The Adventure Continues . . .

I was up extra early today (but I wanted to sleep, especially after a large bowl of oatmeal) πŸ˜‰

But I was good . . . just how good remains to be seen.

First, I made my second dye solution:

20140212-124751.jpg Now, isn’t that a lovely shade of blue? I used about a sixteenth tsp. of navy, a half plus a sixteenth tsp. of cobalt, then one and a quarter tsp. of turquoise . . . mmmmm (did I ever mention that I’m crazy about colour? No?)

While that was cooking, I did some rather random tieing:

20140212-124904.jpg
Who knows how these will turn out? If they are dreadful, I will cut them up and use the bits . . . I hope they are listening . . . πŸ˜‰

Still, after I wetted them (one at one end, one at two ends, one in the middle), into the dyebath they went, after another piece which shall be revealed later . . .

Time for Anticipation Practise . . . πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ naming no names, of course . . . but their initials are: πŸ˜‰ oh, too many sets; you will have to guess. . .

20140212-131359.jpg

10 minutes later I am re-reading the directions (I do that sometimes, you know, and not always after all else fails . . . I can hear snickering . . . don’t make me come down there . . .

As I was saying . . . 10 minutes in, I realized I’d mis-read the amount of vinegar (dratted metrics; they only work for money . . .), so I quickly stirred in more (and yes, I measured it! Really!!) A person would think you know me or something . . . Sheesh!!

10 more minutes and the second half of the salt was added. The timer was re-set for the second 20 minutes. That was 15 minutes ago; I’ve been typing this on my phone while keeping a close (well, fairly close) eye on the temperature:

20140212-130636.jpg See? It’s not suposed to go above 85C (185 F, but the Centigrade numbers are easier to read and only two digits) πŸ˜‰ I’ve removed the pot from the heat and turned it down a smidge (I do love being precise, don’t you?)

I think I forgot something (not to do; to tell you):

20140212-131750.jpg
See that wee bundle tied to the pot handle? That’s a hank of ribbon. I only want half to be this colour; the other half will probably be that lovely blue.

Just took the pot off again and further reduced the heat. It’s on ‘3’ now.

It’s 1:30 pm now, with another half hour to go. Next batch I think I’ll plan ahead a bit (yes, I hear the giggles) and tie everything the night before. There’s still lots of colour in the dyebath, so it may take a while.

There won’t be a big reveal today, my friends . . . When this is done cooking, it has to cool, then be rinsed, washed with Orvus Paste (special soap), rinsed a second time, then dried. After that, the ties are removed and certain pieces are ironed . . . after all that, I will show you the results, lovely or otherwise (they won’t be otherwise if they know what’s good for them) πŸ˜‰

Have a colourful day, everyone!

30 thoughts on “The Adventure Continues . . .

  1. I am so far behind on blog reading that I have to play catch up here….I just found this after I saw the results on another post. Those are stunning colors! Did I miss something? Are those ribbons you are dying…oh..they are going to be beautiful! That purple is beautiful:-)
    I am so impatient-lol I want to see them finished-lol:-) Yes, I once opened my Christmas present as a kid and taped it back + my parents knew and replaced the present with toilet paper , so Christmas morning I learned a lesson-tee hee:-)

  2. I love green and blue with purple so I guess you attract moths to your flame of a similar lein albeit from far flung antipodean countries around the world. No IDEA what you are dying or why but I guess I am going to have to wait. I don’t do wait well so I might have to chew my fingernails for a bit (wait a minute…I did that yesterday…looks like I might have to chew Earl’s fingernails as Steve says he needs his for playing the guitar πŸ˜‰ ). Don’t wait too long before posting that revealing post…some of us aren’t all that good at holding our breath! πŸ˜‰

    • Narf7, I love those colours, too! So I think you are right. Those are lovely moths that I attract . . .
      Couldn’t post yesterday, so am saving those photos ’til the ironing and some judicious thread-snipping is completed. πŸ˜‰
      Dear Earl: please don’t blame me for your tattered nails; Narfie is enrolled in Anticipation 101 and seems to be having a hard time. But it’s early days . . . Try bringing her a pillow without chewing on it first and you will likely brighten her day. If she seems to be not breathing for too long at one stretch, try first aid; just don’t jump on her too hard, ok? Narfies are delicate things and as easily cracked as eggshells. Thanks, Earl.

