about time . . .

20140312-021203.jpg
That’s a.m.! (my nice note from Christi is below – it came with poor Delilah, now deceased). But I think of Christi (and then the rest of you folks by association) whenever I’m in the kitchen . . .

Well, the ceilings have been looked at and discussed again and it’s possible they will wait for the place to be empty before fixing them. We hope!

20140312-031836.jpg

20140312-031857.jpg

20140312-031944.jpg

20140312-032011.jpg

20140312-032030.jpg

20140312-032110.jpg

20140312-032212.jpg
That’s our living room (lounge) after quite a bit of work (I’m not showing you the ‘before’ pictures LOL!)

So . . . finally everyone was gone, Mum was making her supper and I sat down at the computer to get some work done.

20140312-032546.jpg
I’d created tags for the scarves, but it took me a couple of hours before I finally figured out how to print them on business card blanks . . . and then the printer spoilt three sheets, drawing them in unevenly and also ignoring the margins. Aarrrgggghhhhhhh…………
The last sheet (part of it is seen above) was usable, just. Oh, well . . .

Then . . . I was planning to upload a couple of scarves into the store. I took pictures out on the balcony this afternoon (the Etsy Guidebook says natural light is best). Not for the iPhone, apparently, although I haven’t figured out why . . . All my photos here are taken with the phone. So I tried taking new ones by putting a large piece of cotton fabric on Mum’s bed, then a scarf and photographing it in sections so the detail would be clearer.

20140312-033507.jpg
An outdoor pic

20140312-033613.jpg
An indoor pic
What to do? I had set today as my deadline to open the store, but had no usable photos.
Woa… is me (I’m one letter away from turning blue . . . πŸ˜‰ Nothing like a bad pun, eh?

But all is not lost! Last time I was visiting my friends, Mrs. and Mr. Crafty, I photographed her dolls Jenny and Jed. Remember?

20140312-034311.jpg
Jenny

20140312-034356.jpg
Jed

So . . . a couple more hours were spent invested and finally I had all the information typed up, photos uploaded and the Store Announcement changed . . .

20140312-034706.jpg
An adorable couple . . .

. . . and the store was officially open!
Whew!!! But at least I learned a bit . . .

By then it was 2:00 a.m., so Mum went to bed and I made some supper (no, not chocolate; steamed veg and pasta) and watched the last of the director’s commentary on “How to Train Your Dragon”, which I’d viewed over a few days last week. Just what I needed!

20140312-035624.jpg
. . . and fell asleep . . .

So, the linkie to the store is coming up soon . . .

Bet you thought I’d forget, eh? πŸ™‚ It’s now after 5:00 am and I’m done for now, so . . .

. . . Go forth, my friends, and, as Jean-Luc Picard would have said (had he been captain of the spaceship ‘Serenity’, “Make it Shiny!!”

39 thoughts on “about time . . .

  1. Those little dolls are adorable! Love them. I too only take pics with my iPhone. I just don’t have the time or talent to mess with a camera and all that! πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks, DebtGirl! Debbie puts in a lot of time on them, and loving care, too. Her daughter sold one for her and only asked $14 !!! I was not impressed. The buyer later suggested she put her prices up (a lot!), as the woman is a collector and regularly pays over $100 for comparable dolls. (she didn’t offer to pay more, though πŸ™‚ )

      I thought most of my pics were ok on the blog (a few are too dark), but for the store they don’t seem to look right. I’m going to try taking indoor pics after the ironing is done today and see how that goes. It might have been partly using a bright white cotton piece for the background, too.

    • Tut, tut! back at you . . . πŸ™‚ I love mixing things up! And I love Shiny!! I knew you’d recognize the usage, but put in an explanation for non sci fi people. I suppose there are some out there, somewhere . . .

      Serentiy and Firefly will always be favourites with me and I always enjoyed Jean-Luc Picard, so what else could I do? πŸ™‚

    • I had to laugh, Wendy . . . you should have seen it before we moved a lot of things into the second storage unit! I have photos, but doubt I will ever post them. I’d have no friends left . . . lol

      The store is exciting; we’ll have to see how it goes. Not everything will be pricey, but Debbie spends days on her dolls and comparable ones have similar tags on them. It’s hard figuring out a good price point; no one wants to work for $2 per hour, but many people can’t afford expensive. I’m looking forward to putting other things in there, too. I have another store set up, related to this blog; I may open it, too, and use it for more of the odds and ends sort of creations. I don’t want to go into major production of any one item; too stressful and not as much fun. But it’s early days still.

