The last award . . .

I haven’t been participating in awards due to lack of time, so while I’m grateful, honoured and somewhat flattered by receiving them, I simply can’t keep up (keeping up with comments can be challenging, not to mention following various blogs out there). So I won’t be accepting any from here on. I hope that doesn’t hurt anyone’s feelings.

What I am going to do, though, is answer the questions posed by Country Home and Hearth, who so kindly nominated me recently for the Liebster Award:

1. Why did you start blogging?

Originally, this blog was intended to support an Etsy store. Opening the store was delayed so long that I finally designed a second store and started a new blog for that. This blog has turned out to be a huge blessing in my life, as it has brought me friends from across the globe, all of whom share at least some of my thinking, opinions and activities. The Virtual Village is an Introvert’s Paradise . . .

2. What is your favourite food?

This is harder than it seems . . . I have to say ‘homemade’ for the most part. If I had to choose just one thing, it would likely be frittata with mild salsa, with a Cara Cara orange and a bit of bacon on the side. Of  course there is always chocolate, especially the sorts with sea salt or cayenne pepper added . . .

3. What is your biggest accomplishment?

Also a hard question . . . I have to say that surviving one very challenging stretch would be it: Three of us (myself, my sons’ dad and our oldest son) made it for eight months on only five dollars cash.

4. What is your favourite childhood memory?

sneaking out in the middle of the night to ‘raid’ the neighbour’s used binder twine stash (he didn’t use if for anything; it was looped around a beam so the cattle wouldn’t eat it), braiding it into halters, reins, etc. (kept hidden under my mattress), then sneaking out in the middle of the night and walking a couple of miles to a large pasture, catching up one of the horses there (I loved the big draught horse, but there were others, too) and riding for ages, in the dark . . . my parents never knew, of course, and I survived just fine . . .

5. Name a fun fact about yourself.

I sewed by hand a tipi that was 27 feet high and 27 feet front to back; we lived in it for most of a year when our oldest son was four.

6. Do you have a favourite book?

Hundreds!! It might have worked better to ask for a list of favourite authors . . . 😉  Just now, I’d have to say “The Lions of Al-Rassan” by Canadian author Guy Gavriel Kay, our foremost author ever! This is a complex and subtle book (as all his books are); to me, it’s the greatest love story I’ve read yet. And I’m not talking about teenage angsty ‘love’; these are mature loves (and not in the X-rated sense, either). I’ve read it several times and will read it several more . . .  But I love all his books.

I read a lot of children’s books, too, and of them I’d have to say “The Hobbit”. Also “The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe”, “The Rising of the Dark” series, and “The Book of Three” and other books by Lloyd Alexander.

Of the older books, anything by Gene Stratton-Porter (Freckles, Girl of the Limberlost, Keeper of the Bees, and many more).

All the classic girls’ books; The Anne of Green Gables series; Little Women and the rest; Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm; Pollyanna, The Secret Garden, and more . . .

And Sci-Fi / Fantasy!!  “Stranger in a Strange Land” and most of Robert A. Heinlein’s books, “The Martian Chronicles” and all the rest of Ray Bradbury’s writings, all of Andre Norton, Zenna Henderson’s “The People” series (major love, there!), and many, many more . . .

7. What would you do if you won $1 million dollars?

Set up a charitable foundation; pay off all debts of mine and my family; buy a property in BC that I could reclaim and live independently on, so about fifty acres or so (I have plans for some of that, including a large woodlot, a wild section to be preserved, an orchard, garden, cottage and work studio). If I win more, I would simply make the charitable foundation larger. I’d also set up a trust to pay for education for all the younger members of the family (no point just handing out cash, I think). I have family and friends who could use a bit of help in one area of another, also there are projects around that I’d like to support in some way; the foundation would target those.

8. What is your favourite animal?

Morgan horses (the old style, not the new, Tennessee Walker sorts with long legs, etc.), with collie/border collie dogs and Norwegian skoggkatts close behind.

9. Are you a morning person?

Yes, and an evening one! However, early afternoon has not much to say for itself and I’d happily nap then . . .

10. Guilty pleasure?

Reading in a huge claw-footed tub while eating dark chocolate, sipping something yum and listening to Runrig . . . I think I’d stay there ’til I turned into a prune and maybe longer (’til the books ran out!)

