Think on this . . . and then act . . .

“Each smallest act of kindness, reverberates across great distances and spans of time — affecting lives unknown to the one whose generous spirit was the source of this good echo. Because kindness is passed on and grows each time it’s passed until a simple courtesy becomes an act of selfless courage, years later, and far away. Likewise, each small meanness, each expression of hatred, each act of evil.”
Dean Koontz

I found this great quote on a new to me blog: http://kathysquilts.blogspot.ca/

on her post for 10 March, titled: Slow Sunday Stitching – Take One Stitch

There was no way to re-blog that I could see, so I recommend you head over there and read the entire post. Very inspiring! It reminded me of another truth; that “thoughts are things”. Makes it easier to think, speak and act kindly towards others.  ~ Linne

10 thoughts on “Think on this . . . and then act . . .

    • So, so true! Sometimes I say something without thinking and I can see in the other person’s eyes that they heard it quite differently than I intended. It’s good to pause before speaking, but I usually think of that while prying a foot or two out of my mouth . . .

    • Yes, I think we often undervalue the power of small and simple acts. I was reading on a blog today (It was A Thursday Child) that:

      Abraham Lincoln is making a speech at the end of the civil war where is describing the Rebels as human beings like anyone else. An elderly woman, a staunch unionist abrades him for thinking kindly of his enemies when he should be thinking of destroying them. Lincoln answered her, “Madam, do I not destroy my enemies when I make them my friends?”

      This is the sort of thinking (and acting) that can transform our world. The other action I admire is this: for every kindness done to me, to do two kindnesses to others, then tell them of this mission and ask them to do the same (rather than repaying the act). It grows slowly at first, then explodes exponentially. This applies to all sorts of things; it’s a version of Pay it Forward. ~ Linne

  1. I love Dean Koontz…not as much as Stephen King but a lot 🙂 At one stage they were writing very similar novels to each other and I got suspicious that Stephen King and Dean Koontz were, in fact, the same person but that would make me one of those freaky conspiracy people and we are still in the honeymoon phase of our new friendship so at the moment I am trying to impress you (quiet about the voices Fran…and the tinfoil hat…DON’T MENTION THE WAR! 😉 )…

    • Don’t worry, I already know about the voices, the tinfoil hat (and the WAR!); haven’t you found the tiny cameras yet? I thought you ‘swept’ for them regularly . . . or was that just for ‘bugs’?? 😛

      I like some of Koontz’s work, but I remember someone telling me years ago that, as they knew I loved Tolkien, I would also love King and another author whose name I have forgotten; this person (who obviously didn’t know me at ALL!) gave me Cujo and Weaveworld to read as samples . . . not quite my thing, especially in those days. I like a bit of edge now and then these days. (e.g., love the Pogues, but in my earlier life I would have said you couldn’t pay me enough to listen to punk music; famous last words and all . . .) But we can still be friends . . . I like people just as they are and when they are different from me in some ways, I find I stretch a bit and grow. So it’s all good.

      I bet Kriscinda loves King and Koontz, though (from Heavy Metal Homesteading blog).

      I’ll try not to inflict my taste for odd books like Kingsley’s The Waterbabies and Gene Stratton-Porter’s “Girl of the Limberlost” and “Freckles” (well, all her work, really, esp. “The Keeper of the Bees”). It gets worse, too, but let’s leave that for another day. Go look for the tiny spycams, eh? ~ Linne

      • Earl ate the tiny spycameras and I LOVE to read new books…consider me off to the library online to check out if I can get copies of your recomendations :). Glad we can still be friends 😉

      • I forgive you, Earl; will send more . . .

        I think I have to start a new page of Books to go with my music page. Not that I expect everyone to like all my stuff; heaven knows, most of my family and friends don’t! But I LOVE new books, too. My favourite authors take a year to two years to produce a book that I can read in a couple of days; I NEED to have lots of favourites! I’m glad we can be friends, too. But keep your tin hat on . . .

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

