and more Happy Mail! (and yes, I opened it!)

πŸ™‚

A box arrived at the post office last Tuesday. I walked up there Wednesday evening, only to learn that the PO closes at 8 pm and I arrived at 8:13! So off home again. Thursday Mr. and Mrs. Crafty picked me up just before 11 am (and I was up ’til 2 am, so I’m proud to say I was up, dressed, fed and ready to go!) for a day at their place crafting and watching movies. They had time to swing by the PO, though, so we picked up the box. Then we took my six big bags of cash recycling to the depot, where I raked in $30 and change, then we stopped so I could buy us all a blended iced coffee drink, then to their house and lunch. After lunch, Debbie (yes, Debbie from the shop is my Mrs. Crafty friend) made up some Feather Biscuits (bread buns for you southerners, before you start drooling over the supposed sweetness . . . they are worth drooling over for themselves, though, I assure you!) and a large pot of chili for our supper. Then we got down to business. Due to later events, which I shall share shortly, there are no pictures of the activities at the Crafty Cottage. I apologize . . .

In total defiance of Anticipation 101, Mrs. Crafty insisted I open my long-awaited box immediately, so I did. I knew who it was from, and so will you, when you see the return address illustration:

IMG_5431

Yep, it’s a box from my lovely friends in Olalla, formerly the Bearded OneΒ and Christi of the Farmlet, soon to be Aloha B.O. and Christi (or some even more exotic moniker). I knew she’d sent it, but not exactly what it contained. I was so excited when I opened it!!

TEN books! Yummy! . . . and . . . Delilah’s long-lost sister, Dorcas:

IMG_5432

There was a gorgeous postcard, too, with a sweet note on the reverse:

IMG_5433

Don’t know how clear this picture is, but the sheep is knitting with yarn forming from her own fleece . . . I adore this, Christi, and it now resides atop the fridge next to a photo of a friend’s family, where I see it frequently throughout the day:

IMG_5436

Are you wondering what else was in the box? I didn’t take pictures of every book yet, but I was delighted to find they are all new to me and every single one is of great interest, especially this one:

IMG_0035

Written by a Norwegian woman, it is set in the Dakotas at a time close to when my mother’s parents lived there. My Grandmother was 9 in 1900, when she, her sisters and their mother came through Ellis Island and went to North Dakota. She finished growing up there, met my grandfather, who came to the States on his own at age 19 in 1909. They married and had two children before they, along with their parents and some of their siblings and families, moved to southern Saskatchewan to homestead various sections of land. I’ve never known much about their years in N. Dakota, so am very excited about reading this book. The other books look equally promising, too.

IMG_5439

Robertson Davies is a Canadian author, but I haven’t read anything of his for some time, so this will be interesting, for sure.

As good as the contents, the box:

IMG_5441

You have to be a paper fancier to understand that one! I love paper of all sorts, why I cannot tell you, but if you were to go through my things you’d find a LOT of paper, books (blank and reading), blank journals, writing paper, foolscap, sketchbooks and more . . . This box is special (besides the fact that it came from Christi and the B.O.) because it is heavier than the shoeboxes I am familiar with; this is a perfectly lovely box. (and yes, before you ask, I have a fair collection of boxes of all types and sizes to which I am attached).

Β Β Β Β IMG_5438

These are in a plastic bag, so not as easy to figure out; they are the Feather Biscuits that Mrs. Crafty sent home with me. Mmmmmmm

So, to continue the story . . . there we were, Mr. Crafty was working on some needlepoint (he’s very talented at many crafts, but woodworking doesn’t do well in the house and he likes visiting with us, so it’s needlework or knitting when I am there), Mrs. Crafty was painting and distressing a large wooden birdhouse that Mr. Crafty had built for her, I was knitting on one of my barn cardi’s sleeves. Then the phone rang; a cousin of their son had texted him that friends of hers had a boxer dog that was going to be shot (for killing a goat, was the story) within two hours if a home wasn’t found for it. Conversations took place. Back to crafting. We made it through two of the original Frankenstein movies with Bela Lugosi and co. when there was a knock at the door and in walked the son, with the boxer. A certain amount of commotion ensued; the two teacup Pomeranians were put in their cage and the cat outside. The boxer is four, so still quite active and naturally inquisitive. In sniffing around, he nudged my small-bottomed coffee cup with the predictable results. It was funny, in a way. The son grabbed my iPhone and iPod from the flood and dried them off immediately. I, on the other hand, grabbed my notebook with all the notes about the cardi. I’ll have to share a photo later; don’t have one yet. It was pretty wet and the gel pen was running a bit. I hope the notes are readable. It’s still sitting with paper towel crumpled and set between the pages.

