To Boldly Go . . . (another 5-cup tale)

Well, my lovely friends, it’s been exactly four months since I last posted!  Not that I didn’t work on a few drafts in that time, but things kept morphing and I didn’t want to be handing out ‘fake news’ lol. But now I have some ‘real’ news for you . . . so grab a pot of tea or two (or whatever you fancy) and read on . . .

Living with my cousins was never really ‘the plan’ as you know, but when I couldn’t find a place to live back in 2016, I was here for a few weeks and they let me know I’d be welcome if nothing materialized. And I have been well cared for but now it’s been a total of over two years (and counting) out of the past three and a half. So I’ve been looking even more diligently for another solution.

I think I mentioned that I’d joined a couple of handwork clubs that meet on Tuesdays in nearby Enderby; a crochet club that runs year-round and a knitting club that takes a sabbatical in the winter. So I’ve made a few friends and have been planning to settle somewhere close enough to get to those treasured Tuesdays.

Back before I went to the UK I’d asked at my credit union if I were eligible for a mortgage (and, if so, how much). I asked partly as a lark, assuming they would laugh in my face (but ever so politely, of course). And I was told I could borrow up to $60,000. Not enough for property or a house in today’s market, but it did get me thinking, so I narrowed my goals to a mobile home. And I found one, in an Enderby mobile home park. Best of all, it was large enough for me to move all my things from storage immediately so I could both free up the storage fees and begin sorting, using and downsizing. Even better, the owners had bought it from the parents of one of the young women in the crochet club! It had a large side yard and a garden shed, too. So I was planning a good-sized garden and then putting much of the produce up for the winter. All of that right down my alley . . .

But, as always, there were a few bumps on that road. Turns out the federal government changed the rules on borrowing while I was away and even though I am now debt-free (I still had an outstanding loan and a balance on my credit card when I first asked about a mortgage), today I am only eligible for a $20,000 mortgage.

Not great news. Then one of my sisters offered to help with the down payment and my cousins offered to co-sign on the mortgage. So the credit union approved my request. (keep breathing; there’s a lot more to this story!)

I agreed with the owners on an offer of $67,000 (they were asking $71,900) and started the legal ball rolling. I had an inspection and an appraisal done. The appraisal showed it had a market value of only $63,000 and the inspection said it would need a new roof in a couple of years, plus a few other rather minor things.

So CMHC (Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation) turned down my application and the credit union only works with CMHC, so that was it!

However, I learned a long time ago to ask for what I wanted, but to add “this or something better”. So it wasn’t the devastating news you might have expected. Disappointing, though, for sure. But no tears were shed, just a few heavy sighs heaved . . . and back to the drawing board . . .

Since any affordable mobile homes were in the same price range and I would have had to pay for inspections, appraisals and lawyers again, I decided to downsize my search parameters, so to speak. And began looking at motorhomes / recreational vehicles. My cousin was looking, too, and he found one that looked possible (and it had been posted only hours earlier!). The ad said to call between 6 am and 5 pm and it was two minutes to 5! And then I had to look up the phone number. So it was two minutes after 5 when I reached the owner, but he didn’t mind. That was on Monday, 10 June. It’s a motorhome, but I shall call it “the unit” until I have decided on a name for her.

The next day, 11 June, the cousins and I drove to Kamloops and then turned north on #5 highway, which leads to the Yellowhead. But we weren’t going that far this time. Half an hour later we came to Roy’s place, halfway between Kamloops and Barrière.

My cousin checked out the unit, as he has plenty of experience with vehicles and has always kept theirs in tip-top condition. Turns out Roy bought this unit new in 1989 and has maintained it well over the years, so in spite of being well-travelled, it’s in pretty good shape. It did need new tires, though, and a few other things, so the price came down to something I could afford. Roy and his wife took their last trip in 2016, returning in October. She went downtown to pick up supplies for the house and never came back. I’m assuming it was a heart attack. That was so sad to hear. And then, sometime later, Roy had a stroke, so he is no longer driving. Even sadder. He still lives on his own and keeps the place in good shape, even managing the ride-on mower (he has six acres and at least one of that is his yard).

So, after a brief consultation with my cousin, I left a down payment and we went home, stopping for ice cream on the way to celebrate.

