What is it before it is “voila!”?

I’ve been busy, as usual. Have not kept up with the FeedReader, but did manage to visit a few of you. But that’s not what the title refers to . . .

I’m still waiting to work on the project that I haven’t disclosed, but am quite happy with what I have accomplished; hence the ‘before voila!” title.

Puzzled? Here it is . . . so far . . .

IMG_4868[1]

Look closely at the bottom hem: see? no needles! It was Sunday night yesterday (here, not in Australia or New Zealane) πŸ™‚ and some of my favourite English shows were on PBS, out of Seattle. So I watched ‘Lark Rise to Candleford’, ‘Doc Martin’ (I didn’t care for the crusty old guy at first, but I have to admit he grows on you; well, on me, anyway), last week’s episode of ‘Downton Abbey’, followed by this week’s episode of same. then a couple of episodes of ‘Criminal Minds’ before I was done for the evening. In there, during last week’s ‘DA’, I made supper while listening from the kitchen, then ate it while watching this week’s ‘DA’, so it wasn’t all knitting . . .

The checkerboard bit along the bottom is actually double-stranded ribbing, which doesn’t gather up as one-strand ribbing does, but most Fair Isle style cardis seem to have boxy shapes, so I’m happy with it. There is a bit of texture, just enough to keep me contented. The navy rows at the end are double-straned, too:Β two rows of knit, one row of purl, two rows of knit. I did it that way so it can be folded to the inside along the purl row and then stitched down, to make a sturdier hem; however, I rather like the look of it as is, so it may not come to that . . .

While working on the ending, I suddenly noticed that a bunch of stitches on one of the sleeves were not secured by a knitting needle; you can see what it should have looked like on the left side of the photo. Instead, the bamboo needle plus green sock holder were in place, but no longer attached to the plastic cable. Guess I pulled it out while rotating the entire cardi in my lap . . . luckily, the needle had been in place for so long,the stitches didn’t unravel and were easy to pick up. Also luckily, I’d bought some extra needles recently . . .

IMG_4827[1]

I have to thank JessΒ of Rabid Little Hippy fame for her mention of these oranges. I’d never heard of them before; then, the next grocery shop, there they were, so I figured I’d pick up a few.

IMG_4828[1]

She’s right; they are like a cross between a regular orange and a blood orange (which I also like). The colour is especially appealing to me and these were sweet, but not too sweet; the orange tartness was fully present. Yum!

Back to the cardi: next I need to work on the sleeves, hand stitch up and down on both sides of the steek (that odd-looking section in the centre, for anyone new to this blog or to Fair Isle and Scandinavian knitting), then get out the scissors . . . it’s more exciting to cut knitting, now that I know for sure it won’t unravel . . . Then there will be the button and buttonhole bands to make. I’m still of two minds (as usual lol) about picking up stitches inside the collar and adding a double-stranded hood. I think I’ll do that, though. Even with a tuque, a hood is handy. I’m still mulling over exactly how to create it; it could be made separately and then attached, but I like the idea of being able to try it on and fine-tune it as I go along . . . beats the heck out of those “oops!” moments, closely followed by “oh, well . . .”

I’m planning to finish the sleeves with cuffs that match the bottom of the cardi, so have been debating whether I want to undo the collar and either make a new neck ending to match or a new collar that is more like the cuffs and bottom. That decision can wait, though. Good thing.

IMG_4800[1]

This one’s for Narf7, who lives on The Road to Serendipity . . . isn’t that cute? a pregnant mushroom . . .

I haven’t forgotten about designing a simple Fair Isle style pattern, to encourage those of you who love to learn . . . it’s coming together in my head and soon will make it onto paper . . . I’m planning to knit along as IΒ write it out, to be sure there are no oopsies to trip you up.

I haven’t mentioned the weather, have I? After the horrendous heat some of you have been dealing with, I can’t complain about any cold here. At least nothing died and inside we were fine with just adding a cardi and changing from jeans to sweatpants. I like being cosy . . .