      • πŸ™‚ My spare room is like that Linne πŸ™‚

        It’s hard to know how to price handcrafts isn’t it, at the end of the day you rarely recoup what they true cost of all that time would be, but an outlet is an outlet and the chance to earn something. Good on you and I hope all goes well for you there πŸ™‚

      • If it’s only the spare room, you are lucky, Wendy! I have two storage units in BC and one and a half here, plus what’s in the apartment! I didn’t plan it that way, but that’s life. eh?

        Yes, hard to know how to price. I’ve been looking at similar items as a starting point. Interesting that people are willing to pay a plumber full price, even when they don’t do much of a job, but well-made items like the dolls are another story. I suppose it comes down to what we need and what we can live without. It will be fun and at least there’s no chance of losing anything. Years ago, I took a big load of my sons’ dad’s artwork to Vancouver to be shown in a hotel (and offered for sale, too). When I went back to pick them up, several were missing with no satisfactory explanation. No $$$, either. Life is always a learning thing, isn’t it? I still prefer ‘handshake’ deals, but only when my gut feeling says it’s ok. The dolls will reside at my friends’ place until they sell or are removed from the store. So no chance of them going astray.

        Thanks for the good wishes, Wendy. It’s worth trying, anyway. I know out of thousands of people, only a handful make any real money, and I don’t want to work 12 hours or more every day, so am not likely to be in that category. But every bit helps and that’s worth it to me. If nothing sells (except Pauline’s two), I will consider putting them in a store down on Whyte Ave. (our hippie artsy district that attracts plenty of tourists). We’ll see.

      • It’s worth a go anyway Linne, and an interest for you πŸ™‚ If we don’t try we get nowhere and yes, every little bit helps these days.

        We are thinking of having a boarding place for dogs whose owners don’t want to put them in kennels. Just two at the most and they can sleep by the fire etc. Many owners of older dogs hate putting them in boarding kennels so…..a possible way to make money from home. My work will dry up soon and, as the saying goes, money makes the world go around. We don’t need too much but a little more than ‘just enough’ would be good ay πŸ™‚

      • Oh, yes, Wendy. Every little bit, indeed, especially since I can’t grow things here. Narfie suggested I grow in pots on the balcony, but now we have to bring everything inside mid-April for a balcony inspection; then they will make any needed repairs and we will be lucky if that’s done with before the snow flies again . . . meantime, we will have a couple of tables, two ratty old big chairs, two ratty wooden chairs, and assorted ‘stuff’ in here. Unless I figure a way to move some of it to the storage unit . . . 😦 This could go on all summer . . .

        A boarding place sounds great, as you would have the fun of dogs without the long-term commitments . . . and you would be at home with them. Perfect! I wish you just enough customers to fill the coffers and keep you happy; and may they all be lovely people who appreciate what you do for them.

        A little more than ‘just enough’ indeed! Hence the lotto tickets . . . I can’t really justify that, but I do it anyway, so I say it’s my vice, as I don’t smoke, rarely drink (and more rarely buy a drink LOL), rarely eat out except for the occasional fancy coffee and sausage roll or muffin. Still . . .

        Hope that works out for you, Wendy; I would leave a dog with you if I had one; and I’m very particular about leaving my animals with anyone . . . no point going away if you have to worry the whole time. I’ll be thinking of you and this new venture, should it go ahead . . . warm hugs to you as you cool off . . .

      • Thanks Linne πŸ™‚ And I would absolutely continue to buy your lotto tickets…someone has to win and one person has just as much chance as another! Our winnings aren’t nearly as high as yours would be but I know people who have won our lotto. My sister got a second prize and I am living in the town I do because of lotto! During the last recession my first husband was made redundant 3 times and had just lost another pub management job (they were selling out like hotcakes) and his good friend won Lotto. He wanted a country pub, bought one and asked Allan to run it so we all moved here….6 months later the idiot decided he didn’t want that after all, sold it, left us stranded in a new town with no jobs and we couldn’t afford to move back. We heard 2 years later he won 2nd prize in lotto. Go figure.

