Building an Upcycled Goat Milking Stand

Rabid Little Hippy, I thought you might find this interesting . . . (and any other goatherds out there, too. ~ Linne

Frühlingskabine Micro-Farm

I wouldn’t say that we used all recycled materials on this one either because the base of our whole milking stanchion is made from a crate used only for a few days about twenty years ago. However, the crate has been waiting for new purpose and we were able to reuse the rest of the 2×4’s from the old rabbit shed.

20140408-125619.jpg

I wanted to give you all a full tutorial on how to build a milking stanchion, but after a quick google search, I realized that there are so many DIY plans out there that anyone could figure out the basics. I did, however, glean a few great ideas from milk stands I have used and seen over the last year of learning to milk goats. I would give you measurements, but to be honest– I literally went out into the goat pen and measured our goat with a tape…

View original post 387 more words

6 thoughts on “Building an Upcycled Goat Milking Stand

    • I think one day we will see goats, bees, chickens, etc. in many backyards in the city. But for now, of course, everyone’s more concerned with looks and noise (and maybe smells lol) than with sustainable living. This next decade will be interesting.

      I’m glad to see you back, Barbara. Hope you’re doing well again. It was recommended to me to read a book called “The Healing Code” and I’ve just gotten it from the library, but haven’t had time to read more than the first few pages. I highly recommend you read it. It’s a very interesting approach to healing.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

