Not much new here… but after feeding you all that heavy stuff…

I thought it was time for something lighter and more nutritious . . .

Mum’s been reading in the kitchen all day, so I haven’t wanted to do the dyeing yet. I don’t know if the fumes are toxic or not, but would rather err on the side of caution. So I’ve been on the computer most of the afternoon instead of going out to the store. It’s supposed to warm up to -11C tomorrow, so I’ll go out then. We are nearly out of bread and I’m a bit anxious about using the bread machine after my last fiasco . . . I thought at first I’d make some biscuits, but when Mum didn’t want any, I made this instead and was quite impressed that it turned out . . . PERFECT!!Β  I love this brown rice (Lundberg’s Brown Basmati), but sometimes it’s had a bit too much water left at the end of the cooking; then I have to cook it some more and wait for it to dry off a bit; somehow it always seems a bit gummy after that (not like that stops me eating it!)Β  πŸ˜‰

By thee way, the Lundberg family pioneered growing organic rice in the States. They were far ahead of their times.

Four Lundberg Brothers

These are the four Lundberg brothers, Outstanding in Their Field!

But tonight it was everything I wanted; dry, fluffy, slightly chewy but not too much, and just that bit aromatic . . . so I had a bowl with butter, garlic powder and soya sauce while I waitedΒ  for the other dish to cook. You know, I think a heavy pot with a tight-fitting lid is a great part of the secret . . . and using the correct burner on the stove (I think a couple are a bit old and not heating to the proper temperature when left on the ‘lowest’ setting.

IMG_5012[1]

Now this is what I really started to tell you about (but the amazing rice distracted me):

What was it, you say? Well . . . I’m calling it ‘Mish-Mash’. When my kids were young and at home, I made soup from leftovers and whatever was in the cupboard on a regular basis. I called that soup ‘Cupboard Soup’. I thought this was going to be more like that, but it wasn’t. And it, too, is PERFECT! How unlike me . . .

I found ‘pork bones’ at the grocery the other day – a package for $1.22 and it looked like a fair bit of meat on them, too. Now, I didn’t eat much (or any, sometimes) meat for many years and the only pork I ate for longer than that was bacon as a treat at Christmas. But this was a frugal deal not to pass up.

I dredged the bones in flour with salt, pepper, cayenneΒ and garlic salt in a used bread bag, thenΒ  dropped them in my old heavy pot where waiting for them was bacon fat from my breakfast yesterday and as much olive oil, too. I browned them while I chopped half an onion fairly small along with the end of a stalk of celery plus some celery leaves from the new stalk. those were tipped in and stirred around, then I added enough cold water to come a third of the way up the pot, brought it to a boil and let it simmer for several hours. Then it was let to cool and popped into the fridge.

This afternoon I got it out, started it heating and sliced three carrots, unpeeled (I only peel stuff that has skin too hard to eat, like winter squash). After those were added, more water went in, then a cup of the green split peas left over from making the Risi e Bisi. Brought to a boil again, I tasted it, then added a dollop of soya sauce, turned the heat to half-way and left it to simmer away while the rice cooked. After I ate my bowl of rice, I chopped a quarter head of cabbage into squares about an inch or less on each side (no, I didn’t measure them! Really!! But I knew you’d ask . . .)

Since the rice was done, I used that pot’s lid to cover the big pot. Not a perfect fit, so of course some dripping onto the stove top ensued, but hey . . . at least I can improvise as needed. I have a lid somewhere for that pot (it was our soup and popcorn pot lo, these many aeons ago), but have no idea if it’s here in Edmonton at the apartment, in storage here or in storage in BC. Oh, the life of a Gypsy Collector . . .

Anyway, back to the FeedReader and commenting near and far . . . I had the timer going, luckily or I’m sure I’d have had burnt whatever for supper. πŸ˜‰

What I DID have was this:

IMG_5011[1]

A bit more butter (I filled up the round butter container and this time cut off the corners to make an octagonal shape that wouldn’t smear at the corners, then get on the lid; well, I had to do something with those bits, didn’t I? A shake of salt and pepper, more garlic salt and cayenne, a sprinkle of soya sauce and back to the computer, where the Mish-Mash distracted me mightily from the screen. I think this would be just as good without the meat, if one was vegetarian or vegan (you couldn’t add the butter, then, either). Maybe I’ll try that another time. For now, it was just right for this slightly cool evening (indoors, I mean).

