Martha s Original Christmas Cookie (biscuit) recipe

Sorry I had to leave out the apostrophes in the titles; no idea what I did, but this laptop is very touchy and all of a sudden began producing an accented è instead of the apostrophe. I am having trouble with the slanting line for fractions, too, (1é3) so have writtern them out. arrgghhhh

sigh . . .

First tray in the oven . . .

Heat oven to 375 degrees F.

:Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper to save on cleanup and extra fat. Trust me, the cookies have their fair share of calories! And that is why I prefer to make recipes like this once a year for a feast, then get back on the straight and narrow; well, somewhat straight and narrow, if I have to be completely honest 🙂

I am adding my notes as I go along, but will put just the necessary items in a list at the bottom. That way you can copy them and print as you like.

It is a good idea to take the butter out of the fridge and let it soften to room temperature. I used Olivina, unhydrogenated margarine, as it stays soft even in the fridge.

In a medium sized bowl mix the following dry ingredients:
2 c flour
(Mum used white, so I did that when making the cookies as gifts in her name. Myself, I would be more likely to use whole wheat, maybe some rye, a bit of wheat germ, etc. But then they would be MY original cookies, not hers. 🙂
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
In a large bowl (I used my small bread bowl, but it is fairly large in size)
Cream two thirds cup butter, softened (or you can use margarine of good flavour)
Add two thirds cup golden brown sugar a third at a time, continuing to cream the mixture
Whisk in two large eggs and cream some more
Add 2 Tblsp milk and mix, then add
1 tsp. vanilla (we prefer the real vanilla, not the imitation)
Method:
Add the dry ingredients to the wet a half cup or so at a time, mixing thoroughly.
Fold in:
One half cu:p chopped walnuts
One half cup chopped almonds
Three quarters cup chopped maraschino cherries
Three quarters cup mixed candied fruit peel
One and a half cups sultana raisins
Stir until fruit is well mixed in, then drop by rounded tablespoons onto the parchment paper. These cookies do not spread, so can be fairly close together.
For smaller (and more) cookies, use rounded teaspoons of dough
Bake for 8 to 10 minutes – do not over bake! I suggest making a few as a test run first to be sure of the time. I baked mine for 12 minutes when I had tablespoons of dough and for 10 minutes when I had teaspoons of dough. Size does matter!
Remove to wire racks to cool, then pack into containers or zip lock bags for storing. Better hide some; they do not last long . . .

A closer view

Here are the easy and more readable instructions.

Martha s Original Christmas Cookies

Dry Ingredients:
2 c. flour
One tsp. baking powder
One half tsp. baking soda
One tsp. salt
Wet ingredients:
Two thirds c. butter
Two thirds c. brown sugar
Two large eggs
Two tblsp. milk
One tsp. real vanilla
Fruit and Nuts:
One half c. chopped walnuts
One half c. chopped almonds
Three quarter c. chopped maraschino cherries
Three quarter c. mixed candied fruit peel
One and a half c. Sultana raisins
Method:
Set Oven to 375 degrees F.
Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or grease lightly with butter or margarine
Mix dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl
Cream wet ingredients in a large bowl
Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ones, mixing well between each addition
Fold in nuts and fruit
Drop by rounded tablespoons on to cookie sheets, spacing fairly close together
Bake 8-10 minutes – do not overbake! Try a few first as a test batch, then adjust baking time for your oven and altitude.
Let cool on wire racks, then pack into containers or zip lock bags for storing
These are excellent hot from the oven with cold milk, as we would have them on baking day as soon as we were home from school and changed out of our school clothes.

Cookies cooling and snack plate set up

Cookies cooling and snack plate set up

Cookies cooling and snack plate set up

 

 

15 thoughts on “Martha s Original Christmas Cookie (biscuit) recipe

  1. These look delicious Linnie :). We are having a week or so off the fridge wicking due to so much rain our property looks like the local swimming pool. The best laid plans of mice and men eh? I am sure a batch of these cookies baked fresh out of Brunhilda will sooth our savage breasts ;). Cheers for the excellent share 🙂

    • Oh, they are . . . also high in calories (not so bad in winter if one is chopping wood or otherwise burning them off) and cost. See my note on another comment re substitutions. It’s impossible here to find chemical-free candied peel and cherries, but I only use those once a year, as a rule, so I just don’t worry about it. Hope these work for you. The basic dough is easy and I think you’d only have to swap out the eggs and that bit of milk to make it vegan, am I right? Then add in whatever nuts and fruit you like . . .

      I can relate to ‘best-laid plans’ . . . One good thing about cold and rainy is coming back in to warm and dry. Especially with aa Brunhilda to cosy up to . . . 🙂

      • We haven’t had the internet for a few days thanks to the phonelines coming down in a bad storm and we are finally back now so I can answer this comment. It’s pretty easy to veganise most things nowadays so no problems there. Try a health food shop for the candies peel and the cherries. I made my own candied peel a few years ago but it all set into one HUGE toffee and I ended up giving it to my daughters. I can get cheap cherries in summer so maybe I should have a go at making my own.

