Share Your World – 2014 Week 20

Sorry I’m late with replies to comments (again), but I thought this would be entertaining for some of you . . .

Cee, of Cee’s Photography, posts weekly challenges that can be quite fun and revealing, too. Click on the link just above if you are interested in taking part yourself.

Her questions this week really caught my eye, so here are my responses (in turquoise):

Share Your World – 2014 Week 20

If you could go back and visit any time period, what time would you travel to and why?
I would go back to when the Atlantaeans were building the teaching pyramids in Egypt. I’d love to talk with the architects about the symbology that is built into the Great Pyramid, in particular; why certain colours of stone were used and so on.

If you could have three wishes granted for you alone, what would they be?  This is a time for you to dream and have fun.

1: to own property in the country, near a large lake or (even better) the ocean. It would have old gardens, orchards, ponds, an old Arts and Crafts house with Hobbity features and a huge library; also room for a couple of Morgan horses, Scotch and Border Collie dogs and Norske Skogkatt cats, chooks, goats, maybe even a couple of Dexter milk cows.

2. to have time and money to travel, partly to meet my Virtual Village (blogger) friends in person; partly to visit Egypt, Israel, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, England, Japan and Tibet. I’d plan my trip to Scotland to include a Runrig concert, too.

3: to own several musical instruments and learn to play them. (I suppose this would be a fourth wish, but I’d like to be fluently multi-lingual, too) 🙂 

Wanting something to quench your thirst, what would you drink?

Water.

If you watch TV what are your favorite three television shows?

Downton Abbey, Doc Martin, The Bletchley Circle, DCI Banks, Scott & Bailey, Silk (the lawyer series, not the mini movie), Lark Rise to Candleford, Foyle’s War, Robin Hood, Jericho, Jam & Jerusalem, The Vicar of Dibley and Last Tango in Halifax (England, not Nova Scotia).  did you say ‘3’? Sorry, I just couldn’t pick three; the others would be offended. Besides, none of these run very long at a time, so I think they boil down to three a week in the long run.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Lunch out with my Philosophical Friend and breakfast with her tomorrow. Also finally getting a budget set up and feeling that I’m on my way to financial freedom . . .

14 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2014 Week 20

    • Thanks, Barbara. I’ve been busy, so am way behind with comments (again!). It was a quiet weekend, which is good. This one is more busy. today I made bread, buns, 24 small muffins, two smoothies and a large frittata (breakfast). And finished an excellent spy thriller. Had to . . . I couldn’t live without knowing what happened in the end . . .

      Hope you are having a good weekend this week. Hugs to you, too. ~ L

  1. A lovely and most fecund list Linnie. Sometimes it is a good exercise to just write things out like this and take a look at our goals and our desires. Obviously some of them can’t be realised without discovering that you have a rich old aunty that you never knew about and you were her only surviving relative…but the rest are feasible and are at least lovely to hold onto in your mind :). Have a great day/week and enjoy those philosophical friends as they feed your mind and soul 🙂

    • You are so right, Narfie! I have no idea where I’ll end up living, but I already have lots of language mp3s and I do work on acquiring words, at least, pretty much daily. Fluency is another matter; really requires speaking to a native speaker on a regular basis . . .

      Musical skills are also not too hard to acquire; mastery is not likely to be mine in this life, but every bit helps, I think. I may not have another horse in this lifetime, either, but a collie dog and a cat of some sort are definitely possible. If I live in the country I’d want a german shepherd dog, too, just to feel more secure.

      My philosophical friend took me to breakfast this morning and has had a cancellation by a client, so she’ll be back at 2:00ish and we will either go to a movie or just spend some time outdoors, possibly walking around that lovely lake. I haven’t been there since early last summer.

      I wish you a great day/week too. I’m glad you are enjoying being indoors by the fire, baking, etc. I bet in a couple of months you’ll be ready to start seedlings and thinking about the garden again. I like the cyclical nature of nature, don’t you? 🙂

      • I have to FIND the garden first Linnie! It seems to have decided to hibernate under all of that mass tangle of greenery 😉

      • Throw some manure on it and let it sink down and become a seething mass of fecundity . . . of course, you’ll have to give some thought to raising the ‘roof’ if you keep doing that . . . 🙂 ~ Linne

      • I pulled out heaps of spent pumpkins, harvested some lovely fresh potatoes, found myself a nest of yacon tubers (“SQUEE!) and generally got filthy in the process…methinks you can never have too much manure (unless it is what our local politicians appear to want to spread thickly all over us 😦 )

      • I am so impressed by the amount you get done, even in winter! I agree, there is never too much manure; too bad we can’t compost what comes our of the poli’s mouths, eh? We could put ’em in the stocks, put long troughs below them and people could just come gather up what they needed . . .

      • You could forget about any other form of alternative energy, you could just use all of that hot air that they generate to run turbines to fuel the world! 😉

      • I’ll try not to respond fully to that; we are in full agreement 🙂 Maybe they could be corralled into one of the stadiums after the World Cup is over.

    • Yes, Cee, especially for me . . . I just don’t like to get in any ‘box’ 🙂 Your blog is always interesting, but most days I don’t have time to comment at length everywhere. This was an especially fun post, I thought. ~ Linne

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