That evening I signed up for BCAA (adding the RV package and the level which would cover me if I went to the States or another province), which offers roadside assistance should one run out of gas, lock themselves out of the vehicle, need towing, etc. It would be in effect by 9.30 on Wednesday evening.

Tuesday, we went to Enderby to get a cashier’s cheque for the remainder owing. This time it was only my cousin’s wife and me, so she offered to let me drive! I recently obtained my temporary license, as my Alberta one had lapsed over five years ago and I hadn’t re-applied earlier due to my poor eyesight. So a few more times, plus a refresher on parallel parking (I know how, just haven’t done it for so long), and I’ll be driving on my own again. Oh, did I mention? The driving went great and I couldn’t believe how long it’s been since I was behind the wheel. Honestly, it felt like last week. So that’s another good thing.

Wednesday, we got up very early and were on the road before 8 am. A couple of stops in Kamloops and then we were back at Roy’s place. My cousin got busy getting the unit ready to roll and I began dusting the cab with a damp cloth. Kamloops and the surrounding area is desert country and very, very dusty!

We drove to Barrière next, registration papers in hand, to do the transfer of ownership and buy some insurance. First lady we spoke to was a rather snippy young thing, but I know to be nice to government officials; they can make life rather complicated if they take a dislike to you. She pointed out that Roy hadn’t signed the registration papers (not required until you sell a vehicle and I hadn’t thought to check it). Next, she quibbled because I’d put the cousins’ names down as “Smith, Daniel and Barbara” (not their real names). Turns out it has to read, “Smith, Daniel” then “Smith, Barbara”. I offered to print the surname a second time just above the given name, but apparently that is not acceptable. I have no idea why, as the entire thing is only going to be entered on the computer anyway. And Roy’s signature was required on the transfer papers as well, so off we drove. There was some muttering about beaurocracy, petty officials and the like for a few minutes. Then we turned to the more positive aspects of the motorhome.

Back at Roy’s, we got the papers filled out and signed and double checked, then, back to Barrière. When we walked into the ICBC (Insurance Corporation of British Columbia) this time, the first lady had gone for lunch. And the second lady was all one could ask; happy, jolly and with a way of imparting information I needed without breaking the ‘rules’ about such. She was so awesome to deal with that I told her she should be cloned and every ICBC office should have one of her.

So, back to Roy’s. (The trips to Barrière and back totalled over 2 hours, by the way) My cousin finished the necessary work on the unit. I asked Roy if there was anything in what he’d removed from the unit that he didn’t want and offered to buy it from him. Turns out he only removed it all because he thought he should and had no interest in keeping all the memory-laden items that he won’t be able to use again. So I bought it all (to save him from having to deal with anything I left behind) and we loaded it back into the unit.

Carls Country Market 01

We drove to the corner of McLure Ferry Road and Hwy #5, where Carl’s Country Market was not yet open. But there are picnic tables off to the right behind the small building and we had our lunch there before getting back on the road. And here she is in all her faded glory . . .

Our first stop

We had an uneventful trip home, with a few stops. No over-heating or anything like that. A bit bumpy, though, as the wheels had flattened a bit in the three years she sat.

And here she is inside:

 

I like the main-level bed and the extra storage over the cab (instead of the usual bed). There’s a huge storage compartment under the bed, too, and it’s accessible from outside at the back as well as from inside. If you prop up the mattress with the stick lying there, two hatches are exposed which give even more access to the storage.

The tub has a moulded-in seat so you can sit and soak your feet if you want. I’ll like that, too.

The kitchen has a stove has four burners and an oven and a microwave above, a double sink, a good-sized refrigerator with a freezer above. Also a pull-out ‘pantry’ rack meant to hold canned goods. I’ll probably use it for bags of beans and the like.

Roy left a charcoal briquette BBQ, a Coleman propane stove and a Coleman camp lantern in the unit as well as a few small tools, like a lovely sharp hatchet with a leather cover, a hammer and more.

In case you can’t tell, I’m pretty excited to finally own a ‘home’. I’m thinking of it as a form of Gypsy caravan, so in that sense it really will be my home.

Well, you must be thinking, that wasn’t much of a five-cup post! Oh, but wait (as they say on tv), there’s more . . .

Something very interesting has been going on in my life, but I can’t explain it, really.

A couple of months ago a lady from my crochet group invited me to join a Gratitude Group she and a few friends had created on facebook, where every day each member posts 10 things they are grateful for. I got back into keeping a Gratitude Book while I was in Yorkshire, but had filled it shortly before I was invited to join the online group. Perfect timing!