A few days of almost -40C looked like this:

IMG_4681[1]

and this:

IMG_4689[1]

then, as things began to warm up, we had winds of around 100 kph, gusting to over 120 kph. That’s our general area; not sure exactly what it was here. But it was loud enough to keep me awake all one night and much of the next. So my internal clock has been hiccuping a lot. This next photo is the first morning; this table is in a very protected spot, but you can see the plastic covers blowing sideways. At times, they blew up above the table, but I couldn’t seem to click the camera at the right moment. One bag of money recyclables was blown over to the railing and wedged underneath. I suspect we lost some milk and juice cartons, but if so, they are ‘gone with the wind’. πŸ™‚ I did find one lonely milk carton on the far end of the balcony (and it’s a long balcony!).

IMG_4818[1]

Since the winds died down, the temperatures have risen considerably; we’ve had up to +7C in the daytimes, and barely below freezing at night. Which makes for interesting walking conditions, to say the least. Wish I could ship that snowmelt to those of you undergoing droughty conditions. WE are meant to have these continue right into February. (I can’t believeΒ I am writing ‘February’ already!).

I went to the library last Friday with the usual rolly cart full of books and videos to return. It was quite the adventure, just getting to a bus stop. A half block away we have a large auto/truck dealership. Their stock comes in on those huge two-layered trucks that are quite heavy. The latest delivery created very deep ruts in the snowslush and those ruts are now full of ankle-deep (or deeper) water. I was able to find my way to where our bus stop bench is (if I were going north to the mall, which I wasn’t that day), then I managed to get down the block to the lights. Crossing the main street was fine and downtown I only had to step in two puddles, which meant damp feet, but not too bad.

I have a new habit; I return books, etc., select and check out a new load, then take myself off to the Second Cup coffee shop that’s attached to the library and have a slushy coffee drink while I read whatever is my latest passion. That helps make up for my sadness at seeing these:

Why I want to cry at the library these days . . .

Why I want to cry at the library these days . . .

I had been a bit tristesse anyway, since last week I’d finally made it to the top of two long ‘hold’ queues for the latest in two series that I’ve been reading for some time (20 years for one of them). Both had sad and disturbing endings, which is not what I want just now. I know life has challenges and hard times and I don’t mind some of that in a book (Guy Gavriel Kay certainly doesn’t avoid the hard bits of life! but he doesn’t leave me feeling sort of gutted, if you know what I mean. You can learn more about him at Bright Weavings, too.) You will notice that I haven’t added links to the other two authors. I’m seriously miffed, although I expect I’ll get over it by the time the next volumes are out. Or not . . .

Anyway, I was delighted to find the latestΒ  what I thought was the latest in Ann CleevesDI Vera Stanhope series, “The Glass Room”, which lived up to my expectations quite magnificently. I finished it in two days, though . . . so now what to do ’til the next one appears? OK, news flash: I looked up the link to share with you and found a NEW Vera book . . . Harbour Street!Β  Thanks to all my readers; without you, I might not have found this for a while . . . it’s on order and I am 6th in line . . . so there is time for some knitting . . . πŸ™‚

The music at Second Cup is always good; never intrusive and lacks all those irritating pop lyrics that catch my attention and make me want to shout back at them . . . the coffee slushies are great, too (they are not called ‘slushies’, they are ‘chillatte’s); and best of all, they are Canadian!Β  canada_flag 01

But I was speaking of the adventures of getting around this week: Saturday I went to the mall for groceries. The mall is in the next block north of us, and we are in the middle of our block. The store is on the north side of the mall, though. With the sidewalks covered in water andΒ my winter boots good for snow, but not wet, I took the bus one block, went through the car park and then inside to the store. But coming home again was on my mind . . . in the end, not wanting to cross the main street (the street was fine, but those deep water-filled ruts at the opening to our access road are quite daunting.), I returned to the same bus stop I’d recently disembarked at, took the #9 bus one more block north to the transit centre, changed to the #9 going south, rode it all the way to the Kingsway transit centre, then changed again to a northboundΒ  #9. This one let me off at the bench quite close to our entrance and I had only one ditch/rut to get across. No worries . . . so yesterday, I stayed home and knitted and caught up a bit with the FeedReader. A good day!

