Serendipity!

Yesterday morning, before the sun (or I) were up:

20140113-130529.jpg

20140113-130709.jpg See that interesting cloud shape low down, just above the horizon? More on that later in this post . . . πŸ˜‰

Sorry, Mr. 23Thorns!, but I LOVE Serendipity (no, not THAT Serendipity! . . . well, I love them, too, but they’re not my subject today) . . . and some just arrived (which gives me another idea, but I can’t share it yet . . .).

I was in the washroom getting dressed when I heard a knock on our door. I could tell it was my Aunty and she doesn’t wait long, so I threw on my sweats and hurried to open the door. Alas! she was already gone.

Then . . . as I was closing our door . . . I heard the elevator door open . . . Thinking it was my Aunty returning (although unlikely), I opened our door and behold! stepping from the elevator was our postman! This has never happened before. If they have a parcel that won’t fit in the wee mailbox, they leave a card and I then must trudge several blocks to the local outlet (in a candy store!), with formal ID, collect my parcel and then trudge home again.

He said the large, padded, envelope wouldn’t fit in our box, so he brought it to our door . . . What a sweet man! A federal employee, too! πŸ˜‰

20140114-081755.jpg

I can’t say what’s in the envelope, but you will see it soon in all its altered glory (or perhaps its non-glorious altered state; who knows?).

I am excited, in part because I have been reading this, thanks again to my Rabid Little Hippy friend. I have been sending the link/s to anyone I thought will listen, including my former landlord. πŸ˜‰

I was struck by the phrase “Black Swan”, which made me think of ‘Leda and the Swan’, which all ties in with what I have been re/learning, thanks to my Contented Crafter friend, who recommended a couple of inspiring books to me, one of which I’m already half-way through . . . how further Serendipitous that it is titled ‘Taking Flight’ . . .

I will explain more fully soon; just now, I have a date with Destiny, my own Black Swan . . .

Yesterday morning, as I was getting up:

20140113-130253.jpg

20140113-130340.jpg
I LOVE (oops, sorry again!) clouds! Do you recognize them from the photos at the beginning? Shiny, eh? πŸ˜‰

And then . . .

20140113-233732.jpg

37 thoughts on “Serendipity!

    • If it’s weird, Stacy, at least we have lots of company . . . Seriously, I can sit outside for a full day just looking and never be bored . . . in the country. Never tried it in the city; I’d likely be carted off . . .

      • Maybe, but you are right – I am never bored in the country. I’ve waited my whole life to get here, and the only way I’m leaving is in a pine box! (I hope that is not any time soon.) ❀

      • I’ve never been bored, but I always have something to think about . . . I hope your time is not soon, too . . . or mine! πŸ˜‰ I’d still like to make my own pine box, but obviously can’t do it now. Unless, of course, I put shelves in it, stood it upright and used it for holding my books . . . πŸ˜‰

  1. I’ll have your wake up any day! I awoke to kicks in the kidnesy from a small boy who disliked the fact that Mummy wanted the sheet over her. It was 30 degrees Friday morning by 9am and in town it reached a whopping 44. Melbourne would have been hotter I expect. Inside my house was a “balmy” 39! Those figures are celcius by the way. 101F I think?

    Your snow clouds would e most welcome here at the moment. Any snow they dropped would be rain well before touching down and my garden could do with a deep and thorough soaking. πŸ™‚

    Teaser post. About to move on to the next. Here’s hoping you end the suspense. πŸ˜‰

  2. When I got up yesterday morning the temperature was 4 Celsius [don’t know how to do the degrees symbol on my new fangled keyboard sorry] I was expecting snow momentarily …. this morning it is 20 degrees and a blue cloudless sky and zero wind indicates much warmer by the end of the day. I don’t know where I am any more!

    Linne, thank you for the link up, but it doesn’t work – I tried it πŸ™‚

    You are teasing us with all these mysterious packages and things going on – like narf7 I am tapping toes impatiently and waiting to see …….. are we there yet, are we there yet, are we there yet???

