March, April, May . . . part One

Wow, do I have a lot of catching up to do . . . but Mum’s computer is hooked up now and I can use it when it’s free, so here goes . . .

First of all, thanks to all my lovely readers for your comments, especially on the death of my much-loved Aunty. A loss is always difficult, even when expected. We seem to expect death to come; just not ‘today’ . . . I’ll catch up with replies to comments soon, now that things are settling down to some degree.

20150315-163844.jpg

Can’t remember if I posted a picture of this sweet bunny. I think I did, but he’s cute enough to share twice. Selma from the Eclectic Home and Life blog posted the pattern. Very quick and easy, they make lovely ornaments, bunting, etc. This one will be attached to the project in the following photo. I haven’t done any more on that project, ’cause it won’t be used ’til next winter . . . and you know, I’m all about the deadlines . . .

20150315-165009.jpg

While I was staying with the Crafties back in February, March and half of April, I ‘appropriated’ this cup for my morning coffee. Here it is, sitting on the coffee table while I work on one of the CAL blankets. I was struck by the colours of the cup, scissors and the table, as seen in the morning sunshine.

IMG_8822

Mrs. Crafty scored a huge box of assorted dollies and every day there would be a few sitting in the sink for  a bath and shampoo. Quite fetching, aren’t they?

IMG_8843

Below is the hand of the youngest Crafty granddaughter, busy working on something for me, to be part of my project that will travel far from here. More on that once I have the rest of the makings . . . Young Miss C was helped by her lovely big brother Master Z. The creativity seems to have skipped a generation, but is alive and thriving in the grandchildren. Wonderful to see!

IMG_8863

I finally finished CAL #1, and here is the second row of the edging just being finished.

IMG_8879

The third row of edging . . .

IMG_8886

This wee Scotty dog sits on a small table outside the room that I slept in at the Crafties’. I took the picture to share with Selma after she posted a pattern for a sweet little Scotty brooch. Isn’t he cute?

IMG_8890

This is a gallon jar, probably once holding pickles or mayonnaise; sometime later it was decorated by a talented folk artist. It found its way to the Re-Use-It Centre, and leapt off the shelf into Mrs. Crafty’s welcoming hands . . . For now it sits on a shelf at the foot of the bed I slept in. It’s so nice to be surrounded by handmade, home-made items. I can just feel the love, can’t you?

IMG_8892

Below you can see how I finished off CAL #1 – with a lovely hot pink ruffle!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I rather like it and I do hope the little girl who will receive it likes it, too. It’s large enough to use on her bed even into her teens. She’s not very tall, so that was easy.

IMG_8913

Above, the house where Doc Martin and the lovely Louisa were to spend their honeymoon; I’m SO tempted to move to Cornwall and take over this place! It reminds me in some ways of a couple of the homes I lived in as a child.

IMG_8934

I borrowed this from a friend’s post on FaceBook; nice to know I’m safe 🙂

IMG_8980

One of the middle Crafty granddaughters; this is the girl I was teaching to knit. She’s been doing quite well with it and her piece was quite a bit longer when she left for home the next day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the last couple of weeks I stayed with the Crafties I interrupted my  work on the three CAL blankets to follow the project that Selma’s class had moved on to: a ripple stitch item; for some, it was a blanket, but a couple of us chose to make a pillow. Mine is actually a pillow cover, for the pillow I used behind my back when I sat in the old recliner at my Aunty’s place. I ended it with a border of my own design, then realized the border wouldn’t show up once the piece was folded and stitched. So I added the white rows at the other end and now the border stands out just right. I’ll have to take a picture of the finished pillow; I rather like it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Two of the  antique dishes owned by the Crafties’ son and his fiancée. The brown lustre dish is meant to hold develled eggs around the edge and I assume a bowl of something in the centre (or crackers? or ???). The clear glass is a beautiful dish, probably meant to hold sweet treats at a ladies’ tea.

IMG_9031

A bottle of root beer, whose cap (and another) I have saved for Narfie7’s wall for Stevie-Boy. I hope root beer counts as a ‘beer’ . . .

IMG_9075

Thanks to Jess the Rabid Little Hippy for this section. She shared a picture of a waffle pattern baby blanket she had made (I think it was her first ever crochet project, too!); She kindly included a link to the pattern site and I just couldn’t resist . . . So this is part of one of the CAL blankets now.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My Mum found this gorgeous towel in her things when she moved here after staying with my youngest sister for two and a half months. It looks rather old, but not antique. I’m planning to write out the pattern, once I find myself with more thyme . . . Thank heavens for spring and summer, eh?