Looking west on 19Jan2014.

Looking west on 19Jan2014.

I was up early Sunday and this is what I saw, quite briefly, looking west! The shiny bit on the horizon that looks like the sun rising is actually its reflection. The colours were intense and far more lovely than the camera shows. I was awed, to say the least.

Well, on that lovely note, I am off to make some applesauce (and check the boxes of apples for spoilage), do more sorting and packing up, then maybe some knitting on those sleeves.

I have some overdue work to do on my 365-day project, too. Thanks to Pauline, our lovely Contented Crafter; it was through her site that I discovered Gretchen Miller and the Revo’lution projects. A lot has been happening that I’m not going to write about, so I am a wee bit behind, but now feel firmly back on track . . .

Have a wonderful week, everyone; stay warm or cool as desired.

Learn, create, make, eat, love . . .

47 thoughts on “What is it before it is “voila!”?

    • Thanks a lot. Lucky my phone camera doesn’t pick up the errors LOL. It should be fairly warm, even if it’s acrylic yarn. Next big one will be real Shetland wool; 90 colours and I’m already excited! Won’t be for a while, though. First to get through this one and then to get on with the ‘secret’ projects. lol

      We only had that really cold weather for a couple of days, thank heavens. Now it’s been warm for nearly a week. Warm for January, anyway. I almost think I’d rather have the usual cold than wonder what this new stuff will bring . . .

  1. That is a beautifully crafted garment Linne, it’s truly lovely and I can’t believe you used no pattern!!
    I used to love Doc Martin but am in bed too early these days πŸ™‚
    It looks and sounds freezing there, all good if you can hibernate but I wouldn’t enjoy going out in it at all….your Slushie, is it a cold or hot drink?

    • Thanks, Wendy. I do love those motifs (and the colours!) This style is fairly easy to ‘wing’, lucky for me (’cause I tend to ‘wing’ things anyway, as you know LOL). I cast on my guesstimate to go around me, plus 11 stitches for the steek, knit to the bottom of the armholes, added two steeks (one each arm), kept on knitting to the shoulders, then joined them. Picked up stitches and began the sleeves, did same at neckline and made the collar (still ambivalent about that, though). These garments are meant to keep one warm, not be fitted; in the old days women either knitted furiously to keep their family warm or did the same in order to make a bit of money to add to the family funds. There wasn’t time for fussy fitting, I think. They were a lot faster than I am, though; my family would have starved . . .

      • Thanks, Wendy. I did have patterns for the motifs, but winged the sizing (I think it’s gonna work; I may have to let go of a few extra pounds, but that will be a good thing). It’s the colour choices and motif order that’s all mine. That sort of sweater is really not hard to do (un-patterned, I mean). The motifs are just line by line, two colours. Now I’ve found out about three colour stranded knitting, which allows for more complex images; so that’s on the books (or the needles, I should say!) for when this is over. Not soon, I don’t think; I have that other hot project simmering in the background and now I feel up to taking it on again. As to concentration; I find I do better when there’s a certain amount of detail to pay attention to; otherwise my mind wanders off and when it returns there are rows to unpick. Didn’t do too much of that on this cardi, thank heavens. ~ Linne

      • I admire that. Whereas Roger can be very foccussed I am as scattered as a person could be – that is something I really do need to work on as I never used to be like that. I need to take the time to paint again, do craft work because I just always think of everything else I should be doing other than taking the time to relax and create, and still the mind!

