Oh, Frabjous Day!! Callooh! Callay!

. . . she chortled in her joy! (I hope the author forgives me for tampering with his perfection)

Here’s why: Mum went down to fetch the mail and came back pretending to be quite disgruntled, ’cause it was all for me . . . well, one card was for us both, from a dear friend who lives near here . . . another from a lady at the bank that is a co-executor with me on a friend’s estate. But that wasn’t what got me chortling . . . it was this:

My order from The Contented Crafter arrived, done up with a lovely green ribbon (how did you know it’s my favourite colour?? Enquiring minds want to know . . .) 😉

IMG_4512[1]

Can you tell I fell in love with that old chair from the first time Pauline posted about it?

The post is here: http://paulinekingblog.wordpress.com/2013/11/10/the-old-chair/

I have been so inspired by Pauline, as I, too, have been working on an Etsy store for a couple of years, but have not opened it yet (haven’t made anything to sell, for one thing. lol) With the current state of things here, I’ve been working on sorting more of my things (I know, I talked about this months ago. Any of you would be done by now, but not me, nope! But it’s coming along now.) Next on the agenda is a shawl and maybe a couple of other things. We’ll see how they turn out first. If they are not so great, I will keep them and use them myself . . .

She is extremely creative and does so much with little or less (see her post from yesterday: http://paulinekingblog.wordpress.com/2013/12/15/an-outdoor-entertainment-area/

But I simply had to have that chair, even though it’s long gone from this version of reality . . . but which version . . . oh, never mind . . . I’ll have one of each, please, and one big print of my favourite.

I wanted the Buddha card, too, so that was added to the order. I’m not sharing, either . . . maybe at some point; for now, I just want to look at them and appreciate them and use them to remind me that all is possible . . . even an old chair can be a thing of beauty, in its own colourful fashion . . .

So thank you, Pauline. They are everything I hoped for. I forgot to mention that Pauline, in her infinite sweetness, added one of the ‘girl’ cards (which I also love); I am putting it next to my mirror where I will see it morning and night. It will remind me to be grateful for so much that I have just now and also to send love and light to all my friends, here in the virtual village and also those I know face-to-face.

I have been working on a couple of longish posts that may not see the light of (virtual) day. In the meantime, here’s a short version . . .

The ‘Light in the Window’ has gone out . . .
IMG_4500[1]
. . . but I am grateful for having had it for several days (longer than usual, even in summer).
At its peak, it looked like this:
IMG_4435[1]

Now it’s gone. This was the end, a day or two ago . . .
IMG_4501[1]

Still, there was light in the window at my Aunty’s on my last morning down there:
IMG_4404[1]
I love an east-facing window wherever I sleep . . . and you’d never guess that this early morning sunrise is shining through very heavy burgundy coloured drapes, would you?

We have had freezing rain, leaving people ‘skating’ across sidewalks and parking lots, and lots of car accidents. Lucky I didn’t have to go out for anything. We have had snow, the rain, above freezing temperatures (barely) and now are expecting +3C tomorrow and -15C the next day. Go figure . . .

IMG_4505[1] Look how much snow is on the small trees / large bushes outside the burger place across the street . . . that was a couple of days ago.

I’ve been working on the ‘barn cardi’, but not as much as when I am at my Aunty’s. No photos today, but soon . . . it’s been very exciting, again. 😉
Well, I’ll share one photo (it’s all I’ve got right now):
IMG_4407[1]
I removed the ‘holding’ yarn from the provisional cast-on (remember, back at the end of September? The 30th, actually). You can just see the dark ‘holding yarn’ to the left of the right needle. The loops it had been holding were very, very big and kinky, so I undid one row (good thing I knitted three rows of the hot pink / magenta yarn first, isn’t it? then I began working downwards from there. I’m adding a lovely large motif, then will do one last five row motif just to bring the greyish accent down further, then it will be on to the ribbing at the bottom (if I decide to do ribbing; the jury’s still out on that). Then to finish the sleeves . . . and the cuffs . . . oh, and to cut boldly up the centre front and then add button and button-hole bands . . . don’t know if I’ll be done by the end of the year; methinks not; but I will have it to wear next year. If I ever get to visit my country cousins with all the chooks, goats, lambs, etc., I’ll bring it to wear when helping to muck out the barn, gather eggs, milk the goat, whatever . . . it is a ‘barn cardi’, after all . . .

I’ve been going through my FeedReader and trying to catch up with my growing community . . . lots of great posts, ideas, etc.

