I’ve been a bit quiet . . .

. . . but up to quite a bit. I finally figured out how to upload the green scarf photos to Picasa, not to Google. I did it the first time with no trouble, then couldn’t remember exactly how. Oh, well, I got it figured out; only took about four or five hours . . .  So, when Pauline gets home, she can choose the one she wants before I put them in the store. I do love the greens; there are five dark green and three light . . . I dyed six dark, then accidently snipped three tiny holes in one while removing the threads for the final rinsing. But all is not lost . . . I’ve got an idea or two on what to do with that one. 🙂

Then I’ve been working on an interesting project for my friend Mrs. Crafty:

IMG_5803[1] IMG_5804[1]

Mrs. C found a few crochet patterns at the Re-Use-It Store recently and only after she had them at home did she realize they were all in Danish! So I have been typing the instructions into a Word document, complete with the special characters, and then using the Word Translator utility to turn them into U.S. English (no option for Canadian English, of course). The translations aren’t finished, though, because some of the words didn’t translate and some were translated into very odd wording. So now I must go over the originals, word by word, and figure out the missing bits. Lots of fun for me, the word/language geek (who is only fluent in English hahaha!); I do love an odd challenge! I have done two of the five so far; the lovely summer hat pattern pictured above and another for a baby set; jacket, bonnet and booties, all in Tunisian crochet.

So what was I listening to while doing this typing? Yep, Runrig, in Gaelic, of course! I’m not sure why it doesn’t distract me from what I’m doing, but it doesn’t. Interesting.

I have just finished a most fascinating book, too:

IMG_5796[1]

This is the true story of a boy diagnosed as autistic at two and a half. His parents, after a fascinating series of events, including a treatment by some shamans (Bushmen of the Kalahari people, whom the dad was helping in their fight for autonomy and to not be evicted from their ancestral homelands) took him to Mongolia to meet with a group of shamans and then a single shaman of the Reindeer People. I won’t tell you the whole thing, but if you haven’t read this yet, you may want to add it to your winter reading list. If you know anyone who has a family member with autism or Asperger’s Syndrome, I highly recommend reading this. I learned so much from it and found I couldn’t put it down! What the dad has to say about the boy’s special relationship with animals of all sorts and especially with horses is also fascinating. After they returned from Mongolia, they set up a riding school for both neuro-typical kids and kids with autism, Asperger’s, etc. In addition, the mum is a psychologist teaching at the uni in Austin, Texas. She is a Buddhist and has been developing a study on self-compassion, which she says is much better and more helpful than raising self-esteem. After reading some of her writings,, I have to agree. She has done some TED talks, too, apparently. Her name is Kristin Neff, if you want to google her and learn more.

This is a perfect example of why I’m not in favour of e-books replacing ‘real’ books; As you can see by the sticker on the cover, it was a ‘Staff Pick’, so I happened to spy it sitting on a shelf and immediately knew I had to read it! If I’d had to know the title and then look for it in the ether somewhere, I never would have discovered it. It’s given me so much to think about; I can’t begin to address all that here, at least not just now.

IMG_5806[1]

Oh, yes . . . you know what this is, don’t you? That’s right, a new project! And yes, there are four circular needles in play; I couldn’t find the right size of double-pointed needles for this project and I need to get it done soon, so I’m improvising, as usual . . .

I really needed another project, as you all know . . . I can’t tell you what it is exactly, but all will be revealed one day soon. I can say that (generally speaking) it’s going to be sent to the Snail of Happiness once completed . . .IMG_5744[1]

This is a framed photograph taken by my Dad when he and Mum were on a trip through part of the Yukon. That’s Atlin Lake in the background and my Mum is just visible, coming back from the water with a couple of bucketsful for their camp. The picture is in our living room / lounge and I love to look at it, so thought I’d share it with you.

IMG_5736[1]

In case Christi is reading this, here’s a picture of Dorcas, who has been settling in nicely (it takes a while) and is now producing delicious Kefir for me. Her grains are so BIG!

IMG_5814[1]  IMG_5816[1]

While eating supper, I’ve been watching several movies. These pictures are from Les Miserables, the version with Liam Neeson as Jean Valjean. I read the book in school and later, but hadn’t seen any of the movies. This one was good. I especially love the robe the young Cosette is wearing in the second picture. The first picture is her playing with her doll after Valjean pays the horrible greedy caretaker so the girl can have some time to play. This little girl is quite adorable.

Well, I’ll be back soon (not too soon; don’t want to stuff up your Readers 😉  ). Have a wonderful week, all of you.

Oops, nearly forgot: here’s some music for you . . .

Malvina Reynolds, an original Bolshie Little Black Duck, if you don’t mind my saying so, Narfie! Malvina began her songwriting creer in her late 40s. You’ll know her “Little Boxes” and “What Have They Done to the Rain?”

and Tracy Chapman . . . I haven’t heard anything about her for a while, but a friend loved her work and we used to listen to this a lot.

8 thoughts on “I’ve been a bit quiet . . .

  1. That book sounds interesting Linne, must add it to my ever growing list. The translating would be a huge challenge – good on you for taking that on! What a good friend you are! Like Narfie7 I am wondering what has become of the giant cardigan – the beautiful patterned affair that we have all been watching grow for so long now …… please post details.