      • Woefully late, sorry, but I do want to catch up with everyone. I never looked for the candied stuff in the health food stores, as I’m pretty sure they are not in my budget at present. Good idea – making your own – I haven’t tried this yet. Too bad about the ‘toffee’ results and I hope your doughtier found a good use for it. I’ve had a few of those results with other things, so I know how it goes. Warm hugs to you (or are you too warm already?) ~ Linne

      • Not warm at all here in Tasmania although the rest of Australia is sweltering. There is snow on the mountains and I am blissfully happy with the nice cool summer we have had so far 🙂

      • Hi, Narfie! I’m just beginning to catch up with comments now. I know what you mean about the cool weather; I rather like temperate myself. Although I hear that the extremes keep our inner thermostats in better order . . . I just like being able to get things done comfortably. ‘Sweltering’ doesn’t really fit the bill, does it?

      • You are right there, but at the moment, ‘sweltering’ is a thing of the past (till next summer 😉 )

      • I wish I could send you some of our weather; in mid-May it was in the high 20s and we had the garden planted before the end of the month – not usual here. Still, I’d rather have cool, rainy days like today than ‘sweltering’ heat. Although, since my cousins have air conditioning, at least I van sleep at night no matter what. I have never had that before and wouldn’t have it for myself, but as it’s there anyway, I shall enjoy it . . .

        Warm hugs to you and Steve. And the puppies. LOL ~ Linne

      • We will be back to that hot weather sooner than we can blink. I am enjoying this cooler weather to the max. At least you have air conditioning which will be good for when it gets very hot 🙂

      • Yes, Narfie, we’re almost at that turning point again, aren’t we? It seems to come ’round so quickly . . . We’ve had cool and sometimes rainy weather for the past couple of days and I’m liking it very much. I always like to think of you headed into spring when I’m headed into autumn, and vice versa. Nothing like The Life Vicarious, is there? Unless it’s The Life of Reality, I suppose 🙂 Well, stay cool as long as you can and soak some up for later. Love and blessings to you. ~ Linne

      • We have a major project on our hands this spring. I have to plant out a new persimmon tree and we are going to irrigate the orchard area and heap lots of mulch up in this area and make garden beds for herbs. I have to be careful what I plant in this area as Earl rules in the day and the possums frolic there at night so nothing too tasty or easy to kill with additional “fertiliser” 😉

  2. Thanks for the recipe. I will save it and bake them when the cold weather comes back again. Got all your comment replies but this week is so jammed up, I’ll probably not send a note till the weekend. Hoping you are still doing well. I’m so far behind, it might take another year to catch up. 😦

    • Marlene, these are good even with half the amount of fruit and nuts. I don’t know how prices are where you live, but they are pretty high here. Mum often made them with no nuts or maraschino cherries and less peel; they were still delicious! You can use other fruits, too: dried apricots would be nice in these. I know a lot of people who didn’t grow up on home-made Christmas cake as we did and they generally don’t care for the peel. I have my own original Christmas cake recipe somewhere and when it comes to light I will share that, too.

      I made eight dozen of those cookies last night. Those are for the refreshment table at the memorial. This morning I am baking peanut butter cookies and chocolate chip cookies for three of my nephews and nieces to take home with them. I don’t get to do that very often.

      Don’t worry about replying to my replies (unless you are avoiding the weeds); I had to let some of that go over the past year, too.

      These weeks leading up to the memorial have been more stressful than I expected, but after Saturday I hope things will get easier.

      Catching up is so challenging, isn’t it? I think mine may take several years, unless I manage to become ruthless and let go of things faster. Collecting is so much easier and a lot more fun, isn’t it? At least using up yarn and fabric is mostly fun 🙂 my Pi shawl is nearly done; a little more than one skein to go . . .

      Stay well, Marlene, and do what you can. I know how hard it is to not be able to do everything we used to do . . . xoxox

      • It will be awhile as the heat now will prevent baking. I do them for the holidays and let you know. Be kind to yourself. It’s especially necessary when you’ve carried so many others burdens for so long. I’ll touch base with you again shortly. Lots of changes here.

      • Thanks, Marlene. I’m just hoping I get through the memorial without too many tears. I miss them both, but especially Mum. Living with her wasn’t always easy for either of us; we were so different and also so much alike… I suppose it’s the same in all families, really. But Saturday feels very final, although I believe I’ll see them again one day. I am doing my best to focus on devising Plan B; that helps a bit. Not much creativity in my life this past year, so besides dealing with my stuff in storage, I am planning how I can use up my yarn, fabric, rug hooking kit, cross-stitch and needlepoint kits, etc.

        I hope to find a place where I can have a small veggie garden, too. We’ll see.

        Hope your heat isn’t too bad; it can knock the stuffing out of you, can’t it?

        Looking forward to catching up with you and all the other Villagers soon.

        Big hugs to you (I say that in a cool way, of course). ~ L

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

