and on that note . . .

Don’t know if the re-blog about taking a break or quitting a blog altogether was a good idea . . . πŸ™‚

I may be absent for a day or two myself. I had a badly infected tooth just before and through Christmas, but got rid of the infection quick smart as they say . . . but yesterday it returned and I was up ’til 6am this morning dealing with it. The swelling began to go down, but I foolishly turned over in my sleep (this morning) and put pressure on it, so now I look like a cartoon from the ’30s.

20140125-161608.jpg Last night; looking across our access road to the bus stop where I’d just gotten off the bus.

I should be fine; I’ve dealt with this before, but not for a few years now. Just didn’t want you to wonder where I was . . .

20140125-161906.jpg See the two teeny bright spots? That’s the ice bridge where I managed to get across the water-filled ruts. The temp was supposed to be +7C yesterday, so walking downtown was nice; didn’t need my gloves even.

I need a bit more rest now, but here’s a couple more photos (not my distorted jaw) πŸ˜‰

20140125-162327.jpg The access road, looking south (the main street is on the far side).

20140125-162435.jpg The access road, looking north.

Ice and water (and deep ruts) everywhere! Crazy weather everywhere, eh?

28 thoughts on “and on that note . . .

    • No worries, Jess. I’m so behind on my reading; I’m just jumping in at the top each day and skimming what I can. πŸ˜‰ Yes, I think by tomorrow it will be a thing of the past. There was only pain the first couple of days; it was the swelling that was a problem (well, that and knowing it was spewing toxins of some sort into my blood). The actual spot was sore, but mostly to the touch. I took a couple of Tylenol the first night so I could sleep (I rarely take anything); after that I was fine, just had to rest and wait it out. I’ve had worse, so am thankful this wasn’t too bad, pain-wise. I looked pretty funny, though, with my cheek stuffed out like an autumn chipmunk; the swelling went from near my left ear right across my upper lip. But I won’t freak my sweet readers out by posting photos. πŸ˜‰

    • Yes, Stacy; nearly done with it. I saw the news from Atlanta yesterday; crazy, indeed! And worse when you have no experience driving in it. Of course, it looked like the freeways were sheets of ice, so even with experience I doubt it would be very easy. I suppose we have more of this coming over the next few years, too . . . ~ Linne

  1. Awww sorry about your toothache Linne.. nothing worse than toothache for getting you down… And brrrrrr looking outside It looks pretty horrendous.. Keep your mouth wrapped up in that Chill air…

    And hope you can get it treated ASAP… Sending you healing thoughts.. I may be absent a few days myself..
    Love and Blessings
    Sue

    • Thanks, Sue. It wasn’t too painful after the first day or so. Now no pain, just a wee hotspot that I’m sure will be gone by tomorrow. I rarely go to ‘professionals’ these days; I treated it myself. Thanks for the healing thoughts, though; it all helps. Hope you are back soon.

      Yeah, we’re back to “feels like -28C with the windchill”. And a few days ago it was +7 and melting everywhere . . . ok, I got the message; can we quit with the climate change now? Please?? πŸ˜‰ ~ Linne

  2. Bugger 😦 Toothache is worse than childbirth pain in my opinion. Look after yourself Linne, we are all giving you a communal hug and sending “pain free” waves in your direction. See you when you get back. We will all still be here…where else are we going to go?! πŸ˜‰

    • I’d agree with you on childbirth vs toothache, Narf7. I did take care of myself and sure appreciated the communal hug and ‘pain-free’ waves. The waves definitely worked! πŸ™‚ I’m back now; just had a load of comments to reply to . . . tomorrow should have time to check our your latest . . .
      Nice to have so many friends tethered to the internet . . . works sorta like your fishnetting on your garden; keeps the good stuff in, the bad stuff out . . . ~ Linne πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Karen. Yes, it didn’t take too long; I just had to do a lot of resting; good thing I went to the library last Friday (that’s when it all began); so I dozed, read, dozed, made my hot drink, re-froze the ice pack, dozed, read . . . πŸ™‚ Not my favourite thing to deal with, but at least I have some good holistic stuff I can rely on. Hope all’s well with you and yours, too. I haven’t dropped by in a while. Will try to get over to your blog soon.
      ~ Linne

  3. That sounds awful..I hate any pain with my teeth, and I hate the sounds in the dental office..drills just make my skin crawl! Hope you are feeling better soon:-)

    • Thanks, Wendy. It healed up pretty fast, considering other times I’ve had to deal with the same thing. Thanks in part to all the good thoughts and ‘energy waves’ coming my way, I’m sure. Nice to have so many great friends. I’ll be over for your latest post soon. ~ Linne

  4. Dear Linne, I hope you’ll feel much better soon. Toothache is the pits! Gosh your streets look very tricky to walk along – I can’t even imagine what it’s like. Once that tooth of yours is sorted, snuggle up with your gorgeous knitting and before you know it spring will be on your doorstep! Take care! xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

    • Thanks, Dani. Yes, I’m pretty much over it now. Those streets are as tricky as they look; the sidewalks only have a couple of bad places, but getting to that bus stop . . . I just go slow and careful-like. I’ve begun stitching beside the long front steek, but it will be a few days, I think, before I get to ‘run with scissors’ . . . πŸ˜‰ Spring . . . I saw a cool pic on Facebook; I should post it soon . . . it was like a software update window and said something like “Installing Spring” “Sorry, spring is not available in your state; try Florida” Not the exact wording, but you get the idea . . . ~ Linne
      Hugs and kisses back, too. ~ L

    • I’ve had a few taken out, too, Jolynn. Not fun, for sure. I’m doing well now, though. Luckily, thanks to all the ‘energy waves’ from my followers, the pain diminished the second day; then it was just the abscess and swelling to deal with. ~ Linne

  5. Aww – I hope you can get that tooth seen to and have a satisfactory outcome with it asap – not quite anything like a toothache to stop you in your tracks. Lots of good wishes winging their way to you, keep warm and dry too . Don’t be gone too long, we will miss you πŸ™‚ xoxo

    • I don’t have a dentist here; I generally take care of myself, in any case. The sore spot is almost gone today. By tomorrow I shouldn’t have any sign of it. If you’d seen me a couple of days ago, though . . . I was pretty swollen and not sleeping too well, what with getting up to make more hot drink and refresh the cold pack. It worked, which is all I worry about. A good reminder to watch my alkaline/acid levels. I got sorta slack through December. Thanks for all the good wishes. I’m back now. πŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

