3 quotes in 3(?) days/periods of time/weeks/??? Post #2

I think I should warn you . . . a cuppa won’t last through this post; best make a big pot of tea, coffee, whatever suits you today . . .

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Above is a half-grown magpie rescued by the Crafties. I was there visiting and had the joy of feeding it and holding it for most of the time I was on the front porch.

The Three Quote Challenge . . .

Well, I did warn you that it might take a bit for me to finish this challenge . . . 🙂 (and to learn more about it, visit Pauline & the 3 Quote Challenge and you can follow back -or forward- to some of the many others who are taking part). Pauline threw the gates open to volunteers, so feel free to join in. Maybe let Pauline (and Apple Pie and Napalm) know you are coming to the party . . .

Back in 1970 I had a wonderful woman doctor who introduced me to alternative approaches to health and healing. A few years later she had her license taken away by the medical association, not for causing any harm, but for “unorthodox practises”. Being a woman doctor AND unorthodox . . . oh, my!

Among the sources and ideas she shared with me was a book about Edgar Cayce, now widely regarded as the father of holistic healing and medicine.

His work has helped me ever since then and I have always had positive results from applying his recommendations for  physical healing. But it was his suggestions for mental, emotional and spiritual growth that have helped me the most.

IMG_9737

 

Canada Day, 01 July

 

 

 

IMG_9738

The past weeks have been very challenging for me; I took my Mum to the ER on the 13th of July. As it turned out, she had a serious inflammation in her lower left leg and both lower legs had been swollen for some time, something she was able to hide for quite a while. Since at first we were told it might be staph, or strep or a super-bug, my RN sister, who had been here for a visit just days previously, flew back to help me thoroughly clean most of the condo. It was a massive job, especially for someone who has been extremely sedentary for the past three years (that would be me . . .)

Once done the cleaning, my sister and I were able to get some much-needed organizing done, along with some unpacking. The place looked SO much better by the time she had to leave.

IMG_9803

See . . . ? The front hall, formerly half-full of boxes.

Mum came home on the 22nd, my sister returned on the 23rd, along with our last living Auntie and the Celebration of Life for my Aunty who passed away in April was held on Saturday the 25th. People brought photo albums and it was good to see new photos of my older family. Here are a few: IMG_9905

My maternal grandparents, around the time of their engagement and marriage, probably 1910 or ’11. They met and married in North Dakota, had two children, then moved, along with her parents and several siblings, to Saskatchewan.

IMG_9907

My grandmother, standing, whom I never met, as she died in 1933. She loved her hats and I wish at least one and some of her lovely clothing, had survived the years. That’s one of her sisters sitting in the chair,


IMG_9919

My Aunty when she was young.

IMG_9923

My maternal grandparents and the first seven of eleven children. One died at birth and the girl with the black curly hair died at ten years. My Mum is the baby here, held by her mother. It was the day she and her next older sister (in the chair beside the eldest girl) were christened. The wee girl on the right, with her Dad’s arm around her, is my Aunty that I stayed with for so much of the past three years. Behind them is one of their early homes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This summer we have had very nice weather for the most part. Often coolish, rarely baking hot, just what I like. But not much rain and we could really use some. We had two thunderstorms this past week or so and I loved the light-show, but rain would have been most welcome . . . we seem tyo be teetering on the edge of a drought and that’s scary. The storm above was lovely to watch as it approached over the hill/berm to the west, but didn’t bring much moisture with it.

The Celebration went well and I met relatives I knew only by name and from hearing stories about them through the years. It was good to see others that I had not seen for more than six years, too. My cousin (the younger of my Aunty’s two sons, gave a beautiful eulogy, although he had a hard time getting through some parts.

By Tuesday, the relatives were all gone home again and life began to return to normal, or NiRmL, as I think of it these days.

Then I developed swelling in both my lower legs, a fair bit in the left leg. And then what looked like a pressure sore developed, then another, both just where my short socks’ elastic presses. Then the spots joined and began spreading around my ankle . . .

