Happy Mother’s Day!

Sorry I don’t have time to do this justice, and for those of you on the Dark Side (for now!) it’s already a day late and a dollar short, as they used to say . . .

But I’ve had you all on my mind this week. I hope it was a good day for each of you, whether you spent time with your Mum or whether she’s no longer in this plane. And I hope there were good memories to share, too.

I don’t have time to scan them just now, but my own Mum found some pictures of her mother back in the pre-WWI days; wearing lovely Edwardian coats, skirts and blouses . . . and an even lovelier HUGE hat. There are later pictures from my grandparents early homesteading days, too. Not many, so very precious.

I was very lucky to have a Mum that reads tonnes and who taught me to read before I was four, just by holding me on her lap while she read the newspaper or a book, following along with her finger as she read aloud. She didn’t try to ‘teach’ me, but I sure learned!

We haven’t always seen eye to eye (even now LOL), but even though I’m very different from her in many ways, I’m also like her in many. We both love handcrafts (hence the over-packed apartment, full of supplies for so many crafts) as well as books and poetry. I love the music she liked when she was young, but once the 70s happened, our musical tastes parted ways. She used to listen to a show on CBC radio called “The Road to the Isles” and that was my introduction to Celtic music of many sorts. I still remember Andy Stewart singing “Donald, Where’s Your Troosers?” as well as so many of the melodies by Thomas Moore, such as “The Last Rose of Summer” and “The Minstrel Boy”.

I never knew either of my grandmothers (they both died before I was born), but I think of them every Mother’s Day. Hard lives they lived, and without complaining, always finding time to be creative in some way. I wish I had known them. I also remember my first mother in law, who was a wonderful woman, born a Potter, she was related to Beatrix Potter. She was in the Women’s Land Army during WWII, driving a horse-drawn milk wagon among other things. I still miss her presence in my life.

So, here’s to all who mother, whether they have borne children or not; there are many out there who deserve thanks and thoughts today. None perfect, of course, but who is, really?

I’ll be back after Wednesday. Sorry for the lack of responses to comments and posts. It’s been a busy time  for me lately. Lots of love and warm hugs to you all.  ~ Linne

14 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Sorry it’s so late, Linne – I just haven’t been around much lately – but I’ve added you to my blogroll (under the “Pages” link on the drop-down menu). I love to read your words. xo

    • No worries, Stacy; I have busy times and then try to catch up in between. So I get it. I love reading your words, too (in fact, just popped over and read your ode to your daughter; so lovely and moving – she is, too, but I’m referring to your words 🙂 ) ~ Linne

  2. A lovely post Linnie, couldn’t have said it better myself. As one of those whose mum isn’t here any more I remember her more fondly every year. All of those hard edges that tainted our relationship seem to have worn away and all I remember are those good times and everything that she did for me and how she loved me. I guess that’s our legacy, to remember and to learn from those memories 🙂

    • Narfie, it’s nice when those hard edges become blunted, even softened, isn’t it? When we are young, it’s so hard to see our parents as just people doing their best, whatever that level might be. They are never as perfect as we would like and we blame them for that. for me, seeing where I fell short as an adult helped so much in giving me a better perspective on my parents. They did love us and did their best, too.

      And it’s good to have the good memories, isn’t it? And even the not so good ones can be lessons . . . I learned as much from their mistakes as I did from my own, I think. We all hope for our kids to accept us as imperfect, but loving parents, so I guess we can do no less for our own.

    • You are very right, Pauline! And it’s easier to honour and respect when the parent at least tries. My Mum, like me, was very good at mothering in the physical sense. But I was a great challenge to her and my Dad, as my generation broke away so far from what they knew and believed. I have one foot firmly planted in and Old World culture and one equally firmly rooted in the coming Age. Not always comfortable, believe me! But even when we were at cross-purposes for so long, I did always know that part of it was because they loved us and wanted the best for us. It was hard for my parents to work so hard to build a better life, then see their eldest choose what they had finally escaped! Voluntarily living without electricity and running water, not to mention indoor plumbing sometimes, too. It must have felt like a smack upside the head to them.

      But I was so lucky to get most of my babycare and homemaking skills from my mother, as well as my skills and interest in a myriad of activities, of which reading is still the queen. I wasn’t nearly the mother she was, and I’m glad we have become closer these past years. I wasn’t always sure that would happen . . .

  3. Nice post + it really is true for all of us, we are not suppose to see “eye to eye” with our mothers always:-) A mother does influence who we are….Beatrix Potter….LOVE HER!!!! I have always said there is a creative gene out there working through families:-) lol..it does get passed just never know where or how it will manifiest itself-lol!!!