      • I like how so many couples seem to be complementary in nature; so that together they make up a more complete whole. It can drive you crazy, though . . .
        I think it will be interesting to see if being creative makes you feel less scattered. I can focus on some things, for hours if need be; yet in other ways am so scattered I’d drive a monk to drink . . . I aced bookkeeping when I took it, but never balance a chequebook; I’ve begun many budgets, but never keep up the work of entering data; and so on. I love things to be tidy and orderly, but you’d never know it to see where I live. I tell myself that if I had a place for things, they would be tidy; it may be true, ’cause in other peoples’ homes, I put things away and tidy behind me. Who knows??
        Meditation works well for me, but it’s been a long time since I did it as a daily practise. Maybe we just need to see our creative needs and the need for ‘stillness’ as a higher priority?

      • “Stillness”!? That would take me a life time to perfect – I am hopeless at meditation but I CAN do mantras, it’s the closest I can get to focusing myself. I could do with it obviously, just find it really difficult. But, I think being able to focus on something for hours is a type of meditation and must be really good for you, just to forget everything else for a while!

      • It takes a while to master meditation and I think it depends on the method used, too. Some work better than others, at least for me. I don’t find that it’s so much ‘stillness’ as it is reaching a place of non-attachment; watching those idle thoughts flow through without having to take them on. In time, the stillness comes, too, though. At least that was true for me. It used to be my daily practise, but I let myself be derailed a few years ago and haven’t found my way back, although I do feel the difference for me in not having a daily practise. One thing, though; I don’t believe we are all here to do exactly the same thing in the same way. We all eat, but different diets (I don’t mean reducing diets here) work differently for different bodies. We all breathe, but not all of us practise conscious breathing. We work on our own tasks and they may be quite different from our neighbours’.

        I think mantras are a good start for meditating. I was taught to use one (more of an affirmation, really) to focus the mind. When a state of stillness was reached, the mantra was discontinued and I stayed with the feeling. When I began ‘thinking’ again, the mantra/affirmation helped me move back to the still state. If you ever want to pursue it again, there is a great book I can recommend.

        I agree that focusing on something is related to meditating. I find focusing on the stitch patterns of Fair Isle style stranded knitting occupies my ‘busy’ mind and lets me move to something more peaceful and happy. I suspect many sorts of creativity work like that; painting, composing, playing music, writing . . .

      • Yes, i can get like that when painting, it’s the one thing that takes me out of my busy head to a place a calm.

        I think you are right about not all being here to do the same things. The best thing I find now is either lying in the sun watching the clouds and listening to the birds, or on the couch listening to saxophone music with ear phones.

      • Interesting how so many of us are thinkers who then need to quieten our minds, isn’t it? I haven’t had a plave to lie outdoors for some time; whrn I’m in the country or the bush, I can lie all day like that. It’s also very healing, I find.

        Saxophone music, eh? You’ll have to post some links . . . I’m not a big fan of trumpets, generally, but I have heard sax music I liked.

    • Doc Martin sort of grows on you, doesn’t he? I couldn’t stand him the first couple of times I watched, but he was the only choice that evening, so I got used to him. I think he’s the dream man for every girl who thinks she can ‘fix’ a man . . . lol

      It was darn cold, but not for long; now it’s been warmer and seems like it’s gonna stay that way into February. πŸ˜‰

      That drink is cold coffee and milk and sugar or something, blended with ice. Not sure what you have that’s comparable, but it’s like a Starbucks Frappuccino or a Tim Hortons Ice Capp (Ice Cappuccino). I like the mocha mint flavour. I guess you could say it’s like a latte that’s blended with ice ’til it’s thick like a milkshake. Even in winter I like the cold drinks best.

      • Oooh, that drink sounds really but I certainly couldn’t drink one in the dead of winter πŸ™‚

        Doc Martin is a neat character πŸ™‚ The English have some great programmes, they do good comedy, I think they have the best actors in the world.