So, the dog turned out to be fairly well-behaved, allowing for natural curiousity, and settled down in a bit. Back to crafting. Then another phone call, asking if the two adorable youngest grandkids could come for the evening and night. Yes, of course. We had supper (yummy chili and Feather Biscuits hot from the oven; and we had one biscuit each before supper, just to make sure the recipe still worked. πŸ™‚Β  )

The son returned, to borrow the dog for overnight, so his girlfriend could meet it. He has four dogs (city limit), so it can’t stay at his place. We had coconut rice pudding for dessert, made from leftover coconut rice that had accompanied butter chicken for a previous dinner. More yummy!

Then the grandkidlets arrived. Cuteness doubled! The boy isΒ three and the girl is one and a half. They haven’t seen me for six months, but obviously remembered me well (I’m sort of grandmotherly, I guess); it wasn’t long before the wee girl was sitting cuddled up to me, elbow on my lap, talking away. The boy had a small bulldozer toy, which he handed to me, saying that it was for me to take home. Well, you have seen part of our place now; where would it live? So, not to hurt his feelings, I thanked him for his generosity, kindness and thoughtfulness and asked if it could live at Nana and Papa’s place; that way I could play with it when I was there and he could look after it for me when he was there. He thought that was a great idea, so now my bull dozer is living with Mr. and Mrs. Crafty.

The parents left, the son and the boxer dog left and peace of a sort descended once more. Of course, the doves were laughing maniacally in their corner cage, but the other animals and fish are silent (well, except for the dogs, but they were quiet once things were back to normal).

Shortly after that it was 9 pm and Mrs. Crafty took me home, along with my three bags, some buns and the lovely box and its wrappings (which I also kept, as I love the sweet cartoon drawn by the B.O.) I don’t think there is hope for me, really.

I have joked that when I die, the best thing to do would be to put me on a large barge, pile my things around me, tow me out to sea and then fire a flaming arrow into the heap. I would then enter the next world with everything I might need for the journey (don’t confuse me with the facts here, please! πŸ™‚Β  ) A true Viking funeral in the tradition of my maternal ancestors . . .

viking funeral girl

the girl, lovely and pale . . . (moi? I think NOT!) Β πŸ™‚

viking funeral boat 01

the girl’s things, ready for crafting in theΒ  afterlife . . .

viking funeral fire

the final conflagration . . .

Time to get off the PC and get something real done . . .

Thanks again, to Christi and the Bearded One, for the best gift in a very long time. Big hugs to you both.

Sorry, no music today (I’m out of time). Next time . . .

Nearly forgot to mention, I also received a package with my next set of scarves for dyeing, so that’s up soon, too.

39 thoughts on “and more Happy Mail! (and yes, I opened it!)

  1. Oh I soooo loved this post Linne, lots of lovely goodies and good friends to boot… You were oozing that feel good factor.. Have a wonderful day and don’t forget to make time to put your feet up,, ( hopefully not in the rigger- mortise position) lol… and take time out to read those delicious books…
    Have a Great Day and rest of the week.. xox Sue

    • Wasn’t it nice, Sue? my friends are great and we love having crafty days together, especially when we get to do actual crafting.
      I’m not ready for the R-M position yet, either LOL Too many supplies to use up and too many plans still unfulfilled . . . Mum and I joke that if we keep buying supplies and not using them up, we will have to stay here forever . . . seems to be working so far . . . πŸ™‚

      I still have a pile of library books to read, so am saving Christi’s bunch (and savouring the thought every day, believe me!). Not to mention that I just opened a store and have sold a green scarf that is still pristine in its whiteness . . . so I have to wander somewhere near the track, even if I don’t stay on it for long . . . Hope you are having a great week, too, Sue. hugs to you. ~ Linne

      • Yes thank you Linne, a good week, not so much work this week on the job front.. and so I was able to make some soup and freeze Potato and Leek! .. and I have been into making my own bread again, so thats kept me busy..plus I have a new painting on the go..and the bonus side. I am not working this weekend either πŸ™‚ .. Big Hugs back xox

      • Is not so much work a good thing, Sue? I used to do temp work and was lucky to have it be steady ’til the end. But I’d have trouble now, I think.
        I love Potato and Leek soup!! I have two leeks sitting in the fridge for when I get through the bean soup I made two days ago. I put a leek in that, too, also some Worcestershire (not a good idea), so it needs a bit of doctoring before a bowlful is tasty. It’s ok, though . . .

        Love making my own bread, but have been afraid to use the breadmaker after my colossal adventure with it before Christmas. One day soon, though . . . and we don’t have counter space for kneading . . .

        Will we be seeing the new painting? I hope so . . . have fun on the weekend!