    I’m not home yet, but taking some time this afternoon to catch up on some emails and blogs – you should have received my preference for colour by now 🙂 They are all so lovely it is really hard to choose, so this one was a group effort 🙂

    • The book is excellent. I want people to read it so we can talk about it. Some fascinating concepts in there and I think many in the Village will get something out of it. I do love language; in another life I may have been multi-lingual or worked as a translator or something. I’ve done some minor translating into English and really, really enjoyed it. So this should be fun. And, in the end, friends last longer than stuff, eh? Not that I’m parting with much stuff any day soon . . . 🙂

      The cardi . . . Narfie was asking after it, too. I’ve added an inch or two to each sleeve and it sits looking at me in the lounge, so I do need to get on it. However, the wee bit for the Snail of Happiness trumps most things for a few days.

      I did get your choice. Was hoping you didn’t feel too rushed about it. If you want to review them and re-think, just let me know. If that’s your Final Answer, on the other hand, that’s good, too . . . I’m easy . . . in some respects 😉 I’m so glad you liked the colours, too. The dark green is pretty deep, but lovely. The light is lovely too, though. I’d hate having to choose, myself.

  2. I love Tracy Chapmans music. She seems to have gone all quiet on the Western Front of late but that doesn’t stop me from listening to full albums on Youtube. I will go check out that little black singing bolshie duck as I will be studying today and attempting to design a range of safety signs and need something to drag my brain out of the monotony ;). You ARE busy! I know that using Google Translate can give you some hilarious results. I am not sure that I would want to attempt to try to knit/crochet anything that Google Translate had spat out the other end as I know how hilarious recipes are and what gobble-di-gook you end up with sometimes 😉

    Great to hear that you have finished your scarves and that you have a new project. Did you finish that cardy? If so, can we have a look at the finished results? Jess just sent me a pattern for socks that are easy peasy and that she knit up 2 of at the same time on the same needles in a day. I will take at least a fortnight of swearing and unpicking and hurling of needles (much to Earl’s delight) to turn out something that will be pitiful but at least I am going to give them a go 🙂

    Cheers for a very motivating post Linnie 🙂

    • When I was out of work some decades ago and staying with a former daughter in law (still part of my family, lucky me!), she was really into Chapman and so I became a fan, too. I haven’t heard much of her for some time. Now I’ll have to look for her on YouTube, too. Thanks.

      I absolutely love Malvina Reynolds; she told it like it is, no holds barred. There’s a young woman named Heather Lev who sings quite a lot of Malvina’s songs; she’s on YouTube, too. Go here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0Fwrc1TJBQ&list=PL735513C54A4F2C79 my favourite of Malvina’s work is this: We Hate to See Them Go. I can’t find her singing it on YouTube, but Heather does it and so does this lady: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QA4m355h7LM this last is worth watching just for the chalk artist!

      Oohhh . . . safety signs . . . fascinating . . . NOT! 🙂 Hope the rest of the work is more interesting.

      I don’t trust the online translators that much; especially when it comes to specialized vocabularies such as are used in crochet, etc. Not to mention that a Danish term may differ somewhat from an English one . . . but I’m pretty confident I can figure it out. Being a crocheter myself helps, of course. I may have to make one of each just to check the accuracy. hmmmm………. I love that hat, but really, where would I wear it? Down to take out the garbage? shades of Mrs. 23 Thorns! hahaha

      Nope, the cardi is a work in progress, although I’ve added about an inch to each sleeve. I’ll be back to it once I have the new, smaller thingie done. Oh, I will have to speak to Miss Jessie about that pattern! I have some sock yarn here somewhere (somewhere where, is the question. Inquiring minds want to know!) and would love a pattern that makes up easily. A pair in a day? just my thing! I bet yours turn out lovely, Narfie! But if you do hurl, aim for the ‘welded to the remote’ hand and not the puppies, ok? You might be rewarded with a ‘chick flick’ or two . . . 🙂

      Love to motivate others . . . hahahahahahaha

  3. So glad you are in touch with the gorgeous Snail of Happiness, Linne. I think I might know what you are cooking up there with “four circular needles in play” – amazing! How do you do that? It’s a huge talent. Great to get a wonderful book recommendation, too. Gosh! What an incredible thing you’re doing with those crochet patterns. I find crochet patterns hard enough to understand in English, let alone translating them from Danish!! Great, Linne! Take care until next time! xoxoxoxoxoxoxox

    • I thought someone might have a guess . . . 😉 I do promise to reveal all once it’s been sent off. Actually, the four needles are a piece of cake; just think four double-pointed needles and then imagine them with long cables and pointy ends hanging down at each end.

      That book is so good (for me, anyway) I read it in two days; just couldn’t put it down . . .

      Well, translating them via Microsoft leaves a bit to be desired. I may try ‘copy and paste’ into my favourite translating site and see what develops. Part of the problem is that they don’t usually have a dictionary full of crafting terms. I’m sure if it were techie-related, there’d be no problem! I do really love language, though. I just wish there were a sort of organic ‘chip’ that could be implanted in my brain so I could just ‘know’ what I want to know. Of course, then I’d need a bigger skull . . . 😉 there’s such a lot I want to know and only so much time left . . . Have a great week, Dani! see you soon!

    • Sharon, see my reply to Wendy; I gave her a couple of linkies. Neff is an amazing pioneer, in my not-so-humble opinion 🙂 Also, if you go to YouTube and search for her name, you’ll find some of her talks. I haven’t had time to listen yet, but she’s on my list. I can listen to music while typing, but not to talking. And even with music, I do best with Gaelic and the like; so my thinking isn’t distracted, a huge fault of mine . . .

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