No questions about music, eh? Well, anyone who reads my stuff likely has a pretty good idea of what I love most . . . 🙂  Movies would have been interesting, too. But then this post would have been very long . . .  🙂

I have to add one, though:

11. Favourite activity:

Creating stuff. I do a variety of things, have mastered none, and am always up for learning new things . . .

18 thoughts on “The last award . . .

  1. #7 says so much about the person you are. What a good heart.

    The awards can be overwhelming. What I do instead is acknowledge the giver with a link back to their site, on my awards page. I’m so glad you wrote this post, though.

    • As to #7, I’ve thought about it for a long time, having met a few big winners over the years. I decided that no-one NEEDS $50 Million, so once family, friends and myself were helped out a bit, what would be a good use? I believe that money is not meant to hoard, but to let flow, just like water. That way no-one would have a drought and no-one would be drowned. Well, you know what I mean, I hope. So then I started thinking about ways that money can be made to help and to work for us. Paul Newman and his daughter both run companies where 100% of the profits go to charity. Not only that, but obviously the companies also provide employment. So that’s one model I admire.

      Good idea, having an awards page to acknowledge the givers. No time this week, buy maybe next . . . ~ Linne

    • Thanks, Alys. I just don’t think anyone needs 50 million; of course there are things to spend it on, but I feel I could spoil myself a bit, be a lot better off and still do some good. One thing I didn’t mention was that I would like to buy a house here, large enough for my Mum, my Aunty and myself. It could be sold off later. For now, it would be a good thing, though.

      I’m thinking about copying you by having an awards page with links. Great idea! No time yet . . .

  2. So funny Linne I was just about to nominate you too… but all is well and I enjoyed reading what your wrote for answers and I left a link on my blog to your blog so we can help increase our traffic. great blog and keep it up

    • Thanks for thinking of me, Jolynn; and thanks, too, for linking to me. I appreciate it. I wish that all our ‘follows’ showed up, instead of being limited to 50. I have a lot more than that in my queue. Wish I’d started a separate page just for the links . . . Thanks for the compliment, too; I like your blog as well; brings back lots of memories for me. ~ Linne

  3. I feel the same about awards, but it is nice to learn a little about the person behind the blog. I do enjoy visiting you and hope to continue! ❤

    • Thanks so much, Stacy! That’s why I decided to answer the questions even if I didn’t follow up with the rest of it. I love visiting you, too, so let’s continue together. 🙂 ❤ back to you, too. ~ Linne

    • Thank you! yes, life throws us a lot of curve balls at times, but I believe we signed up to be here for a reason; now to remember . . . 🙂

    • Better than magical, I think. We have forgotten so much and narrowed our viewpoints so far. This dad questioned his choices as he went along (as I have done with other ‘adventures’, like our horseback trip years ago . . . ), but in the end he followed his instincts and it paid off. The best thing, I think, is that we don’t all have to trek through Outer Mongolia to find healing . . .

    • They are, Robbie! Even answering 11 questions took me a while. Of course, it would help if I ever learned to be concise . . . 🙂
      I have had a very “rich” life, but mostly with little money. The real richness comes from experiences and relationships, I think. However, a bit more of the green would not be turned down 🙂 No worries on the creating front; my idea of hell would be to have no supplies left before the end of my life . . .

      • lol..you are too funny:-) I was reading all about you + you have lived an amazing life + what adventures you have had!!! I have no doubt you will have more adventures too, but maybe they will be in the creative arena…wow…your fabric dying is amazing. I am so busy right now growing plants + getting them to people I promised that I don’t have much time for creative ventures, but I will soon!!! You are inspiring:-)

      • Thanks, Robbie! Yes, I’ve been lucky; penniless but with priceless memories. I’m hoping for more adventures, too, and not only in the creative world. As far as I’m concerned, I will never be too old for adventures. 🙂 The dyeing has been fun; a bit on hold for the moment, but more soon. I can only imagine how busy you must be just now. I hope you find time to create once the initial push wears off a bit. One thing I love about the Virtual Village is how many inspiring people I have met! And you are one of them. You make me realize how much can be done even with a relatively small area. My grandparents were homesteaders and I tend to think in their terms still; 100 acres or more, so I’d have a viable, sustainable woodlot and some land to just let be, too. Dreams are the easy bit, as I’m sure you know . . .

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