      • Should you ever need a nice recipe for the Leek and Potato Soup Linne one is posted on my Home made Recipe page.. .. And what happened with the Bread maker? If you blogged about it I missed it! I only use the bread maker to knead,on dough mix, then re- knead and proof in the tins etc..
        And yes when I have my painting finished I will post.. You too enjoy your weekend. xox

      • Thanks, Sue. I’ll pop over and find it; not tonight; my time here is nearly done . . . πŸ™‚ Can’t have too many soup recipes . . .
        The post is here; the bread machine bit is a ways down . . . it was a long post. πŸ˜‰
        I’ve meant to try that, but haven’t done it yet (using the maker to knead only); I also want to try bagels, as I love them, but they’re usually a bit pricey.

        Looking forward to the painting pics. I’m having fun – see my post later on. Still in draft stage now.

  2. Our post offices close at 5.30pm on the dot! You spoiled girl having yours open till 8! Ours are talking about charging us for the privilage of having our mail delivered now or only delivering on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, let alone giving us extra hours to visit them!

    Christi!!! πŸ™‚ I, too have had The BO’s wonderfully emotive stickies grace my dinner table :). What a lovely thing to transfer precious tomes to someone that you know will love them :). It’s like finding a good home for garfield for your books πŸ™‚

    Feather “biscuits” are yeasted? They look like what we call baps here. Great for ladling bacon and eggs into πŸ˜‰

    Your crafty friends are the BOMB! Great company and good cooks too πŸ™‚

    LOL you and me both on the wrapping paper…I even kept the box! πŸ˜‰

    All in all a post cram packed full of excellent community you are a very lucky girl to have such wonderful friends πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, I hear you! The only reason ours are open that late is that they are not ‘real’ post offices anymore, but just corners in a store of some sort (in this case a dry cleaning establishment that was a candy store a few months ago), so they keep store hours. Canada Post is now planning to cut off home delivery and put in area boxes that one will have to walk to. Their excuse? “Seniors are saying they need more exercise”. Well, maybe seniors in their 60s and 70s and in reasonably good health . . . I wouldn’t want my Mum or Aunty (both in their 90s) to walk blocks on dark, icy sidewalks just to throw out the junk mail. Yes, they would likely go in the daylight, but still . . . and not all elders are in good health and weather conditions in Canada (except for the West Coast) are not the best in winter, which, as you may have noticed from my posts, goes on FOREVER! And the sidewalks are not always cleared sufficiently to be safe for walkers or motorized wheelchairs, either. I would take delivery once a week even over a remote box (also there will be security issues at Christmas time as idiots break into them, hoping that Santa’s left stuff for them, but in the ‘wrong’ box). Oh, well, I will stop ranting now . . .

      Yes, the BO’s drawings are priceless, aren’t they? And those books . . . I’m glad Garfield found a family home, as we really couldn’t offer (I thought about it, though . . . and the goats, too. I can see them on the balcony, munching their alfalfa and grain. It may come to that in days to come, though)

      I had wondered what exactly ‘baps’ were and now I know . . . πŸ™‚ Hadn’t gotten around to turning them into ‘bacon butties’, although I do know what those are. You can tell I mostly read books from GB or the Commonwealth countries, can’t you?

      Yes, I love the Crafties! So creative, and they FINISH things . . . and nag me to follow suit, sometimes with good results lol.

      Nice to know another wrapping paper and box keeper. I kept both AND the wrappings from Pauline’s cards that I bought way back when . . . πŸ™‚

      Thanks you very kindly, ma’am! I am lucky to have good friends, and honestly, most of them are here in the village. I reckon I have five friends here in Edmonton and another five in BC, lots more than that in the Virtual Village; for which I am immensely grateful every single day. I like people; it’s just been hard to find like-minded ones in the face-to-face world.

      • I am with you wholeheartedly on this global village. How good is it to find people that resonate the values and ideals that you cling tenaciously to? I would just be “that crazy woman who walks her dog at all hours who looks like she might bite you if you get too close to her…” if it wasn’t for this chance to air my inner narfy. πŸ˜‰

      • Yes, and I’d be another one (sans dog, so far). Just a crazy old hippie woman who does odd things and wears odder things and you should see what she collects!! πŸ™‚ I love your inner Narfy (and your outer one, too) πŸ™‚ ❀

      • My outer narfy has sore eyes at the moment from peeling vats of onions in order to make a HUGE stockpot of soup. I like to make enough to save for several large meals later in the week but that means skinning a stack of onions and they don’t like being chopped I can tell you! πŸ˜‰

      • You need to peel them under running water . . . or else get a pair of goggles like the ones I bought a while back for dyeing (no, not the ones in that photo; I couldn’t find the original pair, so bought a pair of just eye protectors). I like your thinking; if I do veggies ahead, I make better meals; otherwise, it gets late and then I don’t want to get started. Couple of days ago I made a huge pot of weird navy bean ‘stew’; it tastes a bit odd on its own, but after I add more garlic powder, salt and pepper, then heat it, it’s edible. Buttered toast helps, too, of course. I’ve had three meals out of it so far and there are at least two left . . . No Worcestershire next time, not in the beans, anyway πŸ™‚

        You making onion soup or just soup with onions as one of the ingredients. I always meant to make real onion soup, but it’s still on the ever-growing list of things to do before I kick the bucket . . . at this rate, the bucket better find a new person to kick it; I’m gonna be finishing things forever . . .