      • hahaha . . . took your advice today . . . the big prize tonight is something over 43Mil$$ CDN. I could take care of all my very large extended family, some friends and then have money left over for some projects that I dream of . . . And yes, I’d take care of me, too. πŸ™‚

        Too bad the idiot didn’t leave you two to run the place and just move back to town; that might have worked better. Of course, maybe it wasn’t your dream to work in someone’s pub forever, either . . .

        My young friend in Victoria knew a guy from Quebec who won a big lotto TWICE! I met him, too . . .

        That story of ending up where you are because of lotto and someone else’s dream is so familiar. No lotto in my case, but when my eldest was six weeks old, we moved with friends to a country acreage (mostly forested) where we were all to build homes. We had a floor and the framework for an A-frame cabin done when the mill went on strike for a long time, the contract to our friends to make scaling sticks of resin (to float; the metal ones sank; they are used to measure timber as it floats in the millponds) was cancelled and everyone but us moved back to town; we had no money to pay rent, so stayed put. they did leave us a bag of rice and a bag of split peas; our mainstay for some time after. That was my “8 months on $5 cash” odyssey . . . amazing what one can do when pushed (and stubborn; we weren’t going to ask anyone for help). We got two deer (goat-size on the Island), picked chanterelle mushrooms, gathered oysters, etc., the boys’ dad traded work for second-crop corn and we dried them. It was amazing how much came to us, one way and another . . .

        I think like you, Wendy; someone is going to win, but not a person with no ticket! I win quite often, but so far $100 was the largest prize. That came in when I was out of work and had just moved into this building. A scary time and that $100 fed me for a month (I had stuff in the pantry and my crafty friends’ eldest grandson died suddenly at 13, so his parents gave me a case of mac n cheese they would buy for him. Not my usual fare, but I’m a survivor. πŸ™‚ The $100 meant I could buy veggies to eke it out.

        It’s so nice that you managed to find a place of your own in the end, no matter what hardships there were leading up to that. And I loved seeing the transformation from your early days to now. Amazing what one can do with a small bit of earth, isn’t it?

      • I hated working in a pub, not me at all. But my husband, after a few hard months, got a job on a dairy farm so we moved there. We had bought 3 teenage boys down and there was little work so it was hard. We lived in a caravan someone loaned us, pinched food from local orchards etc 😦 But….I would never have met Roger without all that and I dreamed of Roger in my 20’s, so there ya go πŸ™‚ I have to believe in destiny even if it seems a hard road getting there.

        The stories women can tell ay!?

        Good luck with those lotto tickets!! We rarely buy them nowadays but did for many years. we buy them when the prize is really big.

      • Definitely not an introvert job, is it? I thought about it once (just thinking, not actually with the idea I would try it) and I knew I’d be fired the first night, after I dumped some idiot’s beer in his lap after he was rude, crude or just plain too drunk . . . πŸ˜‰

        That was a tough patch for you, eh? Been there myself, so I do know what you mean. When we moved out of the big house due to the roof leaking so badly, we had a small Airstream caravan and lived there for a while, but the boys were still young, so it wasn’t so bad as teens. Still . . . I’ve pinched food, too (mostly harvesting shellfish out of season or deer same; you do what you have to if you have hungry kids).

        How nice that you and Roger met up because of living there. Worth it in the end, wasn’t it? (well, except for him trimming the walnuts and similar stuff LOL) Yes, we need to tell our stories, too, so the young ones don’t think they are alone in the struggle . . .

        Thanks for the lucky thoughts! I was told many years ago that I would have a lot of money later in my life, so I hope that was a true prediction. I buy at least one a week, and more if it gets really high. One day, eh?

      • Well, plain fact is money makes our world go around and actually having plenty would be nice in many ways. We are always hopeful something nice will happen to us as it does to others and who knows….!