    • So true, isn’t it? I’d like to see more eye to eye, but of course am stubborn and bolshie and won’t give up any of my pet positions . . . Both of us can be very quick to retort, but we’ve mastered the art of closing our mouths immediately after, giving it a bit of time, then starting up again as if that bit had melted away. Much better than trying to ‘talk it all out’, which used to be so fashionable. We recognize that we have the same traits and have learned to live with them, even find them endearing . . . a useful life skill, really.

      I’ve always love Beatrix Potter, too, and still enjoy the books. Her biographies are quite fascinating as well. I agree about the creative gene. My oldest boy is very talented at art and the younger at music (he could sing before he could talk); they come by it on both sides of the family and going back as many generations as I know about. My Dad’s mother could pick up any instrument, run her hands over it and begin to play. Wish I’d inherited that gift! My Dad was very musical, too, as were several of my Mum’s uncles on her mother’s side and her mother was such a gifted singer as a child that when they moved to the States in 1900 (my grandmother was then nine), the music teacher who taught her and her brother begged their mother to leave them in Norway with the teacher! Of course they didn’t do that, but it shows her talent. Mum can remember her singing around the house and everyone who ever heard her says that she had an angelic voice. It will be interesting to see if any of the grandkidlets carries some of the familiar gifts. There is a lot of writing ability on both sides, too. Their Dad’s other grandfather is a gifted writer and journalist, three of their great-uncles write and have worked in journalism; there are several books on that side, too. Fascinating stuff, isn’t it, Robbie?

      • It really is:-) My mother is into geneology , so we have great records that takes our family back to the Mayflower-lol. We are related in 3 places, so it is very intresting. We all came from Europe to American, but to trace it back to when (1600’s) is facinating,too. I do see similiar Likes and Dislikes being passed down. I feel there is a “creative gene” and I bet it even gets more detailed-lol, for example, writing, muscial, art etc. DNA is interesting!!!
        I am in the process of trying to move my parents closer to where we live. I am having a hard time keeping an eye on them since they live North of us + my brother is in Wyoming, so I am the closest. My parents still drive /travel by car and they are amazing drivers,but I am seeing changes in their 80’s emerging:-( I need them closer…it is my turn to help them:-)

      • Robbie, I have a printout of some genealogical work that was done by a second cousin in Saskatchewan a few years ago. Her grandfather was my maternal grandfather’s brother. She traced the family back (mostly through the fathers) all the way to the 1200s! All in Norway, of course. I also have a photocopy of the ship’s passenger list with my Mum’s mother and their daughters on it, this is from 1900, when they emigrated to North Dakota. My grandmother grew up there, my grandfather emigrated at 19 in 1909, they met, married and had the first two children; then they, my grandmother’s parents and several siblings all moved to Saskatchewan to grow wheat and raise most of their own food.
        I wish in these records there was information about the people themselves; it’s interesting to see the names (many of which are family names that show up again and again), but I’d love to know what they did for a living, what they liked to do, eat, wear, etc.

        I, too, think that there may be ‘creative genes’, or else we just attract creative people into our lives as we have our children. I remember one book I read saying that what the parents, and especially the mother, thought about during the pregnancy would affect the choice of a soul to join their family. So someone who was working in accounting was more likely to attract a person good with numbers, etc. Very fascinating (as is DNA!).

        I can see why you’d want your parents closer now; it can be hard for elders to leave their community, though. Can’t say I’d want to do that, either, when it’s my time. My youngest Auntie is nearly 90 and just passed her driving exam with flying colours! I was so pleased for her. She doesn’t drive on the freeways anymore and only once a week at night (to her bridge club). She lives at the coast, so if there is snow or ice, she can just stay home ’til it melts; usually only a few days. This means she can be independent still; getting her own groceries, going to appointments, etc. If she goes to stay with one of her sons for a long weekend, he and his wife come get her so she won’t have to drive the freeways. It’s good . . .

        You may find that your parents aren’t yet ready to be ‘helped’. None of us want to admit we need it, as a rule. My Mum is very good; she asks when she wants something done for her; otherwise, I know to stand back and not interfere. 🙂 It’s different when we live with a parent, though. I’m lucky to have so many long-lived, competent people on my Mum’s side. I hope I inherited those genes! On my Dad’s side there are no elders left; all of them died young. My Dad was only 75 when he died. But I’m used to elders in their late 80s and 90s; it changes how one sees aging, so I’m very lucky.

        I hope your parents see moving closer to you as just another in a long line of adventures; that can make it easier. Interesting how family dynamics change over time, isn’t it?

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