      • We can buy 10kg (20lb?) sacks of good quality brown onions here for $6 (about the same as your $6 apparently) and so I buy onions in bulk. Not onion soup but we make veggie soup with lots of onions (sort of how many I feel like adding at any given time and this time it was about 7 large brown onions), at least a head of garlic peeled and sliced and ground up in my mortar and pestle, about a kilo of carrots, a bunch of celery all finely sliced, ginger (I used jarred as we aren’t spoiled like the mainland where they can buy fresh at less than the price of a new car…) about half a jar, about a tablespoon and a half of chilli flakes and about half a container of our local amazing vegetable stock powder that you guys can apparently get in Canada (or so Bryanna Clark Grogan says, she is my Canadian vegan cook idol πŸ™‚ ) called “Massell” which is all vegan but comes in delicious meaty flavours ;). I just cook up the onions, garlic, ginger and chilli flakes in enough water to cover the onions while I peel and slice up the other veggies. It sounds like a boring soup but it is absolutely delicious. I forgot, I add about 500g of split red lentils to this soup and it gives it a creamy thick texture and I get a LOT of meals out of this. I have 2 bowls of it for tea and Steve has 1 large bowl with a whole lot of buttered wholemeal bread. I wonder if roasting the onions in a little olive oil (maybe halved onions so that more gets caramelised) till they were scrumptiously caramelised and then chopping them up (or just putting them into a large stockpot and using a stick blender to process them) with some stock or water and stock powder would make for a richer flavour? Might have to leave it to you to find out πŸ™‚

  3. Yay! What great news that the box arrived and had such a grand reception! The scene at the Crafty household is so fun. And I know what you mean about that box. Those are the shoes I bought and wore to Molly’s wedding this last summer. I’ve kept the shoes (sandles) for Hawaii. I read Giants in the Earth years (decades?) ago — the lives were hard. The loneliness for the women, especially…perhaps your family history is part of why you have such a way of creating a homey space and of communing with other women. You do, you know! Much love, Christi

    • Christi, I’ve finally sent you an email (sorry it was so tardy). Yes, it was exciting to have it arrive. And those books are honestly just perfect for me. Not one that I would turn up my nose at and then pass on. Yes, the Crafty home is fun (and quite busy most days, plan our visits how we will). How nice that the box was special to you, too (well, I suppose the shoes were more special πŸ™‚ ). I just adore boxes and have no idea why that is so . . . Now yours has extra meaning for me. (and Molly was the nickname a favourite young uncle had for my Mum. Her mother’s youngest brother, who died of TB when Mum was still a girl. She has such good memories of him and when her last child was born, they hadn’t chosen a name, which shocked me; I suggested Martha Teresa to my Dad as two kids were named after him and none after my Mum. So that was her name, but she was called Molly from the beginning in honour of Mum’s Uncle Ray. So the name is special, too.)

      Early pioneer lives were very hard. You should hear the stories of my Mum and Aunty’s growing up years. And Dad’s, too, for that matter. And a century earlier, harder yet, I think. We forget so easily. It’s one reason I get so irate when I hear that generation of women put down, which happens a lot in the media (“not your grandmother’s knitting” for instance). They went through a great deal and without complaining; I feel we owe them much in return.

      You are so right about the loneliness, too. In Mum’s family it was ok to begin with; my Great-grandparents on her Mum’s side, plus their children, in-laws and grandchildren lived mostly within a few miles of each other. But her Dad’s brother brought his wife and kids out from Norway twice. The second time they went back, they stayed there. I expect it was the change for his wife; from life where you know the language, the culture, etc. plus have the convenience of nearby city shopping, to a lonely homestead in flat Saskatchewan, no ocean, no family except your husband and his relations; I can only imagine. And the physical hardships, too, especially at -30C and often worse . . .