    And finally I must leave kudos to that fine federal employee, your postman. Acts of thoughtful kindness never go unrewarded! Well done Mr Postman sir, well done!

    • Oh, Pauline, that weather sounds like us in reverse; you know, I never heard the term ‘Polar Vortex’ until a week or so ago; now it’s on the tv and online in many places. I’m glad you didn’t get snow; it’s lovely and all, but not in the middle of summer!
      I’ll check out that link and see if I can fix it.

      Yes, people from large families do like to tease . . . I must be part of Patience 101 for you two. I do have a Teaching gene, you know . . . πŸ˜‰

      And yes, that postman was so kind! I was so surprised to receive such personal service. Above and beyond . . . what we must all aspire to, eh?

    • πŸ˜‰
      Yes, Wendy, it’s the best thing about living so far from the earth . . . ninth floor; only a penthouse above us.

      Woke this morning to more snow coming down, but it’s still in the -single digits, so I’m happy to just enjoy the loveliness.

      A fireplace would be nice just now . . .

      • We had wood stoves and usually fireplaces everywhere I lived until the ’90s. I miss them, mostly in winter πŸ˜‰

        I spent most of my life on the west coast, where snow was a welcome treat and didn’t come every year. If it stayed for more than two weeks, it was amazing . . . here last year, first snow was in Oct and last was the following May . . . that’s a l o n g time πŸ˜‰

      • Yes, wood heat and sash windows with windowsills! I know, eco-windows and all . . . but why no sills? And while I’m on about windows, since the 60s here, windows are placed so high you can’t see out unless you stand up . . . I could re-write the old, supposedly English, saying: “close your eyes, dear, and think of . . . the ecology” hmmph!

        Well, so much for ‘no more whinging’, eh? πŸ™‚ I DO think of the ecology; I just want both . . . oh, well . . . πŸ™‚ The world will outlast me and my longings, thank heavens.

      • I’m not sure if it was ’cause they thought all people would do from then on was watch tv, if it was to save money using smaller ones instead of the graceful tall windows, or if it was to hold in the heat. Whatever the reason, I have not adapted yet. I love to sit by a window to read, do handwork or just daydream. The last house Mum and Dad lived in, when they renovated, Dad put a window above both the sink and the stove. So nice, when we spend so much time at one or the other. Outside were trees, gardens, bird feeders and more. Lovely! In the living room (lounge) was a large window over the dining table and a picture window at the street end. We both miss that house, but it was an hour drive from Edmonton, hospitals, etc.

      • I love to be able to sit by a window too Linne, whatever the weather thee is something to watch. We have a big window in the lounge that is right opposite our very high macrocarpa (type of cypress) hedge. Its a wall of green and has birds who nest in it and eat the seed heads. I could sit there for hours.

      • Nice to know there are so many ‘weird’ people like us, isn’t it? πŸ˜‰

        Now I can sky-watch and imagine you, Stacy, etc. all doing the same.

        Lovely thought!

      • I know just what you mean!! I think that’s partly why so many of us are meeting here in the ‘village’. It’s nice just being oneself and not being judged.

      • While I’m thinking of it, Wendy, one of the best things about wood heat over central or baseboard heat is that, if you are cold, you can just sit closer; if too hot, move away. And there’s nothing like a good, efficient wood-burner that keeps the cabin so warm the window or door can stay open. Nothing is like the sound of the birds or soft rain falling on summer leaves heard over the crackles of the wood. Mmmmmm

      • I guess it’s partly why I get so nostalgic at times; lots of good memories; not much in the city can compare. Maybe if I were more affluent, went to theatre, galleries, etc., but I’m really a homebody for the most part and I like my home to be just that; not only a place to microwave, watch tv, sleep, leave for work, repeat ad nauseam . . . I was well and truly spoilt, coming from my generation . . .

