If you want a cute craft to do over the holidays . . .

http://getting-stitched-on-the-farm.blogspot.ca/2013/12/holiday-birch-house-tutorial.html

These wee birchbark houses are sooooo cute! Sounds like some people are making them with their kids or grandkids. If you don’t have birch where you live, what about other types of bark or even leathery leaves? If you use lichen or moss, using a strong hairspray (like the old ‘helmet hold’ stuff) will help keep the house from dropping bits all over. I’m thinking these would be cute outdoors, too, maybe with some protection from the elements . . .

Off to get stuff done now. ~ Linne

24 thoughts on “If you want a cute craft to do over the holidays . . .

  1. Very cute but I fear they would just be more “dust catchers” here and “something” would invade them (probably wasps or borers!) over the summer period so I might just pass on this one 😉

    • See my note to Sue . . . I’d suggest making them outside and setting them up (where the boys can’t reach them haha) outside. I was thinking that even a slice of a branch or trunk (not those from your park, unless you are making homes for trolls) would be good bases, and would biodegrade when the faeries have moved on . . .

      • Our faeries are here to stay…They are best mates with the chooks methinks and ride them around the place when we don’t look guiding them to all the best places to dig up and all of the choicest new plants to eat (mutter…mutter…mutter)

      • Look again . . . I bet those are really imps. The faeries are hovering over each plant, whispering, “Grow . . . Grow!” Watch out if the imps look for larger steeds, though . . . imagine Earl and Bezial with imps to guide THEM . . . 😉

      • Just been reading the Discworld and in the U.K. and Europe, Faeries are not the pretty winged things that we think about fluttering amongst the flowers with sparkles in their hair, they are dangerous! 😉

      • I haven’t read Discworld yet, so thanks for the reminder. I wanted to re-read Lian Hearn’s ‘Tales of the Otori’ trilogy and found she’s added two or three volumes; reserved the set and they all arrived together . . . feast! You may know her work; she’s from Goolwa, South Australia (grew up in England). I’d never heard of her; just happened to see the first book while browsing through the library. Perfect Serendipity!
        But I digress (how unlike me . . .) 😉

        You are right about faeries, of course. They have great power, so demand respect and caution . . . like electricity. Sometimes I feel we have been ‘Disneyized’ to a dangerous degree; I remember the ‘Coloured Fairy’ books whose tales were selected by Andrew Lang. I read only a couple, but they, along with his other books and illustrations, formed my first thinking about faeries. The Findhorn books brought a new, more powerful, dimension. “Last Light of the Sun” by Guy Gavriel Kay has a thread in it that reflects the more traditional views on faeries.

        I saw those wee houses as suitable more for the sanitized modern faeries, not those who are outside our realm while affecting it; like lightning . . .

      • I see those little houses as perfect insect houses :). We (Steve and I) spent yesterday afternoon sanding down our large expanse of decking timbers in order to paint them (and the deck rails and part of the house) over the next few days. In the process we had to move our new bbq from where it was sitting and in lifting up the gas bottle I saw a most strange site…there were about 25 spiders of various denominations ranging from large to very small, various colours etc. all sitting in a circle underneath the gas bottle. After initially jumping (not scared of spiders but a pod of 25 of them all just “sitting there” is a bit weird…) I decided to shuffle them through the holes in the decking for their own safety but they weren’t moving…curious! Didn’t take me long to notice the faint outlines of a wasps nest around the circle. I think of faeries like wasps…they might be brightly coloured and attractive but they are mercenary and sting like a biotch! The poor spiders that I shuffled under the deck were probably in stasis and full of wasp eggs…EEK! Now THAT is something scary! Today we pick up Stewart and Kelsey to bring them out for a couple of days star gazing and helping to complete the deck painting project. Should be fun and I will post about it on Wednesday 🙂

      • That WAS weird! I’d completely forgotten about wasp egg-laying habits . . . reminds me of that movie ‘Alien’. I’m not scared of spiders, either (though I prefer them to stay outdoors) 😉 and I would have jumped, too!

        I guess we humans are NOT the centre of the universe, eh? Wasps, faeries, etc. will go on doing their thing and we need to keep that in mind . . .

        I was busy all day yesterday (Thursday), so haven’t read your post yet. Soon . . .

      • We have been “flat out like a lizard drinking” (don’t you love those old Aussie terms? 😉 ) getting the deck sorted out. Kym and her husband Bruce will be here on the 15th of January for a couple of days and we are sorting out fixing our shower door that Steve decided to remove and replace and then promptly forgot about 😉 and the deck that is quite a large expanse that hasn’t been painted in about 20 years so you can only begin to imagine how shabby and unkempt and unloved it looked. The new colour recedes into the colours of the surrounding garden rather than standing out which is what I wanted. The deck timbers will look lovely once we finish and Steve is up on ladders painting eaves and guttering to match. The garden is going mental and pretty soon I will have more zucchini than I know what to do with. I think zucchini smoothies, stuffed zucchini, zucchini chocolate (and other) cakes and zucchini hummus and jam and honey etc. are going to have to be called into the fray to cope with the load. I am doing some most satisfying experiments with growing feral produce in a load of complete compost that was waiting in a large heap to be used. All kinds of volunteer plants are springing up. I also collected some marigold seeds from a roadside plant yesterday and will scatter them into the mix. I love marigolds :). Don’t worry about not reading the post yet…it isn’t going anywhere ;). Have a great weekend. I see that you guys are being subject to a bit of cold weather. It must be cold, it made our news broadcast! Rug up and get that jumper finished, you just might need it! Good to see you have a bit of spare time now that your nephew is back with his mum again. You can spend some 1 on 1 time with your mum as well 🙂

      • I DO love Aussie slang and sayings! How did you guess?? 🙂 Aarrgggghhhhhhhhhhhhh……………. I knew they were coming; somehow I thought it wasn’t going to be so soon! What is wrong with the clocks and calendars these days? I ask you!! Oh, well, I will have to email you in a day or two about that. 😦 I wonder if Steve is related to me in some way (‘seemed like a good idea at the time; and then I plumb forgot about it’)?? This time, you gotta laugh and move on . . . you really can’t go throwing Steve off the deck, compost bin or no . . . So let me guess; the deck will not be magenta, cerise, iris violet or chartreuse . . . 😉 I’m looking forward to seeing the results; it’s so satisfying to see the results of other people’s work, ’cause I don’t actually have to do any sweating myself . . . 😉 I expect you know you can grate zucchini, put it in bags by the cupsful (measured, of course; don’t be like me) and frozen, then decanted one frosty morning and added to muffins or whathaveyou? It’s good to add to jams, too, if you are making them; even marmalades. (jsut re-read your comment and you did mention jam) still haven’t made it to your post; as you say . . . it will be there!

        Weather here is going yo-yo crazy; +3 one day, -20 a couple of days later. Nuts, I say! Am still working on the ribbing, a fair bit do do, but I’m determined. Yes, the spare time is welcome. Now to put down the book/s and get on with various things (not now, I don’t mean; it’s the mornings and late evenings that are the problem. Well, I’m the problem, really. And it’s nearly 1 am, so I guess it’s a very early morning problem, anyway, or about to be one) Hugs. ~ Linne

        My Mum had a pretty spectacular compost heap when we lived in Salmon Arm for a few years; she had tonnes of volunteers on it and it was the lowest labour area of all the gardens! Lucky you!!

    • They are, aren’t they, Sue? I have friends here who make all sorts of things and she uses the cheap wooden birdhouses as a base; when finished, they go into her garden, so she uses moss on some of her roofs.

      A very unconventional Christmas this year, but it’s been good. Hope yours was, too.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

