Sheep for sale . . . and a quick catch-up with my doings

I’ve been super busy today and out of the apartment for a while to boot. Now I’m trying hard to catch up with my FeedReader; Narf77, how do you do it?

Anyway, I’ve shared a couple of blogposts I found interesting and thought those of you with sheep or goats (or thinking of them) might enjoy this:

http://creativecrazygirl.blogspot.ca/2013/05/sheep-not-now.html

It’s from Pam of the Living Waters Quilt raffle fundraiser (remember that?). Most of you are too far away to even consider these sheep, but you may have a homesteader friend close enough to Pam to recommend them.

I nearly finished the washcloth/dishcloth; instead of casting off at the corner as usual, I’m using the last of the cotton yarn to continue knitting a long ‘handle’ that can be used to hang it up in the shower or near the sink (if it’s used for doing the dishes). I finally found out how to do continental knitting (where one holds the yarn in the left hand); I’ve tried something like it on my own, but now am doing better. I need lots of practise, as I really want to speed up my knitting production, so I have unearthed my Decor yarn in three shades of blue and my next knitted item will be the lovely garter knit shawl featured here:

http://fortheknitofit.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/weekend-wrap-up-monogamous-monday/

I got the pattern from Ravelry. It’s a super-easy pattern, so with the continental yarn handling, the whole thing should go fairly quickly. I’ll be adding interest by using the three shades sequentially and will post once there is something to photograph. For now, this is what it will look like once begun (only with colour): garterstitchshawl

I was lucky; the circular bamboo needles I bought to make the dishcloth/washcloth are exactly the size needed for the Decor yarn!

So, here I go; another shawl started! One of these days, I’ll have to dig out the ‘Secret Garden’ shawl (also in Decor) and show it to you; and, of course, finish it and then wear it! It’s my favourite of all the shawls I’ve worked on so far, whether I designed them or not (and the SG one is my own design).

I also watched the first episode of “Black Books” on YouTube today and can highly recommend it! Thanks a bunch, Narf7; I really needed another addiction!Β  πŸ™‚

~Β  Linne

9 thoughts on “Sheep for sale . . . and a quick catch-up with my doings

      • If I had my wee croftie, I think I’d have pegs high on the walls for them; right up there with the herbs, lavender and garlic . . .

      • You could knit a really strong one with some of Christi’s goat wool that she is spinning and use it as a door cover for hot days to keep out the flies πŸ™‚

      • Door cover!!!!! I don’t think so; on the other hand, if I could only learn to do production knitting faster . . . more on that coming up soon πŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