      • I don’t think I am a narfy then 😦 I am like old shoe leather and twice as stringy and tough now, like one of Earls hide chews πŸ˜‰ If Earl was to bring me a pillow intact I would no doubt faint (to my detriment πŸ˜‰ ). I just tuckered the poor sod out. I just walked him 8km today! I doubt he will run to chewing pillows as he is wandering around looking sleepy and flopping down on the rug and yawning up at me now πŸ˜‰ I WIN!

      • Oh, you are a perfect narfy! (because I say so, that’s why!) πŸ˜‰ 8 km!! I’m inpressed! Too bad I can’t pop in and walk him with / for you; it would do me a world of good, too. Yay you!!!

      • I outlasted Earl which is saying something, but then I didn’t pull the whole way there and drag the whole way back πŸ˜‰

      • Now if he were a bit more sedate, you could have a wee dog wagon and hitch a ride sometimes; you’d be less worn out and he would be more so . . . but don’t tell him I said that! I’d like to stay friends . . .

      • Earl would LOVE a wagon…it’s me that’s twitching (just the eye) thinking about the careening and the crashing and the screaming…OH the screaming!…I think being sued would be the least of my worries! πŸ˜‰

      • I am hoping you are talking about pulling the wagon with those mammals as otherwise it would be chaos! I must admit, Earl walked nice as pie past cows that were right at the fence mooing at him (they think that our dogs are small calves we are walking on strings πŸ˜‰ ) where usually he does aerobics to try to get to them…maybe he is learning! (Or maybe it was just because he had been exercised for 8km and was too tired to jump πŸ˜‰ )

      • Yes, in a perfect world . . . πŸ˜‰ Sounds like Earl is beginning to mature . . . there IS hope, eh? I suppose 8 km would do it . . . bet you were too tired to jump, too.

      • Glad to hear it! Actually, 8km isn’t that far. My youngest could walk most of 4 miles by the time he was four and further the next year. Then we’d hitch into town and walk all over, then hitch back out to our road and walk the 4 miles uphill . . . good training for a future skateboarder and a future footbagger . . .

  3. Just about my all time favourite shade of blue. Mix that blue with a smidge of that purple and you’ve got INDIGO so your 2 colours are officially my favourites. πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to see all at the BIG REVEAL! πŸ˜€
    Last time I played with dye it involved white bedsheets that, without the optical whiteners found in commercial washing powders (I make my own), were no longer white and so light blue they went. I learned a LOT about dyeing fabric that day. πŸ˜‰

    And yes, I am sniggering my arse off. Wotcha gonna do about it aye? πŸ˜›

    • I hadn’t thought of the indigo thing; my favourite colour, too. I wish I could grow it. Here, I’d need a greenhouse. You could probably do it there, though. I’ll have to try that one day. Anticipation is good for you, I say!! Not to mention certain other readers . . . πŸ˜‰

      Nice you dyed your sheets. I read somewhere about a woman who dyed her sheets, then wrote a love poem to her husband on the top sheet. Now, years later, they still have it and use it for a picnic blanket when they take their kids to the park or whatever. A lovely story. Can’t remember where I saw it now . . .

      Hmmmm….. sniggering . . . guess I’ll have to plan that trip, eh? Oh, right, it’s a trap; you will duct tape me to the rocker and a kid to each arm with one in my lap. Oh, well, my idea of heaven, actually, so long as there are books and cookies (bikkies) within reach . . .

      • And I’ll duct tape the kids to you and the chair too! Gluten free, sugar free and all artificial preservatives and colour free, hopefully organic homemade biscuite in mega supplies left within reach of your duct taped hands but not the kids. πŸ˜‰ And then I’ll build a duct taped box around you just to be triply sure you’re not going home again! πŸ˜›
        I LOVE the idea of the love letter sheets. I reckon I might do something like that one day. πŸ™‚ The sheets need a re-dye – maybe deep but bright green this time and nice and solid in colour too. Then a permanent marker and I can get stuck in writing sonnets, poems, verses and more thereon. Hang on, new doona (duvet) cover to be made perhaps? Oooo the ideas!
        Never thought about growing indigo. A friend of mine in town here blogged about it once. http://livinginballan.blogspot.com.au/2012/12/indigo-dyeing-by-hmong-people.html I’d never heard of it before and had absolutely no idea! Not sure I’d make the effort at this stage even if I could. As pretty as indigo is, I feel that the focus really must be on edibles and other living necessities at this stage in the game.