        I have often said I could never be a waitress, soon or later someone would wear their meal lol. For many years I worked in retail but as the years have gone on the general public have become quite rude (generally stressed!) and honestly, having to wait on people like that would end up in some sort of disaster.

        Yes, you do what you have to for your kids, absolutely.

      • I wish you plenty of the green stuff, Wendy! and all the homesteaders in the Village, most of whom are getting by ok, but could do more with a bit of extra of the ready . . . You certainly deserve lots of nice things to happen to you . . .

        I loved working in the craft store, the antique store and the clothing store that was a small indie business (the owner lived in Bali half the year due to a handicap that made walking here in winter quite treacherous; she had fabrics dyed to her specs, then sewn into clothing to her designs; most were for plus-size women, as it’s so hard to find lovely things if one isn’t willowy in build. I bought a lot of her fabric ends at $3 a yard; a real steal). In all those places, the customers were happy people for the most part, artsy, creative and people who appreciated beauty. So they were, almost without exception, wonderful to help. I’d hate working in a large department store (actually, I did for a while and the customers were very challenging; going through towels I’d just straightened up, opening them up, then dropping them wherever).

        Yes, like many others, I’d do whatever it took if it meant a kid didn’t go hungry . . . and not only my own, either.

      • That sounds like the absolutely ideal job for you, I can imagine you there and loving it. I can imagine me loving it too!!! I would adore working in a shop like that.

      • OH, it was (except that I became a good customer and was only making a bit above minimum and the work was part-time except at Christmas). LOL It would have been fun to work with you in a shop like that. Imagine all the fun we’d have gotten up to . . . We have a large department chain called The Hudson’s Bay (well, now it’s just “The Bay” and is owned out of the states somewhere, so we don’t have it anymore). The antique store and the Lewiscraft store that was my first manager position were in adjoining alcoves at one end of the big store. So we benefitted from shared customers and they benefitted from our taking care of niche markets. I loved doing the displays, too. Lots of fun! And I had awesome staff, which makes a difference, too, of course. At the antique store I was just an employee, but it was still a great job. The owner managed it but didn’t work there except in emergencies. We had so many lovely old things, back to the 1800s in some cases. I still think about many of them. sigh . . .

      • Sounds lovely. I used to love doing the displays as well. Perfect job for those of us who love old things ay πŸ™‚ I bought heaps of stuff that unfortunately I no longer have except one carved table I refused to part with. Roger and I almost bought a forestry block we were going to live in a big old bus on – we sold all our stuff then backed out at the last minute. I had some beautiful furniture I had bought so cheap!

      • I had to laugh at this, but not in a mean way . . . When I was first on my own, I bought a schoolbus (a big one; as long as a city bus), painted it and began building beds, etc. inside. But the city forced me to have it inspected and the only wheel they pulled had a problem (forget what exactly now), so then they pulled the other wheels, which were ok. But by the time I’d had the problem fixed (and it would only have been important if I drove it long distances on the highways, which I never did) I’d gone through my reno money. So I lived in it with my first DIL, who had recently broken up with my son, but who is still a big part of my life. We lived in it through two summers and a winter before I sold it to someone looking for a transport vehicle. The stuff I’d put in wasn’t fastened to the chassis, so was easy to pull out. It was fun living in it, except for the very cold spell that winter, with lots of snow and freezing temps; we would fill gallon jugs with hot water at the shower/toilet facility, go back, wrap them in towels, get into our beds under all our covers and watch tv. Days, my DIL was going to school, so it was only me to keep warm. A great adventure, though. Summers were spent in a cool campground with no real facilities at all, but right next to the sea.

        Too bad you never bought the forestry block; you could have built a tiny house or two for your treasures! But it’s scary sometimes, doing big things like that. Too bad you’d already sold your things, but I’m glad you still have the table. I hope you kept photos of the things you let go. I would. πŸ™‚

      • That does sound like an adventure – making good memories πŸ™‚ We only would’ve been left with a certain amount of money to build a dwelling but the council had everything wrapped up, it would’ve taken all that to put in a long required concreted drive and get the permits for everything, plus we needed to put in a well because there was so little available running water. The most gorgeous area though out in the wops with an old gold mine on it πŸ™‚ I really wanted it but it would’ve been foolhardy to go head on such a limited budget.