In spite of being a tad busy, I’ve made those Norske egg pancakes several times, with lots of applesauce on top. Yummmmmmmm………. (a girl has to eat, right?) and a couple batches of houmous, minus tahini, sesame oil, or any hint of sesame. None to be had in this kitchen just now. I tossed the old bottle of sesame oil because it was very old; then didn’t replace it. Oh, well, lemon and garlic powder make it still pretty good. I do have olive oil, but forgot to add it. I used some mayonnaise and a bit of evaporated milk to thin it down so the stick blender could handle it. Then I got out the round corn chips . . .

The pear mousse in the fridge now is the last for this year. I treated myself to a jar of Robertson’s ginger marmalade and put a wee spoonful on top of every bowlful. gingermarmalade

If you are not aware of the origin of my title, it’s from “Jabberwocky” by Lewis Carroll. His original version (this is the first verse) was published around 1855 and looked like this:

    Twas bryllyg, and ye slythy toves
    Did gyre and gymble in ye wabe:
    All mimsy were ye borogoves;
    And ye mome raths outgrabe.

Still a favourite of mine (and all my sisters; one of them taught her children to recite it before they ever went to school. So cute!).

My interest in poetry has been re-ignited by Jean Tubridy of the Social Bridge blog; also by finding this book at the ‘Re-Use-It’ centre here:
IMG_4514[1]

Mum loves (and writes) poetry and she has been enjoying finding some Kipling she hadn’t read before.

My own favourite poet is Gerard Manley Hopkins, but it’s a long, long list . . .

I love his ‘Inversnaid’, ‘Pied Beauty’ and ‘The Windhover’. He was a Victorian-era poet and Jesuit priest. Much of his work is informed by his vocation; his nature poems stay with me forever.

“As kingfishers catch fire, dragonflies draw flame.” or

    Inversnaid

    This darksome burn, horseback brown,
    His rollrock highroad roaring down,
    In coop and in comb the fleece of his foam
    Flutes and low to the lake falls home.

    A windpuff-bonnet of fawn-froth
    Turns and twindles over the broth
    Of a pool so pitchblack, fell-frowning,
    It rounds and rounds Despair to drowning.

    Degged with dew, dappled with dew,
    Are the groins of the braes that the brook treads through,
    Wiry heathpacks, flitches of fern,
    And the beadbonny ash that sits over the burn.

    What would the world be, once bereft
    Of wet and wildness? Let them be left,
    O let them be left, wildness and wet;
    Long live the weeds and the wilderness yet.

    ~ Gerard Manley Hopkins

You can read the rest of his works here: http://www.poemhunter.com/gerard-manley-hopkins/poems/ Hopkins is perfect for reading aloud; he was so far ahead of his times in the way he used language and rhythm . . .

The article on him here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gerard_Manley_Hopkins explains his use of rhythm far better than I could. His innovative approach to writing poetry changed it forever, but he was not known until after his death at only 45 years.

I was lucky, when in school, to have to memorize a great deal of poetry, including bits from Shakespeare. Those bits stay with me to this day and I am very grateful for the presence of poetry in my life.

Well, you must know by now to beware when I say I will write a ‘short’ version of anything. 🙂 Oh, well, that’s me. Words tumble out of me like puppies at times . . . It’s good to live in a world with so much inspiration that manifests in such a variety of ways, isn’t it?

I’ll leave you with a link to a favourite song by Woody Guthrie, done by Mumford & Sons (recent favourites of mine from England), Edward Sharpe – The Old Crow Medicine Show (I think there are others there, too, but have no idea who). It was recorded in an Austin, Texas trainyard. Here is “This Train“:

To see my old childhood favourites rocked like this is just amazing . . . The guy in the long-sleeved white top dancing away; such a variety of instruments and performers . . . all these people are just having so much fun . . . they make me laugh for joy and my heart sing!

11 thoughts on “Oh, Frabjous Day!! Callooh! Callay!

  1. Gorgeous cards from Pauline and this little online community keeps swelling and tumbling new members in…seems like all we need to be members is a distinct lack of pretention and a desire to find out about the world around us…my kind of community! My grandmother used to say “Callooh Callay!” which in her world meant that something was much less than it made itself out to be…(example…) Someone up the street was bragging about the size of their carrots and their carrots were half the size of my grandad’s carrots (euphimism not intended 😉 ) so “Callooh Callay!” would resound ;). Sort of her version of “so what!” good to know where it actually came from after all these years :).