Before I post, I wanted to say that I was sad to hear that Shirley Temple died yesterday evening (10 February) at her home. She was 85. It seemed so strange, hearing that on the news tonight when I was watching ‘Heidi’ only a few days ago with my crafty friend. It’s one of the few films I feel lives up to the original book. I haven’t seen her in ‘Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm’ yet, but now I see that’s on YouTube, too. Also ‘The Little Princess’ . . . nice to have something to anticipate, right?Β  πŸ™‚

If you haven’t seen it, and like old films (this one’s from ’37), it’s on YouTube here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPaNtPbeuWQΒ  This is the colourized version. It may be posted in the original, too; I didn’t look for it yet. What I love most, I think, is the Grandfather’s hut in the Alps. I’d give a lot for a home like that . . . goats and all.

ShirleyTemple 03 Grandfathers Hut

See what I mean? I want this near the sea, with an orchard and a garden like Narf7‘s.

ShirleyTemple 01

Not sure where this one is from, but I think it’s so cute . . .

ShirleyTemple 02

Heidi and The Grandfather

18 thoughts on “Not much new here… but after feeding you all that heavy stuff…

  1. I’ve always had trouble with Basmati Rice and every single bag you buy has different cooking instructions. I even bought a rice cookie but it was a real cheap one and wow did it ever make a mess. It’s ooze sticky water from the lid, drip all down and around the pot and onto the counter. It went off to goodwill. I might look for another but spend some $$, people rave about them.

    • Seems to me my younger son had a rice cooker that worked well with brown rice, but I’m not sure. I use a very heavy pot (Mum’s is aluminium; cast iron is even better, or stainless) with a well-fitted lid. I put in a cup of rice, two cups or a wee bit more of water, a sprinkle of salt and a rounded tablespoon of butter (you can use olive oil, too). Bring to a boil, stir a bit, then pop on the lid and turn the heat down to very low. After 45 minutes, open and stir. If there is still water, cook a bit longer; if not, leave the lid off and let it sit for five or ten minutes to evaporate some of the moisture. You may have to experiment with this a couple of times to get the heat right, but if it’s not cooked at the end of 45 minutes, just put the lid on again after stirring and cook another 5 or 10 min. Go by how much water is left. Next time, use the same burner and set the heat just a smidge higher. You’ll figure it out. Wet rice can also be used to make rice pudding, if you’re into that. By the way, if you want more rice than that, just double everything. It’s always 2 cups water to 1 cup rice. Try the Lundberg Brown Basmati, it’s in all the Safeway stores here and probably in other groceries, too. It’s organic, as a plus. Smells like popcorn while cooking, but doesn’t taste like it; a bit nutty, at least to me. Let me know if you have further trouble and maybe I can help.

  2. Sounds much like Pease pudding for which I have the ingredients to make one day, also bought on special and shoved in the freezer/pantry. Pease pudding with many many extras that is. πŸ˜‰
    Very sad to hear about Shirley Temple. I remember watching Heidi as a child too and that inspired me to read the stories. Yep, all 3 although 1 at least (maybe 2 I can’t remember off top of my head) is by a different author. The stories are all fabulous. πŸ™‚ Off to find a copy of Heidi with the lovely “Curly” Temple. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, very like it! I’d forgotten that name for it, but now you’ve reminded me and I can recite the whole verse. It was a clapping game when I was young.

      I don’t remember reading any further Heidi books; will have to check it out at the library; maybe they still have a copy. They didn’t have the film, though 😦 If you want to share this with your kids, the link takes you to the entire movie on YouTube.

      She was so cute, wasn’t she? And apparently she not only knew her lines perfectly, but those of all the other actors, too. She must have had a photographic memory. I read that her Mum worked hard to keep her unspoilt and I think it worked. I hope you are going to read that to your kids. The evil Aunt Rottenmeier is made for hating. A real witch of a woman.

  3. LOL Pauline! It looks like the spoon really should go to you…you are SUCH a stirrer πŸ˜‰ I agree with everyone and pea and ham soup was an absolute favourite of mine when I was a kid (and a meat eater) and I loved it SO much that Stevie boy the soup Dragon invented a vegan alternative using liquid smoke to give me that hammy hit :). I love the sound of your gorgeous soup Linnie, perfect for a cold winters day and the next day it can be served as “stoop” (stew that was yesterday soup πŸ™‚ ) with rice or over pasta. We make an enormous pot of soup for economies sake and I eat it all week and store some away in the freezer for when I need soul food. I have even started eating some for breakfast I love it that much :).