        No, I never took photos 😦 I had a huge old Kauri dresser with leadlight windows, wrought iron beds etc. Terribly disappointing when I think back but “them’s the breaks”.

      • Too bad you didn’t have some like-minded friends to go in on it with you; but then there are usually ‘people problems’, eh? Sounds perfect, though. And the gold mine might have paid for a house or two or . . . πŸ™‚ I wish you had pictures; I’d be begging you to post them. Now I have to look up Kauri dresser. I love the old iron beds; what we had as kids, but not the stylish ones. Still . . . I love the parallel lines in our lives . . .

    • Must be my aging brain or something . . . did I reply to you already, Wendy? If so, you are getting two this time . . . if I’m lucky, you won’t remember the first reply hahaha. Yes, they don’t build apartments for women who do a tonne of different crafts, especially when all of them require plenty of supplies and even more so when there are two such women sharing space . . . I’m not excited about having the ceilings done at all! But tenants get few choices, sadly. I will do what I have to and likely grumble about it, too. I know, bad attitude! Oh, well . . . πŸ™‚ What I really don’t look forward to is the day I have to move all my stuff out of here, pick up what’s in the Crafty attic (and don’t forget my antique, rather useless, but visually and emotionally SO appealing garden tools!), then what’s in the storage units here . . . and THEN get it all to BC, find a place and then start going through the stuff in those units . . . but whether I planned it that way or not (and trust me, I had no idea I’d be here this long!), it has to be done. So I’ll find a way . . . Then I have to figure a way to live to 120 or more so’s I can use up all that crafty stuff, re-read all those loved books and use my much anticipated antiquey things like a set of 1920s grapefruit dishes that are oh! so gorgeous with different pastel colours and a lovely pearlescent sheen (not to mention the attached saucers and the fact that they are made to look a bit like a lotus on a leaf). Sigh . . . my blue willow items and antique tea cups, too . . . ok, I’ll quit now. I’m feeling nostalgic instead of energetic . . .

      The store IS exciting, Wendy. I’ve been adding a thing or two every couple of days and still have more blue and amethyst scarves to go in. I don’t know if it makes a difference putting them in slowly or if it would be better all at once, so went with my intuition (which is sometimes a good thing).

      • Linne πŸ™‚ I get well and truly lost myself in the comments – I lose my way, but no, I don’t think you had already replied πŸ™‚

        It sounds like a huge job when you need to do it, HUGE. But, oh my gosh, what rewards you will have for all that work. You will have all your precious things around you and a new lease
        on life using it all. I love Blue Willow and the grapefruit set sounds like something I would buy and love to bits forever!!!! (if cheap enough lol) It sounds gorgeous. I love, love antiques but my budget rarely allows me to buy the beautiful things I often see.

        That all sounds like something nice to anticipate – and cringe at the same time lol

        I really do hope your shop goes well and I look forward to seeing it slowly fill up with beautiful things πŸ™‚ Very best wishes for that.

      • Actually, I think I did, but no worries, two replies are better than one, right? or none . . .

        Yes, it will be a big job. I can hardly imagine, especially as I have no idea where I will end up living. I keep buying lotto tickets (“Financial Management 101” or the “Dummies’ Guide to Planning for the Future” or something like that . . .)

        You and I have similar tastes, I know from seeing pictures of your lovely thrifty finds! When I see my things again, I will remember to photograph ’em and post the pics. And yes, that is Plan B; it’s hard to imagine living on my own after all this time (I’ve hardly ever done so and am not so good at it as some people), but the day will come, I know. 😦