      Yes, my family history is a huge influence on me. Growing up in a home where Mum, busy as she was with nine kids and few mod cons, still found time to write rafts of poetry, do handwork and make things to decorate her home, not to mention cooking, baking all our baked goods AND preserving tonnes of tomatoes and fruits in the summers . . . and then there were the stories of her youth, too. And when I was young, we lived out of towns, in the beginning in one room ‘shacks’ (even when we had four kids and another on the way); and then the hippie revolution was made for people like me, longing for what seemed a simpler and more vital life.

      I’m not sure why, but my friends have always been women; likely something to do with being old-fashioned and also very introverted. I am friendly with my friends’ husbands or partners, but the women are definitely who I connect with. And then, too, I was into being a homebody and babies and all that; not too many men want to discuss that sort of thing. I did connect with the men in my own life on philosophical grounds, though; we could sit up all night discussing current events, philosophical issues or questions (and often did). I miss that a lot, as none of my friends but one are philosophical in nature.

      I love a homey space, one where anyone is welcome and if they stay for a meal, well, just throw in another potato or whatever. If they need a place for the night, they can have my bed (I can sleep anywhere) . . . very old-fashioned, that’s me. I still don’t feel welcoming unless I offer food and drink to a visitor, as though they have come a long way and need the refreshment.

      Thanks for that, Christi. I’m glad you see that in me. I suspect it’s a case of you ‘being one to know one’, though. Much love back, my wandering friend. Have you learned to hula yet? Well, early days . . . πŸ™‚

      • Wow, what a lovely response, Linne, and I loved your stories of family and homesteading. All of those books said Send ME to Linne, so I’m glad you are intrigued by them all. Today I am in awe of your tech prowess. You might be the cleverist knitter and crafter, but today, to me, as I type on my new laptop and face the new world of finding internet connections on the road, I admire your brain and focus and openness to new things. Mahalo nui loa and kisses, too. Christi

      • A`ole pilikia! I feel so grateful to have those books, Christi. A wee bit of you, you know. “tech prowess”?? I have a weird mind that loves problem-solving, so my usual approach with cars, PCs and other machines is to look at it, look for things that seem ‘wrong’ and then poke and prod and ‘wonder what this does’ and ‘wonder what will happen if I do X’ . . . and sometimes it all works! I began on computers when you booted up with a floppy (and if you don’t remember that, be glad; it means you are still very young . . .). My sister here started when you punched holes in cards (yes/no or On/Off) to give commands. In my time there was no one to teach you; you just jumped in and figured it out. Like fixing cars in the old days. With both now, though, things are so complex it’s not that easy anymore. But I have fun learning new software and can usually figure at least some things out. Wish I could pop in and give free advice . . . is the B.O. techie? If not, you may have to kidnap a kid and take them along for the ride . . .

        You will need to find Starbucks shops or computer cafes and use your laptop there. For a while, at least. I bet your perfect home is just a’waitin’ for you to show up and plunk down the wherewithal . . .

        Aloha Pumehana to you both. And here’s a handy linkie, if you have time: http://www.alohafriends.com/words.html πŸ™‚

    • Isn’t it? I knew it would be books, but not the exact titles. Even nicer . . . I am interested in all of them! Since I have no garden, I can read . . . oh, yeah, I have a store . . . and am being followed by a not-yet-patient horde! πŸ˜‰

  4. What a lovely box of goodies and it sounds like a really nice day. I am not sure I would want to leave this world your way…..but your way is your way πŸ™‚ Roger has his eye on our walnut tree for our coffins (in 30 or so years I hope!!) He thinks that would be the ultimate DIY project πŸ™‚

    • Roger has a great idea, I think. I don’t really want to ‘take it all with me’; I just have weird thoughts from time to time (that would be 12 noon to 12 noon) πŸ˜‰

      I would actually like to be cremated (too much Edgar Allan Poe when I was young and impressionable); I’d love to make the box that would be used for that; nothing fancy, after all, it’s going to be burnt up! But I’d like to paint my stuff on the sides (no, not pictures of my ‘stuff’, more like images that are meaningful to me) and I’d like to make a box for my ashes to be placed in after. One can spend a lot of time on quite meaningless planning, I find πŸ˜‰ I better quit that or Narfie7 will be breathing flames at me . . .

      I read somewhere about a man in Texas (I think) who makes affordable, hand-made coffins because he thought it scandalous the way that grieving family is ripped off for thousands of dollars. He also has some sort of retreat space where you can go and be still, not see or speak to anyone; you can write, meditate, lie on your back and heal, whatever you need to do. Meals are delivered to your door, and you leave the dishes outside after, but you don’t actually speak to anyone. I thought it was a great idea. He sounded very interesting . . .

      I put the books on Mum’s desk in the lounge and when I walk past I can just reach out and touch them. I will be savouring them for a long while . . . and the kefir, too.

