Voila!! (Part the first)

IMG_5051[1]

These are the dental floss ties I used on the first three projects. They took the dye quite nicely, so I’m saving them for use elsewhere; maybe on my neglected day cards.

IMG_5059[1]  IMG_5060[1]

On the left, a close-up of the Mystery project front. You can see the multitude of ties (I didn’t tie those; it was done by a master artist in India. If I’d done it, I’d still be on the first couple of rows). On the right, a close-up of the back. Note: Colours are not accurate.

  IMG_5058[1]  IMG_5057[1]

The Mystery project, front (left) and back (right).

IMG_5063[1]  IMG_5064[1]

Scarf # One, both ends.

IMG_5065[1]  IMG_5066[1]

Scarf # Two, both ends.

IMG_5067[1]  IMG_5068[1]

Scarf # Three, both ends.

IMG_5070[1]  IMG_5069[1]

On the left, the bundle of silk ribbon which is half dyed. The other end will be dyed as part of the next dye lot and will be a different colour. On the right, a close-up of the detail in one of the scarves. I’m quite happy with how these came out.

IMG_5072[1]  IMG_5073[1]

On the left, a close-up of the ribbon. On the right, the Mystery project, hung up to dry.

* * * INTERMISSION * * *

IMG_5075[1] IMG_5076[1]

The Barn Cardi to date: on my Aunty, it reaches to her ankles;

maybe I should have kept going? 🙂

Not sure if I’ll have time to write the second post;

I have all the photos in already, but there’s still a way to go.

If I don’t get it done tonight, tomorrow for sure . . . savour the Anticipation . . .

🙂  🙂  🙂

22 thoughts on “Voila!! (Part the first)

  1. I love the Aunty in the cardi! What a gorgeous shot! The silks look fantastic too. I’ve never tie dyed anything but I’ve never been much into it. I would love to give batik a go one day though. And macrame. Born 30 years too later perhaps? 😉

    • She’s great, isn’t she? Always willing to model for me . . . that photo really shows how long the cardi is, too. Thanks for the compliments. Tie dye is something you might want to do with the kidlets one day. Don’t use the same dyes for cotton, though; acid dyes apparently are best suited to proteins like wool and silk. Kool-Aid works a treat on wool, too, but not on cotton. Follow that link to Dharma Trading to see the party dye kits JoLynn, I think, was mentioning. A great treat for outdoors and a party. She said there was lots of dye in the kit, too. T-shirts, sheets, pillowcases, what have you . . . even old shirts or dresses. Best on white, of course. I haven’t done batik yet, but would like to do it one day. Mum did tonnes of macramé and my Crafty Friend makes all sorts of plant hangers with it; fancy, long ones! If you look at the photos of her back yard that I posted recently, you can see a couple hanging in her leafless trees. Nope, I don’t think you were born too late; you are on the cusp of the next batch of hippies . . . 🙂 🙂

    • It is a bit like that morning glory colour . . .
      I just had to have her try it on; way too big around (although not quite wide enough for me yet) 🙂 She’s been my model for a couple of knitted shawls I’ve been working on at times, too. She loves to help me out a bit. And I love her!

      • She’s a wee ball ‘o’ fire, that one. 94 in a few days and full of vim, if not so much vigour as formerly. Needs support, but resists fiercely any overt attempts to help. It takes a lot of sensitivity and strategy to be effective. She’s pretty much my polar opposite . . . but I do love her dearly. Not for her the ‘sweet little old lady’ image, I can tell you! Once she was at a football (American football) game here; this was a decade or two back. A big man a couple of seats behind her gave her heck verbally for cheering for the Saskatchewan team (she and most of her sibs were born there) instead of the local Alberta team. She turned around, climbed up on her seat and gave him a piece of her mind! He was laughed at by everyone nearby and after that held his tongue. Wish I’d seen it . . . but the eyewitness stories were quite hilarious!

  2. There appears to b a colourtheme emerging – the tie dye and cardi match! Is the cardi really long or your aunt really short? It looks FAB-U-LOUS!! The dyed things are also looking fabulous – I’m off to read part the second which is sitting in my email and nearly got opened first……. Oh btw, there’s no such word as proceleustamist – I have spent hours trying to find it in dictionaries and they all tell me no!! Wicked creature!! 🙂

    • They aren’t actually that close; it’s the iPhone’s limitations, I fear . . . the cardi is more of a bright magenta; the shawl and scarves more a pink-tinged wine; quite rich to my eye. my Aunty is very short; the shortest in her family; barely five feet. My Mum was the tallest of the seven girls and was five ten, just like me. But the cardi is very long . . .
      Thanks for the kind words, too. I’m having fun with the dyeing, now that the initial anxiety has been quelled for a time.