IMG_9160

Some of the best banana bread I ever made! (and I’m not exaggerating, either!) I used a recipe from my Mum’s old Women’s Institute Cookbook, published back in the ’50s to celebrate British Columbia’s 100th anniversary. Most of the recipes have the ingredients in no particular order, so I missed something important when I started mixing things up; I saw ‘3-4 bananas’ at the end of the list, and rejoiced because I had exactly four that badly needed using up. So I mashed ’em and smashed ’em and mixed them with sugar and all the other good things. I had the wet items mixed and the dry items stirred and before I began melding them, I decided to go over the ingredient list one item at a time, just to be sure I hadn’t missed anything . . . and there in the middle was ‘one cup mashed ripe bananas’.

Oops!! Now what? I definitely had more than one cup; still, undeterred by fate, I mixed it all together, then added another half cup of flour or so, plus a spoonful more of baking powder. When I took them out of the oven I turned them out on a rack, as you can see by the clever pattern of indentations on the tops. Once cool, I cut into them, buttered the slices (no law against gilding the lily, is there?) and both Mum and I declared them the best ever!  If anyone is interested, I would be happy to post the recipe. Just let me know.

I’m going to stop here, as I have quite a bit more to go and I really don’t want to leave you all exhausted by such a huge post after the long months of drought . . .

Much Love and many Blessings to each of you; you are always in my heart and mind. More soon . . .

10 thoughts on “March, April, May . . . part One

    • I hate to tell you, but I started out to use up two or three skeins of very inexpensive acrylic yarn and then ended up buying more (story of my life) in order to make a blanket for each of my six grandchildren, along with one for the parents and a couple of others as well. So much for thrift . . . The yarn only had numbers on the label and no dye lots.

      I recommend using better yarn, mostly so it will be softer. Just choose colours you like; line up several skeins and move them around until you enjoy the sequence. You could just alternate two or three colours; you could use a rainbow. You could use different shades of the same colour. I did a combination of different shades and a sort of rainbow. I like one sequence where I began with the dark colours, worked through the medium to the light, then reversed the order. It’s a lot of fun to play with colours, I think. Of course, if you’re making an afghan for a particular room or for someone else, you may want to consider the colours that the afghan will be living next to.

      If you make one of these, I hope you come back and leave another comment with a link to your post. I’d love to see what you do with this.

  1. Hi! For the waffle blanket which by the way I ADORE the color scheme! It’s making me smile lol. Can you give me the link for the pattern? 🙂

  2. What a lovely collection of photographs. So nice that your granddaughters are following in your crafty footsteps! Young is the age to start teaching them the skills to a lifetime of creativity. 🙂

  3. I came back as I didn’t have time to read all the way through the other evening Linne… You have been busy busy I see.. and I absolutely love all your crochet items.. and its good to see you passing on the crafting skills to your granddaughter.. A lovely smile she has.. I keep trying to teach my little one who is 4 to knit.. She is getting the hang of it.. but her attention span is limited as yet.. But she can knit a row all be it lose a few stitches in the process 🙂
    Good to know you are fine and well..
    Enjoy your weekend..
    Hugs Sue xxx

  4. You have been busy in between houses 🙂 Some lovely work here Linne! I hope you have settled down now x Have to say I love the folk art jar…I love that sort of thing. Forgotten to say mail received, thanks very much 🙂

  5. You really covered a lot of ground here. Glad things are settling a bit for you now. I know what you mean about knowing someone is going to die but still not ready for it. I was stunned at how lost I felt after my mother who was terminal, passed so quickly. Took me forever to get a grip again. I love the painted pickle jug. My style. The blanket is so pretty. Love the lacy edges. Nice to see you are training the next generation to do knitting and crochet. Banana bread looks luscious. I have an old recipe from my first mother in law. Take your time catching up.

  6. I love that your rootbeer is called “Stewart’s” as my son Stewart loves rootbeer and has a U.S. Texan partner who is now living with him here in Tasmania :). You have been busy crafting and teaching the next generation how to craft Linne. As far as I can see that is truly what we are here to do on earth. Can’t wait to read your next post and am really glad to see that you and your mum are OK after your aunties passing 🙂

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

