Fun, thanks to Dani of ‘Teddy and Tottie’ fame . . .

Oh, did that title give it away? Darn!Β  πŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That’s the front, as it’s grown over the past three weeks (well, I didn’t touch it during the middle week, so during the first and third weeks). Thanks to Dani’s tutorial, it didn’t take me long to get the hang of this new technique. A couple of bits took some thinking, then it all became clear . . . Anyone else working on this (besides Pauline)?

I thought I’d have two photos to add tonight, but alas . . .

IMG_6268

See what I did? One and a half circuits back, I made only eight double trebles in the corner; there should be twelve . . .Β  so guess what I’ll be doing later on . . . that’s right, ripping out one and a half circuits . . . I do count carefully, so I must have been chatting with my Aunty and not paying quite enough attention for just a minute or two . . . or else I was distracted by the news last night (more likely, now I think back).

Knowlton Nash, a well-respected tv journalist for several decades and anchor for “The National” before the current anchor, Peter Mansbridge, died yesterday at the age of 86.

A good age, I know, but still . . . so many people I’ve looked up to for much of my life are moving on . . . and I miss them. Mr. Nash covered so many of the events that helped to shape my life and thinking; the Cuban missile crisis, the Kennedy election and later assassination, Che Guevara, so much more . . . He was my first image of a good journalist and now Mr. Mansbridge carries on in the same manner.

Anyway, not much else to report and not much time left tonight. We had a lovely windy storm last night and today it was deliciously cloudy and we had a big downpour earlier (the sky darkened so that I wouldn’t have been able to read indoors) and then another, longer one from just before supper. Rain and the leaves are beginning to appear, not to mention the grass greening . . . makes one believe in spring!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve made bread again, using less of the rye flour. Still ended with dense, low loaves; still, they taste wonderful and I’ve made some kefir cheese and mixed it with bought chive cream cheese; I spread that on the ‘rye’ bread and it’s perfect with a cucumber, onionΒ and tomato salad! I’ll make bread again this week, but I think I’ll only add rye flour to part of the dough this time. I like bread tall enough for sandwiches. πŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have a great week, everyone! I’ll be back to reply to comments soon. πŸ™‚

Music for you:

Runrig and the Drums

Runrig and the Drums playing An Sabhal Aig Neill (Neil’s Barn) followed by the Drums @ Hebridean Celtic Festival, Stornoway, Isle of Lewis (17/07/2010)

Woody Guthrie playing ‘All You Fascists Bound to Lose’

Pete Seeger singing ‘Which Side Are You On?’

this last was sparked by a picture on Facebook today:

neutral 01

20 thoughts on “Fun, thanks to Dani of ‘Teddy and Tottie’ fame . . .

  1. I’m VERY late to comment, beautiful Linne, but can’t thank-you enough for firstly giving my bavarian crochet tutorial a try and secondly for letting your lovely blog readers know you have done so. And, yes, I’m discovering quite a few limitations of the tutorial – a few bits are a bit too confusing – and will go back and adjust bits when I get a chance – hopefully soon! – yikes! life is a bit crazy at the moment! I, too, have spent many hours pulling out work – very annoyed with myself that I have miscounted on the previous row! It’s funny though you know, the more I do Bavarian crochet the more I find I can do it a little more on automatic – in front of the TV and the like without making as many mistakes.
    I always love seeing what you’ve been cooking lately, Linne – and love Pauline’s Winnie The Pooh comment. So sorry to hear about the passing of a well-respected TV journalist.
    Thanks so much for this post, Linne – you’ve well and truly made my day! Take care xoxoxoxoxox

    • Dani, I’ve been loving it! A perfect project for doing whilst I chat with my Aunty or we watch the hockey . . . Stanley Cup season here, you see . . . she’s a huge hockey fan and I’m busy rooting for the Montreal Canadiens, the only Canadian team to make it to the playoffs, much to our lasting shame. After all, the Cup is Canadian and I very much want it to stay north of the border . . . πŸ˜‰

      I’m not sure if my stitches are entirely the same as yours, either . . . I didn’t think about that until I was well into it; however, mine looks ok, which is what I really care about. πŸ™‚ I had a bit of trouble at the end of each round, trying to figure out how to join to the beginning. But I’ve been crocheting since I was nine (not through my teen years, but nearly every other year since), so can usually figure things our, or at least make things work for me. I’m getting to where the automatic bit is easier; I just need to remember that on one row it’s groups of eight and then four, the next row it’s groups of eight and then twelve. Once I realized the ‘wheels’ are all sixteen trebles, things got a lot easier . . . but maybe that’s just how my weird mind works and maybe that will only confuse anyone else.