      • It is very good; a bit caloric, though. Not what I need these days, but I indulge once a week anyway. I find the library and the coffee shop are both kept too warm for my liking, so a cool drink helps; also, it kick-starts my lazy metabolism, which is good for offsetting at least a bit of the calories.
        Doc Martin is irascible, that’s the word I wanted. πŸ˜‰ He grew on me. Some of his patients would drive me into irascibility, too, to be honest.
        I love the English shows and you’re so right; the comedies are great. I think their actors are so good because they come from a long tradition, so are exposed to good acting from an early age, then go to decent training schools. It’s more than “oh, I think I’ll be an actor” which is an attitude that some people strike me as having begun with. I expect even the ancient Greek tragedies and the Roman orators have their part in the tradition, too. Nice that so many of us share the same interests and tastes, yet bring new ones to the group, too. ~ Linne

      • Truly! I’ll take Kenneth Branagh (I know he’s Irish, but still . . .) or Ben Kingsley over any pretty boy out there. There’s a lot more, I know, but then I’d be preaching to the choir, I bet. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I’ve done stranded knitting before, but not anything so large snd complex. I got the motifs from a book by Mary Jane Mucklestone (200 Fsir Isle Motifs) but the arrangement and colours were my choices. I have her book of Scandinavian motifs out now, but don’t dare begin a new project yet.

      It’s nice to ‘meet’ someone else who likes this sort of knitting. Do you have pics of your work on your blog?

      • Isn’t it awesome? I’m ordering it (and the “150 Scandinavian Motifs” book, too. I’m hoping the library will let me exchange the new book for the one I’ve borrowed, so I can keep it. I’ve been working out of the same book since the last day of September and I have a way to go, but I’ll take a used book any day over a new one. No memories in the new books . . .

        Would love to see you post about your project/s made from that book.

  2. beautiful sweater…you are mighty talented…sad to see the empty shelves….agree with above , hope those are checked out books…+ I love those oranges!:-) Stay warm..the wind is blowing here tonight

    • Thsnks, Robbie. Lucky the mistakes don’t show in a photo; maybe they won’t at all once I fix them.

      I love books more than most things, read a LOT (not so much now as I used to, though) and don’t think a Kindle is an adequate substitute (and what if it dies?) I’d take a Kindle on a ’round the world trip, but that’s about it. Hard to pack enough books . . .

      And I love browsing around in the stacks and having a book jump into my hands, crying, “read me, read ME!!)

      I will mourn forever when there is no more happy serendipity for me . . .

      • I think there are a few of us on here now . . . this season’s had a couple of episodes that are quite challenging to watch; I hope it doesn’t get too dark and then stay there. I’m watching on the PBS station out of Seattle, so one episode a week. I know some people have already watched the whole season . . .

      • I know what you mean, anna getting raped, + after she had such a hard time with Mr Bates etc…that is rather dark…+ matthew dying…I hate soap operas, but this one just draws you in + you just can’t help yourself-lol:-)
        I love reading historical fiction, so this is watching historical fiction!

      • One thing I like is that they stay fairly close to actual history. I don’t care for books (or film) that warp facts to fit with the current PC views. I’m even still ticked off about those cigarette ads aimed at women in the 80s or 90s.

        I love that they film in a real place, kept much as it was in those years. A great way to save the actual place.

        The costumes, too! I love beautiful clothes and we rarely see that anymore, especially the detailling.

      • Oh my gosh, their clothes + jewerly I LOVE…I agree that you don’t see beading on clothes like that anymore!
        It helps me understand my grandmother + mother since we had a lot of family from England, Scotland etc come over here from 1600 beyond…and those old ways were what I saw in them + aunts…Anne River Siddons wrote a book called Colony

        http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/95226.Colony

        It is like a modern day extension of that around the 60’s. It helped me understand my grandmother + mother their ways( +mother), and less angry at them after I read that book while I was starting my family….I love the grandmother she is actually very kind + has great compassion, but you would not notice it at first:-)

      • OH, yes, the clothes . . . quite funny if you saw me in my ‘real’ life (wait, isn’t this the real one?); mostly black Ts and jeans. But I do love the workmanship on those clothes. We had a couple of photos of my Mum’s mother from the Edwardian days; big hats, fine hand-stitched detailing on the long dresses and coats, button boots; wish some of it had survived for me to drool over . . . she wasn’t much over 5 feet tall, so it wouldn’t have been wearable, but just to touch them . . . I do own two or three beaded dresses from the 20s; they belonged to an elderly friend who passed away without having any family. Unfortunately they’ve been in storage for a very long time; I just hope they are ok. I could wear them when at my normal weight.