        I was lucky to find many things that I loved that no-one else wanted, or else they had a wee chip or something. That set is perfect, though, and really lovely. I bought it when I worked in a tiny antiques store that rented a large alcove in a major department store here. (tip: don’t ever work in a retail store where you LOVE the wares!! lol). I got them for Mum, as she loves grapefruit and eats them the old-fashioned way, with a spoon; she never used them, though, and eventually gave them back to me. Lucky me, is all I can say! I plan to use them one day on a tray I’ve painted and on top of a tray-cloth I’ve embroidered . . . likely with a special grapefruit spoon with the serrated edge on one side. Then I would have to dress up a bit for breakfast . . . very Edwardian in my tastes, aren’t I? I have to laugh at myself sometimes . . . I will have to call my place ‘Downton Shack’ or something similar . . . I will have to post a photo of the large Blue Willow platter I bought for Mum and Dad decades ago. Found it at a flea market we went to at a local car racetrack. It was $100; a lot for us in those days . . . but my husband was always good about things like that and so we got it and Mum loved it. It’s been the Thanksgiving and Christmas platter ever since. No idea what it’s worth now, but I’d never sell it, so it doesn’t matter, really. I’ve also ‘inherited’ things others were throwing out, or I’ve found them in abandoned houses (like the three music books from the late 1800s, large, with cloth covers impressed and with gold touches . . . one was a collection of Moore’s songs like “The Last Rose of Summer” and “The Minstrel Boy” both favourites of mine since I was a young teen. Those are in BC, so I just have to bless them and hope they have survived alright.)

        Yes, anticipate and cringe; a good description . . . I’m a realist like my Mum (although a romantic one, which she isn’t), but these things still have to be gotten through, no matter how much we understand and accept them. That’s the ‘cringe’ part, really.

        Thanks for the good wishes, Wendy. It’s fun having people to share it with and who are so supportive. If it doesn’t do much, I shall have to ‘think another think’ as Pooh would say . . . but for now, lots of fun.

        Big hugs to you. Hope you are looking forward to snuggling by the wood stove and crafting or reading or just cuddling up with someone nice . . . πŸ™‚

        Spring will come all too soon and you’ll be up to your elbows in dirt and seedlings again . . . that’s the good thing about winter . . . At least we get Christmas in the middle and that gives us something to look forward to. I move you transfer Christmas six months forward (or back), so you can do the same . . .

      • I used to work in an antique shop and couldn’t wish for a job more suited to myself lol. I love Victoriana, an old fashioned thing at heart.

        I love that “think another think” πŸ™‚ I shall remember that one.

        You would be fine living on your own, you just have to know you would be. You have lots of friends and support on here, lots to chat to now. Lots of craft stuff to use πŸ™‚

        We have already had the fire going a bit and I am actually looking forward to winter which I never thought I would hear myself say. Some hibernation time, no preserving or garden…woohoo! and some time to do some ME things. No earthquakes this year I hope!!!!

      • I loved ‘Huckleberry and Chin’; it was quite small and there wasn’t that many customers except at Christmas time; I got to do displays, which I loved doing. And I had time to connect with the people who did come in! One lady from Quebec had an Egyptian husband. They live in a very grand home that has been featured in magazines and even on the cover of a calendar. I know a tiny bit of French (and other languages), but I use those bits to connect with people. So she became very friendly; ended up buying lots of things like chandeliers and shipping them back east. One day she brought in her husband, who, of course, spoke perfect English and French. I was so smug that I was able to say to him in Egyptian Arabic, “I’m sorry, sir, I don’t understand Arabic; I understand Arabic a little”. Made him smile and then we got on like a house afire . . . I have a standing invitation to call if I am ever going to Montreal and to stay with them for a couple of nights. Very nice, eh?

        I love Victoriana, too, and anything Edwardian, Arts & Crafts and also Art Nouveau. I must have lived in Downton Abbey or the like in a past life, because my tastes sure don’t derive from this life . . . πŸ˜‰ I love the old furniture; you should have seen ours. I have undeveloped film. One day (yes, I know the dangers of waiting) I will develop it and share some of them. Michele the owner would go to England and Europe once or twice a year and bring back a container full each time. Talk about drooling!! Large carved sideboards, beds with headboards and footboards and so high! Oh, I love those! Tables, settees, lots more. And she had some real country stuff, too, that also appeals to me. If it would only clean itself, I’d lust after a long, rambling place where I could decorate with different styles without having them clash . . .

        As to living alone, there will be no choice, so I guess I will figure it out. That’s what Plan B is for, really. Crafting, reading and learning . . . the main things. Then gardening and a dog and cat if I’m lucky; and a horse or two plus a goat maybe, if I’m extra good! πŸ˜‰ Only I worry about being tied down with animals and all, so we’ll have to see . . .