      I think you have started something nice, Dani. Pauline’s made one, me, too, and now Narfie is planning to give it a go . . . I think we’ll see lots more showing up . . .

      I used to worry that my food shots weren’t anywhere near professional, nor is my cooking; then I realized that the food posts I enjoy most myself are from ordinary cooks, not chefs. I love seeing everyone’s kitchen, dishes, etc. then I can picture people as they go about their day. So that got me to relax a bit.

      I love that quote, too. And Mr. Nash was a big influence on me at an age when I wasn’t aware of him being such. He trained Peter Mansbridge, who took his place and who is now my favourite journalist. I saw the interviews after the funeral last Thursday, I think it was, and they said he asked for his ashes to be placed in a videotape box and there it was, right up front with a lovely picture of him from his glory days. I loved that he had such a great sense of humour. But it was fitting, too; his life was journalism, or at least a large part of it was.

      I’m so glad you enjoyed this post, Dani. I wanted people to know that your tutorial is very doable. I think with a few tweaks, even those new to crochet will find it easy to do. The photos helped me most; I printed out the entire tutorial and used it for a reference, as my Mum’s computer is up here and seeing the photos on my phone meant they were too small for some of the detail to be clear.

      I’m planning another one now; there are still several balls of yarn that need using up. Have a great week, Dani. ~ Linne

  2. I love this confraturnity of commentation πŸ™‚ I always leave a mass commenting feeling wonderful. SO much support. Winnie the Pooh sure knew his onions…but like onions, initially that first cut makes you cry. After that you get to think about all of those layers (like in Shrek) and how important they all are to the scheme of things and suddenly you realise that an onion is so much more than the sum of it’s parts…I think I just went SO far away from my point I just made another one! Note to self…STAY FOCUSSED! We are all on the thinking side of 50 now Linnie…that doorway is getting closer but it’s up to us how much life we pack in before then. You seem to be doing a fantastic job of giving your life meaning, purpose and consideration. So much so…(drum roll PULEEZE…) that I…the narf…of Upper Serendipity on the Mer, have decided…(wait for it…) to make Dani’s delicious Barvarian! Yes…I am afraid. I just looked at all of those trebbles and thought “OH NO LOOK AT ALL OF THOSE TREBBLES!” (as you do…) but I shall NOT be daunted. I shall steer my wool in the direction of the breeze (“EARL!…EWW!” πŸ˜‰ ) and shall get some of my (most delicious) wool hoardings and will give it the old college try. What have I got to lose? (Aside from my sanity and about tree fiddy of wool…)…thank you for inspiring me Linnie. I always come here to get inspired and reinvigorated. Cheers for the vigoration πŸ™‚

    • I love it, too, Narfie! And it’s worth the tears, just to see the unwrapping of the onion layers . . . What you did there is what my sisters call “oh, look, a blade of grass” we3 say that when any of us wander off verbally (and mentally, usually at the same time). We always keep a finger on the original topic, though, and eventually find our way back . . .

      I’m with you on packing life full as we can. I’ve done ok with that, I think, although along the way there have been plenty of ‘Oopses and oh, wellses’. πŸ˜‰

      Oh, I’m so excited for you, I may have to squee!! I made that over two weeks only and have just the final edge to finish. I didn’t have enough yarn to do a complete double row, so made up my own ending . . . so ‘moi’, don’t you think? πŸ˜‰ I’m not entirely sure, BTW, that my double trebles are the same as hers, but it worked anyway. I just did yarn over three times and then commenced as usual. As a crocheter, you’ll know what I mean, I expect.

      Earl, really! You know, it may be something in their feed. I used to feed my lovely collie a fairly cheap brand of dog food and he, too, was very aromatic. then I switched to a better brand and it all went away. For which I was immensely grateful . . . πŸ˜‰

      I’m so glad you feel inspired and reinvigorated! your posts do the same for me. It’s one reason I love my Virtual Village friends so much . . . now if we could only figure a way to drop by for tea from time to time (and lend a hand with the current project at the same time, of course). Hugs to you. ~ Linne

      • I should just send you my stash of wool, a crochet hook and tell you to “knock yourself out!” πŸ˜‰ We spent the whole weekend working on studies as Stevie Boy has a few weeks of paid work and he needs to knock out the studies on the weekend but that means that we don’t get our weekends 😦 Oh well…I get a week to myself so that is something and I also set to my RSS Feed Reader and flensed it down to 93 blogs! I haven’t cleared them all out yet but that’s a much easier amount of blogs to manage now. I am slowly getting on top of things and learned that if you put damp logs into brunhilda’s ovens you get hot toasty logs that she LOVES. Her favourite treat of all…