      Ha! There IS and I found it online (trying to find a long word that went with pulchritudinous and began with P. 🙂
      Go here: http://phrontistery.info/p.html and scroll down about three quarters of the way. 😉 check out the definition . . . 😉 😉 😉
      But I’m wicked, for sure! Hope that’s one thing I never outgrow . . . doesn’t look likely now, though . . . 🙂

      • What a fabulous site!! I’ve bookmarked it – thanks for sending that my way – I love words and that one had me stumped, I couldn’t get more than the first syllable’s etymology! Well done you, that’s definitely one up for Linne! Narfie7 and CC back to the drawing board 🙂

        I’m glad the anxiety has worn off, just play its so obvious you have a good feeling for colour so trust it! It’s exciting to see what you might do next…….

      • You’re very welcome, CC! I love words, too . . . language, languages, languaging (how we use language) and more . . . there’s no end . . . Glad you like the site. Thanks for the compliment, too. I do love colour as much as words! Three visits from my Aunty today, two of them long, plus three phone calls from young friend in BC whose cat has cancer, is over 15 and the vet wants to do surgery (not to remove the cancer, but to open the salivary gland or duct or something) at only $1,200. My friend is like me; she loves her kitty but isn’t going to be silly about thinking she can keep her here forever. Anyway, no time for dyeing today. It won’t be long, though. Don’t want to wear out your new Anticipatory ‘muscles’. hahaha ~ Linne

      • You have been busy today! Re the kitty, this is what I think – when cancer strikes an older cat it is so much more humane to keep them comfortable as long as they are pain free and then let them go. This crazy materialistic cut ’em up and rip bits out mind set is – well, just crazy! Why do that to a dying animal? Even if I could afford it I would not choose to do that to my pet. And I shall be very sad when my boy goes, but I shall let him go – peacefully and uncut!

        I have a lovely poem somewhere – it begins
        ‘I will lend to you for a while, a cat’, said God
        ‘To love while he lives and mourn when he is dead. Maybe for twelve or thirteen years,
        Maybe just two or three.
        But will you, til I call him back, take care of him for me?’

        It’s quite syrupy, but I found it very comforting when my old girl got sick and I had to make the decision to let her go a few years back.

        If you want I can write out the rest and send it to you.

      • Yes and today, too! In a good way, though. I am like you when it comes to death, people or animals. We seem to have forgotten that death is a natural part of life, not to be feared, but to be met with courage and love. I think the best we can do for anyone is to welcome them when they arrive here and later hold their hand / paw as they take those last steps back to that door. Not always easy, but always very worthwhile. I’ve had to have animals put down (for pain) and have also just cared for them until they left naturally. I’m lucky this comes instinctually for me; others have a lot of struggle at this point, I find.

        The poem is sweet, as you say, but a good reminder. I would love to have the whole thing. You could take a photo of it, too, if that’s easier. Thanks for the offer. ~ Linne

  3. Now either your aunty is of the midget persuasion or that cardi is LONG! Now I can see it on her it looks really lovely Linnie 🙂 Most intriguing fabric that Indian master crafted stuff…I notice there is “Part 2” in my RSS Feed inbox so I am off to take a gander now…unlike you I am impatient! 😉

    • She’s very tiny; around five foot tall and weighs maybe 70 lb; quite possibly less than that. The cardi is long, alright; I’m five foot ten, and it comes to my knees. Not much use having a cardi that doesn’t keep you warm when you sit down (not here, anyways). Besides, I was having so much fun with those patterns, I was tempted to make it ankle length on me! 😉

      The shawl is tied in the Bandhani technique; a single thread wound around four layers, bottom to top, back down to bottom and then looped to hold. Then it’s carried to the next spot about an inch away and the process repeated. When the thread runs out, it’s looped and left and another is begun. It leaves a very textured piece, with what look like miniature mountains, some pointing up and some down. The fabric was folded twice before tying, which affects the colour pattern a bit, too. Impatient, eh? I should have left a ‘part the third’ for tomorrow or next week . . . 😉 You are such fun!!

      • I wish I could mail it ’round to each of you to have a look and a feel; it’s definitely ‘pointy’, but not in an unpleasant way, as the texture is so elastic. I got a photo of it on my Aunty to share soon. If I put it ’round my shoulders and tie the top two corners, then stretch it out and down, it comes well below my bum and wraps around me in a most satisfying way. Like a big hug and very light and airy.

        Isn’t that tying great? I have figured out how it’s done from doing the untying, but one would have to be very quick with the fingers to do it for a living. I think I’ll try it when I find my big piece of silk yardage, but not all over; maybe just a few rows ’round the borders. hmmmmmm………….

    • On the shawl, it was cotton thread; about the weight for relatively fine crochet, but not the finest. I never did any tie-dyeing back then. Weird, eh? But I was never a fashionable hippie; I was a frustrated back-to-the-lander ‘bush’ hippie. Frustrated because we had no way to buy land. 😉
      Dental floss worked wonderfully. There is a wider tie, too, called Ikat tape, that I would like to try sometime. Thanks for the compliments. That cardi is turning out better than expected . . .

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