(hold on, there’s a reason I’m sharing all this)

But first, while looking for a quilting pattern, I stumbled upon this post, put up five years ago by Nan from Pots & Pins blog:  her recipe for Butter Cream Scones

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Of course, first thing I did was to mess around with it, sort of like the Water Rat in The Wind in the Willows, thinking to myself in a parody of said Rat, “Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing—absolutely nothing—half so much worth doing as simply messing about with recipes. Simply messing,” I went on dreamily: “messing—about—with—recipes; messing—”

And so I swapped out 1/4 cup of the flour for 1/4 cup of wheat germ, and swapped 1/4 of the baking powder for an equal amount (more or less) of baking soda, then at the last minute I added a few drops of lemon juice to the cream . . . like I said, simply—messing about . . . and the results were beyond scrumptious; my Mum, whose appetite has not been what it once was, loved these, warm and buttered and topped with jam. The first batch was gone the next day, so I made another . . . Two of those were given to a visiting relative and the rest somehow—just—vanished . . . Yesterday we finished off the third batch and I plan to make more tomorrow. Yes, they are that good!

I have been thinking of other variations that are possible, too, but so far we are so happy with this one it’s all we want. But if the sugar was cut way back and grated cheese added to the dry mix, along with some chopped savoury herbs or maybe some jalapeno peppers chopped very fine . . . now that would be a perfect accompaniment to a winter soup or stew. Savoury cheese scones are wonderful served with butter and jalapeno jelly, too . . . Or the dough could be dropped into a pot of simmering chicken soup by the tablespoonful to make most excellent dumplings . . . or . . . Well, anyway, one must leave something for the cold winter months, mustn’t one? Besides, what I did instead deserves its own post, but won;t get one . . . it will simply have to be content with a mention here:

I sliced some fresh strawberries and cooked then with a little water and berry sugar, let it cool, then added more sliced berries and mashed them a wee bit with a strong fork. Ileft the pot on the stove to stay warm, but with the heat turned off. I heated the scones in the microwave, split them, spooned the berry mixture and syrup over  both halves, then topped with whipped Natrel lactose-free cream. A slice of berry as garnish, plus an attempt at artful garnishing with a spoonful or so of extra syrup, and we had a dessert fit for queens and empresses . . .

shortcake 01

So;,if you have the care of someone whose appetite needs tempting, I highly recommend these; we love them (if that wasn’t obvious already . . .)

Back to the Three Quote Challenge . . . sort of . . .

As some of you know, I’m not one for conventional medicine unless maybe if I were to break a bone or the like, or if I simply couldn’t figure out a problem . . . so I did some online research, seeing as how my reference books are all living in the Land of Somewhere still . . . and from those results and from my memory of treatments that have served me well over the years, I came up with a plan: I have begun walking daily, usually with my good friend C, who drives over most mornings to join me. This gives us both a chance to debrief about various events in our lives, which is so helpful.

I’ve returned to a veggie-rich alkalizing diet along with a few other tried and true alkalizers. No need to wait until I have an actual infection, I say . . .

In addition to walking, I am using castor oil on both legs, along with gentle massage. Yesterday I used wet packs of epsom salts and sea salt, dissolved in hot water. And today, when C dropped by with four mojitos for us (for today and tomorrow), she did some energy work on my foot, and there was much less swelling for the rest of the day and through the night.

mojito one

fresh Lime and Mint Mojito from The Tea Place

The Tea Place in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada is the most fantastic food place I’ve eaten at in decades; My friend C took me there the first time and we’ve been there as often as possible since. The bubble teas are exceptional.

Last time C drove me around for several hours doing errands while we visited, we went to The Tea Place for lunch. There were salmon avocado wraps on the menu, but not the paninis I loved last summer. When I mentioned this to the owner, who was waiting on us, he immediately said that he could make that for us, and he did. Salmon, avocado and just enough wasabi to make its presence known. (this mix would be wonderful added to a green salad, making it into a full meal)The panini, along with a small bowl of Thai curry chicken soup, was as wonderful as ever. With it we had a fresh Lime & Mint Mojito, with slices of lime and sprigs of mint in each drink. Non-alcoholic, it was the most refreshing beverage I’d had in ages. I kept my mint to start my own plants (which is why C showed up yesterday with four more!) and by luck(is there such a thing?), I’d just purchased a bag of organic limes at the grocery store. I plan to try hot Mojitos this winter, too . . .