        I’ll look for Colony. Sounds interesting. Yes, some of the best of the 60s and 70s came out of the older cultures. Gotta run soon. ~ Linne

      • people appeciated handmade things back then, now I believe all people want is to get something for the cheapest price possible, and sometimes I have to admit I can’t afford the handmade things some people sell. I do understand time spent etc, but maybe it is because people only had one of something and when it was made well it lasted-lol:-) You have a good weekend!

      • Yes, they did. And no-one minded if the article wasn’t ‘perfect’ or looking as though a machine made it. (unless it was really ugly, of course). πŸ˜‰ You are right that people don’t want to pay for hand-made. I’ve thought for a long time that part of it is because women like my Mum, my aunties and grandmothers (and me, for that matter) made things for their families and sometimes their friends out of love and necessity. They didn’t expect payment. So now, culturally, we expect that to go on. Yet we don’t mind (much) paying the plumber or mechanic a fair wage. I like to do things for love, but on the other hand, for many women it’s a way of making an income or supplementing one, even as it was in Scotland and Norway (and other places, of course; think of the ‘Cowichan’ sweaters from Vancouver Island) not that long ago. There is the design factor, too. Designing takes a fair bit of time, but it’s ‘invisible’ time; it looks as though the person is just sitting around, doing nothing. But it’s necessary, as with designing a painting, a song, a piece of music, a house . . . My solution to loving handmade items and also having no money was to make things myself; designing grew out of that, but not in a business sort of way. It’s just fascinating to me, is all.

        Robbie, you are so right that people often had only one of something and then treasured it and cared well for it. Mum and my Aunty talk about their Mum and her mother, too, making sweaters, socks, mitts, tuques and scarves for everyone in the family. Well, in Mum’s family there were 10 kids (one died young), two adults until their mother died. My Grandma had her two youngest still living at home then, plus Grandpa. So, altogether, it would have been 14 or 15 people to make things for. And kids grow out of stuff (although no-one minded hand-me-downs back then, or even when I was young); socks wear out, mitts are occasionally lost, and so on. My grandmother and great-grandmother never sat down in the evening or for a visit without having a project or mending at hand. I’ve been like that my whole life, too, although I’m more self-conscious about it nowadays. Some of my friends think I’m not paying attention to them if I’m knitting at the same time. They didn’t grow up in the same way I did. I never mentioned, but should have done: when everything is made by hand and money is scarce, you learn to mend from an early age. Mum was still darning our socks and mending clothes when I left home at 19. I mended, too, but not so much as she did. In the city, people seem to be ashamed if their clothing has a patch or two unless they have deliberately bought ‘distressed’ clothing . . . I had a hard time getting my head around that, I can tell you! Years of seeing my Mum patching jeans and then seeing kids buying new things with ‘on-purpose’ holes in them . . . sigh . . .
        That weekend was ok; the one coming up should be lots of fun, assuming my final supplies arrive on Friday. Nope, not telling . . . πŸ˜‰

      • I was so pleased to see the woman who plays Anna in the BBC series ‘Robin Hood’ and now I’ve found ‘Mr. Bates’ in ‘Lark Rise to Candleford’ :-). He’s in a comedy series on Sky tv, but I haven’t seen it. A change from the brooding Irishman . . . The reviews sounded good.