        Earl exists on a few dog biscuits and straight raw beef…the odd sweet biscuit may or may not pass his lips and some nefarious things that he hoovers up from outside (the reason why I don’t let Earl anywhere near my face when he gets back in from “outside”!) but he appears to have a digestive system made of steel as he also eats pool noodles, shoes (especially the heels), anything leather and as much plastic as he can shovel in. We keep having to remove stuffed toy eyes from his protesting beak and he keeps telling us that he “needs them for his roughage”…sigh…part wolverine, part pig, part dog and mostly alien!

      • Sure, in my ‘spare time’ . . . πŸ™‚ My plan to downsize my stash has gone askew somehow; I’ll post about it soon. Typical crafty person that I am . . .
        93 blogs in the reader!! That alone is impressive!!!

        Will Mr. E eat his raw beef if you add some rolled oats, raw eggs (sorry, forgot your chooks are a bit delinquent in that area) and some chopped greens/herbs? That brings it closer to what they eat in the wild . . . Leather I can understand, but pool noodles and plastic? Mostly Alien, eh? I can believe it!

        When I was growing up, we always had a woodbox and a bucket for kindling next to the stove. The wood dried out there somewhat when needed. I can remember Mum putting damp logs on the right side of the stove to dry out a bit, though it wasn’t needed often. Dad worked in the woods and he’d cut our wood in the spring, so it had lots of time to dry over the summers. A good woodshed helps, too. I like how you are using Brunhilda’s ovens to dry them. I did see your comment on Jess’s post, telling how one burst into flame . . . do be careful, eh? We like you to be warm and toasty, but not THAT toasty! Crispy Critters are now how I like to imagine my friends . . . πŸ™‚ Hugs to you. ~ Linne (and to Steve; hope the work went well)

      • We only have spontaneous “events” when we forget that we have logs in the ovens and Brunhilda starts cranking up the heat. She is on pretty much 24/7 and it’s ok so long as we aren’t ramping up the heat to bake something. Hot toasty logs can soon turn to burnt offerings but they still burn well so it’s all gravy! πŸ˜‰ Hugs right back atcha πŸ™‚

  3. I guess Linne, if when we leave, we are leaving the world a better place for having been here then our lives have been well lived. Love Winnie’s quote by Pauline πŸ™‚

    Love your crochet, I just saw Pauline’s and the pattern is so pretty. I never learned to crochet and would love to but have so many other things queuing up to do.

    You will be looking forward to Spring, it’s my favourite month – you just feel anticipation in the air, everything just comes alive and sparkles with new possibilities.

    • I agree, Wendy. And even if we don’t see it ourselves, most of us have made some part better or touched someone somehow. And it all counts. I love that quote, too.

      Crochet is easy; “one stick and a piece of string” Honest! Wish I could pop in and demonstrate! But I know what you mean about things queuing up . . . sigh . . . garden and outdoors in the summer, then all the fixing and indoor stuff in the winter. Hard to find time to just sit and enjoy (or create), isn’t it?

      It’s been remarkably spring-like the past few days; lots of rain and clouds, cool breezes, too. This after a week of hot weather that had me grumbling about how it goes from -30 to +30 in days here . . . I’d rather have long springs and autumns, with short winters and summers. But that’s me . . .

      And yes, when I feel those breezes blowing and see the dandelions sprouting up, I do feel that anticipation (Anticipation 301?) πŸ˜‰

      I’ve been busy with some of those possibilities, myself, or at least preparing for some of them . . . ~ Linne

      • I am not a fan of the very hot days of summer either Linne. We have our first day of winter today and I find winter dismal…I am hoping though this year to create and create big – my mind is screaming out for it.

        I wish I had learned crochet when I was younger, maybe next year I will give it a go. I have so many ideas for this year.

        Yes, a beautiful quote πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, too hot or too cold; I know they are good for keeping our bodies tuned up, but honestly! I think it’s more that ours lasts so long here . . . I think I need to buy a new attitude . . . I suspect the dismal is partly from the lack of sunlight, too. I know a couple of co-workers who also struggled with depression bought those full-spectrum lamps for their desks. They are supposed to help even if you only use them for ah hour a day, but the admin room had no windows (it was in the core of the building), so they used the lamps more than that. They said it helped a lot.