      • Granny heaven! duck taped to kidlets . . . with snackies, too . . . and a box?? What if you decide you want me to go home again? How will that work? I hope you do make those sheets . . . and then post pictures . . . I think it might have been 23 Thorns’ wife Tracy Loves History, who made that, now I think of it. Imagine a pair of twin sheets hemmed top and bottom to make curtains. You could transfer some of the kids’ drawings on (I say you so it would be attractive, and not a mish-mash), then write on some of the cute things they say. Could be quite cute . . .

        I saw from some of your later comments (I’m very behind here) that you’ve been looking into indigo plants. I’m excited to see what comes of that.

      • If I decide I want you to go home again then I’ll pack you and the kids in that pox and post it to Canada! πŸ˜‰

        Curtains are on my list for our house but I think you’ve just helped me out with ideas there. Thanks!

      • I have tonnes of ideas, every day, so it’s nice when some are actually useful! You are most welcome.
        And if you ship me and the kids back here, make sure you address it to my Mum; she loves the little ones. πŸ˜‰
        As to my coming down there . . . be careful what you wish for . . .

      • Sounds fascinating! I’ll check out links later on; today is library day, it’s 4:00 pm and I haven’t yet had breakfast. Best get a move on, eh? In my defense, I was up ’til late rinsing certain items (which look pretty good, if I do say so myself; at least it isn’t a total bust), then was getting up when my Aunty came up for a long visit. Then Mum started making her food, so I sat down to check comments, etc. and something happened to the clocks . . . we seem to have visitations from the Time Warp faeries any time I’m in this room . . . πŸ˜‰

      • ‘Fraid I still love the traditional breakfast and usually I have mine quite a while before Mum is up and around. But there may be a benefit to eating later and less often; it will likely lower the postage when you ship me back . . . πŸ˜‰

  4. Oh ya, love tie-dye. I can’t wait to see your items. I had a tie-dye birthday for a friend and it was so fun. We all dyed a tank top. I forget where I ordered the kit from but it was a cold dye process and we did it outside…I ruined what I was wearing (of course).

    • Me, too; I still have a few tie-dye T-shirts from years ago. One place I worked was a warehouse selling organic and natural foods and products; one of the staff made lovely T-shirts for each of us.

      I’m hoping it worked, is all. If not, it’s a learning thing, anyway. That birthday party sounds like lots of fun. I know Dharma Trading where I get some of my stuff from sells party kits. Maiwa, where I buy most of mine, is more for serious artists, I think. They are on Granville Island in Vancouver and Dharma is in California. San Rafael, I think. Of course you ruined what you were wearing! What were you thinking? πŸ˜‰ I haven’t splashed once (yet), but I’m sure it will happen . . .

      • LOL, I wasn’t thinking….I started off wearing a plastic coat but it was 32 C that day…HA! Now that you’ve said their name, yes it was Dharma Trading, their Birthday Kit. You get oodles of colour. I should have worn something trashy, but it was a Birthday Party

      • Bet that coat didn’t stay on long! πŸ˜‰ Dharma is great; I hope Maiwa starts carrying more of the same things. I try to buy Canadian, but so often now you just can’t find a Canadian source. I know Mum has had to buy basket making supplies out of the States for some time now. Those birthday party kits looked like a lot of fun! Maybe next time, have a Dress Like Trash party?

  5. The colours are just gorgeous – now if you’d just throw in a bit of green there too….
    This is moving forward at slightly faster than a snails pace now – very exciting and anticipation is growing πŸ™‚

    • Green . . . funny you should mention that; it’s the next dye lot I will make. Green is our favourite, Mum’s and mine. She says it goes with anything and the proof is that all the leaves are green for all sorts of colours in the flowers. And she’s right! So, green coming up soon . . . practise that anticipation, now, y’hear? And yes, slightly faster than a snail . . . no worries, it’s my gift to you; building your Anticipation Appreciation! πŸ˜‰

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

