The “F” Word

To all you lovers of things coconut sugary, kombucha-ish and so on . . . not to mention fruitcake! MMMmmmmm It’s not to late to make one for next year; just be sure to anoint it liberally and regularly with brandy or the like . . . ๐Ÿ˜‰ ~ Linne

BitterSweet

Just when you thought it was safe to open up your home to visitors once again, now that the tinsel dust and artificial pine scent has settled, Iโ€™ve come to ruin your day. More of a curse than a gift, itโ€™s a dubious โ€œtreatโ€ that has gained (and quite frankly earned) little respect over centuries of unsavory history. Not to be rude or anything, but itโ€™s time that I dropped the F-bomb.

Fruitcake. Pardon my language.

Yes, I know, head for the hills and donโ€™t accept packages from strangers; Iโ€™m offering you a genuine fruitcake, of all things! Trust me, Iโ€™ve been a very vocal naysayer of this brick-like food substance, never having seen the benefit to preserving mysteriously colored fruits in a metric ton of sugar before binding them all up into an impenetrable, flavorless batter. Better employed as entertaining projectiles than food stuffs, I would gladlyโ€ฆ

View original post 487 more words

6 thoughts on “The “F” Word

    • Actually, Hannah, the alcohol evaporates, so the cake is moist and dense (and ok for children). Aging the cake adds a depth to the flavours that I like. You may want to try this with a single cake, in case you don’t care for it. I had a very large jam-making pot and made enough dough to fill it, then baked lats of different sizes so I could give them as gifts. If you do try this, let me know what you think. I’m keeping your recipe for future reference ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. I hoped over, and Yummy is right…I am lucky in that my daughter manages and runs their own healthstore with her partner.. so Gogi Berries I am into, and I brew my own Kombacha tea.. And love the Road to Serendipity site ๐Ÿ™‚
    Wishing you a Happy New Year ๐Ÿ™‚ full of more delightful treats! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Some are fairly new to me, too; like goji berries . . . only started reading about those recently. But I’ve known of Kombucha for years; my Mum and Dad used to make it and they’re pretty conventional . . .

      Narf7 of http://theroadtoserendipity.wordpress.com can lilely tell you anything you want to know about any of these. She’s amazing!

      This fruitcake sounds so healthy (except for my recommended infusions of brandy) ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