        Love to think of you by your fire, even if it is a bit early. and hibernating! Just what you will need, I bet! and enjoying the fruits (literally) of your labours . . . and your sweetie!

        I’m with you on ‘no earthquakes, please’. You need a sign to the earthquakes saying ‘move along; nothing to shake here; these aren’t the ‘droids you are looking for” lol

  2. Unlike Pauline I gave up on anticipation and just waded into my studies (anticipation is more fun 😦 )…good to see your store and you! πŸ™‚ “Hi Linnie” :). With 522 RSS Feed Reads (lazy bugger aren’t I? πŸ˜‰ ) I am going to have to pass on the music from the last post and the asploring of your new blog (another one!) for the moment but am sending hugs and congrats on your cleaning event. If someone came here to do the ceilings I think I would go stay with my daughters and would leave Steve to deal with the cleaning πŸ˜‰

    • Yes, anticipation can be fun . . . when you don’t feel ‘led down the garden path’ . . . πŸ˜‰ I’m glad to have the store up and running; a bit frustrated with the slowness of getting decent pictures (and of producing wrinkle-free scarves). Not my favourite picture, but I don’t have any recent ones I like, so that’s it for now.

      You are hardly lazy, my friend; gardens, courses, dogs and walking, making fantastic food, posting l..o…n….g….. posts that I adore and look forward to every week, not to mention commenting on a bazillion other blogs . . . nope, lazy is not the adjective you want there . . .

      No worries about the music; I add the links, but obviously not everyone else out there is ‘retired’ and wondering what to do with their days . . . πŸ™‚

      Yes, a new blog (I have a couple of others, too, but rarely write in them. I haven’t written much in this one, either. Once I get off my back and start producing items, I will be posting a bit more. I don’t expect everyone to follow that, or even read it. So no worries there either.

      Getting the lounge tidied up was a good thing; the reasons for it and the time-devouring decision-making, etc., . . . not so much.

      Trouble is, I don’t trust other people to move my things (and I’ve had many examples of why not, in my past); I’ve seen people drop a box a foot or more onto the floor, even when clearly marked ‘fragile’ or ‘glass’. People who care about their own things are more careful, as a rule; people who don’t do or make things aren’t careful with tools, supplies and machinery (if one can call a loom a machine). It takes longer to explain and monitor that it does to just do it myself. Oh, well . . . πŸ™‚

      • I agree…my ex’s dad was a furniture removalist and the oft heard quote was “don’t worry about it, they should have taken out insurance and if they didn’t its their problem…” sigh…

      • Ah, yes! And I had an Aunt who had her things moved part-way up-Island and ended up with the arm broken off a captain’s chair and a huge scratch on her dining table, plus other damage. Same attitude . . . And it’s not quite as bad if it’s only a matter of collecting the insurance (supposing that was easy!) and then buying a replacement. Most of my things can’t be replaced and/or have great sentimental value. That’s why I have them in the first place, really . . . so insurance means nothing to me and I don’t fancy living with a pile of broken stuff (although in some cases, I might) ‘sigh’, indeed . . . a ‘sigh’ heard ’round the world . . .

      • You bet it would be! When too many things need fixing, they raise the condo fees for the owners, who then usually raise the rents. Not for us, but I know for many others. I think people should have their own home and a bit of land, instead of renting and all that. Fiji is a great modern example of group ownership; now that they’ve wrested control back from the ‘invaders’.

      • I doubt it, now that the US is influencing them again. Che Guevara needs to come back . . . {BTW, I think I answered one of your other comments incorrectly; dunno what I was thinking, but was confused as to the original post, I think. Anyway, you were right, if the furniture removalists had to pay for damages themselves, they would be more careful. I’ve often thought that if I had to have them, I’d offer a bonus (in cash) if nothing was harmed. So far, I prefer to do most of my own moving; I do need help with a few items, though; just too heavy/bulky for one person.}

  3. Congratulations, I wandered over to your shop and saw that Jed and Jenny are now ensconced – that is a start! It will be so lovely to see your creations in there too. Still practising my anticipation!

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

