Fermentation February: My first tempeh!

More fermenting for your kitchens . . . ~ Linne

gather and grow

I love to notice how cultured foods tend to retain their indigenous names even as they travel around the world and find their way into new kitchens far from their land of origin. Reading through a fermentation book is like reading a travel guide, with one exotic-sounding name after the other: kvass, kombucha, kefir, tempeh, kimchi, sauerkraut, labneh, idli, dosa, tongba, miso… or how about gv-no-he-nv? In most cases, when adopting these cultured foods, other cultures have simply kept the original name, no matter how awkward-sounding. Why? Because each name designates a specific, unique strand or type of fermented food. And each name tells a story about where it comes from. Tibetan tara is similar to, but different from, the kefir that originates from the Central Asian Caucasus. Finnish viili is quite unique in comparison with what we call by the Turkish name yogurt. If we were to…

View original post 422 more words

19 thoughts on “Fermentation February: My first tempeh!

  1. Like inavukic I believe these ancient cultures knit us together. By keeping them going and passing them on we are effectively sharing our culture (no pun intended πŸ˜‰ ) and heritage and sharing the love around. Building communities relies on people sharing and sharing the cultured love is a great start. People getting together and learning about things together and finding out about what goes into these cultures makes for a magnificent opportunity to understand each other and learn from each other. Cheers for this share Linnie. Probably going to stuff this one in my RSS Feed Reader ASAP. I have 244 feeds now…whats another feed between friends eh? πŸ˜‰

    • Maybe what we will end up with is a new culture, or maybe several new cultures. Who knows?
      Glad you like it, Narfie! I’m not sure how many are in my FeedReader; I just dip in here and there and try not to neglect my friends . . .

      • πŸ™‚ I am just about to cull most of the cooking blogs… don’t need them, do need the gardening and craft ones though and my mates so should be able to narrow them down a bit now that I need to get outside more now that it is cooling down a bit (still no rain though…)

      • What I’ve done with most of the interesting but not essential blogs has been to save them to various folders in my Favourites (under the master folder ‘Blogs to Follow’ . . . and why isn’t that a ‘mistress’ folder? I want to know!)

        Hard to believe how many are tucked away there and my FeedReader still runneth over . . .

        Hope I am un-culled, but after you see the end of today’s post . . . all bets are off . . . πŸ˜‰

      • lol! Haven’t caught up (or even started to) with the RSS Feed Reader after going to my girls place this weekend so will have to chastise you as I read. I don’t bother to sort my blogs into folders, the RSS Feed Reader that I use is very easy to isolate what is what and I just work from “A” through to “Z” and yes, I do have blogs represented in most alphabetical categories πŸ˜‰

      • What’s under ‘X’? or dare I ask? πŸ˜‰
        Chastise away! I live to serve . . . (oh, yeah, I gave that up for Lent a few years ago and didn’t pick it up again. Oh, well . . .)

        I save into the folders if I don’t want to follow regularly. Then if I’m looking for something, it’s easier to find. I use the WordPress Reader, so things show up as they are posted.

      • I cannot believe you are ‘cooling off’!! How does THAT work? WE are ‘cooling off’ here . . . so who’s hogging the heat, then? I ask you!!

      • I am bouncing them right back to you…too many warm thoughts and I think I am having hot flushes! πŸ˜‰

  2. I like that too because the mere name of a dish makes us somehow feel closer to the culture it originates from and when we enjoy the dish – or not – a thought or two goes to that origin, always – at least with me πŸ˜€

    • That’s a good point! I used to make my own soymilk, tofu and okara loaves and patties. Haven’t done it for a long time, though. I always thought about Japan, its language and culture when I did, though.

      • I do, too. I only worry that as we appropriate so much of other cultures and they do the same, we may end up with less character, or at least less uniqueness. We don’t have much here that is uniquely Canadian, but I wish that we did. Still, I love to learn about other cultures, so I’m not sure how we find the balance.

      • I think the best balance is found in keeping ones own and sampling that others’ from time to time for pleasure and curiosity and expanding our social conscience

      • I think you are right. Here, we are pretty basic. No fancy dishes except for Christmas and Thanksgiving. Mum does her own thing. For me, supper’s mostly steamed or stir-fried veggies with brown rice, pasta or potato. Meat, too, but not every day. Eggs, porridge or pancakes for breakfast. I love salads, but in this weather . . . πŸ™‚

        I like to eat unusual foods when I go out, but that’s rare. No point paying for a poor imitation of what I eat on a regular basis . . .

        I like East Indian, Vietnamese and Thai foods. We are lucky to have good and affordable restaurants here. I’m sure the high-end ones are even better.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