    I, too, love that you lose everything. I am a quintessential organiser and know where all of my stuff is at any given time (Have been known to tape lids onto pots when I moved) but that comes from moving more times than I would care to admit here and after the first few times losing stuff I soon learned! It’s amazing how adept you can be when faced with a popcorn pan without a lid…nothing quite stirs the creative problem solving juices than popcorn flying out all over your kitchen πŸ˜‰

    I was casually talking to Steve yesterday morning and mentioned your post with the picture of you in it wearing a mask…I said “Linne was wearing a mask…she is dying” and he almost dropped his breakfast bowl! I didn’t realise how that sounded LOL! Have a great day “colouring whatever it is you are colouring” without having to worry about fumigating your mum. Mums have a way of complaining about your actions and giving you serious guilt so best you wait. When I lived with my mum for a short time before Steve moved out (after I split up with my ex and had my 2 girls) to Australia it was a real lesson in how to waltz I can tell you! Sometimes it was more of a tango than a waltz! πŸ˜‰ Here’s to pots with fitting lids and don’t envy me that garden, it’s doing it ALL itself! I am just waving a hose in its general direction and delighting in the fecundity of natures clever cycles. I have frogs in there! I have lizards! I have BUMBLEBEES! It is the old story of the baseball park in “Field of Dreams” (LOVE that movie πŸ™‚ ) “If you build it… they will come!” And come they have πŸ™‚

    • Yes, Pauline should get ‘the spoon’! But her stirring up is just what I need at times and she knows that! πŸ˜‰
      That’s a good soup, however it’s made. I like Steve’s vegetarian adaption for you. (another thing to love about Steve) Everyone needs a Soup Dragon! I had mine over rice the second time and the third time I put milk and brown sugar and cinnamon on the rice and it was last night’s dessert . . . I wish we had a freezer. We have a small in-fridge one, but Mum likes it not too full, so she can see what’s in there. She has a point, too.

      I think in a proper space with storage shelves and cupboards I’d be organized, but that’s not possible here, so I just make do and don’t look at it much. I was saying to Mum the other day that the double garage at her house would have been perfect now if we could have insulated and heated it; just the right size for a good studio and supply storage for both of us. We both miss the house, the garage and especially the garden. If I come across any of my photos, I’ll have to post some.

      I have usually packed lids together, but that has its pitfalls. Taping them onto the pots sounds a better way. I put things like dishtowels inside the pots, often wrapped around something fragile. Good thing I haven’t made popcorn for some time. πŸ˜‰ But there’s always a way, isn’t there?

      How sweet of Steve! Sorry about that, Steve . . . I thought of the sound of it, too, but when you are reading you see the spelling; hearing it’s another thing. I’m glad he cares, though . . .

      I’m lucky; Mum doesn’t complain about the fumes or anything (there aren’t any, really, except the vinegar smell; it’s the invisible toxicity I worry about). I just try to avoid doing things that are bad for her. We have our head-butting in other areas, though. I suppose it’s just human. She is very organized about finances and I am . . . not! I try, but it’s never going to happen that I can see. I settle for surfing along the top of that scary wave and doing my best not to fall in . . . She, like most of my readers, apparently, also opens things immediately. I’m sure I drive her nuts sometimes, too.

      I envy you that garden, especially because it’s doing it all by itself! Perfect Eden, I say! ‘Field of Dreams’ another fave! I think building a better garden is so much better than building a better mousetrap . . .

  4. That looks yummy Linne, pork bones are a cheap source of meat and always good. I also loved that movie Heidi, such a lovely story. My mother was a huge Shirley Temple fan so I have good memories of sitting around as kids watching her movies and Mum just loving them.

    • Wendy, thank you. I remember when soup bones were free at the butcher’s, but they are generally expensive nowadays, especially when there isn’t much meat on them. But these had a lot of meat. I’m pretty sure they were the ends of the ribs after the short ribs were parcelled up.

      Oh, Heidi! I read the book often as a child and later, too. It’s so real in its depiction of people and how they interact and also of human ability to change and improve. How lovely to have those memories of your Mum. My Mum isn’t much into ‘cute’, so I just enjoy them on my own. I’m looking forward to ‘The Little Princess’ 9a favourite book) and ‘Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm’ (another favourite) one day soon. The nice thing about YouTube is being able to watch some now and some later, like Netflix.