      • Yep, I can relate to that and it’s a shame when we are not in our rightful type of place, we feel it. I am not a city girl either though was raised in the city. I would feel like a fish out of water now though so I know how you feel. One day you will have the freedom to choose again and find your peaceful place.

      • Sometimes one ‘rightful place’ trumps the others . . . I could have left anytime, but for now I feel I am called to be here. Later would be nice . . . πŸ™‚

  3. I am drooling over your snow…snow = cold right? Things are melting around here! Kym and Bruce are now in Tasmania and we thought she would be hot but I forgot she was born and raised in the heat so this is probably nice and mild for her. I spent yesterday traipsing around the deck in my bra and a small sarong. I no longer care if Frank goes blind, I have my own problems! Most interesting adventure afoot methinks…I will be watching and waiting (although not too long, I have negative patience remember πŸ˜‰ )

    • Well, Narf7, things have finally ‘warmed up’ and it is in the minus single digits now and to nearly the end of Jan. I don’t mind cold so much; it’s the extremes! and yes, I know extremes keep our internal thermostats tuned up; I try to remember that when it’s -30 or +30 πŸ™‚

      Nice Kym and Bruce are there. Tell Steve to watch for an email in a few hours (after Mum gets up).

      I think it will take more than that to make Frank go blind . . . have you tried bikinis? πŸ˜‰

      You are now enrolled in Patience 101. Thank you for your interest. ;-P

      • Last night when I was outside cooking Steve bacon and egg sandwiches on the bbq (TOO hot for inside!) I was just wearing a bra and undies. I could have cared less if his eyes fell out ;). I lost 30kg since last summer so he should be grateful for that πŸ˜‰

      • Hard to believe how hot it’s turned down there . . . someone said it was +44C where they are.

        Never had a bbq, but have done my share of cooking over a fire (indoors and out!). I still like it . . . I must have some odd dna or something . . .

        You look so good these days and I’m impressed. I loved your mental shift from ‘comfort’ to ‘fuel’; am working on that myself now.

        As to Frank; you could get a blow-up Sumo wrestler doll (life-size) for the deck, waving a sign: “hi, Frank!” . . . but no, I think Earl would ‘love’ it for two minutes and then . . .

      • You are right…he ate a plastic spatula the other day 😦 bbqing is fun. Our Aussie barbies aren’t like American “Barbecue”. We don’t roast hogs in large covered ovens till they fall off the bone ;). I guess you would call it grilling or broiling? We heat a metal grid via a gas flame and when it is hot we put meat and veggies on it. The results are smoky and grilled and delicious :). Kym and Bruce are getting narf7 special hamburgers with the lot. Homemade beef burgers with bacon, Serendipity Farm eggs, beetroot (we Aussies LOVE our pickled sliced beetroot), cheese, tomato, salad and any condiments that they feel like adding including olive tapenade. For drinkies I have bbq rice crackers and homemade (narf friendly) hummus and sliced veggies as well as olives (black and green stuffed) and I made little cocktail sticks of cheese and sundried tomatoes and tiny little sweet cocktail onions. I have NO idea how our mum’s in the 70’s didn’t go nuts making those things! I reckon they used processed cheese and not crumbly mature cheddar like I did and feta that decides that it wants to part company with the stick just when you think you might have made a complete stick…sigh…oh and crisps! Red and white wine and beer for the blokes and I think tonight will be a goodn. The cicada’s are clicking, the weather is hot but there is a lovely breeze blowing now and I have all of my prep done (don’t say I didn’t learn something from all of my years of being a cook πŸ˜‰ ) and ready to rumble and sit out on the deck and enjoy the evening ahead and talk about old times and new times and whatever :).

        I had an amazing moment the other day when I was wandering around doing things and realised that I hadn’t eaten anything all day and that I wasn’t even concerned. In the old days I would have been watching the clock till my next meal. I used to deprive myself on “diets” all of the time and food was my chief concern. Now I could care less about it and I no longer measure, weigh, count calories etc. If my pants get a bit tight I eat more veggies and less of the accoutraments. I don’t eat fried things or sugar or a lot of grains and so I think I have this thing figured out for me/customised to narf. Probably wouldn’t work for everyone but that’s the trick, finding what works for you and bollocks to what anyone else says. How the heck would THEY know what is good for you and is going to work for you eh? ;).

      • Oh, that sounds so good, Narfie7! I’ve never had a bbq of any sort (well, except a wee hibachi for a while in my 30s, ’til I learned that the charcoal isn’t too good for one’s health). My cooking over a fire was soup, stews, porridge, making my own butter substitute from soyflour, and a few other things, like pancakes. Oh, and venison, of course, but that was when we needed to hunt. One of my favourites was a soup made from salmon heads (after we filleted them and fried the main portions). Once done, I threw in all the watercress the pot would hold (we got that free from the irrigation ditches; clean water, of course), then a handful or two of rolled oats to thicken it all. It was delicious, honest. I’m not sure what a vegan version would be, thought. πŸ˜‰

        I love pickled beets (beetroot), too. My Mum made them every year and we all loved them. I can eat them with nearly anything! Wish I was eating them with you . . . πŸ™‚

        Our family was pretty introverted for the most part. Dad worked long hours in the bush and wanted time with his family once he was home. And honestly, socializing with nine kids would have been interesting . . . we did have family over often, though, and went to visit them as well. Anyway, what I meant to say, before I distracted myself (again!) was that my Mum never did the drinks thing at all, nor did I. We didn’t have liquor in the house, except once in a while, if the summmer was hot and we were having guests, Dad would get a case of beer. I’m a social drinker myself, so some years don’t touch the stuff, other times, out with someone or sharing dinner with a friend, there will be wine or beer. I do like mixed drinks; I just haven’t had that life, really. And of course, we were poor penniless hippies with kids to feed. I see I have a lot to learn . . . feta on cocktail sticks . . . hmmmm . . . what were you planning on putting those into? (enquiring minds want to know!)

        I have begun adopting your ‘fuel, not comfort’ approach; it’s slow, but steady. I’ve shared the concept with a few others, too (no personal data, of course). I’m having much the same result; the last couple of days I got on the computer while Mum was making her breakfast and suddenly it was 3 or 4 and I hadn’t eaten and also hadn’t missed it. Then I make a good supper and all is well in my world. I’m usually a big fan of breakfast and I certainly am not skipping on purpose; it’s just that life is calling me . . . and certain projects. I also found that if I get a good breakfast, I’m not hungry for ages and the ‘comfort thing’ just doesn’t come up. I was never a dieter, but I was very skinny by nature until into my 40s. Big life changes, a desk job where I hid out for 14 or 16 hours a day (and where I could eat anything in the warehouse for free! All natural and/or organic, but as I tell people, “rattlesnake venom is natural, but it’s not very good for you!”); I gained 60 lbs in four months and just didn’t care. Since then I gained a bit here and a bit there, but now it’s coming off again and with no dieting; just a return to healthy eating. Nice! I credit you with the hook to hang my attitude adjustment on . . .

        The pants test is a good one so long as one doesn’t wear sweats or big skirts or knitted items . . . and I think it helps to get rid of the ‘big clothes’, too, so there is nothing to wear if the weight returns . . . Frank would like that, I bet (hee hee) Haven’t given up sugar, but I have cut down; when I eat lots of veggies, I really don’t crave it and the odd time I want something sweet, a bit of semi-sweet baking chocolate does the job.

        You are so right; we need to figure out what’s best for us; after all, who knows our bodies and our minds best? Their minds are set on making money, not on helping us in any real way.

        Well, hope you are all having a load of fun by now; by my figuring, it’s close to 5 where you are, so I expect the drinkies are in place, the bbq is heating up and the conversation is flowing faster than the wine . . . Have a wonderful time and I hope you are reading this tomorrow . . .

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