      • Oh, I don’t think it’s a weird thought lol…..I just remember reading about the custom on something and it sounded quite nice when I read it but then I thought I wouldn’t really like people seeing me burn lol. Making your own box for ashes would be lovely πŸ™‚ Meaningless planning is good, lets the imagination run free πŸ™‚

        The man’s place sounds lovely, just what I could do with right now. Coffins are way too expensive and people have started making their own here – it was a news item that led to Roger’s idea of the walnut ones for him and I. Problem is he is so serious about it he keeps showing the branches off so it will grow really tall and straight….we actually planted it to get walnuts so I am finding it quite frustrating to watch lol

      • LOL!! I started thinking about the barge when I realized that neither of my sons will want much of what I own. The DIL will want the antique teacups and things like that (she’s a fair bit like me); friends may want a keepsake; ditto family members. Otherwise, I really should begin dispersing things now. Trouble is, that always seems like giving up early to me and I’m not quite there yet . . .

        Yes, free-running imagination! I have plenty of that, believe me!

        I wonder if that man’s place sounds so appealing in part because you are seeing winter approach and that ‘dying of the light’ that’s a bit hard to reconcile oneself to. I was feeling a lot of that last autumn, remember? All those angsty posts . . . then we get past January and a line from a far-off poem comes back to me, “winter’s back is broken” or something very like it, and then I begin to feel better as the light is reborn . . .

        I like the idea of the walnut coffins except that I would hate to see lovely wood buried up out of sight. Maybe a walnut box for ashes. We mixed the ashes of my Aunt and Uncle (the Uncle was my Dad’s brother and the Aunt my Mum’s sister’ their son is my closest relative barring the sibs) together and my cousin put most of them into the antique crock they had used to make wine, pickles, etc. He said his Dad would have said “what a crock” as a joke, and it did make us all chuckle; so like my Uncle to say that . . . We buried the crock in the same grave as my Dad and Uncle’s father; my cousin and his wife later took the last of the ashes to a favourite creek where they had loved to fish and scattered them there privately. A good thing all ’round, I felt. They hadn’t been churchgoing since they were married, so there was no preacher or priest; with my cousin’s permission, I conducted a short service myself; it didn’t seem right to put the ashes into the hole and just walk away . . . one of my nieces had written a poem for my Auntie and she read it there, too. It was the first time I’d been to my grandfather’s grave and it was all very meaningful to me. I bought a lovely bunch of garden flowers at the Farmers’ Market the day before, when I saw that there were sunflowers in it (my Grandpa came from Russia, although the family were never Russian) then added cedar branches, other wild things plus flowers from my cousins’ gardens; so it was a tribute to my Grandpa as well as my Uncle and Auntie. Guess I like home-made for everything . . . lol

        You will have to grow some other walnut trees, I suspect. Frustrating, but funny in its own way, isn’t it? Men . . . not always easy to live with, but much harder to live without . . . you have a good one, there, frustrating or no . . .

      • Yes, too early to be thinking that way. Keep all your stuff around you and let you kids have the JOY? of getting rid when need me…they’ll just love that lol. That’s what garage sales are for πŸ™‚

        A homemade burial, yours sounds just lovely, very personal and meaningful.

        A good imagination is far better than none at all πŸ™‚ It’s only when one loses touch with reality it’s not great – you just keep “thinking another think” away. That’s where you get your creativity πŸ™‚

        Yeah, men! Not always easy to live with but you also know when they are worth the frustrations. I dare say Roger has a few where I am concerned as well!! I don’t for one moment imagine my own perfection πŸ™‚

      • The running joke in my own family is that the ‘bad’ kid will inherit EVERYTHING! Makes ’em shudder . . . The DIL will love some of my stuff. I wish it could go to someone who would love the stories, too, but at least I can do that for now. I hope one of the grand-daughters will inherit my love of things with stories and want all of mine. I would have loved to inherit that sort of thing myself. But they aren’t even schoolage yet, the youngest is two, I think. So not likely they will be old enough come the day . . .

        That was a perfect burial in my mind. I’ve been to ones for people who didn’t go to church and the minister didn’t know them, so just said the usual platitudes. It’s not very consoling to hear that sort of thing. I’d like to tape my own (going too far, maybe??) and then I could put in my favourite music and say what I wanted to say about my life. Not sure how that would go over, though. I’m not really morbid, you know, although I can see where people are going to start thinking that pretty soon LOL.

        Yes, imagination. I have imaginary friends I talk to when I want to talk something out. And then I wonder if, when I get really old, I might forget they are imaginary and start talking out loud . . . imagine that!! πŸ˜‰ Yes, it’s where my creativity comes from, for sure. I saw that lovely teacloth on the tray in Gentle Stitches’ blog post and could immediately see myself making one just like it for some of my trays! Just seeing the picture gives me enough information to copy it, at least somewhat. I always have to put in some of my own stuff, too. Same for cooking, sewing, whatever . . .