    • I love that the village is growing, too . . . you are so right about what it takes to blend in here . . . the best thing, or one of them, about the ‘net; this new ability to find like-minded souls, no matter where we are located on the globe. And all those vicarious blessings . . . I walk in your gardens, pet your dogs, cuddle the cats, snuggle the babies and read with the bigger kidlets . . . not to mention visiting places I might otherwise never see . . . Tassie, Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Scotland, England, Wales, so many places in Europe, too . . . the list goes on. I am so, so lucky!

      I can see what your Grandmother meant when she used “Callooh! Callay!” sort of sarcastically . . . sort of a “what’s the big deal?” or “what are you fussing about?” Probably meant to keep a head or two from swelling too far . . .

      Although, I guess when you read the poem, he does sound like a wee lad trumpeting about slaying a pretend dragon . . . 😉 ~ Linne

  2. I am so happy your cards arrived – by my reckoning they took 9 days to get to you? It seems such a long time! Thank you for that lovely shout-out x 2 🙂 You have a huge heart!!

    I think it was an absolute miracle that the hibiscus flowered at all – even here in our temperate climate the flowers don’t last for long once opened and in the middle of winter…. it was most certainly A SIGN 🙂

    I’m with you – Gerard Manley Hopkins is a wonderful poet – I love his rhythms and sweeping vistas.
    Inversnaid is one of my favourites – those last two lines used to make me cry!

    I used to teach my classes heaps of poetry – I’m a poor singer, but have a good feel for poetry – one told me not so long ago she can still quote in its entirety ‘Horatius At the Bridge’ [which she learnt at the age of 12 – she is now 29!]

    I would love to hear Mumford & Sons version of ‘This Train’ a great old song – but my trusty computer balks at playing YT videos – not always just sometimes. This was a some time. Still I can try again another day and maybe I will get lucky.

    Sending you a big hug Linne – enjoy your chairs! I sent you that girl and her message specially – did I get it right?

    • Not so long, Pauline; remember, it’s Chrismas and Canada Post isn’t the best . . . they have announced that (as a cost-cutting measure) they will soon stop delivering to urban homes. This means that the elders and handicapped people will now have to arrange for rides to pick up mail or will have a heck of a time getting there on their own. With the weather we’re having now (freezing rain,, etc.) I don’t see how most people would be able to get their mail. It’s bad enough when there is a large parcel . . .

      As to the hibiscus . . . yes, a veritable SIGN!! I’ve had it since 1991, I think, bought it from a roadside stand by a farm near where I had my schoolbus parked for the summers. (long story . . .) 😉

      I feel that way about Inversnaid, too. How nice to share that with you, way on the other side . . . ‘Long live the weeds and the wilderness yet’ . . . a loud ‘amen!’ to that, eh? And I learned ‘Horatio at the Bridge’ way back when, too . . . I had an English teacher for my last two years of high school who had been a Shakespearean actor in England for years. He made Shakespeare come alive, because he read it to us as if he were on the stage. I have never forgotten him.

      as to singing, I have learned that it is a learnable skill . . . I’ll have to tell you about a voice workshop we had at a one week camp in Wahington State once. The man who led the workshop was a cousin of Martin Luther King and could he ever sing! In about ten minutes, with a couple of simple exercises, he had us all sounding better than we ever had, and singing together, too!

      Hope you get to hear This Train soon. Check my response to Wendy; there’s a link to them singing Amazing Grace that is fantastic! It’s like old-time, home-made music and I simply love it!!

      Big hugs back, Pauline. I love my chairs; haven’t put them up anywhere, but I look at them everyday. The girl is in a corner of my bathroom, right by the mirror, so I see her and am reminded every day, early and late. Yes, she was perfect!!

      Have a wonderful day tomorrow . . . ~ Linne

  3. I love the chair photos too Linne, just my taste in things, the shabbier the more charm 🙂 So nice to see them in your home all those miles away….Pauline is becoming almost world famous!
    I also love Mumford & Son so I am just about to play the song :).
    Lovely photos and beautiful knitting as always!

    • You would like my things, then; all but the techie stuff is old and shabby; just what I love. New stuff has no soul, no stories . . . I feel I am keeping those stories alive for a while longer while I am here. I hope there is someone to give them to one day . . .

      I like that Pauline has creations in the States and Canada, as well as at home in New Zealand . . . it’s so good to see other people enjoy her work. I like the ‘girls’, but those chairs . . .

    • By the way, have you heard this? No one could be ‘down’ listening to Mumford & Sons! Here they are joined by Apache Relay and what he refers to as ‘the okd Cadillac Sky’.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

