Seed the Future!

Keep this in mind on the 20th; do what you can to pass the word along and support those who are standing up for us, our kids and our futures. When people stand together, they will triumph over greed and idiocy. ~ Linne

Bealtaine Cottage ~ The Oldest, Independent, Permaculture Smallholding in Ireland! Conceived, Designed, Planted and Worked by One Woman!

Propagator at Bealtaine CottageIn my small attempts to stand up to the Ecocidal Monsters of this world, I often feel like David (of Goliath fame), and then I am reminded of the massive opposition to Government and Corporate plans to control our planet and all the life therein!
Polytunnel at Bealtaine Cottage permaculture gardens in April 2013Amazing people like Elena from Greece, who posted seeds to me Β last year…one of many subscribers to Bealtaine Cottage who is doing incredible work in protecting our Seed Sovereignty, without which we have NO future at all! home made polytunnel at Bealtaine CottageElena has written to me to inform us all about what is happening in two days time!
veranda at Bealtaine CottageElena writes:I am writing now to tell you that on January 20th there will be a big demonstration outside the European Parliament in Brussels about the forthcoming seed laws (maybe you already know this, of course). Activists from all over Europe Β are coming to Brussels to be there, and events are…

View original post 269 more words

22 thoughts on “Seed the Future!

  1. We need …we NEED to be swapping seed, growing and saving seed and passing it along to fellow gardeners in order to preserve our food for the future. I am right on this one πŸ™‚

    • Yes, yes, YES!!!
      Yay for you and your fellow revolutionaries! I would add to that: planting lovely flowers and shade trees along our roads. No point sowing food things so long as we have to worry about heavy metals . . . but we need beauty, too.

      • And we need fodder for our beneficial insects and habitat for our birds and small mammals so trees and shrubs and perennials and annuals and ground covers and EVERYTHING needs to be integrated πŸ™‚

      • And we decided to put ourselves at the centre of life and earths cycles (to our own detriment mind you!) When you play God you have to be willing to juggle EVERYTHING! I would rather just have God juggling for me thanks! Here’s to the cycles and to learning to live with them and love them πŸ™‚

      • Not arrogant at all! If we don’t figure the cycles out soon (and learn to live with them), I bet they just keep on a rollin’ and roll right over us . . . and we will have earned it! (I speak collectively here, of course)

      • I meant how arrogant we humans are for thinking that the cycles should revolve around us, rather than encompassing everything πŸ˜‰

      • Ahhh . . . I get it! and totally agree with you! We are arrogant and are soon to be taught a lesson, I think. We’ve only seen the tip of the iceberg so far. We need to learn that we don’t live ‘on’ the Earth, but ‘in’ it. We are part of the systems, not observers and controllers. Until we get that, we are in trouble. But I feel hopeful when I read so many great blogs showing people all over the earth who work to live in harmony with nature. Have you seen the Bealtaine Cottage blog? She’s a single woman in Ireland who’s turned 3 acres of not much into forest, mostly by herself. I love her cottage, too. She makes lovely cards and sells them, and packets of her seeds, from her place. You are all inspiring, each so individual, but all part of the harmonious healing of this earth. I love it!

      • No, I haven’t spotted Bealtaine Cottage yet but you can be sure I am off there quick smart to take a gander right now πŸ™‚ Cheers for the share Linnie πŸ™‚

      • And her computer just gave up the ghost! Looks like its a bad year for computers (Pauline had hers misbehave as well). Love the blog though and she has been tucked most deliciously into my RSS Feed Reader πŸ™‚

      • For facts and connecting, I like the net, but for reading . . . I will always need a library (or a lotto win so I can have my own; like Downton’s, with my favourite books).

      • Mine, too, but I loved it more a few years ago. These new changes just make me feel too old and out of place. I pretty much worship ‘real’ books and won’t be dissuaded by Kindles and their ilk. I love the unexpected surprises that I’ve chanced on throughout my life and am very reluctant to give them up. Old curmudgeonly me, eh? ;-(

      • I am going to hook mine up soon; hope it’s not contagious πŸ™‚

        Actually, I’m going to remove all the hard drives from three computers and hook up the drive reader to a laptop, then cross my fingers. The laptop is slow; that’s why I use Mum’s pc. But other stuff to do first. Have a fun day. Hope it’s cooled off a bit for you lot.

      • Its actually cold sitting here at 4.57am and I have NO idea what I am going to do today. Probably plan what I am going to do tomorrow or whipper snip the exponentially growing grass in the veggie garden or read or sip tea and look at the sky. Whatever I do it will be blissfully cool πŸ™‚

      • Can’t remember now if I replied to you or not . . . hope your whipping got done . . . Glad it’s cooled off a bit for you. I was wondering today if it was hot again down there, now that we’re back to -28C with the windchill. Oh, well, could be worse . . . ~ Linne

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