We finished up with a shared piece of Red Velvet cake and left happy!

If you are ever in Edmonton, I highly recommend at least one visit to The Tea Place (and no, they don’t even know I’m mentioning them; I just like to promote small businesses that are exceptional in nature and performance.)

NOTE: I started writing this on Tuesday, 11 August, but now it’s Wednesday 🙂

I got up this morning and there was almost NO swelling in either foot or leg! I was able to walk faster, so we went nearly a quarter block further in our 15 minutes, then turned around to come back. There is a wee bit of swelling in the left foot now, as I’e been at the computer for a while and the position I work in is not optimal. But I;ll put it up for a bit after we eat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is the Mountain Ash tree that I can now walk past in our 15 minutes; it’s gorgeous, but I’m wondering (based on the number of berries) if we are in for a hard winter . . .

We also pass by the most beautiful, inspiring flower garden on our walk and one day we stopped and crossed the street to photograph it. It wasn’t until C commented that I saw the fenced veggie patch in the middle and towards the back.

garden 01 garden 02

What a wonderful way to use a front yard instead of planting a hay crop, then working to keep it three inches tall . . . I know the photos don’t do it justice; use your imagination . . .

All right, I hear you! on to the Quotes . . .

Edgar-Cayce

There are many quotes from Edgar Cayce that have meant much to me over the years, but I’ll only share two today:

There is so much good in the worst of us, and so much bad in the best of us, that it doesn’t behoove any of us to speak evil of the rest of us.

It’s so easy to point fingers and criticize; so much better to hold out a helping hand or at least put that hand to better use.

I first came across this in reading a book about his work, but I don’t think it originated with him. Worth thinking about, in any case.

The other quote has been my favourite for over forty years:

Be content, but not satisfied.

To me, this means finding a way to be happy where you are, whatever the situation, while at the same time doing what you can to improve things, make progress, however you want to put it. I had sort of forgotten about the ‘be content’ bit and so began my slide into a too-long stay in the unhappy land of Overwhelm.

Another lesson learned, and about time, too. Pauline, the Contented Crafter, has taught me quite a bit about contentment on a daily basis, whatever your situation, and I think sets a great example in her practise of not getting up in the morning until she has found something to be grateful for. I need to do this myself, I think.

Well, there’s another post coming with more quotes. In the meantime, how about some music?

A beautiful acoustic love song: The Beat of You with Iain Bayne of Runrig, Paul Eastham of Coast and Douglas Chisholm of Wolfstone.

A bit more rockin; is Hopeless Wanderer by Mumford and Sons, from their latest album, Wilder Minds. Cute banjo segment, I thought. Wilder Minds, indeed . . .

Delta Blues, a couple of hours of old style classics.

Glenn Gould’s Bach – The Goldberg Variations

John Prine in 1980 singing about the horrors of strip mining: Paradise. This one’s more like a home video, but cool to see him as a young man. Here’s another of my favourites by him: Hello In There. So true . . . old age and loneliness . . .

An old favourite is Al Stewart singing Roads to Moscow

A bit of fun is called for after that . . .

Hush Little Baby

  • cello:Yo-Yo Ma
  • vocal:Bobby McFerrin
  • violin:Mark o’Connor
  • contra bass:Edgar Meye

and although I’ve posted this before, here it is again:

Ave Maria – Bobby McFerrin teaching a Master Class

bet you won’t be expecting this one . . . Come Together

but you will be expecting at least one song by Runrig, right?

A fun start to this, an impromptu blues jam, with great guitar by Malcolm Jones, during the sound check, segueing into The Cutter

You won’t be surprised to learn that attending a Runrig concert is high on my bucket list, may they play so long . . .

Well, that’s it for now, my friends . . .

16 thoughts on “3 quotes in 3(?) days/periods of time/weeks/??? Post #2

  1. I’ve just had a lovely cup of camomile tea (it’s evening here), and enjoyed reading your post so much Linne. I was sorry to hear of you and your mum’s sore legs and hope they are feeling better soon. Perhaps you could try some pressure free socks, the elastic won’t cut in.

    The baby magpie was very sweet, what fun it must have been to feed it.