        Hope you get lots of creating done this wintertime . . . I find that helps a lot, too. But, like you, many ‘to-dos’ call to me every day and at the end of the day my energy is pretty low.

        Crochet is easy, honest. One stick and a piece of string. Start with those dishrags; they are quick and easy and work fine even if you miss a stitch or ten. They make awesome bath scrubbies, too.

        Hang in there; your shortest day is nearly upon us; then we will be sharing our light with you again . . . πŸ™‚ Hugs ~ Linne

      • I might just give the crochet a go πŸ™‚ It’s something I could do at night when the light is not so great for other things.

        Yes, I do have great plans for creating in the mornings but my days get all skew-wiffy then at the end I find I have achieved little by way of anything constructive lol. I seem to be having a long and protracted slump after all the business of summer and autumn!

      • Oh, do! I highly recommend it! If you saw me working at my Auntie’s, with only one table lamp in the lounge and it has a dark burgundy shade . . . I can count the stitches by feel. A handy thing if I ever go blind . . . See my post today for more inspiration . . . πŸ˜‰

        Oh, I know what you mean, except this is spring (and a lovely one, weather-wise, this year) for us and I’ve been in a huge slump myself. I don’t get it; usually when there’s lots of light, I’m full of vim and vigour . . . You, on the other hand, have a number of good reasons for a wee slump. I prescribe a few days by the fire, crochet in hand and tea at your elbow (but not too close). Hope you are recovering by now.

  4. I made a trial square using Dani’s tutorial and that worked well, so now I’ve bought some lovely yarn from Baa Ram Ewe to make a blanket… just have a few more projects to complete before I get going with it. I’m also lucky enough to have a real square made by Dani herself – this was so useful when checking how to get things right.

    • Isn’t it a lovely pattern? I can do most of it on automatic now, but still like to count fairly often, just to avoid the ripping out bit . . .

      I’m looking forward to seeing photos of yours . . . ~ L

  5. Hah!! Snap!! I just posted at the same time with a shot of my blanket πŸ™‚ I did that same miscount on the corners quite often – luckily for me not waiting to discover it one and half rounds later! I like your chosen colours – are those your favourites?

    All your food is looking good. I love all my kefers and kombucha’s and such like but have yet to make some cheese.

    Your comments about the passing of your favourite news commentator made me think this way: If, when we die, we leave a space, we leave people thinking we made a difference or had an influence on them for the better, then we have lived well. Death is just a door-way. I like what Winnie-the-Pooh has to say on this ‘Aren’t I lucky to know someone I shall miss so very much when he goes away’

    • Snap, indeed! Too funny, eh? No, those aren’t my favourite colours; I like them, though. white and a sort of dark rose pink. I bought the yarn for my Aunty just before she stopped knitting. She didn’t like that the balls were so large (she said), so gave them back to me. It’s just acrylic, and I do think that real wool would work best for this pattern, but it will be for one of the younger grand-daughters. It’s almost done now. But I’ve been busy these past three days, so not sure if it will have to wait ’til I’m back down with my Aunty on Wed. I really love the colours you chose for yours!

      I’ve never made kombucha, but it’s on my list. First I need a scoby . . . The cheese is easy and much like cream cheese. One thing, I recommend using cheesecloth; I bought a piece at the grocery store and folded it into a square (after first opening it up all the way). But I used a metal mesh sieve and I’d recommend a plastic one. The acid in the kefir took the coating off the mesh. Didn’t affect the cheese and it’s a good thing that I’m using the whey in my bath, so I’m not worried about it, but it will be plastic next time. Or else I’ll fold the cheesecloth so it makes a bag and just hang it overnight. I didn’t want to fuss with herbs (although usually I would), so I bought some cream cheese and mixed it into the kefir cheese. This time I’m using one with roasted garlic and onions in it, plus some garlic powder and a bit of cayenne. I love it slathered on a bagel in the morning, or on toast or whatever. I’d think it would make a great dip, too. Have to try that next . . .

      I agree with what you say about leaving a space when we go. Nothing sadder than to have it fill up immediately, like some buildings; once torn down, I remember that something else once stood there, but can’t remember what, exactly. I’d hate that to be me . . .

      I think of that door as a swinging door; swings in and in pops a soul ready for the next round here in the Earth. Swings the other way and someone who’s finished here gets to go home . . . Nothing like being the one to welcome the little one or to walk with the elder to that doorway. We can’t go through with them, but we can make it easier . . . a real blessing, I think.

      Love that quote from Winnie-the-Pooh! I should frame that for myself . . .

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