In May another of the ladies from my crochet group (who is also part of the Gratitude Group) offered to treat me to a workshop in Vernon. Three of the ladies and one of their friends were going. (this isn’t related to the crochet group in any way; it’s just that our friendships began there) Of course, I accepted. The workshop was one a couple of them had done before and I’d been finding their references to it quite intriguing.

So . . . the workshop . . . there were the five of us and two leaders who are professional therapists. We began with a guided meditation. We were told we would see stairs and be asked to go up them, then look around at the view from the top. The venue had changed from a yoga studio to the therapist’s office, so space was a bit limited. I was in a reclining chair, which freed up the floor space for four people on yoga mats. But the leader was around a corner from me in the next room and her voice was very quiet, so I didn’t hear much of what she said. But I’ve done this before, so after a while to get attuned, I remembered about the stairs and going up them. (there were more detailed instructions, which I missed) I ‘saw’ the stairs and then pictured being at the top and beginning to look around at the view. This is where it got interesting!

Flying toward me was a giant golden eagle, bearing something in its talons that I instinctively ‘knew’ was a gift. I had a brief impression of green and gold. Then it swooped down a little, as they do, then rose to settle gently right in front of me, looking into my eyes, and slowly folded its wings. It’s wingspread must have been about 20 feet wide; it reminded me instantly of the giant eagles in The Hobbit who rescue the hobbits from the treetops when they are under attack. I could have easily ridden on the back of this one.

It had the usual fierce appearance of any eagle, but it felt gentle and kind, with wisdom in its expression, especially the eyes.

I wish I’d had more time to explore this, but just then we were called back into the present. We shared about what we’d experienced, then the two therapists offered some insights to each of us. I wish I’d had a pen handy and written some of it down.

A short break and then we filled out a couple of questionnaires before each creating a Vision Board. I’d thought about it on the drive down and felt I ‘should’ focus on either finding a home (the deal with the mobile had just fallen through) or else on increasing my financial abundance (so that I could more easily afford a home). In the end, though, I went with my gut feeling and simply leafed through whichever magazines drew my attention, cutting out words and pictures as they spoke to me. I deliberately didn’t look for anything specific. I just made two piles, images and words. We didn’t have much time, so I glued the pieces onto my board fairly rapidly, not trying for a ‘perfect’ arrangement as I usually do. Then the boards were put aside to dry.

Another short break and back to the floor and the chair. This time it was a hypnotherapy session. I went very deep immediately and have no recall of anything that was said, except that I clearly heard the leader say the word ‘eagle’, which caught my attention, of course. Then, all too soon, we were being called back to the present place and time.

We gathered our things. I rolled up my vision board and fastened it with paper clips to make it easier to transport. I was given a ride home, where I set the vision board on end under my small desk and didn’t touch it again.

A few days later, I was talking with my youngest sister on the phone (she’s the one who was helping me with the mobile purchase) and she mentioned that she was going on another cruise with one of her close friends and that they were going to invite our RN sister to go with them. Sounded interesting.

The next day she called again to say the friend wasn’t interested, having taken this cruise before and our sister couldn’t get away. So . . . would I like to go as her guest?

Well, yes! Peace Pilgrim had a practise that I’ve done my best to emulate; she asked for nothing from people, but accepted gratefully whatever was offered. She lived like that, walking the roads of North America, for 24 years, covering over 100,000 miles and without a penny even from the first day. So, I gratefully accepted the invitation.

It’s a 26 day cruise (although we may spend a couple more days at the end before flying home) that begins in Puerto Rico, goes up and back down the Amazon river, then to Rio de Janeiro and Montevideo, ending in Buenos Aires in Argentina. The ship is one of the Viking fleet, so there are plenty of Norwegian touches and I’ll enjoy that so much.

So, for a week or more, I felt like a giant yo-yo, bouncing from my ‘homeless’ situation to my ‘going on a luxury cruise’ situation. A bit of a disconnect, that . . .

After a few days, I opened my vision board and saw this . . .

VB opened 30 May 2019 - 01

Notice the ocean images and the ship; the motorhome is a Ford Corsair Medallion and ‘corsair’ originally was word for a pirate or privateer from back in the 16th to 18th centuries. It also means a pirate ship from those times.