      • I had a Netflix subscription, thanks to my sister here . . . but rarely used it. I do enough on the computer as it is (and it’s Mum’s computer, so I can’t just hog it). YouTube is very good, though, and now I find some of the shows I like can be watched on my iPhone. Haven’t done that yet, though. Too many books to get through . . . plus all the other things I want to do . . . I love the British shows, too. Grew up on their history, so it’s all relevant to me. I could talk forever about some of my favourites, but time’s running out now, so i’ll quit while I’m ahead. πŸ˜‰ ~ Linne

      • My husband is the tv watcher…I believe if I did not live with him I could give up our tv and just read more + I do have a computer…I really can’t sit still that long:-)

      • I never lived with a tv except for six weeks once when the younger boy was about three. Luckily, the tv blew up (sparks and all, literally) one day and we didn’t bother to replace it. I never wanted one because I wanted my boys to grow up more as I did. We didn’t have another tv until we had to move back into town (my former husband, my sons and I). From five square miles of wild land and a log house with no power, running water, etc. (but it had a wonderful very old orchard!) to a tiny one-bedroom apartment with no yard that faced onto an alley and was right next to one of Victoria’s busiest streets. We took the laundry tubs off their stand so the boys’ bunk beds would fit. We had a mattress in the bedroom and all our things were left in boxes piled around it. So it was down to the living room. We sold a small trailer (caravan) we’d owned and each of us got one thing they wanted; my husband wanted a tv (he grew up with one in the house from when he was in junior high). So all that winter there wasn’t space to do anything but sit together and watch the tv (the boys were homeschooled, so schoolwork was the main thing during the day). It was a good time to be watching, if you had to do that; M*A*S*H, Barney Miller, Bill Cosby, that sort of light entertainment. That was back before the comedy shows became X-rated. We didn’t get more than a handful of channels and no public tv, but once in a while there would be a movie. But we all read a lot, too. When the tv was on, I was like you, so always had some knitting, crochet, some sort of handwork to occupy me. Computers were yet to come . . . remember when? πŸ˜‰

        Later, living on my own, I didn’t like the quiet (after a lifetime with kids around and other people, too), so I’d put the tv on in the living room (lounge) just for background noise. There was a channel that just played music all the time by then.

      • I totally understand background noise after having a house filled with people. My youngest moved out for good this past summer. I have become use to the quiet, but remember I have a lot of animals, so there is never quite in our home-lol. I have 3 dogs, 3 cats + neighbors with all dogs + cats!
        It must be a male thing it seems they are all attached to their remotes! lol. My husband has 7 remotes:-)
        Your life with your kids sounds beautiful + what a great way to live. The other day I was thinking our world is getting too noisy! I enjoy computers , but there are times I need to be away from them more often now:-)

  3. The ardi is gorgeous Linne. I have been a little eyebrow up lookng at it as its progressed but seeing it today and it truly is beautiful! You ARE the master knitter. πŸ™‚ I’ve had to pull out and start again my latest project for the second time. I don’t mind too much, the act of knitting means that one doesn’t feel frivolous about wasting time watching tv! πŸ˜‰
    I have to laugh about the cara cara orange. I have never eaten one! I bought the tree as it’s supposed to be the most cold tolerant of the orange trees so no matter what it’s all I can grow outside. I’ve had to move my tree into the greenhouse though as something small, or closer to the truth, someONE small pulled off all the leaves and at the moment the only growth is a couple of potential growth spots on the graft and leaves below. I’m leaving them on at the moment for survival reason. πŸ˜‰ It’s in the greenhouse in rich deep loamy soil with a good dose of feed so hoping this one survives. it’s my second. The feijoa is beside it too as the sheep shredded that one. *sigh*
    back off to bed here I think. Down with a migraine today. 😦
    Stay warm. Mit viel liebe. xx

    • Oh, glad you like it; I’ve been a bit ‘eyebrow up’ at times, too. No pattern, and all . . . I even ‘guestimated’ the number of stitches to cast on. I think it’s mostly the colours that make it work, especially that background hot pink/soft magenta. I started calling it my ‘barn cardi’ ’cause I knew I’d wear this to work in the barn, even if I never wore it in public. For someone who wears mainly black, it’s a tad closer to living on the edge, don’t you think? πŸ™‚

      Best wishes for your project; I’ve done my share of unravelling; good thing I’m patient . . . You are right about knitting in front of the tv. Keeps my guilt at bay, too. I used to watch little to none, but these British shows . . . too bad some of my other new faves have disappeared, even if that lets me be more productive. Recently found out I can watch some of them on my phone, but am trying not to go there; you will have to call me Alice; it’s a BIG rabbithole . . . πŸ˜‰

      How funny that you haven’t eaten a Cara Cara! and fhat, thanks to you, I’ve eaten several . . . Serendipity . . .