  5. I LOVE that movie of heidi + I remember my mother showing it to me before I could even read! That is my favorite one + you are correct it is just like the book. I always wanted to live in the moutains and be heidi when I was a little girl:-)lol. I love cupboard soup! What a great name for everything in there that is around:-)

    • Isn’t it great? I love it for a lot of reasons, not least the Grandfather’s hut. πŸ˜‰ I didn’t see any of her work until I was grown up, but I love it just the same. I read the book many times as a child, then as an adult. It never loses its charm for me. I think because in those days people wrote stories; they weren’t trying to make a buck or ‘brand’ themselves or find a gimmick that would sell lots of copies. (excuse me, I’m gagging here)

      I wouldn’t want to live in the mountains now, but mostly because much of what I’d like to do and grow wouldn’t be possible there. But if I had to, I’d still have a wonderful life. Especially if I could have goats . . . and a dog and cat . . . and a horse (Morgan by preference). πŸ™‚

      I think ‘cupboard soup’ is a close relative of ‘stone soup’, if you know that story . . .

  6. Oh! I hadn’t heard about Shirley Temple, Linne. Thanks for sharing the news – she was such a cutie – I must look up some of her movies and show the kids. I love the idea of your mish mash – especially the vegetarian version. How funny and cheeky is Pauline “sounds like it’s getting quite tropical these days …” etc. Great post, Linne. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    • I know a lot people don’t listen to the news anymore; mostly the same old stuff (they should call it the ‘olds’, really) and I thought there would be some who enjoyed her work as much as I do. She was cute, wasn’t she? and not in a spoilt sort of way, either. Look on YouTube; I saw several there and probably there will be more now that she’s gone.

      Yes, the mish-mash was very good. I’ve made something similar without the meat and I like that just as much.

      Pauline, yes! Cheeky,indeed! But that lets me be cheeky back . . . πŸ˜‰

      Thanks, Dani. Glad to entertain . . .

  7. I’m not much of a meat eater but you made it sound intriguing [I make a healthful and healing broth/soup with an organic chicken now and again, more ‘now’ in the winter time and ‘again’ rarely ion the summer time…. and that’s about it] And I know that need for something carb-ish and tasty and filling on a cold winters night – though it sounds like its getting quite tropical these days. Minus 11, Whooo-ey! It’ll be +1 before you know it and out will come the summer frocks and shorts πŸ™‚

    I always find myself chuckling over your lost and/or misplaced belongings – it would drive me crackers – so I’m in awe at your ability to just soldier on and make do. And at your ability to not do your creative work [just saying] πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Pauline. I’m no chef; just a plain farm-wife sort of cook, but I’m good with thrifty and often with tasty, too. I would have liked this without the meat just as much, but I like to get a bit of extra protein in for the times when Mum eats something I make. She’s very independent and makes most of her own meals, but if I cook extra veg or something like this, she’ll have some. So I watch the nutrition for that. I’m good with lots of veggies and no or rare meat. We had a lot of chicken before Christmas, then two turkey dinners with leftovers (Thanksgiving and Christmas), so Mum’s not much into poultry for a while. My next thing will be some chicken thighs simmered up, then butternut squash added, along with onions, etc. Then I’ll blend the batch for a yummy soup. I like soup cold in the summer if it’s really hot. Of course, the difficulty there is that cooking it heats up the place so much. Sometimes I cook in the evening because we leave the sliding doors open all summer, day and night, so then we are cool again by morning.

      You have it exactly right with ‘carb-ish and tasty and filling’. You forgot ‘soporific’ πŸ˜‰ I had a nice nap after two of the three meals that made. At least I caught up after a couple of wakeful nights.

      ‘Tropical’ hahahahahaha . . . but sadly, it’s not going to make -11, I saw this morning. But it will still be warmer than yesterday; a good thing, as I have to go up to the store for meds and groceries. No matter how hot it gets, though, you won’t be seeing me in shorts (you can breathe again now); however, I do love long skirts and dresses and those will come out if it’s really hot. This is a dry climate, so I follow the Bedouin practise of covering up in the sun, although my things aren’t wool, which is good for making you sweat and then cool off. I’ll have to make do with iced drinks . . .

      Not having my stuff to hand drives me nuts, too, believe me! But no point in whinging about the consequences of my choices, is there? My primary choice is to be here, so needs must I put up with knowing I ‘have’ stuff, but not knowing where, exactly. Never mind in which province . . . I’ve lived a rather makeshift life for most of my years, so soldiering on has gotten to be a habit, I suppose. It’s that or just give up altogether. Not ready to do that.

      You are so right about my ability to not do my creative stuff. But I’m working on it . . . albeit somewhat slowly . . . Thanks for the sweet nudges. Much appreciated. πŸ˜‰

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