So here I am, about to live in a Corsair and also about to go on an ocean cruise!

The photo is the centre is of a croft on the Isle of Harris, Scotland, where Harris Tweed comes from. The picture (top right) that looks like a rock thrusting up from the sea is actually a detail of a painting. The loom is on my wish list, but it also stands for our lives; the warp is the parts of our life that are set and the weft is the part we control through our thoughts and actions. The colours in the ‘Joy at Home’ picture are colours I want to bring into my home, in this case the unit. (I really have to give her a proper name, don’t I?) The acorn spoke to me because it’s a seed, but also because my last name is Oakes. The words, or some of them, puzzled me at the time, but are now self-explanatory.

Something is afoot, isn’t it?

I’m still not sure where I will be spending the summer (or the winter, now). I’m here at the cousins’ until the new tires are on and the engine has had a tune-up. Staying in an RV park during the summer runs about $38 per night, more or less, so I’m looking for something affordable on private land. The original plan (famous last words) was to do that for the summer, then move to an RV park at the end of October. Mid-November, actually, as I’ll be away from mid-October to mid-November and the unit will stay at my cousins while I’m away.

But I learned this week that the park may be closed this winter for landscaping.And it’s a bit pricey, almost twice what a pad rental in the MHPark costs.

So, obviously, more adventures await me . . .

I hope you are all doing well; even though I haven’t been posting for so long, every one of you has been remembered often. Love and Light to each one of you!

Here’s some music for you, if you are so inclined . . .

I love the video as much as The Water Song. Not what you are expecting, I’m sure. It’s such a strong idea . . . blessing water and being grateful for it.

And, of course, Runrig’s Oran (Song) The lyrics are on the screen and also below. this is one of my favourites.

I wish you all a wonderful week and a restful weekend . . .

8 thoughts on “To Boldly Go . . . (another 5-cup tale)

  1. I’m sure you are going to make your “gypsy caravan” into a lovely and cosy home. It will be wonderful to have your very own place, and decorate exactly how it makes you happy 🙂
    And how fabulous to have a cruise to look forward to – don’t forget to take your handwork xxx

    • Hi, Jill! Yes, it’s coming along . . . I will enjoy it for the most part. I’m certainly enjoying the planning and doing what I can right now.

      I’m still stunned by the offer of the cruise. A cruise has never been on my list, but travel was always up there. And I took Spanish aeons ago when I was at Uni and have continued to study off and on since then. And once I got onto DuoLingo, Spanish was one of the first languages I signed up for. I’m focused most on that for now and will go back to the others in November.

      I shall definitely take my handwork!! Can’t imagine being without it for that long LOL. And then the things I work on will have an added layer of meaningfulness for me, too. I know the two pair of socks that I made and wore in the UK bring so much back to me. I wore the red pair to the first concert and the Clover Colours to the second. Now, every time I wear them, I look down and the memories flood back . . .

      Love and hugs to you, Jill. You are in my thoughts so often. Take care of yourself. I’m enjoying the thought of being in the same hemisphere as you, even if it will be miles and miles further west . . . ~ Linne

  2. You are never still, always busy and so lovely to see that you have plumbed for a mobile home Linne..
    Loved the experience of your Golden Eagle and Enjoy your cruise Linne.. Keep manifesting for I feel as you live so much in the now and in gratitude everything will always turn out fine for you..
    Much love and enjoy what adventures come next.. ❤
    ❤ Sue

    • Sue, I just had to laugh! I’m one of the most sedentary people since I went into office work back around 2009. But I do know what you mean. 🙂 No, the mobile fell through and in some ways I think that was a good thing. What I have is a small rv, about 25 feet from stem to stern (on the outside; smaller because of the cab on the inside).

      That eagle was something else and the feeling is still with me. Something is coming, even if I have no idea what it might be . . .

      When I look back I can see how much I’ve manifested in my life, but much of it happened before I even knew anything about doing it on purpose. I’ve nowhere near mastered the art, but it’s a great thing to learn about and experiment with. You are so right about gratitude, too.

      I wish I could sit and have a cuppa with you and share some of my experiences over my lifetime. Too much to try and write it all down. I may make a stab at it over the coming winter. And somehow I feel sure you’ve had many experiences that are similar to mine . . .