        I read once that we are best off married, as we can’t become so selfish; we have to learn to love unconditionally and to practise give and take. It is frustrating, but worth it, really, at least when one truly loves. And no one is perfect, so no point demanding that the other person should be! I guess it’s a balancing thing between learning to ask for what we want and letting go of some of that so the other person can have some of what they want. Well worth the conflict, I think . . . And I suspect everyone is a bit difficult at times. We just have to pick people where the benefits make it worthwhile, eh? Different approaches to things makes for growth in the end . . . sometimes fun, other times you want to wring a neck . . .

      • Lol. Roger and I keep each other a bit more rounded I think πŸ™‚ we would tend to get in terrible messes on our own!

        That sounds a lovely funeral…at the end of the day your funeral is entirely your funeral, you can do what you like!! I don’t think it’s terribly morbid. As one ages one tends to think more about this, it’s a reality. We don’t dwell on it but I figure planning for it for “one day” is not a bad thing. Your family would probably be glad to have it organised into something you would like.

        Yes, it would be nice to have a grandchild whose interests are compatible, to inherit our precious collections. That would be just lovely.

        Lol, in the event that you one day believe your imaginary friends are real, well i guess you will know each other well and you will be ignorant of anything other than they are old friends…you will be happy within it all I expect πŸ™‚ At the same time, lets hope that NEVER happens!

      • Yes, I think that’s why it’s so good, no matter the temporary frustrations . . .

        Glad you understand about my ‘funeral planning’ LOL I don’t have a problem with life, from birth through to death (and before and after, either) And we should think about it, and let our families know what we want. I remember when one of my brothers died and he was only 21; no-one knew if he’d had special wishes or not. So from then on, I’ve thought about it . . . and ‘one day’ is right! I’m not ready now; too much not finished, so the Grim Reaper better look elsewhere . . . πŸ˜‰ Not sure what my family would think of something done ‘my way’ . . . I’m the oddball in pretty much all ways. But after all, as they say, it’s my funeral, isn’t it? (well, what they say is, “it’s your funeral”)

        I hope one of your grands loves your things, too. Otherwise, we shall both have to adopt a suitable grandchild . . .

        I hear you; I, too, hope it never happens. I’m pretty sure some of dementia is tied into long-term malnutrition in the lesser elements; oxygen starvation from lack of exercise likely plays a large part, too; also rigidity of mental habits. So I try to eat well most of the time; I need to move a lot more; I do have some rigidity mentally, but hope I am relaxing a bit as I ‘mature’ . . . LOL

        It’s nicer having friends here than in my head, when all’s said and done . . . πŸ™‚

      • Plan your own oddball funeral, go out in Linne style πŸ™‚ It’s hard to know what others would like, if they are a bit different all the harder πŸ™‚

        I think rigidity of mental habits is a biggy, I have been thinking about this to do with my fibro and have noticed the same in my sister since she was diagnosed. Stuck inside a body that is not working fluidly on so many levels one becomes quite fixed mentally….but then, were were always like that and this is the result. I have been thinking alot on this and I do believe you have something there. Roger’s Mum got dementia in her early 60’s and so did my father and they were as different in lifestyle as chalk and cheese. But, they were both obstinate and had very fixed opinions…..a very striking denominator.

        Yes, physical beats mental any day πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      • LOL!! I doubt if anyone in my family has any idea what I would like. They don’t know me well and I’m fine with that. We connect in other ways.

        I have a couple of friends with fibro (and one has other challenges as well). It’s a hard thing, isn’t it? There is a lot one can do about becoming more fluid mentally and physically. Getting enough oxygen into the body is a huge thing, too. I sure don’t do that well and am seeing results that I’m not pleased with. That’s interesting about Roger’s Mum and your Dad, eh?

        You may want to read up on Kristin Neff’s work. Go to http://www.self-compassion.org/ and to http://www.centerformsc.org/ Some of her talks are on YouTube, too. Just search for her name.

      • Thanks for those links Linne, I have been listening to her the last half hour or so…very timely I might say. My fibro has been quite bad this past two weeks with the increasing cold and i had been getting in my usual dark state over having it – how it disables, how it makes me feel useless and how I hate it. I was lying in bed this morning listening to myself and realised the anger and resentment I feel are so damaging to myself!!! Talking myself into a shit state didn’t feel so great so I decided to be kind to this body with fibro …and it made a real difference. Then I got up and read this πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ TA!!!