    I loved looking at your family photographs too xx

    • Thanks for the suggestion. I have found that the diabetic socks carried by one of our grocery chains work quite well. It turned out that Mum had an infection, which led to other challenges.

      I did love that wee magpie. I feel quite related to the whole clan, ravens, crows, jackdaws, magpies, etc. I’m very much a magpie in that I love to pick up things that attract me and bring them home. Leaves, moss, pebbles, twigs, you name it . . .

      I like the old photos, too. Such good memories are attached to them, through the stories of my Mum and her sisters.

  2. You be careful with that swelling and sores on your legs! How nice of you and your sister to fix up things at your mother’s so she could come home and get some rest.

    I was introduced to Edgar Cayce back in the 90s and became so inspired I read everything I could get my hands on by and about him. I agree with you, modern medicine has its place but not for every day ailments.

    I love the last quote, be contend not satisfied. If we were satisfied we would never reach to better ourselves or learn new things. I’ll have to remember that one.

    • My legs have mostly healed, although there’s still a bit of swelling at times. Losing some weight and walking more would help. I’m working on the first, but the walking is difficult to manage, now that winter’s finally upon us.

      The Cayce work is still my first resource and I’ve found everything I’ve tried to be trustworthy and helpful. Same with the spiritual advice. I own a lot of the early book, but they have been in storage for longer than I like to think about. I hope they are ok when I finally see them again.

      Yes, being content is so important and something I still strive toward. And I agree, that if we are satisfied, we sort of quit trying, so this quote means a lot to me, too.

  3. Lovely to hear from you Linne. I just love those old photos! I have a few oldies of family too and just love looking at them and wondering about their lives and what stories they could tell. Good to hear your legs are on the mend, I hope your mum’s are too x. I have made another teacosy and I’m in the process of starting another, seems I have the bug. If someone says “oh I need one of those teacosy things” then my mouth opens and out comes “oh no worries, I’ll make you one.” Lol. Lovely photos too. It has been freezing here so I’m enjoying the little bit of spring weather that is coming our way. It has been a dry winter here too, but a week ago we had heaps of rain and the farmers are smiling and talking about bumper crops. It’s amazing how quickly the green comes through after a good amount of rain. I lost my aunty last week. She was the youngest of my mum’s siblings. They are all gone now, so It’s just my cousins and siblings on my mum’s side who remain. Thank god for facebook, it keeps us all in touch as we are spread all over this great big country of ours. I couldn’t make it to my aunt’s funeral, but I did get to see the photos on facebook and heard how lovely her service was. My cousin, her son, has been taking sunrise photos and posting them on facebook for us to admire. Ever since her passing they now have the most gorgeous orange orb in them. It seems my aunty is still with us x. I like your quotes, very thought provoking. Thanks for your post and look forward to another.

    • Kym, it’s good to hear from you, too. I hope you post some more photos of your cosies; I really love them. I’m still looking forward to making some myself. I gave my Aunty’s teapot to my RN sister who’s here helping Mum. I’m hoping to make her one of your cosies once things settle down again.

      I’m sorry to hear of your own Aunty’s passing. I have one left and my Mum; that’s all. Both in their 90s now, too. Aren’t we lucky to have technology for sharing these days. I wish someone had thought to do that when my last uncle died not long ago. There was no way I could leave my Mum and go, but I wish I could have been there.

      Not sure when I’ll be back to regular posts, but before too long, I hope. Thanks for your lovely comments.

      • I have been flat out! The last few days of school are busy, busy. I only have my father and my aunts husband left now. They seem to pop off very quickly once one goes… I made a lovely tea cosy for my friends birthday and I forgot to take a photo! When I see her I will take a photo of it with the teapot in. I love technology! It keeps me in contact with all my family and my two sons. I miss them so much. Will be spending Christmas with them. I hope you have a Merry Christmas and a lovely New Year to look forward to. x

      • Thanks for the good wishes, Kym; hope your Christmas was all you hoped for. I spent mine with my Mum and that was all I wished for. You are right that the elders go more quickly once one leaves us. I’m not looking forward to the last two going, but of course that’s life. I am looking forward to seeing the latest tea cosy. Still haven’t found my fabric to stitch one of your patterns. As usual, your lovely heart handle has sparked all sorts of ideas for me . . . May your New Year be full of love, peace and time to create . . . ~ Linne

    • Narfie7, I love this blog! Thanks so much for thinking of me. I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to sit down and reply to comments, but I have been looking at this link off and on since you posted it here for me. I adore anything philosophical; it’s good to think about things, isn’t it?

