow – and that it’s warm whist in creation stage. I’ve got a top down all-in-one cardi I’m just fiinishing off the sleeve on and then have to make the buttonhole edging. I love the ease of the pattern but if I did it again I would use 8-ply yarn (DK weight I think) rather than 4-ply but I wanted a cardi for those cooler early summer evenings and the like. I’d also add in the edging as I knit with the edge stitches added on and knitted in garter stitch. It pulls the cardi all funny done as it is. :/ Still, I love knitting in the evenings. Gives me an excuse to watch a film (game of thrones at the moment and LOVING it!) as otherwise I feel like I’m wasting time.
    Your frittata looks delicious an your snow is definitely very pretty although I am well aware I speak from the perspective of someone who has seen real snow four times only in her life. My views on snow are as biased as yours, albeit from the opposite angle. πŸ˜‰
    Stay warm and hope things don’t get slippery too soon.
    xxxxx

  4. Send some of the white stuff this way, please!

    You’ve inspired me. I’m going into the back bedroom to knit while the husband watches the LSU vs. Alabama (American) football game. (*snore*)

    • I’ll do my best at snow-shifting, Stacy! We have at least 6″ predicted for next Saturday and maybe a bit a few times before that . . .

      A lot of advantages to having no electricity, or at least no tv πŸ˜‰

      I like watching end of season games, some Olympic events or other global events like FIFA; I like to watch any high level of skill displayed. Even then, though, I don’t watch all of them. So I’m glad I can knit, etc. My Aunty loves hockey and American football. So the cardi grows . . . ;-). Sports can be quite productive . . .

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