      • Oh, I’m glad they’ve been helpful, Wendy! Another site you might like to check out is the Graceful Woman Warrior blog; her mother died of cancer and now she has stage IV breast cancer. She is the most inspiring person and I think you would truly appreciate her approach to life and healing. She is a great example for anyone dealing with a physical challenge. I don’t have that, but I do have stuff in other areas that is difficult at times. Terri Luana has helped me re-think some things and also affirmed my own approach to healing in general. http://gracefulwomanwarrior.com/

        I know those ‘dark states’ all too well myself; have been dealing with my own lately, too. Isn’t it wonderful how just changing our mind (did you know, BTW, that ‘repent’ means ‘think again’ as in ‘change your mind’, literally? It’s true!)

        Glad to hear you’re being kind to your vehicle and to its passenger, too. πŸ™‚ Love synchronicity. I felt ‘moved’ to share those, but had no idea why.
        Love and Light to you, Wendy. ~ Linne

      • Thanks for that, I will have a look πŸ™‚ I am actually a whole lot better than I used to be, in every way, so I can appreciate that everything I have worked at has paid off….sometimes it just seems like a Cha – Cha, one step forward and two back. But that is always ok, it is what it is until it isn’t anymore πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
        Thanks Linne

      • I know what you mean about the Cha-Cha; I get thrown off my stride rather easily, wander around somewhere near the track, then finally, with a big sigh, pull it together and get back on again . . . it would be funny if it wasn’t me . . . I like your saying “it is what it is until it isn’t anymore”. Too true. Let me know what you think, ok? ~ Linne

  5. What a lovely day you had! I am so glad Mrs Crafty insisted you open your parcel – a gift shared about is a gift doubly enjoyed I always think πŸ™‚ The lovely Olallians struck a home run by the looks of that happy mail – yay for packing up and moving house! I love seeing how the love moves round the community – just so great isn’t it Linne!

    I am still busy practising anticipation re the green scarves πŸ™‚ I feel I am quite good at it now……

    • You are so right, Pauline! She wouldn’t have stood for my ‘anticipating’ for ten minutes . . . good for me, I suppose. Now I am anticipating reading them . . . πŸ˜‰

      I love having someone’s things and then thinking about them every time I use, touch or see the item/s. It makes my heart feel all warm and glowing . . .

      I got the cottons all washed today and have ironed three of the scarves with the spray starch. I’m waiting to see how they look in the morning before I spend time doing the rest. The new can of starch is the same brand (and still made in the States), but it doesn’t spray a fine mist like what I’m used to; it comes out like a fine rain instead. I’m hoping this works. I did yours after I did the first three (in case somehow I wrecked them; I sure didn’t want to wreck yours . . .

      I will upload the photos of yours as a ‘custom’ job and make sure no-one can buy it by saying ‘reserved for . . .’ on it. Let me know how you want me to put that; your first name, your full name, The Contented Crafter, what?

      Greens coming up soon, my friend. I hope tomorrow! I will share photos for you to pick from as soon as possible and will email you to make sure you know.

      • Thanks Linne – I’m so looking forward to it all! I don’t really mind which name you put on it – whichever you wish is fine by me πŸ™‚ There’s also no great rush – take your time, I know you have a lot on!

      • I put ‘The Contented Crafter’ on it; I think I’ll add a link to your store; you deserve that, at least . . . at most, you deserve to see a green scarf or two, eh? Yes, it’s been a bit of a juggling thing, but it will happen!

  6. Love this post, Linne. You have a wonderful way with words. Mr and Mrs Crafty sound like fabulous friends and what brilliant happy mail. You are much loved. Can’t wait for the next instalments. xoxoxoxoxox

    • Thanks, Dani. I tend to worry that my serious side is too much to the fore. I can be very serious! I have that ‘introvert’ serious and focused face that makes people ask if I’m ok, or ‘what’s wrong?’ lol Nope, just me thinking hard.

      They are good friends. I worked with her at the first Lewiscraft location I ever worked for. Then I left and had a work at home job for a company doing custom stuff for realtors. I created their website and marketing materials, etc. Then one day the lady vanished, leaving me unpaid for months of work (I was patient, ’cause it was a start-up), so I was talking to Debbie one day and she asked if I’d come back to Lewiscraft. I did, and later I became an assistant manager and then a manager. Then the chain closed down ;-( It was good while it lasted, though, although not enough money if I’d not been living with my Mum in her house back then.

      Deb and I have remained friends ever since and they have done a zillion little things to help me, like driving me to the PO the other day and helping when I moved from the house to here. They store some of my stuff even now.

      I do feel very loved and it’s a good feeling. Like Narfie7, I love to see the love go ’round, especially as it goes ’round the world. Gives me great hope for the future.

      Hugs to you, Dani. I have to come see what you’ve been up to lately.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