  4. No matter what your circumstances, if you can find a way to be thankful for your lot, life starts to feel better. Glad you are on the mend and that you are being proactive about your health problems. So many people just pop pills and wait for “someone else” to fix, what they have effectively done to themselves. Getting up and moving is an awesome start and if we didn’t have Earl and Bezial, I am quite sure I would be suffering a lot more than I do! If our winter here has been anything to go by, you should be getting waist high snow this year! I am hoping that our summer is like last year, 3 weeks and mild! The weather boffins are telling us a hotter than average and much drier summer is ahead :(. Oh well, time for some of that contented thinking eh? 🙂

    • Yes, you’re right about thankfulness. Not that I come to it easily sometimes. But when I have done, things have sometimes become rather miraculous in nature. I’ll have to post about a couple of those one day . . .

      I’m definitely not a ‘pill popper’. I might have been if not for a wonderful woman doctor I had back in the late 60s. She introduced me to alternative medicine, such as it was then, and fanned my natural scepticism and questioning mode into more of a blaze, which has been good for me, my boys and my animals over the years. I never had the money for vets, but wasn’t about to forgo having animals in my life, so I learned to doctor them myself. My great inspiration there was Juliette de Bairacli-Levy, who died not long ago in her late 90s. She lived and studied with gypsies and various tribal peoples all over the world. I love her books and am glad to see them coming back into print.

      I have not been moving mu8ch since the end of August, so shortly after my post. But I’m at least trying to increase the amount I do move each day, and that’s being good. I do still miss my big collie. Wish there were a way to have a large dog in the city, but it wouldn’t be fair. And I bus, so I wouldn’t be able to take one with me as you do. And of course I prefer a really large dog, much as I like other people’s tiny ones. sigh . . .

      We had better NOT get waist-high snow!! If we do, I’m shipping it south . . . WAY south! We’ve ahd a couple of snowfalls, but it’s not even halfway up my runners, for which I am thankful. (that would be trainers to you, I think) 🙂 I can’t get my boots on since I had to have them repaired. How was I to know that the first boots I actually liked the design of would turn out to be only for looks and would come apart when the snow melted? I ask you!

      Yes, thanks for the reminder abut contented thinking . . . how soon I forget, eh? I hope it’s nice and temperate for both of us.

  5. What a lovely read so early in my morning. It’s taken me awhile to get caught up but I keep trying. I love the quotes. It’s been awhile since I read EC materials. I especially liked the last one. Both my husbands asked me if I were ever satisfied like it was a good thing. I always answer people who ask if I am happy, that I am content. EC summed it up nicely for me. I’m everyday grateful but always striving for a better me, not more stuff. A fuller, richer life, not necessarily a fatter pocketbook, though I would be happy with that too and oh, so grateful.

    I’m glad your leg is getting better. That is not good that you are getting sores. Walking will do wonders. I miss regular walks that I took with my dog.
    My friend “Boomdeeadda” lives in Edmonton.
    http://boomdeeadda.com/2015/07/24/its-da-bomb/

    She works at the Urban Scrapbook store.
    http://urbanscrapbook.blogspot.ca/search/label/Kelly%27s%20Korner
    I wonder if she has had tea at your favorite place. I’ll have to tell her about it. Those scones look wonderful. I’m not great for messing with a recipe. Not a great cook to start with. 😦 But I love scones. Sounds like you could use some rest and recreation yourself. Hope you and your mother both start to feel better soon. I think it’s been a long haul for both of you.

  6. It’s grand to hear a bit of your news Linne. I’m sorry though to hear your mum is still not doing so well and now you too………. Though good that you are taking yourself in hand and doing what is right and healthy for your well being. Nice that you have a friend to walk with too – a daily walk has become part of my life since the arrival of little Siddy and I so enjoy it! Edgar Cayce passed on so many excellent insights from his wanderings through the Akashic Records; thank you for sharing these two excellent thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