      Hope yours makes it, and your feijoa, too. I have never even seen those . . .

      The joys of life with kids and other livestock, eh? Worth it, though . . .

      Migraines = no fun. Feel better soon!

  4. I am feeling a little bit out of place myself at the moment. I have SO MUCH to do! It looks like every weed known to man has grown back with a vengeance on Serendipity Farm and it is paper-rock-scissors trying to work out where to start first. A little disheartening that it only took a season for most of what we had cleared out to grow back :(. I LOVE that cardi Linne πŸ™‚ You are a master knitter. I look forward to that simple (and it BETTER be or narf7 won’t be able to comprehend it πŸ˜‰ ) fairisle pattern for we numpties who are knit challenged. Rug up warm, enjoy those slushies and trackies while you can because we are on the downward slope to winter and narf7 for one, couldn’t be happier! :). By the way…I HATE it when a book that I have invested myself in turns out to be crap or has a bad ending. NOTHING WORSE! I think that authors should realise that when we engage in reading what they have written, we become part of it, and it becomes part of us. A bad ending makes us feel bad and if it is only to sell more books it is a bit of a cheap trick 😦

  5. That’s a fabulous cardi Linne! Love the colours and all the intricacy – most impressed!

    Those truck made ruts sound quite tricky – and I now have [and don’t ask why, I don’t know!] a picture in my head of the wild,wild west and you skirting the uber deep potholes and ruts holding up your long skirts and muttering under your breath as you dodge them and the odd run-away horse and wagon ……… πŸ™‚

    Do those empty shelves in the library mean there are less books or more readers or maybe both?

    I had my third sunny day of the year yesterday, today it is back to grey and overcast again. Other parts of the country are enjoying summery conditions, just not my part! Boo – hoo!! But it does mean I am getting on with some new art work πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Pauline; I made it up as I weng along and for once it seems to be turning out ok. πŸ˜‰ I love it, too, and will wear it, although I do feel a bit self-conscious at the idea. I know . . . more work to do . . . (sigh).

      Long skirts are very ME! I have two that don’t wrinkle and wore them to work all the time. I still have all my hippie long skirts and dresses, too, but not here. Your image is not so far off; I learned to drive (cars, etc) when I was 28 or so. Before that I hitched rides or rode/drove horses (or walked). I still dream of owning a pair of Morgans (the old-fashioned ones, not the leggy, Tennessee Walker types).

      I’ve had two runaways with horse and buggy (and four tourists in the back each time). Will have to share those stories one day . . .

      Muttering, eh? If I’d known you were listening . . .

      The first time I saw empty shelves at the library, they were getting rid of books (a LOT of books, among them some of my favourite authors’ entire sets!!) 😦 😦 😦 Back then I had a hard time going into the library, ’cause I just wanted to cry. I couldn’t even talk to them about it, I was so emotional . . . When I took this pic, I thought it was more of that, but there were a few books back in place on Friday. Most of the shelves are half-full or less now. The people making the decisions are not readers, at least not in my book . . . There are a lot of reasons to protect real books, not least that if we lose power in a serious way, how will we access electronic ‘books’? It’s a lot more than an entertainment issue; it’s a knowledge issue . . .

      I’m sorry to hear you have not had a sunny summer; does that mean you haven’t had the heat of Tassie, etc.?

      Hope your autumn is sunnier . . . but I hear you about getting things done . . . My Aunty came up as I was replying to you, so I have yet to get much done. Soon . . . BTW, that cardi comes nearly to her ankles when I hold it up to her. It’s down to my knees . . .

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