      I think life always turns out well once you learn to see it that way. These days I don’t waste much time bemoaning the things that I don’t get and that helps so much.

      I’m definitely looking forward to more adventures!! Lots of Love and Light to you, too, Sue. ~ Linne

      • Enjoy your adventures Linne, and keep manifesting and allow synchronicities to fall in your lap.. Much love your way and take care of you.. And as for the RV, What is meant to be IS..
        🙂 Love and Blessings.. ❤

      • Oh, Sue, I wish I could sit with you over a huge pot of tea and tell you about all the manifesting that’s been happening for me. It’s like the floodgates have opened! I’ve known for decades that this can happen but it’s taken me that long to get myself into alignment, I think. I feel now that I’m creating a new life for myself, but am still not sure exactly what form that will take. I’m fine with not knowing the details, though. 🙂

        Are you all ready for Autumn? It’s come early here and there has been white stuff on the hilltops (no, not frost!), but not down to where we live yet. I hope you are warm and cosy where you are ❤

        Love and warm hugs to you, ~ Linne

  3. Oh my goodness, Linne! You really do have a lot going on. I can’t imagine living in a motor home in a Canadian winter. I was certainly hoping the mobile home would work out for you. That’s what I have and the space rent plus the mortgage can get steep as the rent goes up each year. If my daughter wasn’t living here paying me a little rent, I would be really struggling but somehow, things worked out. Her rent will make the payment on carport repair. There is always something that needs fixing and a whole new roof is the next thing. The park has a lot of indiscriminate rules that keep changing. But it’s what I can almost afford so I get what you are saying. Gratitude is the top thing to make life better. I’ve been keeping a daily Gratitude journal since 2012 and things are always working out just wonderfully. I so happy you get to take an ocean voyage and not have to pay for it. I do hope things work out as time goes along. Sounds like the gypsy life still is still very much present for you. Keep me posted. Hugs and love,
    M

    • Hi, Marlene! Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. Still being busy lol. I have no idea how warm/cold the rv might be in winter. It does have a propane furnace and the unit is small (25 feet long on the outside). I do plan to cover two foot square pieces of foam to stuff in the ventilator openings when not actually having them open. And I’m planning curtains, too. Still thinking of how best to do that without creating problems with damp. I do have a moisture thingy full of some sort of salt that removes damp, but in winter, with me in there all the time plus cooking and washing, it could be more of a problem.

      I would have liked the mobile home for a lot of reasons, but it would have been hard to sell after only a year and a half, as the banks won’t mortgage anything over 40 years old. So I may have had a lucky escape. The pad rent had gone up by over $10 / month, too, and the pension doesn’t change much. I’m glad you have your daughter there with you; I know it’s taking a fair bit of adjusting on both parts, but once you are settled in nicely, I think it will be mostly good. I sure treasure the time I had with my Mum. I know how repairs and maintenance can add up, too. Even with an rv, that’s already happening to some extent.

      I dislike that the parks can just change the rules willy-nilly and tenants have to live with them. In my casse, the mobile had a lovely big yard as it was at the end of the road. I would have been able to sit on the patio in the evenings and look up at the hill towards where my cousin’s family lived years ago. But then they decided to enforce the 50 feet wide rule and so I would have lost most of hte yard. Which meant much less space for gardening, too. And they were going to use that space for parking RVs belonging to other tenants in the park. Not little ones like mine, but the new big ones that are more like a bus. So I would have been ten or fifteen feet away from a row of those. Oh, well, not my puppy anymore (as two of my sisters used to say).

      Gratitude does help a lot, doesn’t it? Even if things don’t seem to change much, just having a different mindset can make life easier and more emjoyable.

      I still can’t believe that I’m going on that trip! I feel more than lucky; really, I’m blessed. So, in spite of the anxiety over daily life, I have something to look forward to. And I’m using the time now to plan for how I want my life to be after that. We all know about plans, right? I read somewhere that if you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans . . . It’s why, when I ask for anything, I say “this or something better”. It helps.

      Yes, still a gypsy life for me. I used todream about living in a gypsy caravan pulled by horses and at one point we (my boys’ dad and I) were part of a group building those to live in. It’s how we came to own our first draught horses, which is another thing I treasure . . . I guess it’s a case of ‘be careful what you ask for – you might get it’.

      Much love and big hugs back to you. Take care of yourself, eh? ~ Linne

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne